Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Fox hunting

• Registered Users Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

brianmax88 wrote: »
    Well obviously you are offended by foxhunting. And i do vote. All the time. I dont see what that has got to do with anything? How does voting make me easily offended? If there was a vote on hunting i would vote to keep it.

Well, how dare I object, or be 'offended' by something.

Have you ever been 'offended' by something?

Would that make you 'one of these people who are 'offended' these days'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,676 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The poor old fox was here in Ireland a long time before the first human arrived but a few tossers on this thread want to see them all dead.

Kind of like the way people thought a few hundred years ago with wolves who survived in Ireland for 20000 years, kill them all until the last one is dead!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

The poor old fox was here in Ireland a long time before the first human arrived but a few tossers on this thread want to see them all dead.

Kind of like the way people thought a few hundred years ago with wolves who survived in Ireland for 20000 years, kill them all until the last one is dead!

Yeah the problem with that was the wolves used to snack on the lil old foxes. Now without a predator their numbers are increasing all the time. If only we had a solution! Thing is no one in the countryside wants to 'see them all dead' (hyperbole!) just a healthy population ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 anthony777

I tell you what, here's a theoretical thought - roleplay this out, what about seeing a big group of huge drunk loopers someplace on a Saturday night, imagine shouting something insulting at them and them taking gross offence and chasing you down to the bitter brutal end and then you can see and feel what a fox feels when hunted and then, when it's all over, come back and post that fox hunting is ok.

gozunda wrote: »
    Yeah the problem with that was the wolves used to snack on the lol old foxes. Now without a predator their numbers are increasing all the time. If only we had a solution. Thing is no obewants to 'see them all dead' just a healthy population ...

we've two.

One is called a rifle.

The other is a bunch of buffoons.

greencap wrote: »
    we've two.
    One is called a rifle.
    The other is a bunch of buffoons.

I think we know where your going with that.
    Yup hunts disperse and kill only the occasional fox. Shooting wipes out many. And this in the UK atm. Funny that - and your still complaining ..

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭brianmax88

Well, how dare I object, or be 'offended' by something.

Have you ever been 'offended' by something?

Would that make you 'one of these people who are 'offended' these days'.

No not really each to there own i say. You dont see hunting people trying to force you to hunt but antis are always forcing their agenda. Kinda like vegans. Generallly they are same people. If you dont like hunting stay away from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

Discodog wrote: »
    Obvious I agree with your last point & I would love to see horse racing, greyhound racing & coursing fazed out - but I am not holding my breath.
    Why would you like to see horseracing phased out?
    Would you kill the approx 250,000 thoroughbred horses worldwide?

I have two mares and one yearling.
    One mare, now aged seven years, never ran, so never took part in horseracing.
    She lived in the stud farm of a multi-millionaire before I bought her at auction.

The other mare ran ten times, or about 25 minutes in total in her five year life to date.

The yearling has not run, but might run as a two year old and older.

Those three horses have about 25 minutes racing time between them, in 13 years living.
    They are well looked after, outside 24 hours a day in summer, in a warm stable at night in winter with time outside weather permitting.
    They wear rugs to keep dry and warm.
    The veterinary clinic is 6 kms away, about a 5 minute drive. I pay an annual agreed veterinary charge for each horse, and extra veterinary costs when needed.

Why do you want to see horseracing phased out?
    If you think it through will mean the elimination of those three horses and the rest of the thoroughbred population.
    The thoroughbred breed that has been in development over the last 300 years, does not exist in the wild and never did, and would not survive in the wild.
    There is no habitat for them, and animal rights activist certainly will not house and feed them.

Animal right activists appear to look at one aspect only, a solution based on emotion, based on one aspect that does not appeal to them, ignoring the rest.
    Your solution would also eliminate the greyhound breed.

I think we know where your going with that.
    Yup hunts disperse and kill only the occasional fox. Shooting wipes out many. And this in the UK atm. Funny that ...

A bullet from nowhere, or a pack of wolves chasing me to exhaustion. (scaled up for humans).

I know which way I'd rather go.

Fox hunting is specifically designed for cowards.

Hounds are cowards now are they? You'd better tell them so ... What about the feckers who mow down wildlife in their fancy cars? What about the eradication of vermin by pest control companies - is that all right by you - now that everyone has to ask your opinion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭robertpatterson

Ive never been on a foxhunt in my life but I love the spectacle of the hounds and the horses
    I don't see why it should be banned if people enjoy doing it who are we to tell them they cant ?

A bullet from nowhere, or a pack of wolves chasing me to exhaustion. (scaled up for humans).
    I know which way I'd rather go.

