Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Disheartened

Options
  • 16-01-2019 11:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭

So I applied for a graduate position at a large tech company and they asked me to do an online test. Now, I'm not a master coder or anything, and with it being a graduate role, I thought the idea would be to confirm I am not completely useless, which I don't believe I am.

Well, I had 3 tasks to complete in 2.5 hours, and I didn't even get past the first one!! I was completely and utterly lost. Must have tried 4 or 5 different approaches. And, well, now I do feel absolutely useless!!

The task itself was, given 6 digits, create the earliest valid time in 24-hour format, and return as a string "hr:mm:ss", or return null if it's not possible with the digits provided.

E.g.
    0,0,0,7,8,9 would return 07:08:09
    2,4,5,9,5,9 would return null.

Can someone please perk me up by telling me this is not a rudimentary problem? In the meantime, I am consoling myself with the fact that the role would have entailed a bitch of a commute.

I need to start using leetcode more!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 768 ✭✭✭14ned

It's about six lines of C or Python code to implement. Both have standard library functions which do all the work. So I'd say a very rudimentary problem to solve.

• Registered Users Posts: 568 ✭✭✭rgodard80a

It does exercise the algorithm part of your brain alright.

The simplest solution is to loop through all permutations with a variable holding the earliest date you can find, basically brute forcing the solution.