Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Travellers fighting at Belfast airport

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭EdgeCase

If you did that in a major continental airport, you'd be assumed to be a terrorist and probably taken down by armed police. It would be an EXTREMELY bad idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

EdgeCase wrote: »
    If you did that in a major continental airport, you'd be assumed to be a terrorist and probably taken down by armed police. It would be an EXTREMELY bad idea.

I hope they go and do that in an American airport so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,604 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Almost concentration camp lingo.

Its AH. What did you expect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

sligojoek wrote: »
    That's all very fine in a big open area. What if the whole thing started off on the plane again after take off? Great crack if you're taking your mother or grandchildren on a holiday and have to put up with that carry on.

Totally agree, I am in no way defending them or downplaying what happened - its almost worse that a group of 'men' can feel free to deliberately create mayhem and disturbance just for their own entertainment. Whatever about 'some' of them not getting their flight, none of them should have flown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Emtec

There was never a Joyce that could bate an O'Donnell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,477 ✭✭✭wonga77

Yer man waving the stick around reminds me of my neighbour waving his stick at the dog when he won't herd the sheep the right way. Cant say I've ever seen him throw empty baskets at the dog though, must be a new technique

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

I was hoping they would be shot by the police

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,810 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Two questions:

Can't people film in landscape on their phones at all?

Why are the police taking an eternity to respond? Come on, it's an airport for godsakes.
    If it was an actual terrorist, we'd be all dead already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Strumms wrote: »
    I saw countless groups of football supporters of varying teams who often by historical definition could be able to present difficulties especially if drinking, sittting side by side, pints a plenty and never a cross word aside from in jest.

Football supporters rarely cause problems in airports. People tend to have sense and leave the shouting etc for the game itself.
    I hope they go and do that in an American airport so.

They'd be tasered. Police in the US take no sh1t.
    Much handier than seperating classy Celt v Rangers fans, or those full of burgers 'n brew from weaponising street furniture.

Contrary to public opinion, issues rarely occur between football fans in airports.
    I hope they are fkd. But I very much doubt it here or UK, fear of racism. What have we done now?

How the heck did those sticks get beyond security though? That is the question.

Those sticks are from the stalls in the duty free shop.
    chosen1 wrote: »
    You do realise that they're are travellers north of the border as well as here in the south. They weren't all banished in some sort of pogrom in 1922.

They have the same accent anywhere in the country; north or south.

Did you watch the clip? They are from south of the border. Definitely not from NI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭blueb

jaysus i hate travellers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Been a while since I used either of the Belfast Airports, but I would have thought there would have been an Armed Police presence considering the historical security/paramillitry issues with NI, and I dont just mean sidearms that the PSNI are routeinly provided with. You go the Gatwick or Heathrow, and British Transport Police are armed to the teeth, side arms, and a semi automatic across their chest with the finger on the safety. I wonder would this have happened 20/30 years ago at Aldergrove International with the Army a mile down the road, the RUC at the front door of the place, and EVERYONE and THING searched on entering the place.

An interesting comment was made on Craigavons PSNI Facebook page last night about the incident and the Police Response. Dont remember the exact words, but its all well a couple of cops wading in to break things up, but those lads would have easily overpowered a cop or two, and now as well as metal poles, they could have easily now have a gun/tazer/baton. No cop on his own would go into that, unless there was an imediate threat to public safety.

AHs Answer.

Shoot them from afar in the legs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

Remember this piece of sh!t and his charming family? I remember his mother roaring into a tv camera when they were reporting on him being sentenced on RTE news.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/many-lives-have-been-ruined-by-simon-mcginley-s-horrific-crimes-1.700478

Is there a connection?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭PringleDemon

Travellers, in an airport, ...
    Where were they heading?

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-foyle-west-47108249

• Closed Accounts Posts: 815 ✭✭✭animaal

To whoever uploaded the video to this thread:

Can you please upload the "bonus features" version with the David Attenborough commentary?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

Remember this piece of sh!t and his charming family? I remember his mother roaring into a tv camera when they were reporting on him being sentenced on RTE news.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/many-lives-have-been-ruined-by-simon-mcginley-s-horrific-crimes-1.700478

If only there was a video of the mothers (as the Times describes it) 'bizarre rendition of If Tomorrow never comes'.

Regardless of what you think about Travellers, for the size of their ethnic community they really deliver on the YouTube clips. I say Bravo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Has Belfast airport issued a corrected statement on this matter? i.e. stopped lying about the length of time it took for the PSNI/Security to arrive on scene

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭cgcsb

Berserker wrote: »
    If I lived in NI, I'd be calling for a hard border to keep them out. Wonder why they are flying out of Belfast and not Dublin.

Are they only native to 26 counties? quite the coincidence that just happened to coincide with the perfectly randomly drawn 1921 border then. A cosmic coincidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭ohfa6muwtsvkc1

Disadvantaged groups are far more prone to be violent, this isn't genetic or anything but rather a symptom with the cause being the majority group's treatment of them.