Antromorphication much? So i reckon you'd like all foxes wiped out as foxes chase and kill the lickle bunnies (even thou no exhaustion) and its quick and efficient? Same as hounds. Barstewards!

No not really each to there own i say. You dont see hunting people trying to force you to hunt but antis are always forcing their agenda. Kinda like vegans. Generallly they are same people. If you dont like hunting stay away from it.

Really, you've never objected to, ... or rather been 'offended' ... by anything, ever.

Thats amazing.

You pick up the Irish newspaper and you see the story about the waste of taxpayers earnings, or the scumbag who's got off with a 50th offense, or some woman who's won a settlement for running head first into a shop wall, or the planning law that means 1000 jobs will be cancelled over a residents view of a bush, and you just kind of go .... hmm.

No offended type you, no sir.

Antromorphication much? So i reckon you'd like all foxes wiped out as foxes chase and kill the lickle bunnies (even thou no exhaustion) and its quick and efficient? Barstewards!

Well not much.

Only for illustration purposes to give a bit of perspective.

Does my use of antromorphication offend you?

If you need to kill a fox thats one thing. If you're getting pleasure out of killing a small animal then I find that a bit creepy and would vote to outlaw the practice.

Hope my voting preference doesn't 'offend' you.

Lets get this straight. I deal in reals. You're the one with the BS. You're the one with the feels. You slippery eel. You won't find a feel or inaccuracy in anything I've said. Quote this BS you attribute to me.... you can't.

Well not much.
    Only for illustration purposes to give a bit of perspective. Does my use of antromorphication offend you? If you need to kill a fox thats one thing. If you're getting pleasure out of killing a small animal then I find that a bit creepy and would vote to outlaw the practice.
    Hope my voting preference doesn't 'offend' you.

No its just bollox. There's very little killing whatsoever. Normally only when a landowner asks. But you don't like that. There's more chance you'll mow down a fox or other wildlife driving your car. But hey there you go..

Really, you've never objected to, ... or rather been 'offended' ... by anything, ever.

Thats amazing.

You pick up the Irish newspaper and you see the story about the waste of taxpayers earnings, or the scumbag who's got off with a 50th offense, or some woman who's won a settlement for running head first into a shop wall, or the planning law that means 1000 jobs will be cancelled over a residents view of a bush, and you just kind of go .... hmm.

No offended type you, no sir.

I would be annoyed theres a difference. You seem to have taken serious offence to me saying most people nowadays get offended by everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

Fox hunting is specifically designed for cowards.

I've no dog fox in the fight however can you explain your thought process please?

First they came for the socialists...

I would be annoyed theres a difference. You seem to have taken serious offence to me saying most people nowadays get offended by everything

yes im raging here.

I see that alright...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

A lot of the hunts nowadays are drag hunts and no fox hunted and the course is set out before they start and less and less people taking part and less ground to cross due to a big change in farming practice.

I see that alright...

He had no argument in relation to hunting so he needs something to argue about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭VeryTerry

A lot of the hunts nowadays are drag hunts and no fox hunted and the course is set out before they start and less and less people taking part and less ground to cross due to a big change in farming practice.

That's mad because you'd swear from the prohunt lads here that people only do it as a service.

He had no argument in relation to hunting so he needs something to argue about

Ban fox hunting. :D

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Shooting is fine , if you can do one clean shot ( most can’t .) Poison and snares are long slow deaths . Hounds kill a fox like all types of dogs do they bite through the neck . The English antis are thugs whothink they are fighting a “ class war “ or just want an excuse to attack children on ponies and call hounds on to roads and post the results as evidence of “ cruelty.”
    If a farmer doesn’t want a hunt on their land , their wishes are respected . If a fox does cross , one person - the huntsman follows them and pulls them out .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭Odelay

Shooting is fine , if you can do one clean shot ( most can’t .) Poison and snares are long slow deaths . Hounds kill a fox like all types of dogs do they bite through the neck . The English antis are thugs whothink they are fighting a “ class war “ or just want an excuse to attack children on ponies and call hounds on to roads and post the results as evidence of “ cruelty.”
    If a farmer doesn’t want a hunt on their land , their wishes are respected . If a fox does cross , one person - the huntsman follows them and pulls them out .

Well said from someone with common sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,021 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Lot of lame excuses for having fun in ripping an animal and its babies apart. For fun.

Humans destroy everything in their path and wont stop till it's all gone.

There have been too many animals driven to the brink because of man, one thing is consistent- the fight is never fair.

So what happened here then.?

Many more examples including where a hunt in UK went through a car sanctuary killing sixty cats.

https://extra.ie/2018/11/28/news/irish-news/family-cat-mauled-hunting-hounds-cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

There's no drag hunts here in the west.they practice the traditional fox hunt with foxhounds chasing the fox.john bull is the only lad I know drag hunting and that's thanks to the antis and the torys.

anewme wrote: »
    So what happened here then.?

