Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What steps should be taken to make Ireland great again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,525 ✭✭✭valoren

circadian wrote: »
    I'm seeing loads of far right style posts on AH recently. Where are these people in real life? How come I never come across them? Are you just a bunch of edgelords living in the box room in yer mas gaff?

Agreed. Was watching Schindler's List the other week having not seen it for years. Struck me that the attitude of some people with far right views are still prevalent today with plenty of 'lock up em and throw away the key/put em all on an island somewhere' merchants actually believing and wishing for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Zombie Dev and compulsory dancing at crossroads.
    Wooden spoons for nuns who replace Gardai as peace-keeping force.
    A wall around Leitrim.
    Decommission the IRFU.
    Bring back Switzers and Hector Grey.
    Culchies to apply for points based Dublin work visas.
    A return to just Guinness, Smithwicks and one lager in pubs. Vodka and a dash for wimmin.
    100% tax on wine, 1000% tax for people who call it vino.
    Enforced smoking regime for under-16s.
    Coddle's your only man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,475 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

what is your definition of great,what do you want to go back to ?

thats the problem with stufff like this

if you want to make ireland a better place -- fine by me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I'm seeing loads of far right style posts on AH recently. Where are these people in real life? How come I never come across them? Are you just a bunch of edgelords living in the box room in yer mas gaff?

It's three or four angry incels with a couple of hundred different accounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Paint the external bits, put some pretty flower boxes in prominent spots and hide all the ****e out the back same as TidyTowns. That should do it ...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭323

I'm seeing loads of far right style posts on AH recently. .................

May be hope for the future yet.

“Follow the trend lines, not the headlines,”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,279 ✭✭✭NuMarvel

Miniature Irish flags for some,
    Big black dildos for others.

What about people who already have both? Does that mean they're already great?

Asking for a friend.
    Flaccus wrote: »
    Your forgetting Quicksilver and Murphys Micro QuizM

Sorry. Ancient history isn't my strong suit :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

Go back to having a game plan that works with the players we have available. Put 'em under pressure as Jackie used say.

Unroot Irish grannies wherever possible and get as good as we used to be at convincing players to play for Ireland.

Write catchy songs, no matter how unrealistic they may be (be optimistic about winning the World Cup and never getting beaten - it confuses the opposition).

Then we can get back to the glory days of Italia 90!

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Ireland is great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭ArrBee

valoren wrote: »
    Agreed. Was watching Schindler's List the other week having not seen it for years. Struck me that the attitude of some people with far right views are still prevalent today with plenty of 'lock up em and throw away the key/put em all on an island somewhere' merchants actually believing and wishing for that.

I think that sometimes the "lock em up" comments are less about having a large prison population and more about having a strong no messing attitude to crime so that it acts as an effective deterrent.
    So, it might take generations to trickle down and change behaviors, or it might not at all but it feels like there is a lot minor crime that is "tolerated".

I'm sure at the end of the day, people want to be able to go about their business without dealing with scumbag behavior or the trickle down effects of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Jamie2k9 wrote: »
    1 - An end to free movement and only allow those who we require and those without criminal convictions.

2 - Slash SW budget

3 - No "free houses" for life.

4 - Travelers ethnic statues removed.

5 - Have an actual legal system and remove all our weak judges.

^^ This.

Separate church and state FULLY!
    Don't let a new religion boss it's way into power (Islam)

Tough on immigration - take an example from Australia.

• Registered Users Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Fiftyfilthy

1) bring back the death penalty
    2) only 2 kids per family unless can financially prove you can afford them
    3) unemployed over 6 months, food stamps, community service work
    4) “forever homes “ reviewed every 3 years to tenants. Any anti social behavior, convictions- live in hostels
    House does NOT get handed down to the off spring
    5) travelers recognized and treated as everyone else
    6) more police
    7) harsher sentences for insurance and compensation fraud, in fact complete overhaul of the compensation laws here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,145 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

naughtb4 wrote: »
    Ireland is great

this is unacceptable, we must make it great, 'again'!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭TheQuietFella

1: No more migrants!
    2: Limited time on Social Welfare.
    3: Reduction in elected representatives!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,644 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Ireland has been good, grand and just fine to live in.

I don’t think of a time when Ireland was “great”

It’s a bit telling that the first thing on OPs list was a TV station, implying that op is bored with screen programming rather than hard issues, so it’s probably good enough that their first world problems are just left as is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,600 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Death penalty is great until there's a mistake.

