Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

st brigid's day, where's all the crosses?

• Registered Users Posts: 498 ✭✭Muckka

gozunda wrote: »
    She could be sneaky like that so she could. She tricked one local king into giving her loads of land for her settlement by saying she would only take what land her cloak would cover. And lo and behold the thing took on a life of its own and covered nearly an entire county! Yer man was fairly pissed off I'd imagine ....

Ah she was very clever, the king had a parchment mapp of the country on his oak table and she threw the map on the table and covered the map...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

,|_
    ¯|

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

If a catholic school then they Should’ve done the crosses

Then they should’ve sat down the non Catholics attending the school and given an in-depth explanation why their religion is wrong

Then invite them to be baptised as Roman Catholics.

I agree with some of your post.
    They should've sat the non Catholics down and explain why we make these beautiful crosses and invite them to join in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

I agree with some of your post.
    They should've sat the non Catholics down and explain why we make these beautiful crosses and invite them to join in.

Crosses are for nailing / tying Christians to, esp. annoying ones :

aGnB7Ij.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,774 ✭✭✭uptherebels

I agree entirely. They should be spending hours per day in front of tvs and computers, and passing and listening to advertising everywhere, being indoctrinated by the god of fundamentalist capitalism.

Atheist response to the 0.0000001% of the day being a victim of religious indoctrination: "Oh. My. God. Like. The horror. (Did I tell you I'm an atheist?)"
    Atheist response to the 99.9999999% of the day being a victim of free market indoctrination: "Look at how advanced I am! (Did I tell you I'm an atheist?)"

Not one of the fashion following fúckers passing themselves off as "atheist" today - especially this one - would have had the massive, gigantic, gorgeous balls and rebel spirit to pass themselves off as even "anti-clerical" in Ireland in 1932 or 1952 as the handful of communists and socialist-republicans in Ireland of those days did - the incredibly demonised anti-clerical sorts like Jimmy Gralton and Peadar O'Donnell spring to mind. The mass of present-day "atheists" are instinctive conformists; the zealous atheists of 2019 have precisely the same fashion-following conformist impulse of the zealous McQuaidesque papists of 1959.

Long live the handful of real rebels in every Irish generation. Yeah, and this thread makes it very clear that the Brigid's Cross is a wonderful fúck you symbol to all those aforementioned snivelling conformist guttersnipes.

It ok man let it all out. The bad atheists can't get you here on the internet, but be wide for that capitalism guy, he is everywhere.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭Trump Is Right

judeboy101 wrote: »
    Kids came home today with no brigid's crosses, asked teacher when went to do second collection and she said they don't do it anymore as its against schools inclusion policy. It's a catholic school!!!

I'll give you a bridge to cross... just promise not to burn it after you make it to the other side!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

We're going to see more of this in Ireland. It's mad that a fun activity is stopped because some foreigners might not like the Christian symbol of the cross.

Um you know Brigid’s cross isn’t a Christian cross right? It far predates Christianity.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

I agree entirely. They should be spending hours per day in front of tvs and computers, and passing and listening to advertising everywhere, being indoctrinated by the god of fundamentalist capitalism.

Atheist response to the 0.0000001% of the day being a victim of religious indoctrination: "Oh. My. God. Like. The horror. (Did I tell you I'm an atheist?)"
    Atheist response to the 99.9999999% of the day being a victim of free market indoctrination: "Look at how advanced I am! (Did I tell you I'm an atheist?)"

Not one of the fashion following fúckers passing themselves off as "atheist" today - especially this one - would have had the massive, gigantic, gorgeous balls and rebel spirit to pass themselves off as even "anti-clerical" in Ireland in 1932 or 1952 as the handful of communists and socialist-republicans in Ireland of those days did - the incredibly demonised anti-clerical sorts like Jimmy Gralton and Peadar O'Donnell spring to mind. The mass of present-day "atheists" are instinctive conformists; the zealous atheists of 2019 have precisely the same fashion-following conformist impulse of the zealous McQuaidesque papists of 1959.

Long live the handful of real rebels in every Irish generation. Yeah, and this thread makes it very clear that the Brigid's Cross is a wonderful fúck you symbol to all those aforementioned snivelling conformist guttersnipes.

