Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever been robbed by a close friend/family member?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,383 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Then why do we never hear about heroin addicts in the middle class? I always hear about people using coke, weed but never heroin or valium,xanax. Is there a stigma against heroin use.

I've worked with a couple of heroin addicts originally from well to do backgrounds.

Hedgelayer wrote: »
    No I don't believe in karma...

Where did I quote that ?

Your fifth paragraph.

• Registered Users Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Hedgelayer

Your fifth paragraph.

Can you read ?

I never said I believe in karma.

I was trying to add irony to his story.

Read it again

• Registered Users Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Opioid addiction is an up and coming epidemic.

In the US it's destroyed people and families big time and only getting worse.

Look up documentaries on it it's extremely interesting and of course sad too.

Doctors were against opioids in the 90s and then 00s they are prescribed for anything and everything.

All classes from tough areas to upper class... Hate those terms but hey that's what it is.

Can you read ?

I never said I believe in karma.

I was trying to add irony to his story.

Read it again

"He robbed me a few times, too but eventually he ****ed up and karma roasted him."

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

I learned a while ago that you can't really trust people; be they family or friends.

You never know what someone is thinking inside their mind.

"He robbed me a few times, too but eventually he ****ed up and karma roasted him."

Same here, he's a right prck isn't he.

Did he charge you for coffee too :D

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

Best friend owes me 50 quid. He definitely, absolutely, pinky-swear, put it in an envelope and mailed it to me. It’s been 23 years so it should be here any day now.

Yeah ar$ewipe, I’ll return your phone calls when the mail comes in.

Same here, he's a right prck isn't he.

Did he charge you for coffee too :D

The irony is he managed to rob you a few times , me being not able to read and all that.

He was very competitive too and loved winning.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭SlowBlowin

hope it's not to prying but could you give a backstory?

My wife had 2 kids boy and girl. The son grew up, got a good job and married, bought a house started a family. The daughter left home at 17, and essentially disappeared, only resurfacing at Christmas, and maybe a couple of visits a year. She became a single parent and later moved in with her new boyfriends family in Scotland.

We heard nothing for a few years then a frantic few days when she says she was beaten by her boyfriend and he was locked up. My wife flew to scotland and we paid for her to move what belongings she had back to the southcoast of the Uk where we were living at the time. We gave her the deposit so she could rent a small house, furnished it, etc. For a short time she seemed to be "normal", then she started stealing from us during house visits. She stole from me, my wife, her grandmother (nicked her wedding ring), fabricated stories of mugging or "I left my purse in the taxi" to get money from the newsagents, the pub etc etc. It seemed everyone, related or not, had a story about how she had conned them out of money.

We had very little contact for some time, and then I got a call from the police drug squad to say they had just seized a boy in a raid on a heroin dealer. It was the daughters house, by this time there were 7 people staying in the 2 bedrooms, including our grandson (by this stage the house had no functioning toilets). The police said the boy would go into care unless we had him, so we did.

She (daughter) has since gone completely downhill, living rough, unable to get help because she was burnt bridges with all the help organisations, by starting with them all multiple times, and then using them.

My wife and I went to court and obtained the maximum legal rights we could, we then retired early and moved back to Ireland with the grandson. Unrelated but at this point my wife was diagnosed with stage 3 Hodgkins Lymphoma, but she is now in remission after 6 months of chemo.

People regularly say what a great thing we have done, but as Tony says "what you going to do". If you are a halfway reasonable person you would not let a family member go into care.

The grandson has lots of issues, but we are getting great help from his school and others, he is a great kid as we both love him very much. When he came to us he was 7, we taught him to eat with a knife and fork and toilet trained him.

Thats the backstory...

• Registered Users Posts: 253 ✭✭noubliezjamais

SlowBlowin wrote: »
    My wife had 2 kids boy and girl. The son grew up, got a good job and married, bought a house started a family. The daughter left home at 17, and essentially disappeared, only resurfacing a Christmas, and maybe a couple of visits a year. She became a single parent and moved in with her boyfriends family in Scotland.

We heard nothing for a few years then a frantic few days when she says she was beaten by her boyfriend and he was locked up. My wife flew to scotland and we paid for her to move what belonging she had back to the southcoast of the Uk where we were living at the time. We gave her the deposit so she could rent a small house, furished it, etc. For a short time she seemed to be "normal", then she started stealing from us during house visits. She stole from me, my wife, her grandmother (nicked her wedding ring), fabricated stories of mugging or "I left my purse in the taxi" to get money from the newsagents, the pub etc etc. It seemed everyone, related or not, had a story about how she had conned them out of money.