What do you do then? Send a card apologising for the **** up and a hamper to the family?

Death penalty is great until there's a mistake.

What do you do then? Send a card apologising for the **** up and a hamper to the family?

There are some cases that are 100% open and closed. When there is no doubt whatsoever then yes , death please

Or how about

3 convictions and that’s you locked up for a long long time

Life means life

And none of this 150 convictions by the age of 26

• Registered Users Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Cina

Ireland is great.

Go live in a developing country and try tell me it isn't.

We have the same problems as most first world countries (and fewer than many of them), big deal.

Enjoy living in one of the world's best countries to live in and stop being moany, self-entitled feckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

1) bring back the death penalty
    2) only 2 kids per family unless can financially prove you can afford them
    3) unemployed over 6 months, food stamps, community service work
    4) “forever homes “ reviewed every 3 years to tenants. Any anti social behavior, convictions- live in hostels
    House does NOT get handed down to the off spring
    5) travelers recognized and treated as everyone else
    6) more police
    7) harsher sentences for insurance and compensation fraud, in fact complete overhaul of the compensation laws here

Houses don't get handed down to off spring ???
    Would ya GERRUPP OURRRA DA!!

So after my parents spend years paying a mortgage the govt gets the house back ?

So , everyone just rents then ?

This was all in relation to point 4 which was referring to social housing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,320 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

The good thing is, take a look at Identity Ireland or The National Party and their meetings. 5 people would be a good turnout. Their events are attended by very few, they're all pretty much doom and gloom about everything. Ireland and society in Ireland is about to collapse. Apparently if a mosque is built in Kilkenny they city is lost. They've been saying the same thing since they started, Ireland is on the brink of collapse. Irexit too which is hilarious, thought they would be avoiding that word considering the shítshow across the water. Society changes all the time, they can either move with it pretend we can go back to some golden age which never exist. Ironicaly, it's usually the 50's, the perfect decade for the far right. They pretend the far right party in Germany the decade before was actually far left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,452 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I'm lucky enough to have seen a decent bit of the World in both my work and for pleasure. Ireland isn't perfect, but I'll take it any day it over 90% of other Countries.

In much of Asia, your internet service wouldn't be able to access a site like Boards in the first place. If you did manage it, expressing opinions like the ones even in this thread would have folks in dark saloon cars arriving at your door.

Its notions like some of the ones on this thread that got them to that point.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,544 ✭✭✭Seanachai

1) Make some sort of an effort to reduce the cost of living, instead of chasing the universal wage project.

2) Less tolerance for anti-social behaviour as a deterrent, scumbags often feel a sense of entitlement in how lightly they get off. Also enforce anti-litter laws, the footpaths in Dublin are covered in dog s**t and rural Ireland is being destroyed with fly-tipping.

3) Stop allowing ugly Mcmansions and haciendas to be built in idyllic rural areas. You don't see it in other European countries.

4) Set up an expert group to look at legalising cannabis and if we could become a world leader in growing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,726 ✭✭✭Feisar

Houses don't get handed down to off spring ???
    Would ya GERRUPP OURRRA DA!!

So after my parents spend years paying a mortgage the govt gets the house back ?

So , everyone just rents then ?

I think the poster meant that, if it's a social welfare house.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,849 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Reduction in elected representatives!

The "talent" pool in the Dail is shallow enough as it is. You'd end up with Minister Healy-Rae if you did that.

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Registered Users Posts: 267 ✭✭overkill602

Sterilize all knackers end this disgusting excuse of a culture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,498 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Massive crackdown on crime with very harsh sentencing.
    Petty crime needs to have serious repercussions. Shoplifters as kids leads to burglars in adult life.

We need to end the system were someone with 100 convictions gets a slap on the wrist for conviction 101.

Crackdown on visible loitering by addicts.
    Anyone who is an addict found zombies out on the street on a serious drug. ie heroin.
    They need to be forced into detox clinics.

The "talent" pool in the Dail is shallow enough as it is. You'd end up with Minister Healy-Rae if you did that.

My theory is to rid the Dail of the latter & more of the former!

