Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland Team Talk X: The Long Hard Road to a Semi. MOD WARNING POSTS #1, #1474, #5707

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,741 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

lawred2 wrote: »
    WRC are not in the business of constructing or maintaining stadia.

Don't think this can be leveled at them really.

They are actually. It was World Rugby who arranged for the pitch in Fukuoka to be relaid after complaints from Italy and Canada, and they're the ones who carry out inspections for each of the grounds and have said that the pitch is perfectly fine in their eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,658 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Jesus that's not going to hold up at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,658 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

They are actually. It was World Rugby who arranged for the pitch in Fukuoka to be relaid after complaints from Italy and Canada, and they're the ones who carry out inspections for each of the grounds and have said that the pitch is perfectly fine in their eyes.

Oh well I stand very much corrected then..

Surprised that there wasn't one independent turf specialist asked as to whether a few weeks was enough for new sod to secure down for a professional rugby match!

Obviously the contractor was going to take the job regardless and wouldn't have offered any such advice but I might have expected some level of independent advice being sought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

aloooof wrote: »
    What about England then? I posted earlier, we faced an almost identical scenario to them during the last RWC i.e. facing into a very physical game against France in the last game, with the winner taking top spot.

POM and POC got injured. SOB got red carded. As a result, they all missed the QF.

England now get to avoid any such scenario. That sounds pretty material to me.

Don't forget Sexton and Payne also missed the QF, Bowe went off early in the game with a bad knee injury.

I was at that QF and still suffering from PTSD.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,255 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

+1 shuddered everytime I'd hear 'The Fields' after that one until we beat NZ! I was full chorus then :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,331 Mod ✭✭✭✭aloooof

Don't forget Sexton and Payne also missed the QF, Bowe went off early in the game with a bad knee injury.

Correct, but iirc I think Payne and Sexton were all injured before / in the lead up to the France game? I only mentioned POC, POM and SOB as they were the 3 players that we specifically lost during the France game, which is exactly what England get to avoid now.

(I've been at the last 2 QF's and somehow, the Wales one felt worse to me. Which is saying something...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

Correct, but iirc I think Payne and Sexton were all injured before / in the lead up to the France game? I only mentioned POC, POM and SOB as they were the 3 players that we specifically lost during the France game, which is exactly what England get to avoid now.

(I've been at the last 2 QF's and somehow, the Wales one felt worse to me. Which is saying something...)

I think we had great expectation for the Welsh game, had beaten Oz and went in with a fully fit squad (I think).
    I limped across Seville on a banjaxed knee at stupid o' clock to watch it in a pub where the Spaniards were surprised to see me drinking at that hour :).
    A few of them joined me though, helped me to drown my sorrows, even if they didn't know what was going on

dub_skav wrote: »
    I think we had great expectation for the Welsh game, had beaten Oz and went in with a fully fit squad (I think).
    I limped across Seville on a banjaxed knee at stupid o' clock to watch it in a pub where the Spaniards were surprised to see me drinking at that hour :).
    A few of them joined me though, helped me to drown my sorrows, even if they didn't know what was going on

It's funny, I'd say there are plenty of people who have some fond memories looking back at drowning our sorrows after defeats at all hours of the day. It'll be all the sweeter when we do win one!

The early tries in each of the last 2 QF's were just so deflating tho. Nevermind never winning a QF, have we ever even been ahead in a QF? Only one I can think of its Gordon Hamilton, so never in the pro era, I think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,122 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

It's funny, I'd say there are plenty of people who have some fond memories looking back at drowning our sorrows after defeats at all hours of the day. It'll be all the sweeter when we do win one!

As a kiwi, I can confirm that this is true. It will happen one day.

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    As a kiwi, I can confirm that this is true. It will happen one day.

Hopefully in about 8-9 days time ;)

In any case, one of the benefits of playing NZ in the QF would be that it's the later kick-off on the Saturday, so a more respectable time to start drinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭padser

Realistically, a poor quality pitch probably favours Ireland.

It probably doesnt help in chasing a bonus point, but if Samoa cause Ireland real problems in terms of beating them, that's most likely to happen in a fast paced, free flowing game......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭WeleaseWoderick

The early tries in each of the last 2 QF's were just so deflating tho. Nevermind never winning a QF, have we ever even been ahead in a QF? Only one I can think of its Gordon Hamilton, so never in the pro era, I think?

No, we've never been in the lead in any QF of the pro-era! We've conceded tries in the first 5 minutes of the 2003, 2011 & 2015 QF's too!

