Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Replacing brake pads and brake discs. Costs / good value garage Dublin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭w211

rex-x wrote: »
    Never ever put anti seize between disc and hub or disc and wheel. Its the friction from the clamping of the wheel nuts that holds everything together not the wheel nuts themselves, put anti seize in there and you drastically reduce the friction and therefore the strength of the attachment
    Obviously you do not understand the brake job at all. You do not need to put any grease on the flat surface where is bolts or nuts. Only the center area needs the gram or two. This is the area where the rust forming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭rex-x

w211 wrote: »
    Obviously you do not understand the brake job at all. You do not need to put any grease on the flat surface where is bolts or nuts. Only the center area needs the gram or two. This is the area where the rust forming.

Just no

Just no

Yes!!! Why everywhere else mechanics using the anti seize and here you say "No". Go to the northern Europe where they using a big amount salt on every winter. Then you start understand what means the real rust. May be you then understand what means bit of anti seize, what can makes the life much easier. Like I said it need only very little and on right spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Just no

No? I do...

https://youtu.be/y6HxORx0g-g?t=155

Do what?

Anti-seize on the hub centre. Click the link to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭swarlb

Like I said earlier... everyone's an expert (did you read the comments section on this video)
    How on earth did we manage prior to 2005...

swarlb wrote: »
    Like I said earlier... everyone's an expert (did you read the comments section on this video)
    How on earth did we manage prior to 2005...

Ha! No, I just grabbed that link to demonstrate rather than try to explain. I'll have a read now.

Anti-seize on the hub centre. Click the link to see.
    Ok then we are on the same page. On the video he used way too much. Very little amount can change everything. Of course DIY can soak the center by penetration oil and to do the job on next day. On good garage they have a pneumatic hammer, 2 seconds and job done. One most important thing for DIY, use the brake cleaner after the job. It really helps to clean the all oily mess out from the disc surface. Yes the discs are coated on these days but pads are not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭rex-x

Ha! No, I just grabbed that link to demonstrate rather than try to explain. I'll have a read now.

It would generally be considered poor practise for the reasons specified in my earlier post, its a case of a little knowledge being a dangerous thing!

In the case of severe rust areas fluid film is more suitable to help prevent rust and hasn't the same issues as grease / anti seize

It would generally be considered poor practise for the reasons specified in my earlier post, its a case of a little knowledge being a dangerous thing!

In the case of severe rust areas fluid film is more suitable to help prevent rust and hasn't the same issues as grease / anti seize

Fair enough. I would normally do this with a very small amount on the flange only. On the last car I didn't do this on a wheel is seized on there. What would you recommend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Toyotafanboi, sorry If I pis*ed you off.

The companies too does not offer the better warranty than off the site, goodbye.

2 years warranty if fitted by us, 1 year if you buy from us and have them fitted by an approved/qualified repairer.

You'd think you'd know a bit or two about how a main dealer works with your '36 years experience' :rolleyes:

2 years warranty if fitted by us, 1 year if you buy from us and have them fitted by an approved/qualified repairer.

You'd think you'd know a bit or two about how a main dealer works with your '36 years experience' :rolleyes:

But what is an 'approved' repairer. I know of at least one Main Dealership (and there are possibly many more) that has a mechanic with no paper qualifications whatsoever, never seen the inside of a technical school, but has 20 odd years of 'hands on' experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,253 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

I don't believe he said he had 36 years experience of main dealer or in fact any dealer experience?

But what is an 'approved' repairer. I know of at least one Main Dealership (and there are possibly many more) that has a mechanic with no paper qualifications whatsoever, never seen the inside of a technical school, but has 20 odd years of 'hands on' experience.
    SIMI registered, and paper-proven qualifications.
    GreeBo wrote: »
    I don't believe he said he had 36 years experience of main dealer or in fact any dealer experience?

Anybody in the motor trade with 36 supposed years of experience will know how a main dealer works, as they'll have been a part of warranty claims on behalf of a customer they did work for.

SIMI registered, and paper-proven qualifications.

Anybody in the motor trade with 36 supposed years of experience will know how a main dealer works, as they'll have been a part of warranty claims on behalf of a customer they did work for.

"motor trade"?
    Where did he say this?

