Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fatal car crash today, pics & video circulating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I often wonder do people know what they are sharing?
    Well in this case I say people have a fair idea but I've relatives and they can't tell the differences between real news items and fake ones. Right from trivial things to more serious things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

Have you anything to back up your claim above? , if not it's only one step away from sharing the video. It's essentially blaming someone.

Im not blaming anyone. Simply putting up what was passed on to me from what i would consider a reliable source.

Spreading gossip on a public website when there is someone local dead. I fcuking dispare.

I'm out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Kevin Finnerty

What's it mostly being disguised as on WhatsApp? Don't want to open the thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭tretorn

I passed that accident site about I AM, the exit was blocked off and maybe four Garda cars were there.

It was very wet at the time and visibility was poor.

The exit is still closed now.

RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭lbc2019

Some people are just cünts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Rip to the victim in this accident.I hope none of their relatives seen the video/pictures sent.
    I do however find some of the reactions here ott.we're all seen gore such as this at some stage due to technology.some people even seek it out.
    I was sent it from a close friend and told it was rough.i would see it as a reminder that your car is not the fortress some people have come to see it as and that driver vigilance from all road users is necessary . As i've read from others here it may have been due to a diabetic passing out at the wheel so it is was in no way his/her fault.however some people in ireland drive like they are invincible,especially on motorways and images such as this are a real and frightening reminder of what can and does happen on our roads.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

lbc2019 wrote: »
    Some people are just cünts
    There's that too.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Seen the picture/video after I read the about incident online. Pretty disturbing, then passing said incident on M50 there was pretty sobering considering I had a fairly visual image of what had happened.

The sharing of the picture is disgusting as it could not only be easily sent to a family member, it's just bad on all levels. If anything is to come out of it, it might make people think for a moment about there own driving (not putting blame on anyone) that could have been any one of us, if the above was true.

RIP to the victim and thoughts really are with the family.

Thoughts with the ES too that helped, that wouldn't have been an easy shift.

Stay safe out there, what ever mode of transport you use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Apologies if this has been posted, I've seen the pic/vid, but I'm curious, do we know how the accident actually happened?

Was the car going the wrong way on the road? (I'm unsure the direction it's facing in the video, could have just spun, either). Struggling to imagine how the car managed to get so badly damaged, and the driver decapitated, in what would have 'normally' been a rear end shunt from a truck (one-way entrance ramp)?

Unconfirmed below:
    Male unknown age, driver of other car was diabetic & blood sugars dropped causing him to cross lane & spin/crash both cars into barrier, patient that was decaped had no seatbelt on, truck driver who filmed video above has been arrested by Gardaí

The above is appearantly what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

The car looks like it rolled down a hill and ended up in the road. The picture and video aint great but thats the result of rta. No point in playing ignorant. At least nobody suffered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭sacamano

smurgen wrote: »
    I was sent it from a close friend and told it was rough.i would see it as a reminder that your car is not the fortress some people have come to see it as and that driver vigilance from all road users is necessary .

You think that's the intended message and the message people will take away from looking at the video?

I'm thankfully in the minority here of not having some piece of sh*t in some group forward this on to me. F*ck, this is depressing.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Struggling to imagine how the car managed to get so badly damaged,
    It's easy to forget K that the forces involved are mind boggling. When you watch crash testing of cars they're usually conducted at around 50kph, 30mph in old money and although cars have never been safer, look at the state of said tested cars after such a low speed accident. They're note exactly drivable. I mean it's not that much faster than Usain Bolt at full tilt, yet is roughly equivalent to driving off the second storey of a multi storey car park onto the pavement below. Actually if a wall materialised in front of Usain when he was up to full speed and he hit it, he would be severely injured, or maybe even killed.

Now think of going say 100Kph, even 80kph and how so much stronger the forces are if you were to come to a sudden stop or if a far heavier vehicle like a truck hit you. The energies are enormous. It doesn't bear thinking about K, but we tend to feel very insulated in our cars with crumple zones, airbags and the radio on.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭el Fenomeno

A sad, sad state of affairs that what was already a horrendous death has been further undignified by some tosser getting the most miniscule of "I was there" thrills imagineable.