You can't discriminate for generations and moan about the outcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

Disadvantaged groups are far more prone to be violent, this isn't genetic or anything but rather a symptom with the cause being the majority group's treatment of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

What was the mistreatment you refer to?
    Were they prevented from flying? treated as lesser people in some respect?
    I only have the vid to go on so if you have background info - would appreciate you sharing...

topper75 wrote: »
    What was the mistreatment you refer to?

Look you can't just wave away the education disadvantages they have, the discrimination they endure (and have done for generations) and awkward facts like that they're far more likely to go to jail compared with settled people.

They are the Africian Americans of Ireland, and we (settled people) should view these things in that light.

Look you can't just wave away the education disadvantages they have, the discrimination they endure (and have done for generations) and awkward facts like that they're far more likely to go to jail compared with settled people.

They are the Africian Americans of Ireland, and we (settled people) should view these things in that light.

Again - this doesn't make any sense to me.
    When were they blocked in Ireland from entering a school. Have you somehow conflated them with coloured people in segregated Mississippi?
    There is no educational disadvantage beyond that which they impose on themselves through non-engagement. Hardly our fault is it?

More likely to go to jail? What instances can you offer where a settled person avoided jail for a crime which a traveller had to do time for?
    Again, do they not have a higher proportion in jail due to their own actions?

You cannot tell me that ripping out fixtures and fittings and shouting angrily in a public space with little regard for the intimidation of bystanders is a consequence of anything other than a hopeless lack of self-control and a cultural acceptance of casual violence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭rosser44

Did I sleep through the 400 years where we kept travellers as slaves, then refused to let them go to schools? Because if I did then your argument is valid, but I don't think I've been asleep for 400 years so I'm calling bull on all of tbat

Again - this doesn't make any sense to me.

You're from the oppressor's side. It is hard to get out of a mindset instilled in you since birth. Neutral observers (the EU, the UN) agree that they have been, and still are, treated awfully.

People said "oh isn't it great we have a homossexual, son of an immigrant as Taoiseach" and I agree, I celebrated. But we have a long way to go. We need at least one TD from a Traveller background and tbh this stain won't be off us until the country has someone like that in the very top halls of power.

Look you can't just wave away the education disadvantages they have,

They have an "education disadvantage" because travellers refuse to send their kids to school. That's on them.
    the discrimination they endure (and have done for generations)

Like free housing, no requirement to work, and a taxpayer-funded quango to go to bat for them? The only presidential hopeful that was honest about them was excoriated by the media. Discrimination me arse.
    and awkward facts like that they're far more likely to go to jail compared with settled people.

That's because they are far more likely to commit crime!

Rubbish - since when have African Americans refused, en masse, to work, contribute to society, or send their kids to school?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,214 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Mod Note

mikeecho don't post in this thread again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

You would be hard put to find the Belfast Airport misbehaviour proportionally replicated by the Blacklegs of Barbados, the Australian aborigines, the indigenous people of North America, the Roma people, the Jews or other peoples who suffered worse mistreatment.

You have cited mistreatment as the only cause. That is an over simplification. You should also count in alcohol abuse and aversion to education. Other peoples who have been discriminated against have thirsted for education e.g. Jews and Northern Irish Catholics.
    There is another problem, namely cousins marrying cousins. It has been happening for generations. Perhaps it's largely unavoidable because their community is so small. I don't know what the solutionn is. But a problem it is and being in denial about it won't solve it.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Fighting? It's a bunch of neanderthals throwing ****ing baskets at each other :pac:
    People said "oh isn't it great we have a homossexual, son of an immigrant as Taoiseach" and I agree, I celebrated. But we have a long way to go. We need at least one TD from a Traveller background and tbh this stain won't be off us until the country has someone like that in the very top halls of power.

And would you like a TD with an education disadvantage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭mikeecho

It's their culture, how dare anyone criticise their behavior.

Shame on you.

(I've had a revelation and now realise that we should embrace our traveller brothers)

Let's all go fight..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭reg114

Nonsense. They have marginalised themselves to the nth degree. They purport their 'culture' is being demonised and eroded. Rubbish. Their culture is one akin to Saudi Arabia where men are the masters, women are second class citizens only good for breeding and homemaking. They brainwash women into thinking arranged marriages and female subjugation are normality. Criminality and illiteracy are seen as badges of honour. The travelling community see themselves as travelers first, Irish second and thus they are the ultimate in insular tribal me feiners. Their parasitic culture has been allowed to proliferate by successive failed governments worries about being seen to discriminate against a minority, when instead the powers that be should simply be applying the law. As we saw recently in New Zealand, travellers are a lawless problem loathed wherever they go because they are constantly indulged. Perhaps its genetic, perhaps its learned behaviour, I don't care either way as long as manners and the full rigours of the law are applied for every single infringement and if that means every single member of the travelling community needs to be jailed, then so be it.

This is what it brought to mind for me

ScornfulBossyFox-size_restricted.gif

It's perfectly acceptable behavior by an "ethnic minority"

Let's all stop being racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Berserker wrote: »

Did you watch the clip? They are from south of the border. Definitely not from NI.

