Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai cricitise paedophile hunters

• Registered Users Posts: 38,560 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I'd have no problem with a professional group going around exposing paedophiles and other sex fiends so long as their information was correct.
    There are plenty out there who beat a charge on a technicality and it's no harm that the world knows who they are.
    These people though don't do their homework and want blood and that's not ok. I'd like to see some of them arrested and convicted of the laws they are breaking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

These groups would not be needed if Plod actually did their jobs and investigated crime.

Instead, the Plod remit for crimes online is to scour the net for words that upset people through the use of harsh and colourful language.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

There's a video doing the rounds of a guy running from these hunters. A person in the chasing car is filming it all. During the chase he decides to jump head first on to an oncoming van, presumably killing himself. Definitely scarring the poor driver.

It doesn't sit right with me that a bunch of vigilantes make themselves judge, jury and (contributory) executioner. I feel dreadful for the driver for what he just endured too.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Marty Bird wrote: »
    It’s far from nonsense. The people who these types of groups are trying to identify are not on street corners in public. How do you know that they haven’t reported the type of crimes like open drug dealing.
    Because they'd get beaten up or shot and we'd hear about it. Nobody objects to said individuals being reported to the police to investigate. In less law-abiding times these types of groups would have had a rope with them.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,096 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

BOHtox wrote: »
    There's a video doing the rounds of a guy running from these hunters. A person in the chasing car is filming it all. During the chase he decides to jump head first on to an oncoming van, presumably killing himself. Definitely scarring the poor driver.

It doesn't sit right with me that a bunch of vigilantes make themselves judge, jury and (contributory) executioner. I feel dreadful for the driver for what he just endured too.

I've no doubt the people filming will be interviewed and most likely prosecuted for something, possibly involuntary manslaughter (it fits the criteria). And rightly so imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭Nokia6230i

Video removed by FACEBOOK and NOT the vigilante group; they've no scruples; they stung an intellectually challenged individual recently & while not naming 'em (because to do so only lends 'em credence & credibility) he did express reservations about their conduct.

FIVE individuals; two women & three men.

Now of AGS'd received the chat logs this would've been dealt with far more sensitively; but nope, vigilante scum want to put this man in fear of his life and it's now endangered the residential care setting he's in.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/appalling-disabled-man-confronted-by-mob-of-vigilantes-in-sting-operation-38320361.html

• Registered Users Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

Was it an Irish group or the UK group? not that it matters? Just wondering which scum.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭mikeym

These vigilantes could have criminal records themselves.

There was an incident up in Northern Ireland where the Hunters were recording live and the whole neighbourhood turned out to beat the crap out of the accused pedophile.

The people they seem to catch dont seem to be the smartest of people.

Calhoun wrote: »
    Was it an Irish group or the UK group? not that it matters? Just wondering which scum.

Irish. Not naming them.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,586 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

BOHtox wrote: »

Any link so we have a bit of backround to this case.

TBH if he was a nonce he isn't much of a loss, I feel sorry for the innocent driver though.

• Registered Users Posts: 148 ✭✭cocaliquid

mikeym wrote: »
    These vigilantes could have criminal records themselves.

There was an incident up in Northern Ireland where the Hunters were recording live and the whole neighbourhood turned out to beat the crap out of the accused pedophile.

The people they seem to catch dont seem to be the smartest of people.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/former-rt-producer-who-tried-to-groom-girl-13-sentenced-to-18-months-in-prison-36687151.html

Nokia6230i wrote: »
    Irish. Not naming them.

Thats fine, they are playing a dangerous game. If it happened in the south there will be some examples made.

It WAS the South. Co. Cork I think; but he's not in a position to identify them so pointless taking a statement sadly.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

MrFresh wrote: »
    They don't have a clue what the Gardaí are doing about it. If you report someone like this the local Gardaí aren't going to go down his gaf and haul him out in cuffs. There are specialist investigators on national units that handle this stuff. They have to build a case and get enough for a warrant and ensure they are able to secure enough incriminating evidence when they eventually go for the arrest. It's a pretty complex and difficult process. A person can have their whole system set up to wipe everything with a simple command.

