Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai cricitise paedophile hunters

• Registered Users Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭JMNolan

I'm amazed they put that last video online. If yer man is seriously injured then our "brave crimefighters" might be in a bit of trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Mr.S wrote: »
    ****ing hell, this is a prime example of why these groups shouldn't exist.

Yeah, the poor nonce :rolleyes: All he wanted to do was ride a 14yo.

As far as I know, the entrapment issue is well defined: the target has to initiate the suggestion of meeting up for sexual activity, thereby showing his willingness to knowingly attempt sexual activity with a minor. If the decoy suggests it, then they're coercing the target and the whole thing falls apart. Open to correction on this.

Question is, does Louise know? I seriously doubt it

She states quite clearly in the video that he added the decoy, he initiated conversation and he suggested they meet. On that alone I believe she knows.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

That video is 11 seconds long, anywhere else ?

• Registered Users Posts: 33,497 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

EPAndlee wrote: »
    Chris Hansen done this job without so much as even raising his voice

Chris Hansen had the sense to not do it at 4 in the afternoon in an open street in Ballyfermot!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 446 ✭✭Garibaldi?

If I were approached on the street by an aggressive person like this I would not engage with that person. I would walk away. And woe betide anyone who would lay a hand on me. These people have no legal right to do this. I don't know what this man has or hasn't done. To me he appears mentally challenged. These people were ostensibly trying to "protect" this man while actually inciting violence against him. Parents need to educate their children on the use of the internet. Offers of or requests for d***pics are highly distasteful and offensive, irrespective of one's age! The language of that woman, although she may have been quoting, was inexcusably gross and inappropriate! Please leave these matters to those with a legal remit!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I haven't seen the video, but if some filth bag trying to hook up with a child for sex ended up getting himself a bad hiding, I say so what - he deserved it, and much more.
    Might teach him a bit more of a lesson than a 6 month suspended sentence because he's a fine upstanding citizen who just took too much cough bottle or whatever other bollox excuse his solicitor would proffer in court.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,497 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

She states quite clearly in the video that he added the decoy, he initiated conversation and he suggested they meet. On that alone I believe she knows.

Didn't watch the while thing, will take your word for it. I was just clarifying the definition.

Firstly, I'm not entirely sure I believe her. She is sensationalist, and sensationalism is not known for its honesty .

I'd be more skeptical if she was being cross-examined by an experienced counsel in a courtroom. She did not come across as someone who is in control of what are doing.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Garibaldi? wrote: »
    If I were approached on the street by an aggressive person like this I would not engage with that person. I would walk away. And woe betide anyone who would lay a hand on me. These people have no legal right to do this. I don't know what this man has or hasn't done. To me he appears mentally challenged. These people were ostensibly trying to "protect" this man while actually inciting violence against him. Parents need to educate their children on the use of the internet. Offers of or requests for d***pics are highly distasteful and offensive, irrespective of one's age! The language of that woman, although she may have been quoting, was inexcusably gross and inappropriate! Please leave these matters to those with a legal remit!

Exactly, these people don't give a **** about the "kiddies" they say they are protecting, it's like prisoners beating up sex offenders, just a slightly higher class of scum preying on scum.

And some of these guys too, they seem to be mentally challenged, like they have an emotional intelligence of a child themselves - don't get me wrong they shouldn't be doing this, but it's not the way to treat someone that isn't fully compos mentis.

They have family members that can have their lives ruined just for being related to the person.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭robarmstrong

Whilst I wholeheartedly agree that what they intend to do is absolutely fantastic and admirable and realistically, they should be given credit for what they do and to be honest, the absolutely disgusting stuff they have to put up with.

However, they completely undo all that with the social media live streaming b*llocks. No need to live stream it, gather all your chat logs, all your images, everything you have on the suspected offender and pass it onto the appropriate Gardai Unit. Whilst I agree the meet-ups should happen, I do think that it should be arranged with a detective who can give these groups best practice guidelines rather than "ye dirty sick animal ye" non-stop by a group of god knows how many people just looking for fame & glory & a bit of social media justification. Catch these predators for the safety of children, not for the vanity of self-justification.

The Gardai really should take advantage of these "vigilantes" and utilize them/work alongside them more accordingly similar to the Gardai Reserve, ensuring that this "volunteer" community does not stray into "vigilante" community.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Rory28

The Gardai really should take advantage of these "vigilantes" and utilize them/work alongside them more accordingly similar to the Gardai Reserve, ensuring that this "volunteer" community does not stray into "vigilante" community.

They are well into vigilante territory now. Why should the Gardai use these eejits? Can you imagine being on a 12 hour shift listening to them?

No way they get paid enough to put up with that sh1t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Credit Checker Moose

Most of them wouldn't pass Garda vetting.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭robarmstrong

Rory28 wrote: »
    They are well into vigilante territory now. Why should the Gardai use these eejits? Can you imagine being on a 12 hour shift listening to them?