He basically said he had 36 years experience as a mechanic, there is no evidence or mention of working for a dealer main or otherwise other than your posts.

He could be an indie with his own garage for all you know.

"motor trade"?
    Where did he say this?

He basically said he had 36 years experience as a mechanic, there is no evidence or mention of working for a dealer main or otherwise other than your posts.

He could be an indie with his own garage for all you know.

Judging by the fact he's mentioned he can specifically do somebodies brakes, has access to 'cheaper' goods and also said he might open a garage then I'd be fairly sure he's trying to be in the trade.

Regardless, he's one the non-approved repairs considering he's said he's not actually qualified. All I was pointing out was the warranty timescale, and that surely he knows this based on his 'experience'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

What dealer/manufacturer is that?

I know that we are obligated to only have qualified technicians or registered apprentices working on our vehicles.

We can have general op's if we want, cleaning up and helping out but it would be a huge problem with the manufacturer to get caught having non-qualified staff completing repairs. Thats been the case for all manufacturers I've worked for, I'm curious what main dealer isn't held to that standard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

My local mechanic(less than a minute from the house), works from home, but he has a garage and everything is legit. Now, he works 9-6 Monday to Friday, half day on Saturdays, and as I’m in the office Monday to Friday, Saturdays are the only real day for him to do work on my car.

Many a time I’ve left the car with him on a Saturday to get work done, only for me to pick the car up and the work hasn’t been done, because “he got the wrong part” etc. So now I just buy the parts and bring them to him, this way there’s no excuse to not get the work done.

While I don’t like getting the parts for him(as I would think this is where he would make the profit), it does suit me as I can get quality/branded parts cheaper, and that 3 local motor factors wouldn’t even stock them. My local motor factors would sell spurious/unbranded parts that come in more expensive than branded parts(Bilstein, Bosche, Valeo).

Lord Nikon wrote: »
    While I don’t like getting the parts for him(as I would think this is where he would make the profit)

There used to be profit in supplying the parts, and still is to an extent, but for sole traders its also a royal pain in the ass. You could basically have somebody full time running back and forth to motor factors trying to get parts, and yes, getting the wrong parts supplied is ubiquitous. Is adding €10/20 onto a part really compensation for the lost time and fuel spend trying to get the damn thing?

Take your example, you only let him have the car on a Saturday. He might order the parts in advance and have them delivered. Come Saturday he strips your car and only then finds out that yours is not the common variant, that the widget has an extra bracket somewhere and the part he has is wrong. If it was a weekday he might spend an hour going to get the right part, but because its now the weekend everywhere is closed and there is nothing he can do about it.

My dad owned his own garage, working for himself so I grew up in one, and the supply of parts was a constant bloody pain in the hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,578 ✭✭✭khaldrogo

GreeBo wrote:

That's not what this poster said. This poster was suggesting, rightly so, that if w211 has 36 years experience then in those years he should have come across how a main dealer operates at least once.

khaldrogo wrote: »
    That's not what this poster said. This poster was suggesting, rightly so, that if w211 has 36 years experience then in those years he should have come across how a main dealer operates at least once.

Why should he have?
    If he is sourcing his own parts or the customer is supplying the parts when would he have *had to* interact with a main dealer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Why should he have?
    If he is sourcing his own parts or the customer is supplying the parts when would he have *had to* interact with a main dealer?

A main dealer is where most "independent specialists" serve their time.

Maybe it's different internationally but I would say in Ireland it's where an awful lot of mechanics get their start, in a main dealer.

GreeBo wrote:
    Why should he have? If he is sourcing his own parts or the customer is supplying the parts when would he have *had to* interact with a main dealer?

You are obviously not working in the motor trade

Why should he have?

If you have 36 years in the motor industry then you know what the deal is with manufacturers warranty. Thats a simple fact, nobody does 36 years in that job without ever, ever, dealing with a situation that begs the warranty question.

It would be like saying I was a farmer for 36 years but never drove a tractor. Sure, its physically possible, but also extremely unlikely.

Maybe it's different internationally but I would say in Ireland it's where an awful lot of mechanics get their start, in a main dealer.

You are completely right.

