Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

When did Gemma O Doherty go batshyt crazy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

batgoat wrote: »
    You're not a scientist either and seem to reject the consensus that the hpv vaccine is perfectly safe... You have not provided an ounce of proof and are relying on anecdotal claims.

Define scientist? I have two degrees (BE in Bio Med and before the boom I was doing computers) and black belt in Six Sigma. I worked for a few Bio Medical companies in the south west. I am constantly doing courses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭lbc2019

Define scientist? I have two degrees (BE in Bio Med and before the boom I was doing computers) and black belt in Six Sigma. I worked for a few Bio Medical companies in the south west. I am constantly doing courses.

Papers published? Link?

11 children between the 6 of them or 11 children each?

Theyre not rabbits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,104 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

There are more than 52 strains of HPV (Herpes simplex) that can cause cervical cancer. The Gardasil vaccine only covers 4 of them. It gives a false sense of security. Much like the contraceptive pill is an effective contrceptive and you can do whatever you like after that. It is not what it claims to be .... and you havent addressed those nasty side effects.

I think it is close to 1000 girls in Ireland have had side effects from Gardasil? We dont know what the long term out come is from them. Are you suggesting they are faking seizures? Then there are issues in the States and Japan took it off the market. I wouldnt recommend any girl to take it without being fully informed of the side effects. Some girls have ended up in wheel chairs.
    Yeah but the strain covers by Gardasil is the vast majority of cases so yeah your anti vax sh is dangerous nonsense

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

exactly who is an anti-vaxxer? I have said before I support BCG, MMR and Polio Vaccination.

They dont encourage sexual promiscuity lol

Great question, these symptoms all appeared between hours and weeks of vaccinations. They all have Gardasil in common.
    I dont know but they suddenly seem to have mushroomed since the vaccination,

"and Gardasil, a quadrivalent vaccine that protects against infection with HPV types 6, 11, 16, and 18.Mar 2, 2015"
    https://www.cancer.gov/types/cervical/research/gardasil9-prevents-more-HPV-types

Exactly - some of these synptoms appeared hours after, some weeks: if Gardasil caused it then there would be consistency. There simply isn't. The science shows that claims that gardasil caused these illnesses is pure drivel.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

lbc2019 wrote: »
    Theyre not rabbits!

that is still not replacement rate levels

Exactly - some of these synptoms appeared hours after, some weeks: if Gardasil caused it then there would be consistency. There simply isn't. The science shows that claims that gardasil caused these illnesses is pure drivel.

Immune systems aren't always consistent. Some people have immune systems like horses other have pick up every bug and virus. It seems to me its people with dispositions to Autism in the family and deficient immune systems are most vulnerable. I have a buddy who stretched at the start of winter and got the flu jab and then got hit twice with the flu. I wouldnt touch the thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭batgoat

Yet you seem to have an incredibly vague knowledge of vaccines. Eg according to the WHO, this would vaccinate a person against 70% of cases of cervical cancer. They've found it to be highly effective including a 50% reduction in precancerous lesion in multiple countries. You previously said it wasn't worth the risk, since the side effects outweigh the benefits. This is blatantly untrue.

https://www.who.int/immunization/hpv/vaccines/en/
    Where HPV vaccination programmes have been implemented effectively, the benefits are already very apparent. Several countries that have introduced HPV vaccines to their immunization programme have reported a 50% decrease in the incidence rate of uterine cervix precancerous lesions among younger women. In contrast, the mortality rate from cervical cancer in Japan, where HPV vaccination is not proactively recommended, increased by 3.4% from 1995 to 2005 and is expected to increase by 5.9% from 2005 to 2015. This acceleration in disease burden is particularly evident among women aged 15–44 years.28 Ten years after introduction, global HPV vaccine uptake remains slow, and the countries that are most at risk for cervical cancer are those least likely to have introduced the vaccine. Since licensure of HPV vaccines, GACVS has found no new adverse events of concern based on many very large, high quality studies. The new data presented at this meeting have strengthened this position.

