Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My cousin was forced to remove her Easter Lily in school as it was "inappropriate"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Just to be totally clear. Lilies can kill Kitties. So, y'know, mind the poor auld cats.

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

It’s pathetic, tell her to live life and stop worrying over a piece of land she doesn’t even live in.

Is this what we should be telling 17 year olds is important in life?

Madness.

Madness ? Always liked a bit of Ska myself.

Crock Rock wrote: »
    So the destiny of her homeland shouldn't concern her?

Her dad is a protestant nationalist from Antrim btw.
    Yes, there are protestant nationalists!

These Protestant Nationalists ?
    How would I recognise one ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,288 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Going to see 'em in May ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,288 ✭✭✭✭banie01

They are all codenamed Wolfe Tone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Something like this

6-wolfe-tone-a.jpg?w=750

Something like this

6-wolfe-tone-a.jpg?w=750

Was that yer man in the band ?

Johnny Onion Wolf Rings O'Tone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

I'd bet the euro millions that the same cailín has no intention of going on the school march for the global environment

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Your Face wrote: »
    Do you know what really pisses me off?

Chris Hemsworth is set to portray Hulk Hogan in a new biopic of the Hulkster.

It's an out and out outrage.

I didn't pick up on the 'Hogan' part there and was outraged at the thought of Thor being The Hulk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,231 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Only the Poppy should be accpeted in school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭Midlife

As above. An absolute disgrace.
    I'm 28 now, it's been 11 years since I left secondary school.

She's a 17 year old girl who is big into her Irish history and politics and, like me, dreams of a United Ireland. She's fuming at the situation.

Her uniform policy states

In my opinion, it's a very fair uniform policy which is quite clearly spelled out. Her Easter Lily is about 3 cm in length that she has been wearing for a couple of years and recently decided to get one to attach to her school jumper.

Here's the funny thing. Her English teacher demanded she remove it in her class as it's "offensive". What annoys me though, is that the same teacher wore and Armistice Poppy and so did one or two other students before and nothing was said to them by the same teacher. The poppies were even being old from the principal's office.

The teacher said that Easter Lily proceeds go to fund terrorists, my cousin said they don't, they fund the upkeep of patriots' graves... the teacher replied .. exactly, terrorists.

Jesus, so Kevin Barry, Michael Collins, and the people who fought for Irish freedom are terrorists?

The principal is backing the teacher up and saying that the Lily is indeed a symbol of terrorism and has no place in the school.

Partitionist west brits?

I doubt the truth of this story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭VeVeX

buried wrote: »
    Go on, what is it so? Don't say new world order Illuminati $hite now

I have no idea what you're on about.

Do you think Europe, the continent is the same as the EU, a political and economic union?

VeVeX wrote: »
    I have no idea what you're on about.

Do you think Europe, the continent is the same as the EU, a political and economic union?

Yes. Yes I do. And its feickin brilliant. I'm fully bought in to being European thanks to the EU. I'm off to Italy next week, can get there with as less trouble and spending less money than going to some places than on me own island, and what with all this Brexit wollix, looks like I'll have less trouble getting to Syracuse than getting to Belfast in the next few months.

Whats the problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭swarlb

Was her English teacher English ? Did her Irish teacher support the wearing of the said lily.... was it only the English teacher who objected.... what about the Geography teacher ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

The EU is not Europe

Indeed the majority of Europe's landmass falls outside of the European Union

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

It's probably offensive to Muslims like everything these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Patlanta

Let her wear the Easter Lily especially if others can wear the Poppy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭VeryTerry

Is it a Protestant school?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

I wear mine all year round. So does she.

She bought a second one to attach to her school jumper.

So it's not a symbol like the poppy then per se, but a political statement, if she wore it at Easter I wouldn't entertain there being a difference between Easter Lillie's and Poppies and support you wholeheartedly but, just for a minute, imagine the outrage you'd be expressing if pupils were wearing Poppies all year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

I'm going to assume the story is true for the sake of making a point.*

She should probably only wear the Lily around Easter time, otherwise it looks like she's just being unnecessarily provocative (I share the same opinion about the poppy). If the school are going to encourage the wearing of the poppy then they will have to suck it up with it comes to the Easter Lily.

They can't rip it from her uniform. This isn't North Korea. If that stuck up teacher asks her to remove it then just keep it on. Her reasoning for the removal is childish and weak. You can always just claim you find the poppy offensive. I mean you could pretty much decide everything is offensive if that's the yardstick.

If they don't like the non removal of the emblem what are they going to do? Suspend her? Expel her? I'm sure that would go down well in the newspapers, particularly as the school were encouraging other political tokens. They've set their own precendent.