Agree with the sentiment that the 2011 match felt worse than 2015. The team was ticking along really nicely and had no major injuries before that match whereas 2015 was a depleted team that only got more depleted as the match went on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭andymx11

What’s tomorrow’s weather like? A few sites saying should be dry enough by kick off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭schmoo2k

andymx11 wrote: »
    What’s tomorrow’s weather like? A few sites saying should be dry enough by kick off.

Windy

0ypuLVN.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭billybonkers

I don't think any of those sites are predicting the typhoon wind strength correctly, they ave Tokyo at 60km/h in the middle of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭schmoo2k

I don't think any of those sites are predicting the typhoon wind strength correctly, they ave Tokyo at 60km/h in the middle of it

That site has the following for Tokyo at the same time:
    Wind: 91 km/h S
    Gusts: 148 km/h

Which is pretty plausible?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭billybonkers

schmoo2k wrote: »
    That site has the following for Tokyo at the same time:
    Wind: 91 km/h S
    Gusts: 148 km/h

Which is pretty plausible?

That's windy alright :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

That's windy alright :eek:

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,741 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Gentle breeze, sure the lads are used to it from the sportsground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,114 ✭✭✭ebbsy

I think at this point we have wheeled out all the excuses :

1) Weather
    2) Injuries
    3) Ref
    4) and that old chestnut, the pitch.

ebbsy wrote: »

1) Weather
    2) Injuries
    3) Ref

and is Joe getting his excuses in early for the 1/4 final?

https://www.the42.ie/schmidt-advantage-england-all-blacks-4845913-Oct2019/?utm_source=shortlink
    Cancelled games give England and All Blacks 'an advantage' - Schmidt

glasso wrote: »

Any excuse to throw shade on Schmidt at this stage

Do you think it doesn't give them an advantage? If so, why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭yerrahbah

ebbsy wrote: »

1) Weather
    2) Injuries
    3) Ref

Don't forget the team bus

Do you think it doesn't give them an advantage? If so, why?

imo, focus on the next game and do the job there.

don't even entertain these sort of questions.

most people would say it is an advantage unless you are in Ireland's position where the momentum is shyte and you need a good win to buoy the team's confidence to face a strong opponent in the 1/4 final. also to get some game time for players who haven't had much competitive rugby in the last 5 months.

Ireland,if their match was cancelled and were heading to play NZ after a mediocre win over probably the weakest team in the competition and a loss against Japan before that- I'd rather that they play Samoa and face the AB's a week later.

do you disagree, if so, why?

imo, focus on the next game and do the job there.

don't even entertain these sort of questions.

most people would say it is an advantage unless you are in Ireland's position where the momentum is shyte and you need a good win to buoy the team's confidence to face a strong opponent in the 1/4 final. also to get some game time for players who haven't had much competitive rugby in the last 5 months.

Ireland,if their match was cancelled and were heading to play NZ after a mediocre win over probably the weakest team in the competition and a loss against Japan before that- I'd rather that they play Samoa and face the AB's a week later.

do you disagree, if so, why?

The crux of it is in your first sentence. Ireland have to focus on Samoa. NZ get to focus on the QF.

2/10 answer. fail.

Ha, if you say so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

No, we've never been in the lead in any QF of the pro-era! We've conceded tries in the first 5 minutes of the 2003, 2011 & 2015 QF's too!

Well at least we didn't concede early in 2007.

Ohhhh...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,635 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

I've seen both sides of the argument rolled out loads of times. It can also be seen as a disadvantage not to have played in weeks. New Zealand haven't had a proper hit out in a month. Ireland will be battle hardened, etc.

Who knows what the answer is, but New Zealand can't concentrate on any QF until they know their opponents on Sunday.

And then you have South Africa (who we could still play) who played all their games and still have a 12 day turn around to their QF.

It is definitely an advantage to have a two week break rather than a one week break, given both teams have had a ton of games to get them up to speed already

do you really think that Ireland are up-to-speed right now going on the evidence if their game was cancelled and they were going through to a 1/4?

• Administrators Posts: 54,713 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

do you really think that Ireland are up-to-speed right now going on the evidence?

No, but a game against Samoa is also not going to make difference in that regard.

It would absolutely be beneficial for Ireland if they could avoid playing this weekend, and had 2 weeks to prepare for a quarter final against either NZ or SA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,026 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

padser wrote: »
    Realistically, a poor quality pitch probably favours Ireland.

It probably doesnt help in chasing a bonus point, but if Samoa cause Ireland real problems in terms of beating them, that's most likely to happen in a fast paced, free flowing game......