There's too much tolerance for lackadaisical, indifferent behaviour there, maybe in the country in general. That's the thing that friends and family that have lived abroad always bring up, there's very little consequences for TD's who don't perform or actually screw up massively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

build max security jails prob couple in each county - best to outsource to US they know how its done properly make inmates work, once built sent all current judges to one of those who give slap on a wrist for 50time convicted offenders.

jsa jsb only for those that have been in workforce for at least 10 years otherwise no support, for those of 18yrs old bumming on it for life.

would be a good start.

Seanachai wrote: »
    There's too much tolerance for lackadaisical, indifferent behaviour there, maybe in the country in general. That's the thing that friends and family that have lived abroad always bring up, there's very little consequences for TD's who don't perform or actually screw up massively.

Isn't it amazing that in most circumstances you need a degree or third level qualification for jobs within the civil service but yet as a public rep' you don't!

I don't have any either before someone asks!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Cina

Massive crackdown on crime with very harsh sentencing.
    Petty crime needs to have serious repercussions. Shoplifters as kids leads to burglars in adult life.

We need to end the system were someone with 100 convictions gets a slap on the wrist for conviction 101.

Crackdown on visible loitering by addicts.
    Anyone who is an addict found zombies out on the street on a serious drug. ie heroin.
    They need to be forced into detox clinics.

So basically, the US?

That's worked out great for them, hasn't it. 3% of the world's population and 25% of the world's prison population. Costing them an absolute fortune in the meantime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

Brits out of 6.

An end to the 26 county state.

Establish a 32 county Irish Republic as the patriots of 1916 wanted.

An end to imported foreign west brit sports. So smash the west brit rugby golden circle.

Isn't it amazing that in most circumstances you need a degree or third level qualification for jobs within the civil service but yet as a public rep' you don't!

I don't have any either before someone asks!

You need a decent mac, a good memory for names and to practice an outraged facial expression at home in front of the mirror.

Brits out of 6.

An end to the 26 county state.

Establish a 32 county Irish Republic as the patriots of 1916 wanted.

An end to imported foreign west brit sports. So smash the west brit rugby golden circle.

Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,320 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Scumbag kids know they'll get away with crimes. You see videos of little skangers causing trouble and they'll tell the gardai their age because they know they can't be touched. This needs to change, and if you're under age and commit a crime, parents should share the punishment too. Whether it's a fine or time spend in jail or some sort of institution, child and parent should do it. If you're not an adult, the parents are responsible for you, they're also responsible for your crimes. Money deducted from social welfare or child benefit if you don't pay the fine in a reasonable time. Drugs are not an excuse for crime either.

White collar crime needs to be taken more serious too. Jail should have some activity to help people change. If it's meeting with families that are victims of crime, or classes or fúcking something. Too many criminals couldn't give a shít about going to jail.

Seanachai wrote: »
    You need a decent mac, a good memory for names and to practice an outraged facial expression at home in front of the mirror.

Well Adolf had at least two of those! I'm sure he would have a Mac if he was here today God bless him! Are you suggesting then that we have a Dail full of aspiring Adolf's? Herr Varadker & Herr Harris! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 286 ✭✭abcabc123123

Mmm, sometimes I wonder what DeV and Cloud make of what this place has become. After Hours being under 'Social & Fun' is a total misnomer. Back in the day, sure, it was a place where beers were organised, people knew each other and threads were mostly whimsical nonsense. Something approximating the category it is in now. These days it's probably closer to Stormfront.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

Jamie2k9 wrote: »
    1 - An end to free movement and only allow those who we require and those without criminal convictions.

2 - Slash SW budget

3 - No "free houses" for life.

4 - Travelers ethnic statues removed.

5 - Have an actual legal system and remove all our weak judges.

Top 5 hard right fantasies in one post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

magma69 wrote: »

Ignore the suicide problem.

Ignore the alcoholism problem.

We're already doing this. And actually alcoholism in ireland isn't any worse and probably better than in other European countries despite the nonsense the media keeps telling us. I know europeans who drink ALL DAY LONG at work. Not many Irish doing that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

Meanwhile in Cork .... https://www.eveningecho.ie/corknews/Council-urged-to-meet-residents-on-future-of-litter-blackspot-025e93d9-a521-4196-9471-3c8680045347-ds
    CORK City Council has been urged to meet residents of Spring Lane and nearby housing estates to discuss dumping activities and suspicious fires on a nearby site, which was once earmarked for Traveller accommodation.

