Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Home Automation advice for frustrated Newbie

Options
  • 25-01-2019 7:53pm
    Registered Users Posts: 653 ✭✭✭

Hi Guys
    Newbie here :D
    So I just started my Home automation project in December (Nest (Great) Ring Doorbell (Brilliant device) and loads of TP Link smart Plugs (Excellent Devices) They are all absolutely brilliant devices!
    I got a load of TP link plugs but after setting up 25 of them I found that I could only connect a handful of my usual connections (smart phones tablets etc). Rang the Router maker Netgear to be told there is a max amount of simultaneous users of 32 per channel 2.4ghz & 5ghz. How do all you guys have so many IOT devices connected and what sort of Routers are you using . is there some work around so that I can more IOT devices on my 2.4Ghz frequency or is that it 32 IOT devices and thats the end of the line. In the mean time I have my 10 spare smart plugs powered down.
    Ideally I would love about 30 TP Link smart plugs and about 15 phones tablets etc House of 7 teenagers / adults
    Any advice welcome

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Seanieke

I'm sure someone will come along and tell me I'm wrong but I would have thought you can connect 254 devices based on IP address, with the router being the 255th?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,555 ✭✭✭wexfordman2

Seanieke wrote: »
    I'm sure someone will come along and tell me I'm wrong but I would have thought you can connect 254 devices based on IP address, with the router being the 255th?