A recently trained mechanic, having not a penny in his pocket would never go "out on his own". Indy Specialists would usually serve time in a dealer to gather experience, and get paid while learning and working.

You are completely right.

A recently trained mechanic, having not a penny in his pocket would never go "out on his own". Indy Specialists would usually serve time in a dealer to gather experience, and get paid while learning and working.

So now we have decided that the other poster didn't have a penny in his pocket and didn't just start out on his own. I didn't realise you knew him so well.

I know more than one mechanic who started out on their own as a small indie doing work by word of mouth and establishing their own name over time. They had grown up working on cars and continued from there.

I better go tell them that they don't actually exist, will certainly save on their taxes.:rolleyes:

Did he claim to be an "independent specialist" or just to have 36 years experience fixing cars?

Its feels a lot like the story is changing to suit the opinions here.

If you have 36 years in the motor industry then you know what the deal is with manufacturers warranty. Thats a simple fact, nobody does 36 years in that job without ever, ever, dealing with a situation that begs the warranty question.

It would be like saying I was a farmer for 36 years but never drove a tractor. Sure, its physically possible, but also extremely unlikely.

Plenty of times the customer will have gone the main dealer route only to be told that its not covered by any warranty, hence they are bringing the work to their indie.

So now we have decided that the other poster didn't have a penny in his pocket and didn't just start out on his own. I didn't realise you knew him so well.

I didn't say that poster specifically, I had said matter of factly that someone finishing their apprenticeship wouldn't normally set up on their own, unless they had a decent bankroll to do it.

To be quite honest, you are acting like you know him so well, when you seem to be defending him against everyone's comments, and you are not in the trade yourself.

Plenty of times the customer will have gone the main dealer route only to be told that its not covered by any warranty, hence they are bringing the work to their indie.

And?

I didn't say that poster specifically, I had said matter of factly that someone finishing their apprenticeship wouldn't normally set up on their own, unless they had a decent bankroll to do it.

To be quite honest, you are acting like you know him so well, when you seem to be defending him against everyone's comments, and you are not in the trade yourself.

Well its that poster that other posters have decided to pretty much gang up on and who we are discussing.

I don't know him from Adam, but don't appreciate the attitude of other posters towards him. He shouldn't have to defend himself from xenophobic crap like:

"Then you hop off back home in a few years and that's that. The trade in this country is fecked but you're back home so you don't care!
    Are you even a qualified mechanic??"

And?

Erm, and then its not the indie who has dealt with the warranty with the main dealer.

Remember when you said

"If you have 36 years in the motor industry then you know what the deal is with manufacturers warranty. Thats a simple fact, nobody does 36 years in that job without ever, ever, dealing with a situation that begs the warranty question."

I've just shown how that is not the case always.

GreeBo, are you ok with a man who wants to undercut every single mechanic here by a very large margin, and offer absolutely no warranty bar the 'front gate warranty'? Would you be ok with the same for every other trade, or do you believe it's ok for the DIY'ers to just do it for SFA?

Erm, and then its not the indie who has dealt with the warranty with the main dealer.

Remember when you said

"If you have 36 years in the motor industry then you know what the deal is with manufacturers warranty. Thats a simple fact, nobody does 36 years in that job without ever, ever, dealing with a situation that begs the warranty question."

I've just shown how that is not the case always.

You have shown nothing except that it is possible that in a particular case the mechanic did not deal with the main dealer directly. All you have done is show you didn't fully get the original point made.

Its possible that sometimes an outside contractor brings his own tractor to the farm, but you'd still expect a farmer of 36 years to have driven a tractor at some point...

Well its that poster that other posters have decided to pretty much gang up on and who we are discussing.

I don't know him from Adam, but don't appreciate the attitude of other posters towards him. He shouldn't have to defend himself from xenophobic crap like:

"Then you hop off back home in a few years and that's that. The trade in this country is fecked but you're back home so you don't care!
    Are you even a qualified mechanic??"

I agree that no one deserves that kind of comment.

I think this thread has run it's course, and somewhat gone off topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,849 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

I agree that no one deserves that kind of comment.

I think this thread has run it's course, and somewhat gone off topic.

A Boards first!