https://www.who.int/vaccine_safety/committee/topics/hpv/June_2017/en/
    Immune systems aren't always consistent. Some people have immune systems like horses other have pick up every bug and virus. It seems to me its people with dispositions to Autism in the family and deficient immune systems are most vulnerable. I have a buddy who stretched at the start of winter and got the flu jab and then got hit twice with the flu. I wouldnt touch the thing.
    So you know more than the WHO, all the studio and reports on the safety of the hpv vaccine? They haven't picked up these mysterious side effects? The flu send is fantastic btw, you mightn't have a weakened immune system but others be they elderly or have a compromised immune system for whatever reason.

Anyway, might more sense for you to post this in the antivax thread. You could try posting it in one of the science fora but you'd be laughed out of there.

Yet you seem to have an incredibly vague knowledge of vaccines. Eg according to the WHO, this would vaccinate a person against 70% of cases of cervical cancer. They've found it to be highly effective including a 50% reduction in precancerous lesion in multiple countries. You previously said it wasn't worth the risk, since the side effects outweigh the benefits. This is blatantly untrue.

https://www.who.int/immunization/hpv/vaccines/en/

So you know more than the WHO, all the studio and reports on the safety of the hpv vaccine? They haven't picked up these mysterious side effects? The flu send is fantastic btw, you mightn't have a weakened immune system but others be they elderly or have a compromised immune system for whatever reason.

Anyway, might more sense for you to post this in the antivax thread. You could try posting it in one of the science fora but you'd be laughed out of there.

What are your credentials, btw? I would take responsible my own health rather than trust the sham that is the HSE. Lets not forget the roles of honour of the HSE. Testing on Children in homes, retention of organs, HEP C scandal, Bayer and the HIV blood scandal. Lately its been both the swine and Avian flu vaccines.

My Father actually got the flu jab and it didnt work. He has a weak man nearly 80. I told him he would be better off with vitamin c pills

What are your credentials, btw? I would take responsible my own health rather than trust the sham that is the HSE. Lets not forget the roles of honour of the HSE. Testing on Children in homes, retention of organs, HEP C scandal, Bayer and the HIV blood scandal. Lately its been both the swine and Avian flu vaccines.

My Father actually got the flu jab and it didnt work. He has a weak man nearly 80. I told him he would be better off with vitamin c pills

The WHO isn't the HSE... I'm not claiming to have any credentials in the area, I am deferring to research and health bodies across the globe that back up its effectiveness and levels of safety. I am not deferring to anecdotal claims which you are...

No I mean what is your background? Have you met any of these girls? Have you heard their stories? Have you heard their symptoms? Have your heard their medical bills? No help from the state. Little Leo doesnt want an investigation. Its been raised in the Seanad and there was a subcomittee meeting on it in the Dail. Its definitely swept under the rug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

Well this thread has gone exactly how I thought it would just be reading the title

that is still not replacement rate levels

But people live longer, why 1.8? Will that not lead to over population?

No I mean what is your background? Have you met any of these girls? Have you heard their stories? Have you heard their symptoms? Have your heard their medical bills? No help from the state. Little Leo doesnt want an investigation. Its been raised in the Seanad and there was a subcomittee meeting on it in the Dail. Its definitely swept under the rug.

Anecdotal evidence, isn't evidence. Did you link you're published work?

He got the flu twice? The actual flu? NOT a cold? Or Man Flu?

Well this thread has gone exactly how I thought it would just be reading the title

I just set it up to replenish my list tbf

He got the flu twice? The actual flu? NOT a cold? Or Man Flu?

So he said, I didnt go over and get blood samples from him.

Anecdotal evidence, isn't evidence.

So we are victim blaming?

But people live longer, why 1.8? Will that not lead to over population?