Bragging about being at a concert, being on holiday, going to the gym etc. is bad enough.

But bragging about being at the scene of an accident? Christ, we've nosedived as a species.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

some one sent me the video earlier and i had no idea what the video was about before i hit play, ffs idiots sending that around. no respect for people anymore some one died and some twats records it like **** off into a hole some where please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Even the media reports mention not sharing photos!

https://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/irish-news/woman-killed-in-serious-multivehicle-crash-on-m50-37745519.html

Christ but some people are scum too, aren't they? What is to be gained by taking a photo of a dead person in a car? This is how social media has warped people nowadays, they have to be the one to get it, share it, send it on.

I'd fully agree with such an act becoming a criminal offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Very sad that the family dealing with this tragedy have to deal with this sort of crap as well. Imagine this been sent to a WhatsApp group that this womens's family is in.

If anyone I know sent it to me I'd delete them as a contact. Some people are just pond scum.

Wibbs wrote: »
    It's easy to forget K that the forces involved are mind boggling. When you watch crash testing of cars they're usually conducted at around 50kph, 30mph in old money and although cars have never been safer, look at the state of said tested cars after such a low speed accident. They're note exactly drivable. I mean it's not that much faster than Usain Bolt at full tilt, yet is roughly equivalent to driving off the second storey of a multi storey car park onto the pavement below. Actually if a wall materialised in front of Usain when he was up to full speed and he hit it, he would be severely injured, or maybe even killed.

Now think of going say 100Kph, even 80kph and how so much stronger the forces are if you were to come to a sudden stop or if a far heavier vehicle like a truck hit you. The energies are enormous. It doesn't bear thinking about K, but we tend to feel very insulated in our cars with crumple zones, airbags and the radio on.

2000Kg car at 50kph = 192901 J of energy
    2000Kg car at 100kph = 771604 J of energy

Double speed != Double energy. Ignore crash tests and think 747 hitting the ground.

ED E wrote: »
    Unconfirmed below:

Oh okay. Maybe I was looking at the pictures wrong, but I thought the crash took place on the actual entry ramp to the motorway, and not on the motorway itself.

Wibbs wrote: »
    It's easy to forget K that the forces involved are mind boggling.

Some fair points alright. I went about 60kmh into the side of a car before Christmas, but both of us walked away fully intact (I was doing 80, but i hit the brakes momentarily before the crash, so i assume impact was at approx 60).

I suppose it's true that a truck doing the damage makes a huge difference though. Feel sorry for the poor chap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Regards crash testing. It's a good idea however, it cannot take every single variable of what direction the car will take. Chances are too in a fairly serious crash it could take multiple hits in the same areas, with each blow weaking even that structure.

Cars are lethal weapons, just never forget that. When you bolting along doing 120km, your in a tin box, to put it mildly you won't be walking away from it.

Sometimes I wonder if some people have a false perception on how safe cars are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

A co-worker of my husband went “Hey look at this!” and showed him whatever the picture/video was without telling him. He was pretty livid. What is wrong with people? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

sacamano wrote: »
    I was sent it from a close friend and told it was rough.i would see it as a reminder that your car is not the fortress some people have come to see it as and that driver vigilance from all road users is necessary .

You think that's the intended message and the message people will take away from looking at the video?

I'm thankfully in the minority here of not having some piece of sh*t in some group forward this on to me. F*ck, this is depressing.

No that was literally what my friend said when messaging me.calm down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

Rip to the victim in this accident.I hope none of their relatives seen the video/pictures sent.
    I do however find some of the reactions here ott.we're all seen gore such as this at some stage due to technology.some people even seek it out.
    I was sent it from a close friend and told it was rough.i would see it as a reminder that your car is not the fortress some people have come to see it as and that driver vigilance from all road users is necessary . As i've read from others here it may have been due to a diabetic passing out at the wheel so it is was in no way his/her fault.however some people in ireland drive like they are invincible,especially on motorways and images such as this are a real and frightening reminder of what can and does happen on our roads.