Many more examples including where a hunt in UK went through a car sanctuary killing sixty cats.

https://extra.ie/2018/11/28/news/irish-news/family-cat-mauled-hunting-hounds-cork

Greyhounds are the whole time killing cats.should they do away with them too

Lot of lame excuses for having fun in ripping an animal and its babies apart. For fun.

Humans destroy everything in their path and wont stop till it's all gone.

There have been too many animals driven to the brink because of man, one thing is consistent- the fight is never fair.

In fairness anewme there is no way that foxes will ever become scarce.a foxes biggest problem is trying to gain and hold a territory and it's a known fact that when you remove a fox its territory will have another fox in less then a week.
    There's an old saying here and it's that when you kill a fox there will be 10 foxes at the funeral

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭Marengo

Barbaric. How anyone can consider it a sport.

Shaping around in red coats on horseback like wannabe aristocracy.

In fairness anewme there is no way that foxes will ever become scarce.a foxes biggest problem is trying to gain and hold a territory and it's a known fact that when you remove a fox its territory will have another fox in less then a week.
    There's an old saying here and it's that when you kill a fox there will be 10 foxes at the funeral

That's not an excuse for ripping an animal apart having driven it to exhaustion.

Marengo wrote: »
    Barbaric. How anyone can consider it a sport.

Shaping around in red coats on horseback like wannabe aristocracy.

Yet more misinformation. The only people who wear a red coat are the hunt master and whipper in. The rest of the field dress in normal horse riding attire

Greyhounds are the whole time killing cats.should they do away with them too

The hunt are responsible for killing these peoples pets. Not greyhounds. These animals died as a direct result of the hunt. This is the topic. This is the responsibility of the hunters.

That's not an excuse for ripping an animal apart having driven it to exhaustion.

What method would you propose for vermin control so in relation to problem predators in a rural environment

The hunt are responsible for killing these peoples pets. Not greyhounds. These animals died as a direct result of the hunt. This is the topic. This is the responsibility of the hunters.

If the cats were secured properly the hounds wouldn't have been able to get near them

Yet more misinformation. The only people who wear a red coat are the hunt master and whipper in. The rest of the field dress in normal horse riding attire

Doesn't really matter what colour they wear. Ripping a live animal to shreds. Great people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

What method would you propose for vermin control so in relation to problem predators in a rural environment

SJW solution : Bring them to university, educate them in hate speech, foxes rights to co-exist, Vulpine culture, why hunting is rape culture, and how we can go forward with equal opportunities for both foxes and dogs with subsidies for fox owners.

Doesn't really matter what colour the wear. Ripping a live animal to shreds. Great people.

You were the one who first mentioned the colour of their coats.i was only clarifying the issue

When an animal kills another naturally, that's nature.

When overweight middle aged 'gentlemen' organise the killing of defenceless animals as sport, that's barbaric.

Plenty of other sports to engage in. That might mean they'd have to do a bit of running themselves rather than the horse.

You were the one who first mentioned the colour of their coats.i was only clarifying the issue

Well done. You're obviously well up on the 'sport'.

A lot of West Brit, Anglophile wannabe about the whole charade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭mulbot

Rifle. Quickest, most humane way for vermin control.

A lot of West Brit, Anglophile wannabe about the whole charade.

Shinners out in force...... You do know Martin McGuinness was known as "the Fisherman"?

Lets play Northern Bingo. Thaig, wee, what about ye?

SJW solution : Bring them to university, educate them in hate speech, foxes rights to co-exist, Vulpine culture, why hunting is rape culture, and how we can go forward with equal opportunities for both foxes and dogs with subsidies for fox owners.

lol. you had me earlier.

B minus.

Shinner out in force...... You do know Martin McGuinness was known as "the Fisherman"?

I'm not a Shimmer at all. Lol. Anyway they're better than suck up west brits.

There have been humane solutions here if you read through the thread.

Not sure why you would see watching dogs ripping an animal apart having tormented it as a solution to anything.

I'm not a Shimmer at all. Lol. Anyway they're better than suck up west brits.

Shinner :D:D:D:D

Shinner out in force...... You do know Martin McGuinness was known as "the Fisherman"?

And wtf does Martin McGuinness have to do with anything.

Because you call out wannabe aristocrats that doesn't make you a Shinner. Could be Labour, FG, FF, ReNua..

P.s. a bit of a history lesson. All Irish parties bar labour are derived from Sinn Fein.

lol. you had me earlier.

B minus.

Me too, Me too .... Consent. Diversity points!!