Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ireland Team Talk X: The Long Hard Road to a Semi. MOD WARNING POSTS #1, #1474, #5707

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,640 Mod ✭✭✭✭aloooof

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    I doubt he will but he can if we really really need him to

Remember Madigan was a reserve 9 for last WC...:p

So Beirne and Ruddock are "very similar" but Ruddock playing 2nd row is equivalent to Madigan playing 9? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,616 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Side note, have the IRFU even sold half the tickets for this weekends game. Shambolic pricing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

aloooof wrote: »
    So Beirne and Ruddock are "very similar" but Ruddock playing 2nd row is equivalent to Madigan playing 9? :rolleyes:

:p:p

Yes

• Administrators Posts: 54,110 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I doubt he will but he can if we really really need him to

Remember Madigan was a reserve 9 for last WC...:p

It would take an epidemic of injuries.

As far as Ireland are concerned Ruddock is a back row and a back row only. He barely even plays the position for Leinster.

Madigan covered 9 because there was no alternative.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,863 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

heard Ian McKinley is on the bench for italy... but i havent seen the team named yet?

anyone have it?

• Administrators Posts: 54,110 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

errlloyd wrote: »
    Side note, have the IRFU even sold half the tickets for this weekends game. Shambolic pricing.

Yea loads of empty seats and half empty blocks on ticketmaster.

60 quid for a friendly, the IRFU are off their head.

:p:p

Yes

No. Beirne has played 2nd row for Ireland. Ruddock never has. Just like Madigan never played 9. What you're saying is nonsense.

awec wrote: »
    Yea loads of empty seats and half empty blocks on ticketmaster.

60 quid for a friendly, the IRFU are off their head.

You think that's bad, I got an email from MRSC awhile back about the away warm-up games:
    England – Twickenham – Saturday 24th August (K.O. 3pm) .Prices €91.00 each or €103.00 each

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Amateur vs professional sports aside, 50 euro can get you into Croker or the Aviva on Saturday. I imagine Croker would be the option for most on the fence! The Aviva will be dead on Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,575 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

The game from 2014? Are we now using a game from 5 years ago to shout for a players inclusion?

It's as significant as any other game from seasons past. Ruddock has always performed to a high level, and has been playing really well this season in particular. He also has significantly more "big game" experience than Beirne. He's a better backrow player, and frankly Beirne is probably 4th or 5th choice at lock.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 27,325 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Beirne has been converted to a 2nd row by Munster. Before that he played majority of time in back row

Ruddock has played second row before many times for Leinster, not his preferred position but he can if needs required.

So they are very similar.

This is not true. He has never once started in the second row in a professional match. He covers there from the bench in an emergency at times. Him and Beirne are not similar at all.

It's as significant as any other game from seasons past. Ruddock has always performed to a high level, and has been playing really well this season in particular. He also has significantly more "big game" experience than Beirne. He's a better backrow player, and frankly Beirne is probably 4th or 5th choice at lock.

Both of these points are true, but it hardly matters. The squad restrictions are what they are and they play to Beirne's strengths more than Ruddock's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,575 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Both of these points are true, but it hardly matters. The squad restrictions are what they are and they play to Beirne's strengths more than Ruddock's.

Agree, unfortunately.

No. Beirne has played 2nd row for Ireland. Ruddock never has. Just like Madigan never played 9. What you're saying is nonsense.

I just made the point we brought player last WC who had very little time in the position but could cover in a huge emergency.....you decided to go on some tangent then so I let you off

Standard enough nonsense from yourself when it comes to any discussion with a Munster player in it.....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭D14Rugby

This is not true. He has never once started in the second row in a professional match. He covers there from the bench in an emergency at times. Him and Beirne are not similar at all.

He has. Vs Wasps in 2016.

I beg to differ

https://www.leinsterrugby.ie/report/wasps-51-v-10-leinster/

Not a great day but he has played in Pro 14 as well before.

I just made the point we brought player last WC who had very little time in the position but could cover in a huge emergency.....you decided to go on some tangent then so I let you off

Standard enough nonsense from yourself when it comes to any discussion with a Munster player in it.....

You've gone from saying Beirne and Ruddock were "very similar" to now implying Ruddock could cover 2nd row "in a huge emergency". That's a massive climb down.