Its not to do with age, its to do with replacement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,165 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

Testing on children in homes, Hep C scandals pre-date the establishment of the HSE.

What's the harm in getting the flu jab? If it covers the strains that he encounters, he's protected. Maybe he encountered a strain not covered by the vaccine. Would getting vaccinated have actively harmed him?

So we are victim blaming?

No. We are saying there is no evidence

Terry Pratchet

Testing on children in homes, Hep C scandals pre-date the establishment of the HSE.

What's the harm in getting the flu jab? If it covers the strains that he encounters, he's protected. Maybe he encountered a strain not covered by the vaccine. Would getting vaccinated have actively harmed him?

Mumble mumble mercury

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭PhoneMain

. I told him he would be better off with vitamin c pills

Ah here, vitamin c pills have been shown to be no better than placebo! You might as well be taking smarties!

So he said, I didnt go over and get blood samples from him.

Actually, testing for the flu isn't done by blood test, it's done by nasal swab.

You were asking someone else for their credentials. I'm a doctor, on the GP training scheme. What's your credentials?

PhoneMain wrote: »
    Actually, testing for the flu isn't done by blood test, it's done by nasal swab.

You were asking someone else for their credentials. I'm a doctor, on the GP training scheme. What's your credentials?

He did a biomed course and is always doing courses... :P He seems to hold doctors in low regard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭whippet

Apparently primary school kids are going to be thought ‘porn’ as part of the curriculum ... well according to Gemma ...... how does anyone take her seriously ?

Same people in the same jobs, all employees of department of health. I was not so horrified at the Hepatitis C infections as I was at the cover up. Remember Michael Noonan, refused to settle with Bridget McCole on her death bed? "I was doing it under legal advice".

Mumble mumble mercury

You are the first person to mention mercury.

God Bless us. The seven minute marvels. Couldn't tell the difference between a mosquito bite and stage one Sarcoidosis. I look forward to seeing your name in the paper.

Ah here, vitamin c pills have been shown to be no better than placebo! You might as well be taking smarties!

So was the vaccine apparently, twice!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,536 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

So was the vaccine apparently, twice!!!

except you dont actually know that. You dont know if they actually had the flu, and if they did have the flu if that strain was covered by the vaccine. But that is irrelevant to you, you are only interested in anecdotes that support your own prejudice.

God Bless us. The seven minute marvels. Couldn't tell the difference between a mosquito bite and stage one Sarcoidosis. I look forward to seeing your name in the paper.

Wow, classy response. Stick with the computers, you seem to know very little about health......unlike me.

except you dont actually know that. You dont know if they actually had the flu, and if they did have the flu if that strain was covered by the vaccine. But that is irrelevant to you, you are only interested in anecdotes that support your own prejudice.

Well I am taking my friends word for it, he swore by the vaccine. You do know the flu is a virus and it mutates? It is in a constant state of change.

Your friend is not a doctor and neither are you. For somebody who claims a biomed background your willingness to apply scientific principals is poor.

I never claimed to be a doctor, I just said the Gradasil vaccine in its current form is dangerous. Feel free to vaccinate your own kids.

you also said that the flu vaccine does not work based on a sample size of 2 and incomplete data.

Ah no, he though he was conducting his own cohort study......

Wow, classy response. Stick with the computers, you seem to know very little about health......unlike me.

I have met ye all before. You cover up for each other and the quality you are being produced at we would be better off with African witch doctors. Would you like me to recall the headlines from the last few years?

"We were aware when hiring a doctor there were issues with her registration in Germany"
    "Doctor couldnt tell the difference between an xray of an elbow and an xray"
    Doctor Lee down in Ballincollig tried to cover up a terminally ill patients file when it was found out he failed to read a report. The affore mentioned doctor is still practicing.
    I have see 6 doctors fail to spot Mystenia Gravis and then all supported each other.
    Dr Michael Neary....... needs no more comment. The three doctors who vindicated him.