Especially in the rain people drive like lunatics, I remember a while ago I think it was a mother and child in a pram knocked down in Waterford and the emergency services having trouble with a crowd who had pulled out their phones to record the scene, we really are in the ME generation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Sick, disgusting and warped people who do this.
    I would like to think if I was dead or dying on the side of the road that the only thing a passer by would do, if help was already there, is bless themselves and say a silent prayer.

That's half the problem. No religion anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Oink wrote: »
    It takes a special kind of person to 1. take these pics 2. share them.
    I'm delighted to say I don't know anyone who is part of that sub-species.

In a way I am mystified that people are surprised at some toerags videoing someones death and then passing it on for others to gawk at.

Maybe I am an old cynic, but some people can be vicious uncaring bast**ds.

The guys in ISIS that brutally hacked the heads of some poor devils, the ones that filmed it and the ones that put it up on line were often from normal enough backgrounds.
    And a lot of the ones that watched those videos were and probably still are from normal enough backgrounds.
    Why watch someone getting their heads chopped off or watch someone burn ?

Read personal stories from any war and you will find some of the most savage things carried out by people who once were seemingly just normal people living normal lives.

A lot of the ones that carried out and stood witnessing the worse excesses of the Third Reichs master plans went on to live mundane lives as if nothing had ever happened.

Humans, for all their intelligence, can have a very dark side.

Nowadays social media and indeed the internet itself (especially the cesspit that is the dark web) allows people to share and see stuff that years ago one had to go to lengths to acquire or see.

Also just look at TV. It is getting harder and harder to now shock people and everything has to now be more graphic.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

People used to go to watch hangings and the guillotine as a form of entertainment, this is not a new phenomenon in the human psyche

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

People used to go to watch hangings and the guillotine as a form of entertainment, this is not a new phenomenon in the human psyche

Actually I was thinking the same thing.
    But at least you usually had to go out of your way to see them.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

jmayo wrote: »
    Actually I was thinking the same thing.
    But at least you usually had to go out of your way to see them.
    true

FM104
    Update: Gardaave confirmed that a woman died in today's fatal crash on the M50. A man who was in the second car was taken to hospital with non life-threatening injuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The colosseum was always a sell out

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 195 ✭✭GAA Beo

Its ****ing grim, its on Liveleak so some other sicko put it up there. Wish I didn't look it up. All the Yank teenage edgelords making disgusting comments under it too. Hope Gardai get that off Liveleak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,718 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Im acquainted with a few cops, through golf and work etc, i got the pic from pretty much all of them. Funny thing is its not the most disturbing thing ive received from a few of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭MarkHenderson

GAA Beo wrote: »
    Its ****ing grim, its on Liveleak so some other sicko put it up there. Wish I didn't look it up. All the Yank teenage edgelords making disgusting comments under it too. Hope Gardai get that off Liveleak.

But you did look it up. You are also a "sicko"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Im - - - -

I'd probably not admit that tbh, could land you in hot water if they decide to chase the phone gob****e that took the video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Ally Dick wrote: »

Sorry Ally but what religion or whatever sky fairy people believe in should have no bearing on a tragic road collision...

It doesn't even look like a woman in the video, hence why I thought the video was fake at first...

Thoughts to her family, could have been my own mother and nephew on the way over to Blanchardstown centre...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

how did that happen?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,022 Mod ✭✭✭✭wiggle16

Male unknown age, driver of other car was diabetic & blood sugars dropped causing him to cross lane & spin/crash both cars into barrier, patient that was decaped had no seatbelt on, truck driver who filmed video above has been arrested by Gardaí

The above is appearantly what happened.

If you got something like this from, as you say, a reliable source, you should take it down. That's not your information to share, and yes, it is ascribing blame because it is asserting a cause to the crash.

