Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The importance of saving money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭lainey_d_123

RockyMills wrote: »
    That’s genuinely one of the most bitter posts I’ve ever read. I don’t think there’s much point in even trying to get any sort of a point across because you will have an answer for it - it more than likely won’t be the right answer, but you’ll have an answer all the same.

I will say this. Both my parents showed me the importance of saving money from a very young age, it’s aomething that I’m very good at. Thankfully both my parents have the cop on to know that renting and trying to save for a house is not an option and we all know that if I was to do that then I probably wouldn’t be able to get a mortgage for about 10 years or worse I’d have to go looking for a contribution from them towards a mortgage - something that I point blank refuse to do. I know living at home is getting help from my parents but thankfully they are kind enough to know how much of a struggle it is for young people to get on the housing ladder. So guess what, instead of giving me a boot up the arse and showing me the door, they’re actually helping their son. And believe me they don’t mind at all, why? Because they’re my parents - helping their children is what parents are meant to do. If that didn’t happen for you then I’m sorry but I’m not going to apologise or feel bad for having good parents.

I don't like the implication there at all. So those of us with parents unable to help, or parents who believe that adults should get out there and live on their own don't have good parents?

Renting and saving for a house IS an option. It's what most people have to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Idjit

I live at home and pay about 30% of my wages in contribution/rent.

I put away about 10% of my wages into one savings account (where I cannot access it easily without giving notice). This account is for the long-term and I have been paying into it for about 3 years.

I also put away a further 30% into a second savings account that is for more short-term items (annual deposit on car insurance, unexpected medical expenses, etc). I only started this with any seriousness in January of this year so not a lot in there yet.

My wages are well under the average currently so the above % are not significant by any means. I really regret not starting to save even small amounts sooner.

Geuze wrote: »
    40% tax relief on pensions, PRSI is abolished.

Executive pension ....company contribution .....it's 52% relief effectively if it's your own company

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 RockyMills

I don't like the implication there at all. So those of us with parents unable to help, or parents who believe that adults should get out there and live on their own don't have good parents?

Renting and saving for a house IS an option. It's what most people have to do.

Yes of course it’s an option but it’s a completely unrealistic option as on my current salary - if I was renting and trying to save then it would take about 10 years to get anywhere near a mortgage. Thankfully I’m on the way up in my job which will hopefully lead to better money sooner rather than later.

Parents don’t need to have money to help their children, did you purposely choose to ignore where I mentioned that I’ve never taken more than €50 off my parents? It seems like you did so that you can continue to push this petty point you’re trying so desperately to get across. My current situation doesn’t have anything to do with my parents having money or not, it’s about them having the compassion, understanding and cop on to know that a house is not easily come by in this day and age and that sometimes children need an extra hand in life. Again, that hasn’t a thing to do with money as it costs nothing to be a good parent. I know other people in the same situation as me, their parents wouldn’t have a spare euro and yet they’ve no problem allowing their children to live at home to save for their future.

I don’t know what your problem is but you have absolutely zero knowledge of me or my situation. You’ve no idea what age I am or what my family life is like. I’d rather know all the facts before having a cut off someone because you just happen to disagree with them. Your attitude just stinks being honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,543 ✭✭✭facehugger99

It’s pretty pathetic for a fully grown adult to be expecting their parents to be still supporting them financially.

Yes of course it’s an option but it’s a completely unrealistic option as on my current salary - if I was renting and trying to save then it would take about 10 years to get anywhere near a mortgage. Thankfully I’m on the way up in my job which will hopefully lead to better money sooner rather than later.

Parents don’t need to have money to help their children, did you purposely choose to ignore where I mentioned that I’ve never taken more than €50 off my parents? It seems like you did so that you can continue to push this petty point you’re trying so desperately to get across. My current situation doesn’t have anything to do with my parents having money or not, it’s about them having the compassion, understanding and cop on to know that a house is not easily come by in this day and age and that sometimes children need an extra hand in life. Again, that hasn’t a thing to do with money as it costs nothing to be a good parent. I know other people in the same situation as me, their parents wouldn’t have a spare euro and yet they’ve no problem allowing their children to live at home to save for their future.

I don’t know what your problem is but you have absolutely zero knowledge of me or my situation. You’ve no idea what age I am or what my family life is like. I’d rather know all the facts before having a cut off someone because you just happen to disagree with them. Your attitude just stinks being honest.