You can almost smell the rage and uncontrollable anger from this post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,600 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

You can almost smell the rage and uncontrollable anger from this post.

I'm surprised the 'West Brits' aren't blamed for this.

Who are the west Brits ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

Muckka wrote: »
    Who are the west Brits ?

They lost a rugby match to England today.

iguana wrote: »
    Um you know Brigid’s cross isn’t a Christian cross right? It far predates Christianity.

i doubt it, i wouldn't trust Wikipedia either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

i doubt it, i wouldn't trust Wikipedia either

It does. Ireland had its own religions before the sand religions were imposed on us...

• Site Banned Posts: 79 ✭✭Robert Wolfe

Genius!

The Muslamics is stealing our rushes and stopping our kiddies making crosses!!!!

Nah just countless terror attacks across Europe, no go zones, rape gangs in England, mass sexual assaults in Sweden and Germany etc

But hey, it's the religion of peace!

Muckka wrote: »
    Who are the west Brits ?

People from Devon and Cornwall.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,343 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

judeboy101 wrote: »
    Of course you are, with a username like that. We all know what's on your mind, ya dirty fecker

Not really sure what point you were trying to make, but you've clearly never read The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy. The character of Hotblack Desiato actually got their name from this estate agent.

As for the whole thing about the crosses, I went to primary school in the 70s and never once made them. I vaguely remember my sister coming home with one one year, and I'm pretty sure my brother made none either. This was in a Catholic primary school in Dublin, so not everywhere felt the need to continue such "traditions".

People from Devon and Cornwall.

I thought so too, but the Cornish seems to think otherwise...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭Poll Dubh

Zaph wrote: »

As for the whole thing about the crosses, I went to primary school in the 70s and never once made them. I vaguely remember my sister coming home with one one year, and I'm pretty sure my brother made none either. This was in a Catholic primary school in Dublin, so not everywhere felt the need to continue such "traditions".

Probably because it is easier to get rushes in rural areas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,058 ✭✭✭rightmove

Poll Dubh wrote: »

Like rush

Poll Dubh wrote: »

still doing them yokes down here, they must be doing different stuff in the cities,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,849 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Have any of the other 90% of people on this forum who went to an Irish Catholic school here in Ireland, ever been thought about how the dirty pagan gods and protestants are going to Hell or just this guy?

I don't believe him and think he is telling porkies.

Yes we were taught about hell, and that everyone who wasn't a good catholic was going there.

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Surely you move to other countries to engage with their traditions, not urinate on them.

Otherwise you are just a colonist.

Are immigrants into Ireland colonists? I hope not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

topper75 wrote: »
    Surely you move to other countries to engage with their traditions, not urinate on them.

Otherwise you are just a colonist.

Are immigrants into Ireland colonists? I hope not.

Nobody's pissing on St Brigid's crosses.

There's no reason to believe this has anything to do with immigration.

Colonists, really?

Better luck next time.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Yes we were taught about hell, and that everyone who wasn't a good catholic was going there.

It's interesting, I had the complete opposite experience. Hell was literally never brought up, ever, it was all luvy dovy soppy hippy Jesus stuff.

Really annoying young female teachers playing guitars, singing Christian songs and getting you to speak about your feelings.

This was 90s and early 00s so maybe things had changed by that stage. Tbh I think I would've preferred the hellfire and brimstone method. :D

Late 70s and it seemed to be a transition between eras then. You had the class teacher with all the Jesus loves you stuff, then the old priest would come into the class and start talking about hell :)

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,417 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

The nuns made sure we knew about hell. Remember one little old nun, my 2nd class teacher, telling us that our guardian angels collected our sins in a special sack he carried and going to confession was how how the sack got emptied. If you died with sins in your sack the devil put you in it and carried you off to hell. Sweet dreams, little children. This was in 1980.

Of course, because we Catholics are the only ones that have the sacrament of confession we are the only ones that can go to heaven because our sins can be absolved. No matter how good a protestant is they can never go to heaven, but maybe they can stick around in purgatory, which is better than hell. Distinctly remember my 6th class teacher telling us this in 1984. It distressed me because my BIL is C of E and I was traumatised thinking he was going to hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

RayCun wrote: »
    Nobody's pissing on St Brigid's crosses.

There's no reason to believe this has anything to do with immigration.

