Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you banned from anywhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,672 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

I was very briefly banned from Costello's in Limerick. If anyone knows Costello's, they'd know getting kicked out of there is an achievement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭Giveaway

I am not in good standing in Zimbabwe. And have committed hudud crime so if reported may be liable for arrestin quite a few places

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭Ariadne

I'm trying to think, I've been told to get out of a couple of places but not quite banned. I did get banned from a Gloria Jeans in Cork city when I was a teenager. They had a policy that you couldn't stay in there unless you bought something. My friends had gotten drinks but I hadn't and I was asked to leave. Let's just say I wasn't pleased about it :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

This kip

20101210_173131__No_Homers.jpg

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,283 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Oddly enough the Personal Issues forum on boards. Never bothered to find out why.
    It seems to pre-date our records - anyway you are not any longer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,108 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

I got banned from that great Dublin all night breakfast place called Manhattan . It was a mistake though, I was accused of fouling the toilets which I did not do.
    The toilets were a horror at the best of times and I would not have gone in there to save my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,305 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Nope

• Registered Users Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Barred from Ryan air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

Barred from Ryan air.

Why?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Barred from Ryan air.

Are you a DJ from Cork?

Absolutely nowhere. I have however been gently escorted from a pub once and refused entry from another due to my extremely inebriated state. I remember the doormen being really nice to me. It was very much a case of "ok young lady we will put you in a taxi and off you go".
    I've never been banned from anywhere on boards. I don't even have any cards for Jaysus sake.

Have a big card
    472045.png

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Absolutely nowhere. I have however been gently escorted from a pub once and refused entry from another due to my extremely inebriated state. I remember the doormen being really nice to me. It was very much a case of "ok young lady we will put you in a taxi and off you go".
    I've never been banned from anywhere on boards. I don't even have any cards for Jaysus sake.

We'll soon see about that.......

*Reports post and waits*

:p

mzungu wrote: »
    We'll soon see about that.......

*Reports post and waits*

You fùcking asshole!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

You're lucky. If you were a fella the same bouncers would have taken you down an alley and knocked all your teeth out.

I wasn't a threat and as soon as yer man approached me I left but I've a feeling I'd be treated as well even if I'd been very awkward. I have seen doormen be awful aggressive for what seemed to me to be over very little. Using conflict with conflict doesn't work in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Had temporary bans from some forums, if that counts... :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

I'm banned from the rugby forum. First year was earned and since then it's been by request.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

poisonated wrote: »
    Barred from Ryan air.

Why?
    I barred myself 3 years ago.

When I was 14 I was in a newsagents in my school uniform when a girl in the same uniform - whom I was nowhere near and wasn't with - was very aggressively told to leave. I assume she was suspected of shoplifting.

Anyway the shopkeeper spots me clutching my CurlyWurly and Cheesy Wotsits by the till waiting to pay, assumes we were together and roars at me to get out as well and never come back. I was really upset about the injustice of it all!

It's odd how you can feel guilty when you've done nothing wrong. I'm sure I look very furtive whenever I pass through customs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,020 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Louise O'Neills book club!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Louise O'Neills book club!

That is a badge of honour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Gont banned a few times (account, then re-regs) from stormfront years back for riling up the locals all the time.
    Tis a pity they ****-canned the site, or whatever it was they did with it. You could have some right proper craic at their expense if you put your mind and time to it.. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Yup, a sub forum on a certain forum which will remain nameless :)

A wanker was bad mouthing my son on a forum and thought real life would never catch up with him until I bumped into him in real life :D

Other than that (and some FB pages) I've never been banned from bars, clubs, driving etc. My life is pretty uneventful, thankfully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

I was banned as a newbie from AH for three days for posting a link to a fully tattooed willy. In my defence, I'd posted the same link on Digital Spy (our UK counterparts) and it was fine and I did warn it was extremely NSFW. Lesson learned though :pac:

Speaking of being banned, some of the threads in the prison forum are quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Joe Duffys Twitter.

Betty Bonner's pub in O Briens Bridge.

A friend had been barred a year earlier but we said we'd chance it. New barmaid served us two Bacardi and cokes. The landlady arrived in and took a look at us and said "Dinny, you're barred". He replied, "I thought you might have forgot". She said, "No, I've a memory like an elephant". To which he replied, "Yeah, And you've an arse like one as well".
    We threw the drinks off the head and got out before she called her husband..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

A nightclub in America called Waxy's. Obviously drink was flowing, everybody having a decent time. I'm dancing by the VIP area, which is cordoned off with a velvet rope, but the iced bucket of champagne is within arms reach. I reach over the rope, because it's a rope, take the neck of the champagne bottle in one hand, put my head back and pour it into my own mouth.