The Gardaí aren't the problem, the courts are. Take Tom Humphries for example - he's due to be released from jail fairly soon as far as I know. I think in most peoples' opinions, people like that should be jailed for sentences which are measured in decades rather than years, but the ever-lenient Irish justice system has abdicated its responsibility to keep the public safe from monsters.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

Saw a video a few months ago of them harrarssing a man that clearly had special needs, he believed the young girl he was meeting was going to be his friend. I worked with special needs adults and couldnt help feeling sorry for him, its frightening how innocent special needs people can be and how vulnerable it makes them. He genuinely couldnt understand what he had done wrong, he had the mind of a child himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Sharp MZ700

How are they hunting out these paedophiles? Are they previously convicted or are they just working on hearsay? Imagine being innocent!!

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Like George Carlin said "Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."

• Registered Users Posts: 10,578 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Tasfasdf wrote: »
    Your say for a fact the people with special needs cannot be nouces:rolleyes:

At least the people with special needs can most likely spell "nonce" and you seemingly can not...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

Last year in Kildare (I think) a group of these people hounded a guy who turned out to be completely innocent of any crime. When a journalist asked one of the ringleaders what she had to say for herself, she said, "Well, better safe than sorry."

Tasfasdf wrote: »
    Your say for a fact the people with special needs cannot be nouces:rolleyes:

At least people with special needs aren't power tripping bastards who are basically preying on very vulnerable individuals. Just making it easier for the real abusers because 1. they wont be so ****ing stupid because they can see exactly how these guys operate and 2. these numpties will lul the stupid into a false sense of security.

If this was about justice it would be done with out all the pomp on facebook, but its more about stroking ego than anything else. I find generally with groups like this they themselves are dirty and we will know in a few years just what they have been up to.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,096 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

How are they hunting out these paedophiles? Are they previously convicted or are they just working on hearsay? Imagine being innocent!!

Entrapment, where they pretend to be an underage person.

Edit: I'm aware entrapment is usually reserved for law enforcement. Can't think of the civilian equivalent.

Nokia6230i wrote: »
    It WAS the South. Co. Cork I think; but he's not in a position to identify them so pointless taking a statement sadly.

They were stupid enough to put it online though.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

eagle eye wrote: »
    I'd have no problem with a professional group going around exposing paedophiles and other sex fiends so long as their information was correct.
    There are plenty out there who beat a charge on a technicality and it's no harm that the world knows who they are.
    These people though don't do their homework and want blood and that's not ok. I'd like to see some of them arrested and convicted of the laws they are breaking.

"Professional group", I'm a professional, as in white collar. Do I qualify?

Most people are dumb as feck! Ever go through airport security? Oh sweet baby Jesus!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 18,897 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

At least people with special needs aren't power tripping bastards who are basically preying on very vulnerable individuals. Just making it easier for the real abusers because 1. they wont be so ****ing stupid because they can see exactly how these guys operate and 2. these numpties will lul the stupid into a false sense of security.

If this was about justice it would be done with out all the pomp on facebook, but its more about stroking ego than anything else. I find generally with groups like this they themselves are dirty and we will know in a few years just what they have been up to.

It would be very interesting to see the links between these groups and their worshippers on Facebook and the far right. Supporters of vigilantism in general tend to be far right and also to be racists who hate Muslims and black people etc.

The idea that they are upstanding citizens is laughable. They are mostly hate filled scumbags, as are the baying mob online.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Paedophile hunters groups who are protecting our children are to be admired and commended. Unfortunately there is a certain dublin based paedophile sympathiser judge who let's off paedophiles daily in court with either a suspended sentence or a friendly warning. A petition was signed about him a couple of years ago by concerned parents including myself but as this is new pcbrigade protected Ireland nothing was done about it. Well done to CPA and also UK based Phil hoban and predator exposure team. Thanks for been there for innocent children.

If you believe they are protecting our children you really need to educate yourself on how child abuse and paedophiles work.

Chances are the one that would more than likely target your kids are known to you through either family or friends.

The guys that are caught on facebook at the lowest common denominator and vulnerable individuals. If its so easy for them to be caught by a bunch of mothers and hardmen who fancy themselves as heroes.

The sad thing is gullible fools will see the work these people are doing and have a false sense of security. The same type who spend the weekend skulling pints ect and neglecting their children.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

A professional group, like the guards perhaps? These people are absolute idiots and should be stopped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭utyh2ikcq9z76b

It's actually decoys grooming people with special needs

• Registered Users Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

gazz wrote: »
    It's actually decoys grooming people with special needs
    That's so disgusting.