I don't have an attitude. You do. You're being ridiculously defensive and quite rude by implying that parents who don't or can't support their adult children are deficient.

You've never taken more than 50 euros off your parents? You were literally being subsidised by them while you were a working adult. How much do you think they saved you in rent, bills and food costs in all that time? Why would you have needed to borrow money? This is the kind of nonsense that annoys me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,013 ✭✭✭Allinall

It’s pretty pathetic for a fully grown adult to be expecting their parents to be still supporting them financially.

Who said anything about expecting?

....You're being ridiculously defensive and quite rude by implying that parents who don't or can't support their adult children are deficient.

Surely it's all about luck & privilege etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Vela

If your parents gave you the best upbringing they could, then surely you'd want to show your appreciation as soon as you start earning money yourself? Rather than sponge off them as a grown adult in your 20s.

I don't get it. I was independent from a very young age and living alone at 17. Whilst I had no love for my parents, I did have an amazing relative who sacrificed a great deal to get me through my childhood and teens. But as soon as I started working (I worked before and through college), I made damned sure I found ways to repay her. I lived with her quite a bit as a kid and I cannot imagine expecting to stay there for free after I started earning. I mean, you should at least make some kind of contribution - whether they want it or not. My relative would rarely accept money, so I'd do things like get her vouchers for the supermarket she goes to, or book trips for her to visit me., or get things sorted for the house when repairs are needed. That's the kind of thing you *do* as an adult. And look, she was like a Mam to me so it's pretty much the same comparison.

Do I save? Not much. I live in Dublin, I'm still paying off debt I took out for the final year of my own education (when work wasn't possible) and then to get my siblings sorted for college so they'd have a buffer fund when needed. I have a mental illness that means forking out the guts of 300e a month on therapy, and 150e between drs and meds. I rent a 1 bed flat (great deal on it so not complaining!)but it's still a lot, so my outgoings are a bit high. I'm also self-employed so constantly having to keep on top of tax.

Right now my goals for saving are short-term
    - save enough for a bulk of driving lessons so I go to them all
    - save for guitar lessons because I am ****e and the good ones are all like 200+ (anyone know anyone?!) I'm a leftie!��
    - Save for a wee weekend to Europe
    - Save for aunty and siblings birthday
    - Save for more nice stuff for my new home (anyone got any cool frames of framed prints to hook me up with? Also need TV!.
    - Save for more clothes
    - Save enough to have money to go to the funeral if all of my colleagues and clients die (can you tell I have anxiety?:D)

As, as you can see. I have zero way to save for a mortgage. I'm also self-employed although I do have good records. But, I had debt. There's the whammy. And honestly, I'm not sure I even want to own a home. I like renting, I like moving around. I work from anywhere so it works for me. But I love my home base at present so hoping it lasts <3

I guess my point is, growing up privileged you are bound to be lacking in empathy for those not in your position. And that's ok, once you have the awareness to see it in the first place. And work on improving it too.

I don't have an attitude. You do. You're being ridiculously defensive and quite rude by implying that parents who don't or can't support their adult children are deficient.

You've never taken more than 50 euros off your parents? You were literally being subsidised by them while you were a working adult. How much do you think they saved you in rent, bills and food costs in all that time? Why would you have needed to borrow money? This is the kind of nonsense that annoys me.

It can annoy you all day for all I care. The way you’re carrying on you’d swear their lives are ruined because I’m in ther house. I’ve hardly taken over their room and they now sleep in the car because I’m living in the house.

You have absolutely zero idea of my circumstances. Did you ever take into consideration that I could be disabled, widowed, ill, was previously away and had to move home due to a change in circumstances etc? You read my initial post and took issue with it - which you’re entitled to - but you’re wrong in what you’re saying. There’s no entitlement here, I’ve worked and have had my own money all my life. This isn’t sit on the couch and expect the dinner bell to be rang every evening situation, this is a work my arse off so I can afford to buy my own house in the next 18 months situation. Whether you like it or not is not up to me, that’s your issue. I’m just glad my parents aren’t as miserable as you and they had the decency to offer to help me out. I’m as glad as I am lucky that they’re willing to help out because they know what the end goal is.

Augeo wrote: »
    Surely it's all about luck & privilege etc etc

You think someone who can save quickly and easily because their parents can afford to subsidise them isn't lucky and privileged?