Ellis’s Yard, adjacent to a halting site and nearby housing estate, has long been a hotbed of illegal dumping. There has been a spate of fires there in recent weeks.

City Hall faces a potential €250,000 bill for the clean-up of the illegal dumping.
    Figures show that units of Cork City Fire Brigade have been called out to Ellis’s Yard 136 times in the past two years and that more than €500,000 has been spent on major clean-ups of the area since 2003.

And they don't know who is doing the dumping. Meanwhile the settled community are paying bin charges. FFS.

All I am asking is that they treat these people the same as everyone else, i.e. true equality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

Top 5 hard right fantasies in one post.

I love how quick you are to label anything you don't like as "hard right."

Revoking Travellers' ethnic status is a no-brainer because it never should have been awarded in the first place. Genetic tests show that Travellers are as Irish as the rest of us -- they are not of Roma origin as was once assumed. Any genetic discrepancy between Travellers and settled people arises from a history of consanguineous marriage among the former, i.e., repeated inbreeding among cousins, and not from any actual ethnic difference.

And asking for an actual legal system is a hard-right fantasy? Is it really too much to ask that violent criminals and repeat offenders with hundreds of convictions get more than a token slap on the wrist when they go to court?

In the news lately ...

-- A man who robbed €2,500 in cash from an 87-year-old outside a Bank of Ireland branch claimed that he had been experiencing a "manic episode" and got off with a suspended sentence.

-- A man caught "minding" over €600,000 worth of heroin and cocaine in a car park at Dublin Airport was also handed a suspended sentence.

-- A woman who starved her two dogs to the point where they almost died was fined €100 and given a three-month suspended sentence.

-- A man who punched his former partner in the mouth outside a creche, and repeatedly punched her to the head and body and kicked her after she had fallen to the ground, all in front of their 2-year-old daughter, was only jailed after the DPP appealed his suspended sentence as unduly lenient.

You don't have to be a hard-right Stormfronter to see that something is seriously wrong with the judicial system in Ireland.

I love how quick you are to label anything you don't like as "hard right."

It's what they are though. Eliminate social welfare entitlements. Harden the justice system. Eliminate ethnic minorities. Reduce foreigners. All hard rigth policies. None of them well thought out and all of them likely to make the country worse.

Revoking Travellers' ethnic status is a no-brainer because it never should have been awarded in the first place. Genetic tests show that Travellers are as Irish as the rest of us -- they are not of Roma origin as was once assumed. Any genetic discrepancy between Travellers and settled people arises from a history of consanguineous marriage among the former, i.e., repeated inbreeding among cousins, and not from any actual ethnic difference.

How does their ethnic status make the country worse? More importantly, what benefit will removing it provide?

And asking for an actual legal system is a hard-right fantasy? Is it really too much to ask that violent criminals and repeat offenders with hundreds of convictions get more than a token slap on the wrist when they go to court?

In the news lately ...

-- A man who robbed €2,500 in cash from an 87-year-old outside a Bank of Ireland branch claimed that he had been experiencing a "manic episode" and got off with a suspended sentence.

-- A man caught "minding" over €600,000 worth of heroin and cocaine in a car park at Dublin Airport was also handed a suspended sentence.

-- A woman who starved her two dogs to the point where they almost died was fined €100 and given a three-month suspended sentence.

-- A man who punched his former partner in the mouth outside a creche, and repeatedly punched her to the head and body and kicked her after she had fallen to the ground, all in front of their 2-year-old daughter, was only jailed after the DPP appealed his suspended sentence as unduly lenient.

You don't have to be a hard-right Stormfronter to see that something is seriously wrong with the judicial system in Ireland.

He didn't just ask for an actual legal system though. He specifically stated by removing weak judges. The implication being that we need judges to be harder. A stricter and more punishment focused justice system is a right wing policy. There are other ways to reduce crime and improve the justice system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

It's what they are though. Eliminate social welfare entitlements. Harden the justice system. Eliminate ethnic minorities. Reduce foreigners. All hard rigth policies.

He didn't propose eliminating social welfare payments -- he proposed cutting them. People on social welfare should not enjoy a better standard of living, have more free time, and be able to afford more children than people who are working.

Similarly, he didn't propose to eliminate ethnic minorities. He merely indicated that we should not be recognizing people as ethnic minorities who are as Irish as everyone else, and we also should not be letting immigrants into the country without proper vetting of their backgrounds and records.
    How does their ethnic status make the country worse? More importantly, what benefit will removing it provide?