Your one was livid. 'Who told you you could do that?' she kept shouting. I literally hold my hands up in apology, acknowledging that I got a bit carried away, but she's having none of it. She brings over the bouncer. I can't hear what she's saying, but I can see her point to me, then to the champagne. The jig is up and I get turfed out, but peacefully.

This was during one of my many blackouts. I had no recollection of this the following morning or afternoon. The only reason I remember now is because we went back the following night and I got refused. 'Ah come on pal I'm grand,' I say to the refusing bouncer, assuming I was being refused for being too drunk. 'You drank a girl's champagne last night,' he says, and literally only then do I remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,497 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I'm banned from the Soccer and Apple forums. I don't know which I hate the most so no wonder. Good call from the mods.

Other than online stuff no I've never been banned. Came close once in local nightclub where the beer went to my head but nothing violent involved. Just pissing ppl off from being a bit too mouthy. Thankfully I just got a telling off from the bouncer, warning type of thing. I've been on my best behavior since. Don't want to be barred from the only nighspot in this god forsaken town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Have a big card
    472045.png

My work here is done

• Registered Users Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

I have banned myself from my local Dunnes Stores. Got a parking ticket in there one time, never went back.

Oh!! Now I get to try out out the DR forum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,680 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Got a three day ban from the Commuting and Transport forum once, In the early nineties was walking into Taaffes bar in Galway and a new age headcase that I sort of knew walked in at the same time. The barman took a look at him and roared OUT! Then looked at me with my bodhran and said YOU TOO! He just assumed the nutter was my buddy. I play in there regularly these days, so all good.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,157 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I'm banned from the dog house. I don't know where else to go.

• Registered Users Posts: 498 ✭✭Muckka

Used to be banned from Dromoland lake, supposedly the fishing is for residents only..

Oh!! Now I get to try out out the DR forum!

Don't bother. Card upheld.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,412 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Im barred from Dublin Castle , I was escorted out by the Gate Constables a few years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,305 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Banned from a library after I photocopied my rear end after I lost a bet when my team lost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

I'm banned from Rosemary MacCabe's Instagram page.

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    Don't bother. Card upheld.

I would like an admin to look at this please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,763 ✭✭✭Fenster

The entire United States of America. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Ireland Simpsons fans fb group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Conway635

1> I was thrown out of Switzers once for a simple one-liner. I was Christmas shopping with a cousin (we were both teenagers) and this salesman came up to us and said “Can I help you Sir?” to him. I replied “Nobody can help *him*”. Sales guy almost went purple, gave me a 10 minute lecture on respect for my betters, and threw us out.

2>. A very rough pub in a desolate back street in Battersea, south London (before it became hip). I was the resident DJ on Saturday nights for most of 1986. Then the management changed, first night the new manager was on, he heard my voice, literally pulled the plug on me, said “we don’t employ nail bombers in this pub” and gave me 10 minutes to get myself and my equipment off the premises.

C635

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,842 ✭✭✭s8n

the Limerick forum on here

• Registered Users Posts: 20 Sky Blue 20

Banned from few Forums.
    Digital Spy.
    Pie and Bovril.
    One not banned from, fair play to them but they closed all comments on their Forum due to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

s8n wrote: »

Did you mention M&S once too often? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

I can't go within 300ft of schoolteachers or nurses :(

That's your own doing Leo :D, I'm a person non grata in the USA and Wales.

s8n wrote: »

Not so bad really. If they proper hated you they'd allow you back in.

I would like an admin to look at this please.

The admins have gone in to conclave. We expect an answer any time now. On the down side for you they only asked how to make black smoke.

Their mood mightn't be great after they were told that all you need to make black smoke was for one of them to try cooking a few sausages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,569 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

I got a somewhat "permanent" ban from a multiplayer version of video game involving a truck simulator. It was all sorted out as the admin gave me another chance.

I, along with my mam, got politely asked to leave by a security guard in a staff canteen. We just accidentally walked it at the courts service building in Smithfield. My mam was there for appointment in that building a few years ago to sort out some things after her mam died. We apologized to the security guard afterwards & he was happy with it then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

In school, many years back. Everyone was obliged to be in the choir. Following the first rehersal - I was told on pain of dire punishment not to sing but to mime only! Which luckily I became very good at. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

No barred, but I used to mod on the Self Defense and Martial Arts forum and the MMA forum (before the WWF clowns took over).

Diagnosed with type II diabetes in 2017 threw my head into a tail spin and I decided to vacate boards.ie for a bit to come to terms with my diabetes, but before I did I lifted all the bans and perma bans from both forum.

I'd never moderate here or anywhere else again & work for nothing whilst providing revenue for someone else.

Bans from internet discussion forum lol, welcome to 2005 prior to FB, Insta, Snapchat etc.. Who gives a tup'pennys fook anymore.