Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish beef to lose out as UK open floodgates to Brazil

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭tractorporn

wrangler wrote: »
    If you travel to other countries that's what you'll get, no one died when we were using hormones here....must have been going on for ten years.
    It's just the EU going over the top again

Can't agree with you there. Studies have shown that hormone use in beef in the US has led to early onset puberty in girls and early menopause in women. If stopping that is over the top I'm all for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

If you travel to other countries that's what you'll get, no one died when we were using hormones here....must have been going on for ten years.
    It's just the EU going over the top again

http://www.ifa.ie/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/brazilreportmay07.pdf

I don't care how cheap it is, that is not going on my dinner plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Cattlepen wrote: »
    I really don’t want to be annoying any of ye and arguing for the sake of it but didn’t we have the horsemeat scandal. Clonbuterol in a beast somewhere this week . We’re not perfect either.
    Industries change because of various different factors. I think brexit is just going to hasten the demise of Irish beef industry.
    The Dublin cattle market was the biggest livestock sale in Europe at one stage. It closed in 1972 or 74 I think. If you had have asked anyone 5 years previous to the closure they would have said it couldn’t happen. It did. Just as the British will but Brazilian beef if it suits them.

One thing does not excuse the other. There are regulations there for the health and safety of consumers and the welfare of animals.The UK is not the only market for Irish agriculture produce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,334 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

gozunda wrote: »
    One thing does not excuse the other. There are regulations there for the health and safety of consumers and the welfare of animals.The UK is not the only market for Irish agriculture produce.

I wouldn't like to bet the house on farmers adhering to withdrawal times here either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

I really don’t want to be annoying any of ye and arguing for the sake of it but didn’t we have the horsemeat scandal. Clonbuterol in a beast somewhere this week . We’re not perfect either.
    Industries change because of various different factors. I think brexit is just going to hasten the demise of Irish beef industry.
    The Dublin cattle market was the biggest livestock sale in Europe at one stage. It closed in 1972 or 74 I think. If you had have asked anyone 5 years previous to the closure they would have said it couldn’t happen. It did. Just as the British will but Brazilian beef if it suits them.

The entirety of Europe had the horsemeat scandal and Ireland was the first country to detect it. If anything it proved how are quite vigilant on food standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 killalabay

I know the time is slipping on. And the British politics system is going in to a right ****. But i still cant see that the be its will chance a no deal. Business wise it would cripple them. They might get cheaper beef from Brazil, but they need Europe to buy their expensive goods and services

Works both ways. The EU also needs Britain to buy their Peugeot, Citroen, BMW, Audi and Mercedes cars, Italian and German white goods, Spanish and Italian fruit and veg and a litany of goods besides. In fact I honestly cant understand why the Beano's doesn't just tell the EU to fcuk off and cut a deal on their terms?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

" Very little wrong" ...seriously? you see nothing wrong with them pumping their beef full of growth hormones, that's a non-issue is it?

I’m just genuinely wondering, because I really don’t know, but is there evidence that the Brazilians are “pumping” cattle full of hormones? I’m honestly asking. I would have thought it was a very extensive pasture based beef system over there?
    And lads i’m A full time dry stock man but I am coming to the realization beef will be bunched in this country for the next while. I’m not sayin this stuff for vexation. Yis can argue and belly ache all youse want and let on we’ve the most marvelous beef in the world but the reality is it’s not looking good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

I’m just genuinely wondering, because I really don’t know, but is there evidence that the Brazilians are “pumping” cattle full of hormones? I’m honestly asking. I would have thought it was a very extensive pasture based beef system over there?
    And lads i’m A full time dry stock man but I am coming to the realization beef will be bunched in this country for the next while. I’m not sayin this stuff for vexation. Yis can argue and belly ache all youse want and let on we’ve the most marvelous beef in the world but the reality is it’s not looking good

If Russia is banning Brazilian pork and beef then it must be serious,https://riotimesonline.com/brazil-news/rio-business/russia-bans-brazilian-pork-beef-imports/

I'm not suggesting we ourselves are perfect, but we are lightyears ahead of the south-americans with regards to traceability, animal welfare, quality of product, environment, and a dozen other points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

I wouldn't like to bet the house on farmers adhering to withdrawal times here either

Hows that work for sheep?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,334 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

gozunda wrote: »
    Hows that work for sheep?

Our farm package gets a pain if you try to sell sheep in withdrawal period

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭kk.man

killalabay wrote: »
    Works both ways. The EU also needs Britain to buy their Peugeot, Citroen, BMW, Audi and Mercedes cars, Italian and German white goods, Spanish and Italian fruit and veg and a litany of goods besides. In fact I honestly cant understand why the Beano's doesn't just tell the EU to fcuk off and cut a deal on their terms?

The reality is both are interdependent however the EU is the larger bloc and a big budget. It would hurt the EU for sure but the pain be far greater in the UK. Tusk didn't mince his hell sentence.
    The one thing I noticed about the British during the negotiations that their jingoism was not displayed like WW1 and 2 Britannia bladder simply because they haven't a leg to stand on. In other words they did not dictate their position like in other negotiations during the glory days of the empire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭jaymla627

The financial penalties and general ball-ache that will be brought down on a Irish farmer be it beef/dairy if you are found with antibiotics in meat/milk are so severe you just don’t do it knowingly, remember going to start milking one morning in Australia after my day off and the pipe was still in the tank , the relief milker had put the entire wash chemicals and all into the bulk tank....
    Rang farm owner to tell him what happened before I dumped milk, long story short the milk wasn’t dumped and was never picked up by processor the excess water our chemicals, this was back in 2011, if you done similar here you would be pulled up without a doubt and land yourself some serious fines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Do they have the land commission in Brazil too?
    Seriously though, where do all these horror stories come from? Wrangler is right. There is very little wrong with their beef. We just are having a hard time coming to terms with that

https://edition.cnn.com/2017/04/26/americas/brazil-amazon-slavery-freedom-project/index.html

Sounds like a lovely place to get some "farm experience" doesn't it??:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

killalabay wrote: »

Britain exported as many cars into Europe as Europe exported into Britain. You would not find a lot of Renaults, Peugeots and Citroen.s sold in the UK. For years Opel sold it cars under the Vauxhall brand. Yes there are a certain amount of luxury brands sold in the UK. But Britain are learning the hard way as Nissan and Honda are going to close in the UK. The real killer is Londan is the Biggest financial services center in Europe. After Brexit it will shrink like a sundried Tomato. Britain is also one of the largest online sales locations in Europe with a lot of small companies based in Ebay and Amazon reselling goods made in Asia. The Beano's are learning the hard way about economic facts.

Slava Ukrainii

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

kk.man wrote: »
    They are way off the mark in terms of self sufficiency.

Goodman and Co have plants in the UK so no worries for them. I forecast you will see the British customer becoming even more nationalistic after Brexit in support of their farmers.

Hate to be the one to tell you. The average consumer has more interest who is going to win Celebs go dating and where they can get a 50 pence fillet of chicken than they are worried about Brexit.

I watched my girlfriends watching HollyOaks and Celebs Go Dating. People are totally out of touch with reality today. Its like it is fashionable to be stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,719 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Hate to be the one to tell you. The average consumer has more interest who is going to win Celebs go dating and where they can get a 50 pence fillet of chicken than they are worried about Brexit.

I watched my girlfriends watching HollyOaks and Celebs Go Dating. People are totally out of touch with reality today. Its like it is fashionable to be stupid.

This is a very sad reality.
    It worrying, they’re gullible to the extreme, perfect for manipulation by big business. More likely to beleive social media influencers that are on reality tv than a scientific report or government recommendation.