Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Home Automation advice for frustrated Newbie

Options
13»

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Irish_peppa

bk wrote: »
    Another option you could consider, is to flash OpenWRT or one of the other open source firmwares on your Netgear. I don't think these open source firmwares have any such limitation on number of devices.

Of course that is non trivial and might brick your router, but it is an option.

Hmm I saw that mentioned places it sounds like its like a hack type thing that puts third party software on your router. In any event im not that good at computers to do it.

Have any of you guys any experience with Ubiquities consumer level AMPLIFI products I assume they are a tad more user friendly

AmpliFi is Ubiquiti's consumer line for the home.

https://www.amplifi.com/

PS: I see Ubiquity and Unify mentioned a lot but they look a like i take it Ubiquity is the company and the Unify is the actual UFO looking device?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭The high horse brigade

Amplifi is just their mesh wireless offering. My thoughts on mesh are it should only be used where you absolutely have not got the option of running a cable to an access point. Mesh is for convenience but is a big trade off compared to wired access points

All Ubiquiti are fairly user friendly, it has a nice clean interface and is pretty intuitive, no harder than most consumer gear. There is a wealth on info and guides online if you Google