On Soviet Union we did not had any dealers or any kind of services available. Only option to survive was DIY. Yes you can cut some of the years off, because for young child it was not so much as job than must to help the parents. Every single weekend on garage can teach a load of things. We did not had any specialty tools like a simple ball joint press, all hammering off. Penetration oil, we did not had it. We used the torch and water. If anyone ever seen the Soviet Union wrenches then you know what a BS it was. These stretches too easily. Only good thing was, the size was possible to correct by hammer :P Ok way too off by topic, sorry. Soviet Union cars had mostly the brake drums and shoes. The modern disc brakes are way easier to deal. I am 99.9% sure they used the asbestos on the brake shoes. Do you know how much they save the environment? They sold only the brake shoes the cover material and my duty was to glue these. Yes there was possible to get the full set too but these was for communists.

GreeBo wrote:

Don't you dare try to de-legitimise my point by suggesting I am racist/xenophobic. One of my closet friends is Polish and working here 12 years.

My point was, people like this poster with absolutely no qualifications and no ties to this country(not specifically this poster maybe but dozens more like him) are not just beating the prices of small garages but pricing the small garages out of business. They have no insurance bills to worry about, no rent etc. They can and do charge stupid money and then if there is a problem they are gone.

When eventually all these go home it will be people like you moaning about the lack of small garages.

Don't you dare try to de-legitimise my point by suggesting I am racist/xenophobic. One of my closet friends is Polish and working here 12 years.

My point was, people like this poster with absolutely no qualifications and no ties to this country(not specifically this poster maybe but dozens more like him) are not just beating the prices of small garages but pricing the small garages out of business. They have no insurance bills to worry about, no rent etc. They can and do charge stupid money and then if there is a problem they are gone.

When eventually all these go home it will be people like you moaning about the lack of small garages.

Good job disproving my point.

GreeBo wrote:
    Good job disproving my point.

So foreign nationals never go home? Or are you just not allowed to acknowledge it?

• Registered Users Posts: 498 ✭✭Leprechaun77

Keep digging

The clear facts are;

You don't know what you are talking about.
    You don't work in the motor trade.
    You are some sort of SJW.
    Numerous actual motor trade workers have agreed what this chap is doing is wrong.

I've made my points. TTFN

So foreign nationals never go home? Or are you just not allowed to acknowledge it?

"All these eventually go home" is a very different statement to what you are now saying above.

Yes, I'm a SJW because I'm calling out blatant xenophobia.

Everyone has multiple options on their car from DIY to an indie in his garage to a main dealer and everything inbetween. Its up to you to decide where and how you spend your cash, just like every other aspect of life.
    You've never bought flowers or fruit from a stall in town or lunch from a farmers market i guess?
    Maybe im happy to spend significantly less and forgo a warranty or maybe i wasn't to spend significantly more and feel like I'm covered, that's not for you to decree from your pulpit though.

This thread seems to have descended into chaos...

For example the SIMI didn't exist prior to 1968, and Dealerships as we know them today are a completely different set up to what existed in the 1960's, so it's perfectly possible for senior figures in Dealerships today with zero 'qualifications', but at the same time vast knowledge of 'how the motor trade in Ireland works'.
    By the same token there are 'foreign' mechanics here with superior knowledge to some of our own, whilst coming from countries that had/have a completely different set up as regards dealership/garage set ups.
    Many years ago I was in Russia and I observed men, on street corners, with stacks of wheels and tyres, operating a tyre fitting service to cars as they stopped at the kerb. This in sub zero temps with snow and ice on the ground.
    Also by the same token there are 'qualified mechanics' here who I wouldn't trust to jack up a car, and change a wheel.
    People are different, places are different.
    The whole landscape of the trade here has changed beyond recognition in the past 10/15 years, what with the advent of online shops, the myriad of factors spouting up, and services offered. All vying for the small market we call 'the motor trade'. In one instance it's a 'race to the bottom' regarding cost and value, while on the other hand there are very reputable garages, both Dealerships and Independent, who fit quality parts, and charge accordingly.
    Swings and Roundabouts basically...

Jaysus you didn't just bring up roundabouts did you?!

Feck.. that's going to cause even more chaos..
    Imagine putting traffic lights on a roundabout... only the Irish could come up with something like that !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

This has been great but I think we can all agree we're done here.