Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai cricitise paedophile hunters

• Registered Users Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

cgcsb wrote: »
    What does that achieve? has longer prison sentences and public exposure resulted in a reduction in any sexual compulsion, anywhere in the world?

I know the point of prison is meant to be rehabilitation, but what it would really achieve is keeping the sex offenders away from potential victims. Let’s be honest, prison seldoms rehabilitates, and most would argue paedophiles/child abusers can’t be rehabilitated. Absenteeism through incarceration gets my vote!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

This shows the mentality of your typical vigilante supporter. If you are against us then you are a paedophile. 29% of us apparently.
    fC6IOfO.jpg

This one made me laugh, so saving as they will remove opposing comments.
    HBryys7.jpg

Christ, it should be on the facebook idiotic thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭cgcsb

I can't help but wonder is part of the motivation finding a rich guy to extort money out of. I'd say they've at least tried this before. I can't help but think that the type of potential sex offender that would be taken in by one of their 'decoys' would be incredibly niave in the extreme.

But at the crux of the issue, society just doesn't want to address it seriously. In Germany they provide a free/confidential counciling service where men(of all sorts of persuasions) can go to learn how to better manage certain sexual compulsions. This reduces the rate of offending. Prison is wholly ineffective in this area, it's not like robbing a bank or selling drugs to earn a profit, it's an innate compulsion that won't just go away with more prison time. The Irish just aren't mature enough to talk about it seriously, hence people get frustrated and the unemployables set up these groups.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

TallGlass wrote: »
    True, in fairness from the video, you can see herself and some other girl legged it to the side. Think the 'security' stayed to protect your man. However, two lads trying to defend one person against a group of what looks like 10 or so people, one with a weapon.

The entire thing was to me very unprofessional, very badly executed and handled.

It's like she did not get her kicks last week (guy agreed with her that he had issues and needed help) and doubled up on this fella.

Yes, agreed. As I say I’ve warched all her vids and her style and behavior was very different to the norm.

Perhaps his attitude fueled her anger and all the comments from her programs last week regarding the lack of law in Ireland for grooming decoys

Personally , I think she does a good job and should be room for her in some capacity in the future
    Louise and CPA are amazing. They remind me of Phil hoban and predator exposure group.

I know the point of prison is meant to be rehabilitation, but what it would really achieve is keeping the sex offenders away from potential victims. Let’s be honest, prison seldoms rehabilitates, and most would argue paedophiles/child abusers can’t be rehabilitated. Absenteeism through incarceration gets my vote!

I don't think that's a viable option, men maintain a strong interest in sex well into their 60s or even 70s, that means very long sentences for a lot of people, and then resources become scarce. Also the more draconian the punishment the more the illegal activity goes underground, the less likely people with these thoughts will seek treatment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I don't think that's a viable option, men maintain a strong interest in sex well into their 60s or even 70s, that means very long sentences for a lot of people, and then resources become scarce. Also the more draconian the punishment the more the illegal activity goes underground, the less likely people with these thoughts will seek treatment.

Chemical castration would get my vote.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭robarmstrong

Have you read the thread?? There is no appropriate Garda unit. Hence people taking things into their own hands.

https://www.garda.ie/en/about-us/specialist-units/garda-national-protective-services-bureau-gnpsb-/sexual-crime-child-abuse/

Can you read?
    You realise that Ireland is a separate country to the UK and has different laws.

You realize I was using the behavior of an individual in a neighbouring country in how these issues are being handled as an example as to how these groups should be acting, right?

Is that difficult or do you want me to go even more granular? Or if you'd like you can continue to just keep up this weird aggro-macho bollocks there lad.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,899 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

It would be interesting to see if there is a connection between these groups and the far right. A recurring theme in England is that the same people running the groups are often racists, Islamophobes, Tommy Robinson sympathisers etc (ditto with their many supporters on social media).

Chemical castration would get my vote.

People should be more realistic in their approach to this issue. Otherwise nothing gets done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

https://www.garda.ie/en/about-us/specialist-units/garda-national-protective-services-bureau-gnpsb-/sexual-crime-child-abuse/

Can you read?