Riiiight.

It can annoy you all day for all I care. The way you’re carrying on you’d swear their lives are ruined because I’m in ther house. I’ve hardly taken over their room and they now sleep in the car because I’m living in the house.

You have absolutely zero idea of my circumstances. Did you ever take into consideration that I could be disabled, widowed, ill, was previously away and had to move home due to a change in circumstances etc? You read my initial post and took issue with it - which you’re entitled to - but you’re wrong in what you’re saying. There’s no entitlement here, I’ve worked and have had my own money all my life. This isn’t sit on the couch and expect the dinner bell to be rang every evening situation, this is a work my arse off so I can afford to buy my own house in the next 18 months situation. Whether you like it or not is not up to me, that’s your issue. I’m just glad my parents aren’t as miserable as you and they had the decency to offer to help me out. I’m as glad as I am lucky that they’re willing to help out because they know what the end goal is.

I didn't say any of those things. I said it's galling when people who basically live off their parents say things like 'sure I only ever borrowed the odd 50 euro' or act like they're great for saving quickly when in reality it's 95% because they have few actual adult expenses. Your living arrangements are your own business. I'm not saying it's pathetic to live with parents at your age. Some people are saying that. I'm not. I'm saying that not every family has the ability to do this for many reasons, and so your smug attitude about having good parents is quite offensive.

I think you'll find that most people who are widowed, ill, disabled, etc. have to figure out to live on their own, BTW.

You think someone who can save quickly and easily because their parents can afford to subsidise them isn't lucky and privileged?

Riiiight.

I see what the problem is here. You are barely surviving in Dublin (something you’ve admitted on another thread) and because your circumstances are different to others i.e mine, you’re lashing out thinking I have everything in life handed to me.

Worry a bit less about other people and look after yourself. You might find a bit of happiness if you do. By the looks of things, you need it.

You have absolutely zero idea of my circumstances. Did you ever take into consideration that I could be disabled, widowed, ill, was previously away and had to move home due to a change in circumstances etc?

Are you? I would have thought it important to reveal that in your post, no?

I didn't say any of those things. I said it's galling when people who basically live off their parents say things like 'sure I only ever borrowed the odd 50 euro' or act like they're great for saving quickly when in reality it's 95% because they have few actual adult expenses. Your living arrangements are your own business. I'm not saying it's pathetic to live with parents at your age. Some people are saying that. I'm not. I'm saying that not every family has the ability to do this for many reasons, and so your smug attitude about having good parents is quite offensive.

I think you'll find that most people who are widowed, ill, disabled, etc. have to figure out to live on their own, BTW.

I do think it’s great im in a position to save money. I don’t drink, I don’t smoke, I work all the hours that I can to get enough money to buy my own house. What the hell is wrong with that? You’re literally ignoring everything that I’m saying and just repeating yourself.

I see what the problem is here. You are barely surviving in Dublin (something you’ve admitted on another thread) and because your circumstances are different to others i.e mine, you’re lashing out thinking I have everything in life handed to me.

Worry a bit less about other people and look after yourself. You might find a bit of happiness if you do. By the looks of things, you need it.

You are most definitely privileged. Grand. Who gives a feck? Not me. What I give a feck about is your blind spot in realising not everyone has the support at home that you've had. And that, as an ADULT it would be considerate of you to show your parents how much you appreciate it. Whether it's rent/covering some of the bills, or moving out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

Savings were wiped out last year when we bought our house so building the savings back up now. I put away about 30% of my income, more if I can.

My wife is a different story, total disaster with money if she has a few quid left at the end of the month she will go out of her way to spend it.

Vela wrote: »
    You are most definitely privileged. Grand. Who gives a feck? Not me. What I give a feck about it your blind spot in realising not everyone has the support at home that you've had. And that, as an ADULT it would be considerate of you to show your parents how much you appreciate it. Whether it's rent/covering some of the bills, or moving out.

I said I don’t pay rent. Did I once say I don’t contribute? No I didn’t, it was assumed. I didn’t reveal all about my circumstances in my initial post because the thread isn’t titled “my life story”. It’s about the importance of saving money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭messy tessy

It can annoy you all day for all I care. The way you’re carrying on you’d swear their lives are ruined because I’m in ther house...You read my initial post and took issue with it - which you’re entitled to - but you’re wrong in what you’re saying. There’s no entitlement here, I’ve worked and have had my own money all my life. This isn’t sit on the couch and expect the dinner

But you live at home! Of course you have your own money. Why are you making this out to be any kind of achievement? But fair play to you for getting your own dinner.