No way they get paid enough to put up with that sh1t.

Select those that aren't f*cking morons, simple as.

There is silver linings here and anyone in the line of policing can see the value of these people/groups providing they don't act like glory-seeking muppets & do what they do for the safety of children. You'd very easily spot the difference between the two kinds of individuals who "hunt", I remember a while ago there was a lad in the UK (can't remember his name but I'll do a bit of research) who would just gather as much information as he could & pass it onto a detective he had built rapport with within the police.

Whilst I wholeheartedly agree that what they intend to do is absolutely fantastic and admirable and realistically, they should be given credit for what they do and to be honest, the absolutely disgusting stuff they have to put up with.

However, they completely undo all that with the social media live streaming b*llocks. No need to live stream it, gather all your chat logs, all your images, everything you have on the suspected offender and pass it onto the appropriate Gardai Unit. Whilst I agree the meet-ups should happen, I do think that it should be arranged with a detective who can give these groups best practice guidelines rather than "ye dirty sick animal ye" non-stop by a group of god knows how many people just looking for fame & glory & a bit of social media justification. Catch these predators for the safety of children, not for the vanity of self-justification.

Have you read the thread?? There is no appropriate Garda unit. Hence people taking things into their own hands.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

Have you read the thread?? There is no appropriate Garda unit. Hence people taking things into their own hands.

Sure lets do that with all crime? Why just stick with the emotive ones?

First they came for the socialists...

Select those that aren't f*cking morons, simple as.

There is silver linings here and anyone in the line of policing can see the value of these people/groups providing they don't act like glory-seeking muppets & do what they do for the safety of children. You'd very easily spot the difference between the two kinds of individuals who "hunt", I remember a while ago there was a lad in the UK (can't remember his name but I'll do a bit of research) who would just gather as much information as he could & pass it onto a detective he had built rapport with within the police.

You realise that Ireland is a separate country to the UK and has different laws.

Feisar wrote: »
    Sure lets do that with all crime? Why just stick with the emotive ones?

Most crimes can be detected and dealt with. Unless the nonce is actually chatting with a child, the Gardai can't do anything. So the Gardai could set up accounts and let nonces send them sexually explicit pics while posing as an 8, 9, 10 year old and the nonce would not have broken any law.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I don't recall seeing that suggested. There's also been a lot of major operations in place to track down child porn, working alongside many international police forces.

Child porn is a completely different scenario to arranging meets with children.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Child porn is a completely different scenario to arranging meets with children.

Eh... the tech team investigating it, will be the same tech team investigating evidence of online soliticitation...

This shows the mentality of your typical vigilante supporter. If you are against us then you are a paedophile. 29% of us apparently.
    fC6IOfO.jpg

This one made me laugh, so saving as they will remove opposing comments.
    HBryys7.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 30,602 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

When Louise gets boerd of this will she try and solve murders?
    She'd be like our own Jessica Fletcher, she'd always do the sting at the end.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

I think that we can all agree that the laws need to be changed. Longer sentences and a public sex offenders list would make me happy. Anyone else?

As expected all dissenting comments have been removed from Facebook.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,365 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Does anyone a actully know this Louise one? And what she is like?

I admire what they do, but not sure they are doing it the right way.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,602 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I think that we can all agree that the laws need to be changed. Longer sentences and a public sex offenders list would make me happy. Anyone else?

I think most people would be in agreement about longer sentences.
    However I remember back in 2016 during the general election Lucinda Creighton said a few things about sentencing during a debate a d she was laughed at.
    I think criminals should be tagged such as sex offenders/burglars/etc. You lose you right to privacy when you treat others badly.
    A public register may work but people are idiots and would mix things up.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭cgcsb

I thought it was an activity limited to the impoverished parts of the North of England, something for them to do with their afternoons. But it seems to have become more popular here. IS the effort not wasted here? since grooming through digital means is actually not a crime here, all they are doing is publicizing where these people live on facebook and never securing a conviction.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

I think most people would be in agreement about longer sentences.
    However I remember back in 2016 during the general election Lucinda Creighton said a few things about sentencing during a debate a d she was laughed at.
    I think criminals should be tagged such as sex offenders/burglars/etc. You lose you right to privacy when you treat others badly.
    A public register may work but people are idiots and would mix things up.

The sentences are unbelievable in this country. You hear things like 6 months suspended sentence for raping a child. There should be minimum sentences, 10 years for grooming, 15 years+ for rape/abuse.

I agree people are idiots as demonstrated yesterday, but if a public register was too dangerous at least locking them up for long enough would help.

Allegedly the guy from yesterday works as a chef in a Creche! If the allegations are true that’s a disturbing thought!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭cgcsb

What does that achieve? has longer prison sentences and public exposure resulted in a reduction in any sexual compulsion, anywhere in the world?