We had very little contact for some time, and then I got a call from the police drug squad to say they had just seized a boy in a raid on a heroin dealer. It was the daughters house, by this time there were 7 people staying in the 2 bedrooms, including our grandson (by this stage the house had no functioning toilets). The police said the boy would go into care unless we had him, so we did.

She (daughter) has since gone completely downhill, living rough, unable to get help because she was burnt bridges with all the help organisations, by starting with them all multiple times, and then using them.

My wife and I went to court and obtained the maximum legal rights we could, we then retired early and moved back to Ireland with the grandson. Unrelated but at this point my wife was diagnosed with stage 3 Hodgkins Lymphoma, but she is now in remission after 6 months of chemo.

People regularly say what a great thing we have done, but as Tony says "what you going to do". If you are a halfway reasonable person you would not let a family member go into care.

The grandson has lots of issues, but we are getting great help from his school and others, he is a great kid as we both love him very much. When he came to us he was 7, we taught him to eat with a knife and fork and toilet trained him.

Thats the backstory...

Is she in prison now or any criminal record?

Maybe leave it at that.

As far as we know she is living rough in the UK.

When we went to court they found in our favour and gave us full legal guardianship. They then realised there had been a feck up and they had forgotten to carry out criminal record checks on everyone, but they made the judgement anyway and said they will do the checks but if they we OK we would not have to reappear in the courts. Then a week later we get called back into court, I was worried that something from my youth had showed up, but it turned out that the checks on me and my wife were fine, but the daughter had 2 ABH convictions in the past 6 months. They called us back to give us the maximum rights they could, so we have total say so in the child's future. I think in reality they were keen to pass the buck...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,664 ✭✭✭Feisar

As far as we know she is living rough in the UK.

When we went to court they found in our favour and gave us full legal guardianship. They then realised there had been a feck up and they had forgotten to carry out criminal record checks on everyone, but they made the judgement anyway and said they will do the checks but if they we OK we would not have to reappear in the courts. Then a week later we get called back into court, I was worried that something from my youth had showed up, but it turned out that the checks on me and my wife were fine, but the daughter had 2 ABH convictions in the past 6 months. They called us back to give us the maximum rights they could, so we have total say so in the child's future. I think in reality they were keen to pass the buck...

The very best of luck to you.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

No. But i have stolen from family.

I was a selfish lying wreck as a teenager. I lied and stole and did whatever needed to be done to benefit myself. Sold lots of belongings and christmas presents for weed drink etc. My aunt thought i was gonna be a heroin addict or similar

My mother could not leave her bag downstairs at night.

I grew up and changed completely and would never dream of anything like it again. The embarassment and guilt alone kills me.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,473 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Had a 'mate' back in secondary school alright. Total and utter liar and a thief.

I knew something was up when on a few occasions money or games or other stuff of value would go missing from either my own place or others in the group. Knew it was him but could never prove it.

Final straw came when a wallet of my mates went missing containing a lot of cash (paid in cash, hadn't been to bank).

We were upstairs about 2 hours later and the same prick walks in with this **** eating grin on his face and I just snapped.

Let him have it, brought up all the stuff going missing and now the wallet and how I couldn't prove it, but knew it was him.

He stormed out of the place threatening to sue me (lol) for slander.

Reappeared about another two hours later and demands (in my mates house no less) that we go look for this wallet.

Lo and behold the fcuker 'finds it' behind a stereo and hands it to my mate. Mate is delighted to get it back, says nothing else and the prick starts telling me I need to apologise to him.

Never understood why my mate didn't call him out on it to this day tbh. Worst thing was his wallet was still 50 quid light (likely spent that and couldn't replace).

But it never happened again, not that he got the chance at my place anyways.

Works in retail now, heard he was up to his old tricks again recently. A leopard never changes his spots apparently.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Karma was the name of the person that kicked the sh1t out of him.

Have a family member (step daughter) who is a heroin addict, so thats a very big yes. All members of my family have been touched by her requirement for cash or things easily converted.

We also now, later on in our lives than we bargained for, have a 10 year old who lives with us, and we are now his legal guardians.

So sorry to hear about this. I have my own experice with a person with an addiction, and it's a miserable existence for all of us.

I'm sure others will want to weigh-in with their outsider opinions, but in my experience nobody is at fault here - yours is probably the hardest thing to deal with - raising someone's child and trying to accept that no blame accrues. I hope you and you family are getting as much support as is possible.