I don't care what you've had handed to you. Your attitude that you deserve it all is really grating. As is the smugness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭ginandtonicsky

Every family is different. My folks would be the type who would be aghast if one of their adult children moved in and tried to give them money for rent but I’ve seen that take a negative turn too. Entitlement issues with a younger sibling who took advantage and even to this day has never learned to cook or clean because she was waited on hand & foot by my martyr of a mother.

I moved out almost half my life ago & I think my parents have quietly appreciated my self-sufficiency, having two other siblings who have over depended on them (the other one has a life changing mental illness)

On the other hand, there are the folks who got the tough love treatment from their family, out on their arse at 17 and no fall-back by way of a financially supportive family or family home and they can be quite bitter about it too. I’ve never undervalued the fact that I can come home any time and if I lost it all in the morning, my family would move heaven and earth to get me back on my feet, financially as well as emotionally.

I do think it’s great im in a position to save money. I don’t drink, I don’t smoke, I work all the hours that I can to get enough money to buy my own house. What the hell is wrong with that? You’re literally ignoring everything that I’m saying and just repeating yourself.

:pac::D

Yes, the reason you can save is because you don't drink or smoke and you work long hours, not because you're saving a clean fortune because you're living at home.

Look, I have no issue with people living at home to save. I don't agree that it's pathetic. But acting like you're great for saving when you're in a position to do so because of pure good luck is really ridiculous.

Riiiight.

Not at all.
    I said quite the opposite :)
    But if someone was saving thousands a month and paying rent and working hard you'd count them as lucky & privileged too.... :)

You seem to hate the players and the game :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

-Save for more nice stuff for my new home (anyone got any cool frames of framed prints to hook me up with? Also need TV!

I think I've a spare 32" flatscreen in the house if you're stuck? Or if you're paranoid about strangers, free TVs do appear fairly regularly on Adverts but are usually old CRTs and collection only. I got one for my retro game collection a few years ago for free :D

I said I don’t pay rent. Did I once say I don’t contribute? No I didn’t, it was assumed. I didn’t reveal all about my circumstances in my initial post because the thread isn’t titled “my life story”. It’s about the importance of saving money.

you said you dont pay rent.

youve made the thread about you since

amd your story was all about how great you were for saving more than your mate

you're on a wind up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭vargoo

Enough with the parent talk FFS, this could have been an informative thread but instead we have this 9 pages of b#llox that no gives a sh1t about, except ye few badgers.

Feck off to pm with the parent chat!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭messy tessy

vargoo wrote: »
    Enough with the parent talk FFS, this could have been an informative thread but instead we have this 9 pages of b#llox that no gives a sh1t about, except ye few badgers.

Feck off to pm with the parent chat!!!!!!!

Are you a saver or a spender then vargoo?

RedXIV wrote: »
    I think I've a spare 32" flatscreen in the house if you're stuck? Or if you're paranoid about strangers, free TVs do appear fairly regularly on Adverts but are usually old CRTs and collection only. I got one for my retro game collection a few years ago for free :D

I'll buy it off ya! I was gonna buy one on Adverts anyways. How much is it? I just need a hdmi/scart (and then I've to get some extra cable thing for that to connect it to my mac cause mine went missing moving).

Pm me on it? You wee legend :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

One of the posters on here reminds me of Trump being a self made man who only had "A small loan of a million dollars" from his dad.

professore wrote: »
    One of the posters on here reminds me of Trump being a self made man who only had "A small loan of a million dollars" from his dad.

It's actually mental how many people talk about some substantial gift or inheritance and put 'just' in front of it. Guy in work got a 'small' inheritance of 20,000 euro from an extended family member he barely knew and yet he never stopped patronising the rest of us regarding takeaway coffees and sh1te like that.

Yes, Niall, the reason you bought a house is because you made your own coffee at home for six months. Nothing to do with the 20 grand inheritance, the other 10 grand 'bit of help' from the parents and the fact you were renting your flat off your uncle at way below market price. It's all about the Starbucks.