Them witch doctors are starting to looking surprisingly competent with their feathers and bones.

I have met ye all before. You cover up for each other and the quality you are being produced at we would be better off with African witch doctors. Would you like me to recall the headlines from the last few years?

"We were aware when hiring a doctor there were issues with her registration in Germany"
    "Doctor couldnt tell the difference between an xray of an elbow and an xray"
    Doctor Lee down in Ballincollig tried to cover up a terminally ill patients file when it was found out he failed to read a report. The affore mentioned doctor is still practicing.
    I have see 6 doctors fail to spot Mystenia Gravis and then all supported each other.
    Dr Michael Neary....... needs no more comment. The three doctors who vindicated him.

Them witch doctors are starting to looking surprisingly competent with their feathers and bones.

Ah here.

I'm Irish trained, have worked in Ireland all my life. Some of my colleagues have emigrated to other countries and are doing well, by all accounts they're well regarded. Irish doctors have no problems getting work anywhere else in the world, if we were so terrible then we wouldn't be getting into places like America, England, Australia, New Zealand, UAE, Canada etc.

There's bad eggs in all practices, I don't see how I am in anyway comparable to Michael Neary.

The first 2 cases you mentioned above involve doctors who weren't trained here. But I've also worked with plenty of non Irish doctors who were fantastic clinicians who worked really hard for their patients.

I can't nor won't defend that GP altering the report.

I'm not going to comment on the MG case you mention above, I know nothing about the case (nor do I want to know, boards is not an appropriate setting for discussing an individuals diagnosis).

There's no grand conspiracy to cover up the mistakes of fellow doctors. We continually audit each other where we make sure we are following relevant clinical guidelines. If there's mistakes made in patient care, it's presented back to each other and changes made to clinical practice or reforms put in place. In the surgical field, there's monthly morbidity and mortality meetings in hospitals where we discuss cases where things went wrong, the circumstances leading to that and what we can do to make things better. They can occasionally get very heated. At the heart of all this is patient welfare. We also are continually undergoing ongoing education including CPD in order to ensure we are up to date with relevant guidelines. Again, all with the patient's best interests at heart.

You may be shocked to hear this but I got into medicine to actually help people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,357 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Ah here...

There is no talking to these loons. It's like Donald Trump rejecting the findings of the CIA and FBI because he knows more about global affairs than they.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,564 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Hiqua? The Quality agency for the HSE? I would rather take my chances running overseas for treatment and pay private than take my chances with the "7 minute" wonder doctors who I think graduated for goat herder school. Wonder who was held accountable when those Cervical contracts were handed out? Who was held accountable when those cover ups came to light? How long before Vicki Phelan was that intimidate and settle out of court and gag order was that going on?

Sorry credibility is long gone there with me.

So we're onto incoherent rants now I see. Appropriate given the thread subject

Scrap the cap!

Birneybau wrote: »
    There is no talking to these loons. It's like Donald Trump rejecting the findings of the CIA and FBI because he knows more about global affairs than they.

He doesnt need them he has the General Intelligence Presidency to give him the info he needs.

Ah here.

I'm Irish trained, have worked in Ireland all my life. Some of my colleagues have emigrated to other countries and are doing well, by all accounts they're well regarded. Irish doctors have no problems getting work anywhere else in the world, if we were so terrible then we wouldn't be getting into places like America, England, Australia, New Zealand, UAE, Canada etc.

There's bad eggs in all practices, I don't see how I am in anyway comparable to Michael Neary.

The first 2 cases you mentioned above involve doctors who weren't trained here. But I've also worked with plenty of non Irish doctors who were fantastic clinicians who worked really hard for their patients.

I can't nor won't defend that GP altering the report.

I'm not going to comment on the MG case you mention above, I know nothing about the case (nor do I want to know, boards is not an appropriate setting for discussing an individuals diagnosis).