None of that has been released to the media as far as I am aware at the moment, RTÉ currently say in their article about it that they have no details on the fatality.

Your post refers to a "patient" which strongly implies your reliable source is emergency services personnel and that is not information they are permitted to share nor have shared on their behalf. You should not be posting that.

That doesn't change the fact that it's a rumor and a very irresponsible one at that. You should take that post down.

[To be clear, I am not a moderator of this forum and am not trying to pass myself off as such.]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭Dontfadeaway

Sad that this was most likely being shared before his family even knew. All the jokes are Just wrong.

i remember in the 1980's MOVIES like last house on the left, evil dead and the burning were all banned on a video nasty list.. I;d remember lads in blue vans peddling them with unshaven 80's porn.

They were banned and they were movies, which actually disturbed people at the time, albeit they are very tame by today's standards..

Cut to today, you can see worse on your way to work ten times over before your coffee, and it's all real... while you watch and carry on, some family are getting horrendous news... you'd have to think where do we go from here.

I got that photo only today and it was from a lad in our group, not malicious just kinds of, WTF some poor guy just got killed on the M50, horrendous.. he wasn't sending it with ****ing smiley emojis for fook sake. it's horrible yes but really there's no legal thing anyone can do, it;s 100% unjustifiable and amoral but look at it this way, the guy who named that girl in the rugby rape trial got a slap on the wrist and a 100 stg fine I read so what can you do. it is it is shameful alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭starbaby2003

wiggle16 wrote: »
    If you got something like this from, as you say, a reliable source, you should take it down. That's not your information to share, and yes, it is ascribing blame because it is asserting a cause to the crash.

None of that has been released to the media as far as I am aware at the moment, RTÉ currently say in their article about it that they have no details on the fatality.

Your post refers to a "patient" which strongly implies your reliable source is emergency services personnel and that is not information they are permitted to share nor have shared on their behalf. You should not be posting that.

That doesn't change the fact that it's a rumor and a very irresponsible one at that. You should take that post down.

[To be clear, I am not a moderator of this forum and am not trying to pass myself off as such.]
    The above is correct except it is a woman. The papers have confirmed it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭ct5amr2ig1nfhp

Yes, that's half the problem ... no religion. :rolleyes: Give me a break.

The sooner religion disappears the better.
    Ally Dick wrote: »

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭tretorn

The papers are reporting that it was a woman who died in the accident.

But you did look it up. You are also a "sicko"
    Cop on theres a difference between watching it and posting it online or recording

Muppet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Rip to the lady who died

On a more general note, is there something that the emergency service can do to cut down on the rubbernecking? If the center verge was higher at least one side of the motorway would continue to move freely. I believe in some countries (France I think) they erect screens around the scene so no one can see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

The above is correct except it is a woman. The papers have confirmed it.

how would they know this at this time? blood sugar / diabetes.

sounds like made up stuff to me.

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Im acquainted with a few cops, through golf and work etc, i got the pic from pretty much all of them. Funny thing is its not the most disturbing thing ive received from a few of them

That's disgraceful & unprofessional & I would report them.

Yes, that's half the problem ... no religion. :rolleyes: Give me a break.

The sooner religion disappears the better.
    Secular Ireland has no morals, a failed project. Today is another example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Sorry about that

A member of my family was killed instantly in a car accident. Today I'm feeling relieved that it happened pre IPhone. I feel so much pity for the family; bad enough what happened- in a way this indignity is worse.

No respect for the dead or their loved ones. those who share the content are as bad as the clown who took the pictures/footage in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

paw patrol wrote: »
    how would they know this at this time? blood sugar / diabetes.

sounds like made up stuff to me.

This is being reported in the mirror!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭THEDONWALDO

Mods, I really think this thread should be closed.

it happened at 11.30 so that person was due somewhere at some time to meet someone I'm sure. When it didn't happen and hours clocked by, can you imagine how the family must have felt...:(

and there as one poster said it, the boys in blue are sending on the same vids to golf buddies so where do you go from there..