Do these people just live on another planet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

I'll buy it off ya! I was gonna buy one on Adverts anyways. How much is it? I just need a hdmi/scart (and then I've to get some extra cable thing for that to connect it to my mac cause mine went missing moving).

Pm me on it? You wee legend :)

PM sent!

RedXIV wrote: »
    PM sent!

Aw man, gotta love boards:)

It's actually mental how many people talk about some substantial gift or inheritance and put 'just' in front of it. Guy in work got a 'small' inheritance of 20,000 euro from an extended family member he barely knew and yet he never stopped patronising the rest of us regarding takeaway coffees and sh1te like that.

Yes, Niall, the reason you bought a house is because you made your own coffee at home for six months. Nothing to do with the 20 grand inheritance, the other 10 grand 'bit of help' from the parents and the fact you were renting your flat off your uncle at way below market price. It's all about the Starbucks.

While I agree with you mostly, they're not mutually exclusive. An inheritance doesn't disqualify valid observations.

A good friend of mine is good with his money and gets no help. He saves like the rest of us the best he can, and drives a $750 motorbike cause he doesn't want to waste cash. But he's looking at millions in inheritance in the future. He won't lose his credibility simply because of that, and I'm guessing his good habits come from his parents, which led to their wealth.

Takeaway coffees are a good example of small daily amounts adding up. He's right. I make coffee in a Moka Pot in the morning, drink half, and put the other half in a flask. Tastes better as well because I can spend a bit more on very good beans whilst spending way less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭La.de.da

Can't save much literally about €20-€30 per week!

On limited income due to illness out of that my mortgage,bills and food needs to be paid. Very little float left. But sure I have a roof over me head and food in my belly so doing ok.

Flash cars,holidays don't bother me.... Health is your wealth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

He probably wishes he did live on another planet.

What you fail to accept is that you were lucky enough not to have to live at home with your parents during your twenties.

GreeBo wrote: »
    He probably wishes he did live on another planet.

What you fail to accept is that you were lucky enough not to have to live at home with your parents during your twenties.

How do you think it's lucky not to be able to live with your family to save money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭mooreman09

You're all making me feel terrible ha!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

How do you think it's lucky not to be able to live with your family to save money?

Having more independence for starters.

In some situations luck is little more than a matter of outlook.

While I agree with you mostly, they're not mutually exclusive. An inheritance doesn't disqualify valid observations.

A good friend of mine is good with his money and gets no help. He saves like the rest of us the best he can, and drives a $750 motorbike cause he doesn't want to waste cash. But he's looking at millions in inheritance in the future. He won't lose his credibility simply because of that, and I'm guessing his good habits come from his parents, which led to their wealth.

Takeaway coffees are a good example of small daily amounts adding up. He's right. I make coffee in a Moka Pot in the morning, drink half, and put the other half in a flask. Tastes better as well because I can spend a bit more on very good beans whilst spending way less.

But it's easy for someone sitting on 30 grand they didn't earn to pick holes in other people's habits. I think we all know takeaway coffee is a waste of money, but the 'latte myth' has been debunked as just that. Sure, making your own coffee saves you money, but it's a drop in the ocean compared to how much you actually need to buy a house.

When rich people look at poor people and criticise their habits, they often fail to grasp that those little treats keep people going. When you never go on holidays, have no money to go out at the weekend, can't afford new clothes, work long hours for crap money, meeting a friend for a 3 euro coffee can be the highlight of the week. It's not the coffee itself you're paying for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

amcalester wrote: »

It's a reductive and silly outlook anyway.

You could take anybodies situation in this thread and point out all the "privilege" they avail of. Being born in Ireland, getting subsidised education etc...

You can have all the privileges in the world and still end up broke and make a balls of things.

Sure, but what's lucky about that? Anyone can choose not to live with their parents. Are they not the lucky ones for having the choice?

Ush1 wrote: »
    It's a reductive and silly outlook anyway.

You could take anybodies situation in this thread and point out all the "privilege" they avail of. Being born in Ireland, getting subsidised education etc...

You can have all the privileges in the world and still end up broke and make a balls of things.