And instead of admitting your mistake, you're throwing provincial bias accusations at me.

Plenty of other posters have also pointed out that Beirne and Ruddock are not competing for the same position, it's not just me.

I beg to differ

https://www.leinsterrugby.ie/report/wasps-51-v-10-leinster/

Not a great day but he has played in Pro 14 as well before.

I stand corrected, I missed that when looking through. It doesn't really fundamentally change anything though, he is not a lock. He covers there in an emergency and with Leinster's locking options a bit healthier these days he doesn't even do that anymore really.

If Schmidt chooses to bring a combo lock/backrow player they will be travelling as the 4th lock and Ruddock is not in that conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,517 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

https://twitter.com/IrishRugby/status/1159449301979992064?s=19

Player/Club/Province/Caps
    15. Jordan Larmour (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 13 caps
    14. Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) 12 caps caps
    13. Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 20 caps
    12. Chris Farrell (Young Munster/Munster) 5 caps
    11. Dave Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster) 17
    10. Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Munster) 18 caps
    9. Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) 10 caps

1. Jack McGrath (St Marys College/Leinster) 54 caps
    2. Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 7 caps
    3. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 14 caps
    4. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 64 caps
    5. Jean Kleyn (Munster) 0 caps
    6. Rhys Ruddock (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 21 caps Captain
    7. Tommy O’Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster) 12 caps
    8. Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Ulster) 27 caps

Replacements
    16. Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) 14 caps
    17. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 88 caps
    18. John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 18 caps
    19. Iain Henderson (Queens University/Ulster) 44 caps
    20. Tadhg Beirne (Lansdowne/Munster) 5 caps
    21. Kieran Marmion (Galwegians/Connacht) 25 caps
    22. Jack Carty (Buccaneers/Connacht) 3 caps
    23. Mike Haley (Munster) 0 caps

• Registered Users Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭yerrahbah

Outrage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

FFS they pick who they know FFS

Very much a 2nd strength team

Larmour at full back will be interesting
    Not sure Farrell has played much at 12, Joe trying him out there
    Carbery getting a start at 10
    Kleyn making his debut
    Beirne the sub backrow
    Haley to make his debut off the bench

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,828 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Shows depth we have when that's a 2nd team. Very decent team

Herring starting is an interesting one. My guess would be it's likely to be Best, Scannell and Cronin on the plane. The biggest question mark of that trio is probably over Cronin.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

I wonder if Farrell is duking it out with Addison for the utility back spot so. Overall I like the look of the squad. We all knew we weren't going to see anything resembling a full strength line up, but theres still plenty of experience in that side. It's not a particularly callow team at all despite the lack of first string players. That's a massive plus for me.

Break down the combinations and you have McGrath in the front row with Healy to come off the bench, both offering bucket loads of experience. In the second row we have Toner with Henderson to come off the bench. Ruddock and Murphy in the back row. The half backs are the exception but both have plenty of HEC experience and have been involved in some big games for Ireland in the past and we have Marmion on the bench. Ringrose in the centre has plenty of experience too. Then there's Dave Kearney in the back 3. There should also be a good deal of familiarity within those combinations other than the centres and back 3.

This is a team that should be able to put together a performance really, albeit a loose one given it's the first game of the season. Farrell at 12 will be interesting. Has he ever played there for Munster?

That's the team I posted yesterday. Intel is good :)

molloyjh wrote: »
    Farrell at 12 will be interesting. Has he ever played there for Munster?

I don't believe so. If Scannell doesn't start there, generally Goggin or Arnold go to 12. To me, he has all the attributes tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,899 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

I don't believe so. If Scannell doesn't start there, generally Goggin or Arnold go to 12. To me, he has all the attributes tho.

it also clears the way for both Farrell and Henshaw if you really wanted a powerful pair at centre

Lots of tickets still available, 50 euro for the cheapest seat...