Their newfound ethnic status has placed them above criticism. The newspapers are even afraid to use the T-word when describing criminal activity by gangs of Travellers, for fear of seeming racist.
    The implication being that we need judges to be harder.

Most moderate, centrist people looking at some of the ridiculous sentences handed down in our courts would agree that we need harsher sentencing and judges who will do do more than dole out token slaps on the wrist to violent and repeat offenders.

He didn't propose eliminating social welfare payments -- he proposed cutting them. People on social welfare should not enjoy a better standard of living, have more free time, and be able to afford more children than people who are working.

He proposed eliminating housing provision didn't he? Is that not a social welfare benefit? He also wanted to reduce social welfare benefits overall. Are you going to argue these are not right wing policies or stick to pedantry. Do you even know how much people on social welfare get? There's definitely room to improve the system and target the more vulnerable for additional benefits but across the board cuts will only result in an increase in crime and increase suffering for those who need it.

Similarly, he didn't propose to eliminate ethnic minorities. Merely that we should not be recognizing people as ethnic minorities who are as Irish as everyone else,

He proposed to eliminate an entire ethnic group. he just wants to do it with the stroke of a pen.

and we should not be letting immigrants into the country without proper vetting of their backgrounds and records.

Freedom of movement simply means we treat European citizens as we do our own. They are subject to the same restrictions we are and more. They also contribute massively to the work force and are proportionally less likely to be on social welfare than natives. and more likely to pay tax.
    Their newfound ethnic status has placed them above criticism. The newspapers are even afraid to use the T-word when describing criminal activity by gangs of Travellers, for fear of seeming racist.

That was the case before their status changed. You still haven't said how it would benefit the country though.
    Most moderate, centrist people looking at some of the ridiculous sentences handed down in our courts would agree that we need harsher sentencing and judges will do do more than dole out slaps on the wrist.

Most also recognise that this is not really possible as our prisons are full. The solution is to build more prisons or target the causes of crime and recidivism.

• Registered Users Posts: 286 ✭✭abcabc123123

Most moderate, centrist people looking at some of the ridiculous sentences handed down in our courts would agree that we need harsher sentencing and judges who will do do more than dole out token slaps on the wrist to violent and repeat offenders.
    Centrists tend to be aware that the world is complicated and try to avoid forming policy on the basis on a couple of headlines. Rather they generally leave policy to those who have spent large portions of their professional lives researching their subject matter.

Law enforcement best practice these days recognises that deterrence isn't particularly effective and that incarcerating petty criminals can make things worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,498 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Cina wrote: »
    So basically, the US?

That's worked out great for them, hasn't it. 3% of the world's population and 25% of the world's prison population. Costing them an absolute fortune in the meantime.

No not like the US.
    The US has insane laws regarding prison time.

They have a 3 strike law which means if you commit 3 separate felony then you go to prison for life. A felony can be something as simple as shop lifting.

Thats not what im suggesting at all. However i do think if someone racks up 50 convictions (not 3) they should be severely sentenced. If someone cannot avoid racking up that many convictions then society can do without them.

The US also has insane amount of people in prison for drug use. Something like 50% are for drug offences. Granted this can be anything from usage to distribution but its mostly for possession.

There is no point in putting a person in prison for drug use as they will just get drugs in prison and be back on the street causing the same problems. They need to be placed in rehab facilities which gets them clean and doesnt punish them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭maccored

we all need caps that say 'make Ireland great again', and we need to build a wall. somewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 550 ✭✭✭elbyrneo

We just need to move the island about 1000 kilometres South.

Plenty of Sun, outdoor living, great for tourism. I guess farmers might be impacted by the weather but sure they'd get more subsidies from the EU wouldn't they?

Seems a no brainer to me, God knows why it's not been considered before.

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

He didn't just ask for an actual legal system though. He specifically stated by removing weak judges. The implication being that we need judges to be harder. A stricter and more punishment focused justice system is a right wing policy. There are other ways to reduce crime and improve the justice system.

Look up literally ANY violent criminal in the news, they will have 50-100 previous convictions yet were still allowed to walk free each time, we need to at least change the law so judges can be sued, as they have a duty of care to society and are failing en masse.