Wishing you every success, it's not easy.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,839 ✭✭✭s8n

I worked as a self employed contactor a good few years ago and got ripped off to the tune of a thousand Euro by a "friend" , just would not pay up , always had an excuse.

The pox owed money everywhere but still lived the high life , however he was off sunning his bollix in Thailand for three weeks when his McMansion was broken into by an acquaintance who removed the stairs and floorboards from his house .

Two wrongs don’t make a right

• Registered Users Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Lillyfae

Ex husbands coke addicted best friend stole my wedding ring when we were at his place looking after him when he broke his ribs- I had left it on the kitchen table while cooking dinner. He'd asked us for a loan of a couple of thousand a few weeks before which we refused.

Well shot of the two of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,478 ✭✭✭valoren

10 years ago my younger brother was doing a plumbing apprenticeship under our cousins husband.
    With the economic contraction, he was let go and needed to sign for the dole. He wouldn't be able to get it for three weeks and since we were close I said I'd give him 3 weeks dole to tide him over. Gave him €600 and agreed that he'd pay me €20 a week when he got his dole.

Never saw a penny of it since. He was a bit thick when it came to finances. He once had a car loan with the local credit union and asked our mother if he got a second separate loan would the first loan need to be repaid. *facepalm*

In 2012, he was getting married and two days before the wedding, the hotel contacted him looking for the reception fee of €4,500. He, being a dope, thought he could pay it the morning after using cash gifts. With only €1,500 cash on him he was caught short, and being a fool myself, I said we can do a €4,500 bank draft, he would give me the cash he had and he would settle with me after his honeymoon.

It took 3 years and a permanent falling out between us instigated by his toxic wife until he threw a cheque for the 3 grand at my feet before disowning me. Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me. The prick still owes me €600 too but it's a price worth paying never to deal with them again.

Lillyfae wrote: »
    Ex husbands coke addicted best friend stole my wedding ring when we were at his place looking after him when he broke his ribs- I had left it on the kitchen table while cooking dinner. He'd asked us for a loan of a couple of thousand a few weeks before which we refused.

At first glance I thought you said "We shot the two of them"..

Took a lot of will power not to :pac:. Made me laugh though, thanks :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Living Off The Splash

Family member helped themselves to some items that were part of someone else's inheritance. Sense of entitlement in this instance.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,413 ✭✭✭✭road_high

valoren wrote: »
    10 years ago my younger brother was doing a plumbing apprenticeship under our cousins husband.
    With the economic contraction, he was let go and needed to sign for the dole. He wouldn't be able to get it for three weeks and since we were close I said I'd give him 3 weeks dole to tide him over. Gave him €600 and agreed that he'd pay me €20 a week when he got his dole.

Never saw a penny of it since. He was a bit thick when it came to finances. He once had a car loan with the local credit union and asked our mother if he got a second separate loan would the first loan need to be repaid. *facepalm*

In 2012, he was getting married and two days before the wedding, the hotel contacted him looking for the reception fee of €4,500. He, being a dope, thought he could pay it the morning after using cash gifts. With only €1,500 cash on him he was caught short, and being a fool myself, I said we can do a €4,500 bank draft, he would give me the cash he had and he would settle with me after his honeymoon.

It took 3 years and a permanent falling out between us instigated by his toxic wife until he threw a cheque for the 3 grand at my feet before disowning me. Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me. The prick still owes me €600 too but it's a price worth paying never to deal with them again.

Jesus what an absolute prick! Not a snowballs chance in hell I’d have given him a red cent on either occasion (who needs €600 to tide them over until the dole comes?). But I’m sure you don’t need to be told twice at this stage!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Have a family member (step daughter) who is a heroin addict, so thats a very big yes. All members of my family have been touched by her requirement for cash or things easily converted.

We also now, later on in our lives than we bargained for, have a 10 year old who lives with us, and we are now his legal guardians.

Same story but switch stepdaughter with an aunt and 10-year-old with 16 and that's my story to a tee!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭Kitty6277

Yeah, my cousin who’s now a hereoin addict (I think he was just drinking heavily at this point though) turned up at our house blind drunk one night, looking for a place to stay. I had money in my purse in the kitchen that I was saving up, so maybe I had about €50 in it (I was about 12, so that was a lot to me then). Anyway, we found out a day or two later that he had taken the money, while he continued to stay with us

• Registered Users Posts: 253 ✭✭noubliezjamais

Lillyfae wrote: »

Did you report him to the guards or not

Why do you ask?