Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Operation Transformation 2019

• Registered Users Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭Icsics

KT does not suit close ups

Marengo wrote: »
    True enough, but she missed targets and was off plan a few times.

The plans & targets are largely arsebiscuits..... folks surpassing them by multiples too :)

The folk on the panel seem utterly clueless about nutrition & weight-loss IMO.

I think OT is terribly outdated . Everything about it ,Katherine Thomas, weighing people in horrible black underwear, the catwalk, the ad break challenge.......

And let’s be honest here, while people lose weight they all still have a long way to go , they’re all still overweight at the end of the process.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,662 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

gmisk wrote: »
    Is it not over 8 weeks?

I really dislike the way Kathryn Thomas says 'goood womannn'

yeah my bad, Pam lost a stone in 8 weeks, not four. This excuse by Karl and Co that she put on a lot of muscle doesn't wash with me. We saw her in episode 1 drinking a can of Coke during the show, I just don't think she took it all that seriously compared to the others

• Registered Users Posts: 33,643 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Augeo wrote: »
    A pound + / week over 8 weeks is a great start.... sustainable too.

The RDA is 2000kcals/day....to lose a pound / week you need a 500kcal/day deficit.

A sedentary 9 stone person needs 1500kcals/day to maintain 9 stone.

Interesting facts.

So to lose one miserly lb, you have to give up a quarter of your daily food for a week.

Tight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭Marengo

The plans & targets are largely arsebiscuits..... folks surpassing them by multiples too :)

The folk on the panel seem utterly clueless about nutrition & weight-loss IMO.

More so her drinking coke in the video clips etc. A bit feckless.

NIMAN wrote: »
    Interesting facts.

So to lose one miserly lb, you have to give up a quarter of your daily food for a week.

Tight.

Well yes and no. Cycle 40 miles a day and you'll lose more :)

• Registered Users Posts: 32,972 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Muahahaha wrote: »
    yeah my bad, Pam lost a stone in 8 weeks, not four. This excuse by Karl and Co that she put on a lot of muscle doesn't wash with me. We saw her in episode 1 drinking a can of Coke during the show, I just don't think she took it all that seriously compared to the others
    It might be more interesting if they gave us body fat percentage. She definitely struggled to stick to plan compared to everyone else.
    In fairness giving up cigarettes people tend to put on a lot of weight.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Pam only lost just over a stone. Average of about 2lbs per week? Fairly below the normal rate you'd expect for someone so overweight...

Kathryn Thomas with the crying without tears again at the end. Fool.

The catwalk thing is so cringey. After the initial cheers, there's the forced woooo's. Reminds me so much of the pornos I watch where there's a stripper at a hen party and it's just women going woooooo every so often.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Muahahaha wrote: »

It was coke zero... Check the calories genius.

Cigarettes was the big achievement for Pam alright.

Her messy house annoyed me but she's a warm person, I couldn't take to that Paul fella at all..heavy going.

JeffKenna wrote: »

In fairness she was told not to drink coke zero as the sugar substitutes in it aren't healthy.

Interesting facts.

Tight.

Well the RDA 2000kcals is for your average adult.
    Mine is 3000kcals.....I'm eating 2500kcals/day currently and I'm losing 1lb/week.

2000kcaks/day would maintain a relatively active (training a few times a week) 10 stone person :)

But my deficit is still 17% which is significant enough but quite easy to do....I've just had a magnum ice-cream.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Interesting facts.

Tight.

It depends what you weigh.

If you're way overweight, you'll need way more calories to stay at that weight.

If you eat 1k calories over 2500 calories per day for example, you will eventually reach a weight that is sustained by eating 3500 calories.

You can calculate what you total daily energy expenditure (TDEE) online, there's calculators. Basically your TDEE is how many calories you burn in a day. If you eat that amount of calories you won't gain or lose weight.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,624 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

And let’s be honest here, while people lose weight they all still have a long way to go , they’re all still overweight at the end of the process.

Do you expect them to go from very overweight to normal weight in 8 weeks?

The whole idea is turning their whole lifestyle around to try and make it healthy in a sustainable way that they can continue when RTE pack up and go. It's only supposed to be the beginning of their journey. The transformation is more holistic than just losing the weight. People need to understand why they are in the position they are.

You can argue about how they go about it but expecting them to not be overweight after 8 weeks, given their starting point, is being unrealistic

Cigarettes was the big achievement for Pam alright.

Her messy house annoyed me but she's a warm person, I couldn't take to that Paul fella at all..heavy going.
    She was instantly likeable, but I wanted to clean her kitchen!

I really warmed to Paul, he clearly has had struggles with mental health/depression he clearly needed to make a massive change

• Registered Users Posts: 3,719 ✭✭✭jluv

At the end of it I think all of them will realise that they can make small changes whereas they probably couldn't see that before. I think Cathal will be the one that will go the furthest when the show is over..

• Registered Users Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

In fairness she was told not to drink coke zero as the sugar substitutes in it aren't healthy.

Interesting that no studies back that up.