Colonists, really?

Better luck next time.

Ok - it's the next time - I'll try my 'luck' again! :o

They are pissing on traditions when they ignore them or refuse to engage with them. The kids of the 'new' Irish should do as Irish kids have always done. Otherwise how are we supposed to accept them as Irish at all. Unless of course I have missed something offensive about this time-honoured craft?
    Making a cross does not put you under some hoodoo sway of a controlling parish priest. Don't be so fearful of Irish ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭alloywheel

Topper75, you can still be Irish without believing in a particular religion or superstitions or whatever you want to call it yourself, like..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

topper75 wrote: »
    Ok - it's the next time - I'll try my 'luck' again! :o

They are pissing on traditions when they ignore them or refuse to engage with them. The kids of the 'new' Irish should do as Irish kids have always done. Otherwise how are we supposed to accept them as Irish at all. Unless of course I have missed something offensive about this time-honoured craft?
    Making a cross does not put you under some hoodoo sway of a controlling parish priest. Don't be so fearful of Irish ways.

Stop being such a drama queen.

Not doing a thing /= pissing on that thing

And again, since you missed this last time in your rush to blame everything on foreigners, there's no reason to believe this has anything to do with "the new Irish". Unless by "new" you mean "born in the last 60 years".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,997 ✭✭✭sporina

Happy St. Brigid's Day all.. and Spring is here woo hoo

• Registered Users Posts: 3,471 ✭✭✭boardise

I'm not saying any of this malarkey matters a damn but it seems highly likely that 'Brigid' represents a Pagan goddess more than a Christian saint....plus the cross of Brigid is an ancient symbol of the sun or good luck belonging actually to the same family as the Swastika. Ultimately, anything one likes can be read into these ciphers.

P.S. Just saw Conall Cernach's post @ 2.49 !

Also , according to Maeve Brigid Callan , Professor of Religion in Iowa , St.Brigid is in effect the patron saint of abortion. ...which my or may not be of interest to R Catholic enthusiasts of today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,876 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

they made them in my kids school - Catholic ethos in north Kildare. The school and the specific teacher is great for keeping up traditions - I’m told there were some complaints by some “new irish” parents at Christmas over the kids learning hymns and gathering around the life size crib etc. Harmless stuff. The parents were told to either remove their kids from the school or put up with it, which they did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,657 ✭✭✭archfi

Happy St. Brigid's Day

The issue is never the issue; the issue is always the revolution.

The Entryism process: 1) Demand access; 2) Demand accommodation; 3) Demand a seat at the table; 4) Demand to run the table; 5) Demand to run the institution; 6) Run the institution to produce more activists and policy until they run it into the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,651 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

I was taught by nuns and we never made crosses, we were told about hell and were also regularly informed that we were all likely to end up there. 😂

Not to mention how they do be (mis)treating the women ....oops , the feminist sisters won't like me saying that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,999 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

One of the nuns used to go around inspecting the local kids and on occasion where she asked one of them..

“ show me your cross “..

this happened..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

P.S. Just saw Conall Cernach's post @ 2.49 !

You should be looking at the date and not the time more specifically the year. You are replying to people who posted four years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

I don't think anybody, bar some far right irish catholics (otherwise known as nuns) could give a toss about brigid's day.

Oh, and spring doesn't start for another month so I wouldn't go changing the duvet just yet.

St. Brigid is pre christian!

Seriously - St. Brigid's Day wishes to ye all!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

Take a second to read what you just wrote.

wait for it...

Still stumped? I'll give you a clue - look at the first 2 letters in your post (and the full stop after them).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,651 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

That's such a shame as its part of our heritage as well.

When my boys were younger they attended the local ET school. There they took a different approach and celebrated all the various festivals Catholic Muslim Jewish etc.

A much more holistic approach.

no hope for some of you board's folk at all.. ye need some love in your lives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,999 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Good to know that Irish Catholics are as tolerant as ever 🙄 Maybe read the Constitution of Ireland sometime, especially the bit about the right to freedom of religion in education.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,475 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

90 people at the local community centre making them. there's three in our house !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,387 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

The 'St.' is just shameful Catholic rebranding of a pagan intellectual property. They should be sued.

Christianity is an imported religion of Middle Eastern origin, nothing Irish about it. :D