No, it isn't. We're all in Ireland. Assuming we're all availing of certain privileges just from being born in a first world country and having accessible education, how can you say someone who is handed a deposit or has the option of living at home for years as an adult isn't much luckier than someone paying out hundreds of euros in rent every single month? You don't even need to be good at saving and you can still get loads of money together doing that. Funnily enough, some of the worst people I've ever known with money have lived at home. They spent hundreds on gig tickets, beauty treatments, clothes, weekends away, and still put a minimum of 500 euros in the bank every month simply because they weren't spending it on rent.

this thread is miles off topic and im sure the instigator of the derail is delighted

Sure, but what's lucky about that? Anyone can choose not to live with their parents. Are they not the lucky ones for having the choice?

Not everyone can though, not everyone is lucky enough to be able to choose not to live with their parents.

No, it isn't. We're all in Ireland. Assuming we're all availing of certain privileges just from being born in a first world country and having accessible education, how can you say someone who is handed a deposit or has the option of living at home for years as an adult isn't much luckier than someone paying out hundreds of euros in rent every single month? You don't even need to be good at saving and you can still get loads of money together doing that. Funnily enough, some of the worst people I've ever known with money have lived at home. They spent hundreds on gig tickets, beauty treatments, clothes, weekends away, and still put a minimum of 500 euros in the bank every month simply because they weren't spending it on rent.

Yes it is. Just because something like higher education is available to you doesn't mean you will avail of it, because to further your career takes work. To make more money takes work, even with many advantages. It takes a positive, can do mindset as oppose to a woe is me, the world is awful and all I can do is moan.

You just proved my point saying the people who are the worst with money had this "privilege".

Should they chastise you for having the "privilege" of being better with money than them? Sure it was only luck that you would be better with money than them isn't it?

Do you think there is people in much worse situations than you that have overcame much greater obstacles?

Not everyone can though, not everyone is lucky enough to be able to choose not to live with their parents.

How are they not? What do you think people do when they don't have parents, or for some reason their parents can't have them back at home? Some people just have to get on with things on their own, no matter how awful their circumstances might be.

Ush1 wrote: »
    Yes it is. Just because something like higher education is available to you doesn't mean you will avail of it, because to further your career takes work. To make more money takes work, even with many advantages. It takes a positive, can do mindset as oppose to a woe is me, the world is awful and all I can do is moan.

You just proved my point saying the people who are the worst with money had this "privilege".

Should they chastise you for having the "privilege" of being better with money than them? Sure it was only luck that you would be better with money than them isn't it?

Do you think there is people in much worse situations than you that have overcame much greater obstacles?

I know all that. I'm not stupid. I'm saying it's easier to save when you're not spending loads of money on rent, bills and food, no matter what else you spend your money on. That's literally ALL I'm saying. How can you even argue with that? I often wouldn't have even had 500 euros spare after paying for all the essentials. They got to have fun, spend money on stuff the liked and still put that 500 euro in the bank without any hardship at all. How you can claim that isn't lucky is ridiculous. Sure, someone who is good with money will manage to save almost their entire paycheck if they live at home, but even those who aren't can do pretty well and save more than people who are renting.

How are they not? What do you think people do when they don't have parents, or for some reason their parents can't have them back at home? Some people just have to get on with things on their own, no matter how awful their circumstances might be.

And those people, like you and me, are lucky that they are able to do that. Others are not so lucky, they have to go into state care or stay with relatives or someone else who can look after them.

If you are introducing luck into the conversation, then you can't also ignore the luck you yourself have had.

I know all that. I'm not stupid. I'm saying it's easier to save when you're not spending loads of money on rent, bills and food, no matter what else you spend your money on. That's literally ALL I'm saying. How can you even argue with that? I often wouldn't have even had 500 euros spare after paying for all the essentials. They got to have fun, spend money on stuff the liked and still put that 500 euro in the bank without any hardship at all. How you can claim that isn't lucky is ridiculous. Sure, someone who is good with money will manage to save almost their entire paycheck if they live at home, but even those who aren't can do pretty well and save more than people who are renting.

It should be easier, nobody is disputing that.

Focusing on it is demonstrating a poverty of your mindset. You also notice the "speck in others eyes" eg. seemingly ignoring the fact that you likely have many privileges of your own.

And those people, like you and me, are lucky that they are able to do that. Others are not so lucky, they have to go into state care or stay with relatives or someone else who can look after them.

If you are introducing luck into the conversation, then you can't also ignore the luck you yourself have had.

I wasn't able to stay at home as an adult.