*I have healthy scepticism of the story.

Yes. Yes I do. And its feickin brilliant. I'm fully bought in to being European thanks to the EU. I'm off to Italy next week, can get there with as less trouble and spending less money than going to some places than on me own island, and what with all this Brexit wollix, looks like I'll have less trouble getting to Syracuse than getting to Belfast in the next few months.

Whats the problem?

You do realise that prior to the EU you could have travelled to Italy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Ireland is a very strange place. I can’t imagine that a French symbol of independence would be removed in a French school while the teacher supported a German nationalist symbol. Utterly weird society.

Stephen15 wrote: »

Muslims my arse. Why would they care about the poppy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,168 ✭✭✭joeguevara

If this is true, which I have no reason to doubt, then she should stand her ground and refuse to take it off. She should also refuse to ,save the school as it is her constitutional right to education. Tell her to say if they want her removed she will have to be forcibly removed by the police. They can’t arrest a minor on school property who presents themselves for education they have a right to for wearing a symbol that espouses freedom. If she is arrested, then what a ride of a media fest it will be,

If she believes in the value of the symbol she wears then she should see it through to the end. If not then it’s probably better off she not wear it and go to double maths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Ya see THIS is what happens when you educate children.

You were warned...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

You do realise that prior to the EU you could have travelled to Italy?

Yeah but now its pure handy though ain't it? Can get through customs like a slice of salami going back home. Got the same money as them and everything. Lovely EU funded apps like Babbel what help me learn the language. Its feicking brilliant. Your not telling me the problems YOU have with it though V, what are they?

Stephen15 wrote: »

It's offensive to anyone that doesn't support terrorism

bubblypop wrote: »
    It's offensive to anyone that doesn't support terrorism

Don’t let this go down a terrorism versus freedom fighter thread. Plenty of them. Lily can be used by everyone for a symbol of peace, people who died fighting for independence and yes terrorists. But that’s not what the thread is about.

joeguevara wrote: »
    If this is true, which I have no reason to doubt, then she should stand her ground and refuse to take it off. She should also refuse to ,save the school as it is her constitutional right to education. Tell her to say if they want her removed she will have to be forcibly removed by the police. They can’t arrest a minor on school property who presents themselves for education they have a right to for wearing a symbol that espouses freedom. If she is arrested, then what a ride of a media fest it will be,

If she believes in the value of the symbol she wears then she should see it through to the end. If not then it’s probably better off she not wear it and go to double maths.

I always thought you went to school to be educated and not use it as a platform to express your beliefs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Neither should be accepted in school.
    I know the shops have had Easter eggs this last week already. Despite the fact we are just 8 days past International extortion of man day. I blame the shops.

Ya see THIS is what happens when you educate children.

You were warned...

Damn teachers at it again

Don’t let this go down a terrorism versus freedom fighter thread. Plenty of them. Lily can be used by everyone for a symbol of peace, people who died fighting for independence and yes terrorists. But that’s not what the thread is about.

Where does the money go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭threetrees

Have you copied and pasted the policy? If so I'd be more concerned about typos and spelling mistakes than a Lily policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I always thought you went to school to be educated and not use it as a platform to express your beliefs.

That's a bit like saying you though people went to bars to drink, not too use them as platforms for social interaction...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭dalalada

What's the name of the school?

dalalada wrote: »
    What's the name of the school?

Oliver Cromwell Grammar School

Yeah but now its pure handy though ain't it? Can get through customs like a slice of salami going back home. Got the same money as them and everything. Lovely EU funded apps like Babbel what help me learn the language. Its feicking brilliant. Your not telling me the problems YOU have with it though V, what are they?

What’s this got to do with the lilly?

This is a disgrace. Principal even worse to be selling poppy from his office. Public servants is what they are. that child's parents pay the teachers and principals wages. Why doesn't he sell the Lily from his office? Love to ask that teacher to produce the school policy on paper where it says no Lily allowed and poppy allowed! Freedom of beliefs one of the most basic human rights being degraded by a teacher!! Disgrace. go to the news media with this story op.

By the way OP I am a secondary teacher myself and I can tell you I wear the Lily every easter at work and I've wore it when working in the UK for Easter too. I don't care what a school written policy says as it never overcomes my human rights of expression and beliefs or my pride in my history.

What’s this got to do with the lilly?

Somebody mentioned the poppy, I then said how funny its gong to be next November when the UK has thrown themselves out of Europe, while at the same time the British Establishment love to proclaim that the poppy is all about how the "British saved Europe" from the horrors of tyranny.

