Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

(Tell me WHOY) I don't like Funny Froidays: Liveline 15/2/19 and dat

cozar wrote: »
    A million? Will have to look up the stats on that statement!, maybe?

Quite easily found, amazingly. I looked because I'm bored & nosey. :D Its far, far beyond a million!

https://www.cso.ie/multiquicktables/quickTables.aspx?id=vsa02_vsa09_vsa18

2018 not shown but from 1992 to 2017 we had 1,602,878 births. Throw in another 60,000 roughly for last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,193 ✭✭✭Jeff2

A million? Will have to look up the stats on that statement!, maybe?

At the moment its this 66,000 a year.

Maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,531 ✭✭✭cozar

Jeff2 wrote: »
    At the moment its this 66,000 a year.

Maybe?

That’s a lot of babies I would have said 66,000 for the year! Wouldn’t everyone have a story about their labour just exaggerate a bit and away you go ...call joe.

Ahhhhh, now the story is starting to get cooking.

https://twitter.com/NWCI/status/1114438276423856129

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Ahhhhh, now the story is starting to get cooking.

https://twitter.com/NWCI/status/1114438276423856129

Surprised the indo journalist wasn't in the studio with him. ;)

Its joe’s versatis part 2. He got a full week out of it and it probably will continue next week.

The Versatis campaign was an abject failure, and he has points to score against HSE, and this has far more teeth. Versatis was a lidocaine local anaesthetic patch that has no effect, other than placebo, against deeper tissue pain. I speak from experience!

You may not be too far from the truth there CatM.

I’m sure Joe’s wishing Profff Barry were in charge of matetnity services in Ireland and he’d be at least be on equal scoring.
    As it is:

Joe Duffy v Prof Barry, case dismissed

Joe Duffy v HSE maternity services. Duffy wins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

If I remember correctly, the Versatis campaign was gaining publicity (on Liveline anyway) when I think the cervical cancer scandal took over

Alan Thawley would have some comment to add on more recent standards of maternity care in top Irish hospital.

Alan and Malek seemed to be in the public system so there is no one responsible and no one to blame.

A big part of the cervical cancer scandal was the screening using the private labs. Lots of TDs, unions, assorted vested interests could pile in to criticise the government for the privatisation of the service and killing the women.

honeybear wrote: »
    If I remember correctly, the Versatis campaign was gaining publicity (on Liveline anyway) when I think the cervical cancer scandal took over

But it wasn’t gaining any traction with HSE whereas this more, dare I say valid, campaign, may well teach some valuable lessons to the people concerned with maternity care.

Only Duffy could tie the garda commissioners accident in a foreign state car with the lack of barriers on grafton st and death in Paris.;).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

More suffering promised from the trenches today.. how long can he keep it going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,168 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

BarryD2 wrote: »
    More suffering promised from the trenches today.. how long can he keep it going?

Whoy , more of last weeks topic ?? Not sure I would bother listening !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,069 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Graphic detail coming up.
    More of the same crap.
    I'm out.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Holy fcuk!...........is there no end to this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,168 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

well , I'm out . I'll listen to a few pod casts about serial killers instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,531 ✭✭✭cozar

Another week of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

*switches off*

• Registered Users Posts: 8,197 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

thanks for the warning Joe.
    I'm out.

my not so young ears can't take another programme of this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,909 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

13:48

Tears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Tears already.........the clamps are going on early today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,139 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

Sorry, but she refused pain relief and she's upset because the experience of child birth was painful?

more of this rubbish

hormonal women whinging about giving birth in what is one of the
    SAFEST COUNTRIES IN THE WORLD to do so

put them in Yemen and see how they fare

shockingly unprofessional by rte and i hope the maternity hospitals sue
    them out of existence

switch off from me too

McDermotX wrote: »
    13:48

Tears.

New record?

Next caller: "they went in too slow and the baby died Joe"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Epi dure Dell

New record?

Next caller: "they went in too slow and the baby died Joe"

To be fair, it does seem like one big long show. Feels like its been on since last week.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭jeremyj1968

He must have been skipping in to work this morning knowing this was coming up on the show.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Charles Ingles

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    Epi dure Dell

Generation snowflake not able for childbirth.
    All complaints about midwife because they don't be "nice"
    These people have a job to do, and tere is a reason why it's called labour

As opposed to non-obstetric anal injury

Hey Joe, any sign of anybody coming on representing the hospitals yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭sjb25

Right I’m out jaysus....

Rape card played.

I'm out.

Generation snowflake not able for childbirth.

Ah here, f-off. You wouldn't be so smart if it was you, would ya?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,942 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Just turned over to Newstalk. Another week of childbirth?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

All these women need professional counselling in confidence.

Not talking to a semi- aroused ( pun intended ) grief vampire on the national airwaves.

Lowest common denominator grief stricken,tut- tutting,hand wringing radio.

Keep your misery fetish to the weekends Joe. :(

All our mothers had stitches galore down below, in days before C Sections were commonplace.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

Hopefully the Aims group will be more of a resource to these women as a result of this. Not that Joe is publicizing them at all...

Discodog wrote: »

He's struck a deep well, come back in June.

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭shamnspace

Duffy seriously you need to seek help..really like enough is enough

Haven't there been court cases about the babys not being monitored properly during labour and being hurt?

And she's recommending less?

withless wrote: »
    Hopefully the Aims group will be more of a resource to these women as a result of this. Not that Joe is publicizing them at all...

http://aimsireland.ie/

Yes, Aonghus, Hugh, Joe... please publicize this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Charles Ingles

Ah here, f-off. You wouldn't be so smart if it was you, would ya?

Of course I would, I've been present at the birth of five children.
    Mrs ingles is a hero took it all in her stride never complained once even with some major complications

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭crispsandwiches

Discodog wrote: »

Me too - turning into another Versatis

• Registered Users Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭jeremyj1968

When I heard the women recounting how rude the nurses were to them with their sarcastic and snarky remarks, I was reminded of how Duffy himself treats callers who voice an alternative opinion to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

I think they could just play a podcast from last week and no one would notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

ah jaysus love ...

Probably was the end of her and partner’s physical relationship.

more of this rubbish

hormonal women whinging about giving birth in what is one of the
    SAFEST COUNTRIES IN THE WORLD to do so

put them in Yemen and see how they fare

shockingly unprofessional by rte and i hope the maternity hospitals sue
    them out of existence

switch off from me too
    Yemen? Seriously? Is that supposed to be the benchmark?

Any patient in a rich, first-world country like ours should expect a better standard of care than what many of these patients experienced.

That's hardly a controversial statement? No need to bring Yemeni standards into it.