Well yes and no. Cycle 40 miles a day and you'll lose more :)

True....a 10 stone person cycling at 13 miles/hour will burn 1000kcals over 40 miles.

It'll take 3 hours / day.

Much easier to go at the diet, IMO.

Pussyhands wrote: »
    It depends what you weigh.

If you're way overweight, you'll need way more calories to stay at that weight.

If you eat 1k calories over 2500 calories per day for example, you will eventually reach a weight that is sustained by eating 3500 calories.

You can calculate what you total daily energy expenditure (TDEE) online, there's calculators. Basically your TDEE is how many calories you burn in a day. If you eat that amount of calories you won't gain or lose weight.
    I have to say the MyFitnessPal app is great for tracking calories etc.
    I put on a bit of weight dec/Jan but nearly off after using for last month or so, you can link in steps etc which is handy.

Interesting that no studies back that up.

That's not the point though.

She was given an instruction by people qualified in their fields and didn't follow it.

The coke thing apart she was the least organised, structured. We saw it every week.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,643 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

True....a 10 stone person cycling at 13 miles/hour will burn 1000kcals over 40 miles.

It'll take 3 hours / day.

Much easier to go at the diet, IMO.

I appreciate that exercise with cutting a quarter of your diet will lose you more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭SirChenjin

jluv wrote: »
    At the end of it I think all of them will realise that they can make small changes whereas they probably couldn't see that before. I think Cathal will be the one that will go the furthest when the show is over..

The difference in him over the course of the programme was amazing. The support he received from colleagues and from Donegal, in general, spoke volumes, IMO.
    I loved what the friend said 'what can I do for you'.

Once again, I applaud everyone of them for going for it. The thought of opening up one's life and lifestyle to nationwide scrutiny, well, I for one, couldn't do it.

And I may be alone in this but I like Kathryn Thomas and think that she often tunes in very much to the people standing beside her far more than any of those experts behind the desk.

Karl Henry irritates the hell out of me and I don't know why.

Anyway, another series over. I enjoyed it.
    Hopefully Jean's news will be all positive, she so deserves it.

Onwards and upwards to all of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,662 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Interesting facts.

Tight.

Its why exercise along with a good diet is so important- you have to do both, otherwise you just fall off the wagon

Calories aren't everything. The food industry has dozens of sugar substitutes that they can use in diet fizzy drinks. The can might say 0% sugar but you would want to be pretty naive to believe that sh1t when they are using substitutes that their lobbyists have ensured do not get classified as sugar.

It doesn'y matter if you consume sugar or sugar substitutes- both of them have the same effect on people- any kind of sugar gives people lows in mood, activity and outlook. People who guzzle diet drinks during the day never have any energy in the evening to actually do exercise. Instead they seek out more sugar based drinks/food to give them the hit they crave, which results on them putting even more weight on. Sugar is a vicious circle and if you're consuming it while trying to lose weight through diet and exercise; it will make you fall flat and fail every time.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,768 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Just listening to people say how OT got them off their couches. I hope they have the cop to realise exercise is not just for 8 weeks a year.

Going by the past they don’t have the cop on, in fact I’d say a lot of them come out to see if they can get their mug on camera.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,417 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Catwalk thing always is.

I despise the catwalk show and didn’t watch it- it’s so patronizing, OTT and out of proportion to what they’ve achieved after such a short time. Yes you’ll see a difference but they need to go a lot further and keep it up- this show should only be done a year after to highlight a real difference. You can’t transform in just 8 weeks

happyday wrote: »
    I thought Paul was good craic. Good to see him enjoying himself. I hope he keeps it up.

He kept it up last week by all accounts.

Icsics wrote: »
    KT does not suit close ups

Close ups do not suit KT, you had it arseways.

• Registered Users Posts: 20 Aprilanon

Has the program always been 8 weeks? I really feel the participants and the country would benefit from a once a month or bi-monthly follow up program.
    Not that the cameras would be in their face during that time but maybe a day in Dublin/somewhere for them that is filmed. I'm probably being naive about how much footage is needed to create a half hour edited program.
    I just feel that a lot of people are only getting into their stride at 8 weeks & then there doesn't appear to be any further support.
    I really hope Pam stays off the cigarettes and that Cathal continues on.
    I have my doubts on how well Paul & Siobhan will stick with it once the cameras stop rolling, but I'd like to be wrong!

Aprilanon wrote: »
    Has the program always been 8 weeks? I really feel the participants and the country would benefit from a once a month or bi-monthly follow up program.
    Not that the cameras would be in their face during that time but maybe a day in Dublin/somewhere for them that is filmed. I'm probably being naive about how much footage is needed to create a half hour edited program.
    I just feel that a lot of people are only getting into their stride at 8 weeks & then there doesn't appear to be any further support.
    I really hope Pam stays off the cigarettes and that Cathal continues on.
    I have my doubts on how well Paul & Siobhan will stick with it once the cameras stop rolling, but I'd like to be wrong!

This has been mentioned many times but at the end of the day it’s more an entertainment program not a long term weight loss program. That’s how RTE see it and it’s all about improving their ratings. If someone is serious about losing weight they don’t need this program to do it.