If I had known you were going to post here I could have written your posts for you. They are so bloody predictable.
    And don't forget, Catholic nationalists from the South caused the Black Death, and are responsible for global warming.

You should get out more, try travel or undergrad study to broaden your mind.

When I see an idiot constantly looking over his fence at the weeds in his neighbour's garden I gravely worry about the state of his own backgarden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Ri_Nollaig

feargale wrote: »
    There is another problem, namely cousins marrying cousins. It has been happening for generations. Perhaps it's largely unavoidable because their community is so small. I don't know what the solutionn is. But a problem it is and being in denial about it won't solve it.

I do remember a news paper article from a few years ago reporting on that and strangely was quickly silenced. It has become non-PC to even much as such now and instead just easier to play the "everyone else's fault and discrimination".

Its reached the point where any media has to dance around it, referring to burglars they know full well are Travelers as 'traveling gangs'.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Ri_Nollaig wrote: »
    Its reached the point where any media has to dance around it, referring to burglars they know full well are Travelers as 'traveling gangs'.
    "Gentlemen of the verge" could work too.
    You're from the oppressor's side.
    Here we go; the oppressed/oppressor narrative so beloved of those who've bought in wholesale to the identity politics faith* and applied to everything like gender, race, sexuality, you name it. I can see why TBH as it appears to make sense and does fit in some ways, but as usual it's incredibly simplistic and quite easily refuted in the majority of cases it's applied. It's also self healing with a built in defence against critique as even my questioning of the belief will land me or any other questioner firmly in the Oppressor™ camp. Heretics of the faith.

*By the by and contrary to interwebs opinions this narrative is not some Marxist plot. It's present in damned near every politic, Left, Right, whatever you're having yourself. It's in most faiths too. It's the basic them Versus us dynamic built into the human psyche.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

If one ethnic group attacks another ethnic group it can be a hate crime, surely?

A Traveller gave you a straightener for whatever reason and you manage to come to the conclusion that it's a clash between two ethnic groups calling it a hate crime.

That , even by AH standards , is incredible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭oLoonatic

When does the fight start??

You're from the oppressor's side. It is hard to get out of a mindset instilled in you since birth. Neutral observers (the EU, the UN) agree that they have been, and still are, treated awfully.

I don't want to be anybody's oppressor.
    What actions or statements of mine were oppressive?
    In what specific way, without reaching for ludicrous tangents, am I behind the brouhaha at the airport?
    In what way can I change my 'mindset' to prevent such violent outbursts by others in the future?

topper75 wrote: »
    I don't want to be anybody's oppressor.
    What actions or statements of mine were oppressive?
    In what specific way, without reaching for ludicrous tangents, am I behind the brouhaha at the airport?
    In what way can I change my 'mindset' to prevent such violent outbursts by others in the future?

You made the poor travellers feel bad by using your oppressive taxes to fund their lifestyle from cradle to grave, and then tempted them to commit crime by selfishly buying things with the portion of your salary that didn't go to them.
    It's all your fault.

• Site Banned Posts: 79 ✭✭Robert Wolfe

Chorcai wrote: »
    can someone transcribe this?? can't understand a thing boss

Nothing to transcribe. Just monkeys jabbering at each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Just watchedthe BBC newsline story.
    4 were arrested the rest were allowed to travel.
    No mention of them being travellers.

The previous story was about a Traveller standoff at a graveyard in Derry, during which several shotguns, knives and acid were seized. Maybe they didn't want to mention travellers in 2 consecutive stories? That might be considered Racist I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

The previous story was about a Traveller standoff at a graveyard in Derry, during which several shotguns, knives and acid were seized. Maybe they didn't want to mention travellers in 2 consecutive stories? That might be considered Racist I suppose.

Looks like enough police showed up to prevent this single funeral resulting in many more.

Maybe it's a failing on the Irish school system but I was never taught why a big part of their culture is bringing weapons to funerals. How long does the tradition go back and what purpose does it serve?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭BBFAN

Just watchedthe BBC newsline story.
    4 were arrested the rest were allowed to travel.
    No mention of them being travellers.

Tbf I didn't see more than 4 fighting. If 4 were arrested that's a bit different than people saying they got away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Looking at the suicide rate among male Travellers, I think you might be wrong. For some people, life's so shit that consequences no longer matter.

Traveller culture is conducive to high suicide rates

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

Just should have shot them all, no loss whatsoever.

Mad_maxx wrote: »

Every cloud has a silver lining

• Site Banned Posts: 79 ✭✭Robert Wolfe

Mad_maxx wrote: »

No, no, no, it's our fault remember? Everything is our fault. A bunch of travellers burn themselves to death in a caravan because they were too drunk to watch the chip pan?

'De council wuz racist!'

They are a race of children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

BBFAN wrote: »
    Tbf I didn't see more than 4 fighting. If 4 were arrested that's a bit different than people saying they got away with it.

Actually I got that wrong.
    4 were not allowed to travel, not necessarily arrested.

Looks like it was possibly related to the Graveyard fight.

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-northern-ireland-47116129

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-northern-ireland-47105894

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

That's the PC meme, Travellers have been spoiled for decades, we need hard stick