You said -
    The whole poppy thing is going to be funny next November when its finally fair play and clear that Britain actually doesn't (and more than likely never did) give a f**king $hite about Europe anyways

I said the EU is not Europe. Which it is not. Europe is a continent of 50 countries, the EU is a political and economic union of 28 countries.

The EU's main goal is to remove each member states national identity and sovereignty and realise a centralised government. Not too dissimilar to the beginnings of the Soviet Union.

I take your point but school is also a place to question and learn and not to simply absorb. Also it is a place to teach others. If a teacher was teaching something incorrect by your logic no one should say anything. Pupils are asked about their beliefs constantly in school and modern education isn’t rote learning.

Also to be educated is a very interesting term. Simply accepting what came from a book or what a middle aged said is memorizing, learning is when you think about it and absorb it and being educated isnwhen use that learning and put your point across. That is what school is about. If we teach our children to accept authority without any constructive challenge then we will never grow, never have Garda or hospital whistleblowers, never challenge politicians, never just evolve.

Fair play if you want kids to be robots and sit quiet and learn what teacher says. I prefer a bit more edge and colour.

bubblypop wrote: »
    Where does the money go?

Depends whose selling it. As it originally came from Cumann na Mann in the 1920s I have seen the ICA selling them as a symbol of peace, money went to charity.

Saw sin vein councilors selling...money went to sin fein (note not terrorists)

I’ve seen a few of ‘the lads’ selling them, money went to the families of people who were in prison.

Again, this is not what the thread is about.

You said -

I said the EU is not Europe. Which it is not. Europe is a continent of 50 countries, the EU is a political and economic union of 28 countries.

The EU's main goal is to remove each member states national identity and sovereignty and realise a centralised government. Not too dissimilar to the beginnings of the Soviet Union.

Hold on a f**king second man, The UK and the British establishment has been doing that long before the EU was set up, you do know that don't you?

You are basically talking about "giving away power" to a foreign entity, is that it? You do realise what the BRITISH establishment did to its own country and infrastructure before the EU was invented yes?

Do ya want me to tell you, or do you want to look up that craic for yourself?, because its not that hard

I take your point but school is also a place to question and learn and not to simply absorb. Also it is a place to teach others. If a teacher was teaching something incorrect by your logic no one should say anything. Pupils are asked about their beliefs constantly in school and modern education isn’t rote learning.

Fair play if you want kids to be robots and sit quiet and learn what teacher says. I prefer a bit more edge and colour.

Wrong. God help your kids. School is a place to question and learn subject matter NEVER EVER for a teacher of all people to single out a student and to challenge their beliefs! Do you realise how many safeguarding laws alone that teacher broke? The emotional stress is caused in front of peers? The ongoing stigma now attached to that child?

Edge and colour haha "the money from Lily goes towards the patriot fears graves" now that's quick responce to shut down a disgraceful teacher.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭Teddy Daniels

Ireland is a very strange place. I can’t imagine that a French symbol of independence would be removed in a French school while the teacher supported a German nationalist symbol. Utterly weird society.

The lilly is not just a symbol of the rising but a symbol of support for the continued struggle against the occupation of the 6 counties and the governance of the free state by FF or FG on an ongoing basis.

It is a 32 county republican symbol and while I believe that the student in question should be allowed to wear it it does represent an anti establishment point of view.

By the way OP I am a secondary teacher myself and I can tell you I wear the Lily every easter at work and I've wore it when working in the UK for Easter too. I don't care what a school written policy says as it never overcomes my human rights of expression and beliefs or my pride in my history.

So you think if a teacher went in to a school in the UK wearing a “support Isis badge” that they wouldn’t be sacked?

Teachers are public sector workers are they not? There are strict rules over what you can wear and what you can’t when it comes to symbols. I would say you were lucky no one reported you.

timthumbni wrote: »

So you think if a teacher went in to a school in the UK wearing a “support Isis badge” that they wouldn’t be sacked?

Teachers are public sector workers are they not? There are strict rules over what you can wear and what you can’t when it comes to symbols. I would say you were lucky no one reported you.

How dare you make such an outlandish comparison. If any worker went in anywhere in any country wearing some sort of badge as you described they would be in jail.

Do you know what the Easter Lily represents?

Hold on a f**king second man, The UK and the British establishment has been doing that long before the EU was set up, you do know that don't you?

You are basically talking about "giving away power" to a foreign entity, is that it? You do realise what the BRITISH establishment did to its own country and infrastructure before the EU was invented yes?

Do ya want me to tell you, or do you want to look up that craic for yourself?, because its not that hard

I was not referring to Britain. You asked me what my problem was with the EU.