You realize I was using the behavior of an individual in a neighbouring country in how these issues are being handled as an example as to how these groups should be acting, right?

Is that difficult or do you want me to go even more granular? Or if you'd like you can continue to just keep up this weird aggro-macho bollocks there lad.

What does that link disprove?? :rolleyes:

As stated many times on the thread. If a nonce is messaging a person he believes is 8, 9, 10, but it is infact an adult posing as a child, there is no offence. Why would the Gardai investigate a non-offence??

How groups act in other jurisdictions, where the laws are completely different, is a ridiculous argument. Lad. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

She's on the LiveLine talking to Joe.

TallGlass wrote: »
    She's on the LiveLine talking to Joe.

She sounds very calm and restrained all of a sudden : bit of a change from the aggressive, foul mouthed screaming yesterday.

She'll probably get a sponsorship/advertising deal for some child-tracking app.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven

Strazdas wrote: »
    It would be interesting to see if there is a connection between these groups and the far right. A recurring theme in England is that the same people running the groups are often racists, Islamophobes, Tommy Robinson sympathisers etc (ditto with their many supporters on social media).

I believe they're known as the "working class".

That may be so, but longer sentences would be more effective in protecting society than the slap on the wrist that offenders currently get.

They ruin a young persons life, and are able to live a normal life, free to move onto their next victim, very few will know what they have done, or why they were locked up for a couple of months if at all.

That may be so, but longer sentences would be more effective in protecting society than the slap on the wrist that offenders currently get.

They ruin a young persons life, and are able to live a normal life, free to move onto their next victim, very few will know what they have done, or why they were locked up for a couple of months if at all.

How is that? surely a longer sentence only postpones re-offending. Most men maintain a strong interest in sex well into their later years. There should be better prevention.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,497 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

How is that? surely a longer sentence only postpones re-offending. Most men maintain a strong interest in sex well into their later years. There should be better prevention.

There is. Studying it and understanding it what drives some men to do it. But for some people that's far too much effort, not bloodythirsty enough and will result in some people being called pedo-defenders.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

That's where "life means life" should come into play. Repeat offenders who've shown that they have absolutely no hope whatsoever of changing their ways (I'm not just applying this to sex crimes, gangsters like Freddie Thompson for example should get the same treatment) should be permanently segregated from decent society.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

There is. Studying it and understanding it what drives some men to do it. But for some people that's far too much effort, not bloodythirsty enough and will result in some people being called pedo-defenders.

Isn't it a sexual preference though?

First they came for the socialists...

That's where "life means life" should come into play. Repeat offenders who've shown that they have absolutely no hope whatsoever of changing their ways (I'm not just applying this to sex crimes, gangsters like Freddie Thompson for example should get the same treatment) should be permanently segregated from decent society.

You can't really apply this to ALL peadophiles though. The majority of them are also attracted to adults, and could be rehabilitated and have a normal enough life. We don't have the resources to keep large numbers in prison for ever.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,238 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Feisar wrote: »

Yes and no.

There have been many cases of straight men who abuse young boys. In that case it's more about power than sex.

It's one of those things is generally more nuanced than just guys who are attracted to kids.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,238 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I'm sure both you and I can think of at least a few cases where it should. However there's also cases where it shouldn't.

I wouldn't have any trouble with people who have been jailed multiple times being the object of an order that means they stay in a secure facility of some type, as long as they are deemed a potential danger. And should they be released than it's with a lot of monitoring etc, and only after professionals say so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Credit Checker Moose

Someone is upset with Louise and the gang.
    fjfMgYp.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 33,497 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Feisar wrote: »

Is it?

To be honest, it's a question far fewer people want to confront than what to do with pedophiles because of the consequences of asking it.

By defintion it;s a fetish. It's an attraction to an object (or in this case an objectified person) and people can be weaned off fetishes. Whereas an orientation is more gender orientated and you're pretty much stuck with it. You can develop attractions to people not in your preference, but the initial one never goes away.