Riskymove wrote: »
    it also clears the way for both Farrell and Henshaw if you really wanted a powerful pair at centre

Which you might want against, picking a team at random, South Africa? :pac:

Personally think you'd lose too much not having Ringrose tho, and he's the most nailed on centre. There's a bit more ambiguity about the 12 shirt, what with Henshaw's injuries.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,706 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Ringrose should be nailed on at 13. Whilst Henshaw and Farrell are very good players, Ringrose is a step above (despite his form at the end of last season being a little patchy) with his distribution and ability to create a line break out of nothing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Mr Tickle

clsmooth wrote: »
    Ringrose should be nailed on at 13. Whilst Henshaw and Farrell are very good players, Ringrose is a step above (despite his form at the end of last season being a little patchy) with his distribution and ability to create a line break out of nothing.

I think ireland need a ringrose type centre there. Given that we tend to be a bit one dimensional at times someone a bit more elusive makes a big difference.

Henshaw and Bundee are harder carrying wrecking balls.

Farrell actually has the size and ability to do both. It's injury record and lack of game time that holds him back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,859 ✭✭✭ionadnapokot

clsmooth wrote: »

I expect we will see Ringrose popping up at 1st receiver allot more at RWC.
    Pairing him with Farrell could work out nicely.
    Full sure Joe will bring 2 specialist 13s.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,863 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Ex England U20 and current Gloucester scrum half Callum Braley on the bench for Italy, in line to make his debut

Conor O Shea must have scoured the earth looking for eligible players.

I expect we will see Ringrose popping up at 1st receiver allot more at RWC.
    Pairing him with Farrell could work out nicely.
    Full sure Joe will bring 2 specialist 13s.

Does Addison fit the bill for that?

Mr Tickle wrote: »
    Does Addison fit the bill for that?

I reckon Addison v Conway for the utility back slot

For me that comes down to how many centres we bring. I'd see Ringrose, Bundee and Henshaw as pretty much nailed on. If Farrell is brought then I'd take Conway as a better back 3 player. If he's not then I'd bring Addison for the versatility.

Similarly the number of half backs can be brought into that conversation.
    Lots of moving parts this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,930 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

They should let Andy Farrell take over for Saturday and give him a taste of what its like to be number 1

Joe will make it back id say.

Think we will see ROG lead us into the 2023 world cup and I think Farrell will struggle as number 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

Telling you now.

image.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 527 ✭✭✭mogwai81

A little off topic, anyone know where I can find out who has the tv rights to the warm up games outside of Ireland? Living in Germany, Rugbypass aren't showing it because it is 'unavailable in my region', so I'd imagine someone already has the rights. After several Google searches I still can't find anything.

Telling you now.

image.jpg

You have to love the return of D Kearney

Just to send a certain section of the country nuts again I think he should travel :p:p:p:p:p:p:p:p

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

mogwai81 wrote: »
    A little off topic, anyone know where I can find out who has the tv rights to the warm up games outside of Ireland? Living in Germany, Rugbypass aren't showing it because it is 'unavailable in my region', so I'd imagine someone already has the rights. After several Google searches I still can't find anything.

www.wheresthematch.com

An excellent resource.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭Gachla

I wouldn't have Ruddock in the squad. He's a solid player but nothing more. He has some very good games but doesn't do anything exceptional. Others offer much more.

Just to send a certain section of the country nuts again I think he should travel :p:p:p:p:p:p:p:p

If anyone remembers the RWC 2015 warm ups they’ll remember DK ended up having a stormer and playing himself into the squad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,828 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

If he's good enough he's good enough. Begrudgers aren't the one picking the team so feck em!

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Gachla wrote: »
    I wouldn't have Ruddock in the squad. He's a solid player but nothing more. He has some very good games but doesn't do anything exceptional. Others offer much more.

Only other 6 at his level is POM to be fair.

PTH2009 wrote: »
    They should let Andy Farrell take over for Saturday and give him a taste of what its like to be number 1

Joe will make it back id say.

Think we will see ROG lead us into the 2023 world cup and I think Farrell will struggle as number 1

Farrell is contracted through to the '23 World Cup. It's not gonna happen short of two absolutely colossally bad years to begin his reign. Like two wooden spoons bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭Gachla

Faugheen wrote: »
    Only other 6 at his level is POM to be fair.

Standar? Ruddock just doesn't fit in, he's good but not at the level we require.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

mogwai81 wrote: »

DAZN usually have rugby. It’s a pay service but you can get a free trial...

https://watch.dazn.com/de-DE/rugby-live-stream/

Telling you now.

Alright Dave!