Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Please note that it is not permitted to have referral links posted in your signature. Keep these links contained in the appropriate forum. Thank you.

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2055940817/signature-rules

ESB eCars

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭jusmeig

fits wrote: »
    Sneem is miles away from Dingle!

True, I don't know why I suggested Sneem...Covid fatigue maybe.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,643 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

Just browsing this thread. As a total newbie to electric cars - all the different types of chargers and AC vs DC and various powered units. It’s very confusing.

I can see why people find it off putting.

It's going to sort itself out in the next couple of years. The charging connector standard in the EU is going to be CCS, and as you can see from discussion here, eCars are already starting to favour it.

That means there will be less and less charging connector confusion.

And AC vs DC doesn't really matter, all that really matters is the kW rating of each charging point.

I do think it will help widespread adoption if units start being expressed in relatable ways. EVs rarely state their battery capacity in terms of kWh, you have to go searching for those details. And electrical units are confusing at their core already — the lack of a time component in the kW rating is going to be incredibly confusing for a lot of people.