Case in point, you can get pedophiles who are attracted to children AND adults; and in come cases, straight men attracted to boys.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Someone is upset with Louise and the gang.]

Ha! Probably just some troll they’ve had a run in with in the past!

The thing that has been proven from yesterday’s fiasco is that no matter how much ‘Security’ the team has,(I think they’re just regular joes with no security training) they can’t actually guarantee the safety of the accused.

You always hear ‘These men are here to protect you’ when Security are encircling the accused. According to ‘Louise’ in response to a news report that claimed a mob of up to 20 people attacked your man, there was five security and four attackers. Even though security outnumbered the attackers they still battered him.

Then when the sirens started you can hear them scarpering. CPA can’t protect the accused because the public aren’t afraid of them.

Shouldn’t the CPA have performed a citizens arrest on the attackers too seeing as they care about the law so much? Instead of riling up the crowd and ending up helplessly screaming when they attack?

Additionally, im going to call this one, next time CPA do a sting in Ballymun, Coolock, Finglas or any other similar place, the local ‘Ladz’ will be out searching to give the target an even bigger hiding, knowing it will be all over the net.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ck3uOCyWB50

They have a more mature attitude in neighboring countries, see video above

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Credit Checker Moose

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ck3uOCyWB50

They have a more mature attitude in neighboring countries, see video above
    Can't be telling that to bored housewives who think they are Columbo.

Ha! Probably just some troll they’ve had a run in with in the past!

The thing that has been proven from yesterday’s fiasco is that no matter how much ‘Security’ the team has,(I think they’re just regular joes with no security training) they can’t actually guarantee the safety of the accused.

You always hear ‘These men are here to protect you’ when Security are encircling the accused. According to ‘Louise’ in response to a news report that claimed a mob of up to 20 people attacked your man, there was five security and four attackers. Even though security outnumbered the attackers they still battered him.

Then when the sirens started you can hear them scarpering. CPA can’t protect the accused because the public aren’t afraid of them.

Shouldn’t the CPA have performed a citizens arrest on the attackers too seeing as they care about the law so much? Instead of riling up the crowd and ending up helplessly screaming when they attack?

Additionally, im going to call this one, next time CPA do a sting in Ballymun, Coolock, Finglas or any other simian place, the local ‘Ladz’ will be our searching to give the target an even bigger hiding, knowing it will be all over the net.

The problem with yesterday is that 'Louise' and her mates clearly rapidly lost control of the situation. There could easily have been a much worse outcome ie. some like minded vigilante shows up at the scene and decides to stab the suspect to death. This is the very thing the Gardai are warning about.....one of these incidents could easily result in someone being seriously injured or killed.

Strazdas wrote: »
    The problem with yesterday is that 'Louise' and her mates clearly rapidly lost control of the situation. There could easily have been a much worse outcome ie. some like minded vigilante shows up at the scene and decides to stab the suspect to death. This is the very thing the Gardai are warning about.....one of these incidents could easily result in someone being seriously injured or killed.

I've heard they've also turned up to wrong addresses before and even cornered the room-mates of the person they are looking for.

The types of guys that they are catching must be the dimest sex offenders going like surely you would be more careful if you were in any way serious about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

You can't really apply this to ALL peadophiles though. The majority of them are also attracted to adults, and could be rehabilitated and have a normal enough life. We don't have the resources to keep large numbers in prison for ever.

I'm not applying it to all paedophiles as in all individuals with a sexual attraction to children, I'm specifically applying it to all individuals who repeatedly engage in sexual activity with children despite numerous convictions. Big difference. Some people out there have proven that their mindset is to return to their violent behaviour immediately upon release from prison, because for one reason or another they are unable or unwilling to give a f*ck. Those are the people who should be jailed for genuine lift sentences, or sentences which last long enough for them to be too old and frail to threaten anyone's safety again.

I don't know if you read the profiles or biographies published about Freddie Thompson and his life after he was jailed for the murder of David Douglas, but do you honestly believe there's any possibility that he leaves prison for the bajillionth time and lives a life free of violence from that moment on?