There's no grand conspiracy to cover up the mistakes of fellow doctors. We continually audit each other where we make sure we are following relevant clinical guidelines. If there's mistakes made in patient care, it's presented back to each other and changes made to clinical practice or reforms put in place. In the surgical field, there's monthly morbidity and mortality meetings in hospitals where we discuss cases where things went wrong, the circumstances leading to that and what we can do to make things better. They can occasionally get very heated. At the heart of all this is patient welfare. We also are continually undergoing ongoing education including CPD in order to ensure we are up to date with relevant guidelines. Again, all with the patient's best interests at heart.

You may be shocked to hear this but I got into medicine to actually help people.

I am fascinated that you got into medicine to help someone other than yourself. The good ones are working elsewhere we are left with the dregs of the system.

But it guys like you who covered for Michael Neary? Guy who covered who in case they where in need of support later?

If you wont defend the altering of a report then why is he still working? I would report a colleague to the company and then the FDA/Hiqua (if necessary) if I found that a colleague was covering up something. That clown is putting my job in danger as well as the rest of the factory.

If there is no conspiracy then why did the HSE call in the heavy lawyer crew to put Vicki Phelan in her place? Why didnt doctors speak up and out before this?

So I didnt imagine those headlines? But you wont comment on the MG case but you will condemn Dr. Michael Neary? I dont think Neary was as bad as the people who allowed him to continue. Isnt that double standard?

Have you accepted a "gift" from a Pharmaceutical or Bio Medical sales rep? and if so what did you receive?

I am fascinated that you got into medicine to help someone other than yourself. The good ones are working elsewhere we are left with the dregs of the system.

But it guys like you who covered for Michael Neary? Guy who covered who in case they where in need of support later?

If you wont defend the altering of a report then why is he still working? I would report a colleague to the company and then the FDA/Hiqua (if necessary) if I found that a colleague was covering up something. That clown is putting my job in danger as well as the rest of the factory.

If there is no conspiracy then why did the HSE call in the heavy lawyer crew to put Vicki Phelan in her place? Why didnt doctors speak up and out before this?

So I didnt imagine those headlines? But you wont comment on the MG case but you will condemn Dr. Michael Neary? I dont think Neary was as bad as the people who allowed him to continue. Isnt that double standard?

Have you accepted a "gift" from a Pharmaceutical or Bio Medical sales rep? and if so what did you receive?

Dregs of the system - Eh, no we're not.

I never covered up for Michael Neary. I have never covered up anything. Nor do I plan on ever doing it.

Dr Lee has had a finding against him by the highest regulatory authority for doctors in Ireland. The Medical Council. I don't know who else you expect me to report him to.

As I said, I know nothing about that Myasthenia Gravis case. Nor do I want to be told it.

I have received a "gift" from a sales rep.....I regularly eat 2 sandwiches and a chocolate muffin that they may provide at hospital grand rounds or journal clubs. Unfortunately for them, I generally don't take any notice of the drug that's being advertised, I don't talk to the reps themselves and they often have a competitor at teaching the following week who provide us with the same "gift". There you have it, my conscience is clear now.

no we're not.

I never covered up for Michael Neary. I have never covered up anything. Nor do I plan on ever doing it.

Dr Lee has had a finding against him by the highest regulatory authority for doctors in Ireland. The Medical Council. I don't know who else you expect me to report him to.

As I said, I know nothing about that Myasthenia Gravis case. Nor do I want to be told it.

I have received a "gift" from a sales rep.....I regularly eat 2 sandwiches and a chocolate muffin that they may provide at hospital grand rounds or journal clubs. Unfortunately for them, I generally don't take any notice of the drug that's being advertised, I don't talk to the reps themselves and they often have a competitor at teaching the following week who provide us with the same "gift". There you have it, my conscience is clear now.

An elderly farmer is feeling weak over a number of years and it eventually comes to point where he cant swallow. Several doctors including a geriatric specialist tell him "its in his head". One day he cant go on and goes to hospital. Its spotted by another doctor. The geriatric doctor immediately rallies her five brothers (also doctors) who tell the farmer, its very difficult to spot. The farmer cleared them all out and told them to get bent as they were covering for another.