A poor quality pitch favours nobody, and least of all, does it favour the poor rugby player who ruptures a ligament because they slip, or the ground gives away underneath them or get caught in a hole that shouldn't be there, or they get concussion because their head hits off a rock hard surface...

I've seen both sides of the argument rolled out loads of times. It can also be seen as a disadvantage not to have played in weeks. New Zealand haven't had a proper hit out in a month. Ireland will be battle hardened, etc.

Who knows what the answer is, but New Zealand can't concentrate on any QF until they know their opponents on Sunday.

And then you have South Africa (who we could still play) who played all their games and still have a 12 day turn around to their QF.

I can see both sides, but I think there are more benefits to a longer lead in than a short, especially given our final game is against Samoa.

Imo, once we can get the 4 tries, it'll be more akin to a warm-up game, where we're hoping for no injuries tbh. (Not that the 4 tries will be a given either mind, it took Scotland 2 penalty tries, and until the 70 odd minute to get theirs).

awec wrote: »
    No, but a game against Samoa is also not going to make difference in that regard.

It would absolutely be beneficial for Ireland if they could avoid playing this weekend, and had 2 weeks to prepare for a quarter final against either NZ or SA.

fair enough that's your opinion but I would argue that they are badly in need of a good game for some momentum and to get key players like Henshaw back in the swing of things (even tho he is known for being able to click right back in to game speed after an injury).

now of course that is with the proviso that there are no injuries sustained.

In NZ's case, definitely beneficial.

So, despite my "2/10 answer", after all that you actually agree with me (and Joe) that it gives NZ an advantage? We got there in the end, at least.

you're twisting the argument. you didn't address the points that I made in your 2/10 reply.

facile discursive tactic

also for all the supposed fears that Samoa will mangle you in the tackles - no injuries for Scotland against them that I could see.

you're twisting the argument.

How exactly? You suggested Joe is getting his excuses in early because he said it gives NZ an advantage.

You've since admitted it does give them an advantage.
    you didn't address the points that I made in your 2/10 reply.

:confused: I literally used one of your points in my reply.
    also for all the supposed fears that Samoa will mangle you in the tackles - no injuries for Scotland against them that I could see.

Lets hope we can say the same after 2moro. I'm concerned the pitch won't help.

do you really think that Ireland are up-to-speed right now going on the evidence if their game was cancelled and they were going through to a 1/4?

Ireland are match fit, yes. An extra week break is an advantage at this point. I can't believe this is even being debated.

that was about joe making a comment about this, not the advantage of a lay-off

the body of the argument was why I believe it would not be an advantage in Ireland's situation to have a lay-off.

the pitch is a worry yes - hopefully it won't play as big a part as feared....

Ireland are match fit, yes. An extra week break is an advantage at this point. I can't believe this is even being debated.

they may be match fit but their actual match performance is stuttering, at best.

momentum needed, especially with the weight of history of a 0 for 7 record in knock-out international rugby and the quality of the opponents.

• Site Banned Posts: 68 ✭✭Fornevermore

Ireland could have thrown their B team out to play Samoa if they'd beaten Japan? Then the majority of our players would have had a break and a few who needed game time would have got a runout. The draw was perfect for us. We can't blame anyone else, we can't blame the weather, we can only blame ourselves.

true.

but if then put in a good win tomorrow at least there may be some hope of a showing in a 1/4 final.

Ireland to throw up an actual game when cast as the underdog in the 1/4 then....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,955 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Haven’t bothered for a few days on here, everyone so pessimistic

Come back and nothing changed....it’s sad to see people can’t enjoy rugby and spend day after day moaning

Anyway, I will enjoy the game in morning....win lose or draw

Shefwedfan wrote: »

Come back and nothing changed....it’s sad to see people can’t enjoy rugby and spend day after day moaning

we're hoping for a good performance to show something. and I think they will.

on the other hand, no point in trying to polish a shyte.

• Site Banned Posts: 68 ✭✭Fornevermore

Shefwedfan wrote: »

You'll enjoy watching us lose? You'll enjoy getting knocked out of the World Cup?

I will enjoy the game

Something people on here have forgot how to do and find it better to complain about anything to do with rugby, even complaining about Ireland most successful coach ever

Of course I won’t enjoy if we get knock out...I hope we go on and win The WC

we're hoping for a good performance to show something. and I think they will.

on the other hand, no point in trying to polish a shyte.

Grand Slam champions, 3 6 nations in6 years, tour win of Australia, beating NZ, twice.....

Maybe a little bit of common sense