So there is no quantitative metric for shifting prescriptions? You never got taken to a conference, received any incentive to entertain one product over another?

Funny, my father was a purchasing manager and the stuff that would be thrown at him was unreal (unlimited booze, trips to Sweden for the family, Golf trips for management, offers of outside "consultancy"). My father was a very honest and cautious man and was terrified if was revealed he could be blackmailed. There has never been any scandal like that in the HSE ever, in recent times, regarding purchasing? A dog never bites once. My sister is a nurse and she say she used to inundated with training days and incentives to recommend purchases when she was in the HSE, (now works for private industry).

You are young and naive and just in the door the wet day. One day you will get that call from your college buddy. You will answer that call because you will be in that same situation yourself one day.

Ah here, I'm done. Keep firing personal insults at me but you know what, if you presented yourself to me as being sick, I'd treat you as well as I treat any other patient who attends me.

You actually haven't a clue what you're on about but the frustrating thing about dealing with the likes of you is that you think you're more informed than everyone else and that everyone else is wrong. You're a bit like the title subject above, if you're against her you're just some part of a corrupt system. Black and White, no grey.

I've exams to be studying for. Good luck.

An elderly farmer is feeling weak over a number of years and it eventually comes to point where he cant swallow. Several doctors including a geriatric specialist tell him "its in his head". One day he cant go on and goes to hospital. Its spotted by another doctor. The geriatric doctor immediately rallies her five brothers (also doctors) who tell the farmer, its very difficult to spot. The farmer cleared them all out and told them to get bent as they were covering for another.

Before I go. First of all, uncorruberated anecdotal situation you've presented. SEcond of all, Geriatric specialist? Was he not in hospital when he saw her? Geriatricians are hospital consultants. Third of all, Upper GI swallowing difficulties sound like a surgical issue, not treated medically generally. Fourth: I'd be shocked that this farmer (if this situation actually exists) wouldn't have got a full physical exam including cardiac, resp, gi & neuro exam, a full blood work up including FBC, U&E, CRP, LFTS, TFTs, Iron studies, Cholesterol. Maybe a holter monitor or 24hour bp monitor. Then maybe an upper GI endoscopy. I'd be very surprised if anyone was told "its in your head".

Anyway, I don't have time for this. later buddy.

Ah here, I'm done. Keep firing personal insults at me but you know what, if you presented yourself to me as being sick, I'd treat you as well as I treat any other patient who attends me.

You actually haven't a clue what you're on about but the frustrating thing about dealing with the likes of you is that you think you're more informed than everyone else and that everyone else is wrong. You're a bit like the title subject above, if you're against her you're just some part of a corrupt system. Black and White, no grey.

I've exams to be studying for. Good luck.

You have been treated as I have been by the HSE and Doctors and the rest of them "7 minute marvels" you could be dead, bloated on unnecessary steroids and and have your reports go unread, hence you go untreated.

Wow, I never thought someone would understand me so well, possibly because you think its all a garden of roses at the HSE. Everyday must seem like "Carry On Nurse".

Can I come to your surgery? You like to think you would but really its "hi, bye, collect the prescription on your way out and pay the secretary". When you deal with me, I want to know the side effects? what is the treatment plan? have you seen a case like this before? Trust me you would earn every penny with me. I think we have put doctors so high up on a pedestal they cannot come down.
    Once again we have had no accountability for any medical enquiry regarding the Blood Tribunal, HIV infections from Bayer, Avian and Swine flu ...... and the list goes on and on.....

Gemma O Doherty is someone who is trying to exposing the very first part of a very corrupt society. A bit like the journalist who first exposed Fr. Brendan Smyth. Once a few parts are exposed the truth will start to unfold.

Best of luck with exams.