Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If a man wants a woman......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,901 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Feisar wrote: »
    Whole thread is some sort of #metoo sting operation.

Men are not supposed to want women anymore, the plan is to move to an asexual society.

Not sure if you're taking the p*ss or not but if not, this type of comment only deepens the divide. It shouldn't be us against them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,726 ✭✭✭Feisar

Not sure if you're taking the p*ss or not but if not, this type of comment only deepens the divide. It shouldn't be us against them.

Taking the pistachios

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,726 ✭✭✭Feisar

You poor little lambs. Maybe if we could have gone out as teenagers without being sexually assaulted by total strangers, there wouldn't need to be any 'me too'. Ever thought of that? There was a collective realisation that women should be allowed to go out and enjoy themselves without consenting to being pawed, molested and assaulted, and here we are now. Men complaining that they can't talk to women anymore, as if that's in any way anything to do with 'me too'.

Sorry if it's all a bit inconvenient for you.

1. Who are you referring to as young sheep?
    2. I’m really good looking and have often been sexually assaulted by drunk horny women. So I feel your pain in that regard.
    3. What are you apologizing to me for?
    4. Do you ever reread your posts and critically appraise them?

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭lainey_d_123

Feisar wrote: »
    1. Who are you referring to as young sheep?
    2. I’m really good looking and have often been sexually assaulted by drunk horny women. So I feel your pain in that regard.
    3. What are you apologizing to me for?
    4. Do you ever reread your posts and critically appraise them?

How did I know you'd refer to being assaulted by women? Do you all read off the same script?

You know how it was unpleasant being groped by young wan? Now imagine it was a big hairy fella twice your size, easily able to overpower you, who was grabbing your ass and grinding his massive hard-on on you without permission, and you might be able to get a sense of why it's not the same thing.

Everybody repeat after me:

Some men sometimes do bad things to women.
    Some women sometimes do bad things to men.
    Some men sometimes do bad things to other men.
    Some women sometimes do bad things to other women.

Now. Thats that out of the way.

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭aloneforever99

Sure. But when the "bad thing" in question is rape or sexual assault, it's mostly the top one.

Yes some men do rape some women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Sssh, we're not allowed to talk about that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

Oh -Kay, I know it's a bit off-topic, but seen as we have gone there in a way... Just want to say -and this is not to be mean - that rape and sexual assault are generally a crime against young people, more than against women per se, in the sense that youth are the most vulnerable and more often attacked (15 years old being the average age), that only about 1 in 10 male on male rapes are reported, so it is vastly under-recorded, that research is very scant on male rape and sexual assault, that being ''made to penetrate'' is almost as common as being forcibly penetrated, that there is huge sexual assault of males in military situations and boarding schools/ prison situations, that while about a quarter of women report being raped, about 10% of men do so and this is vastly an under representation due to many factors, anyways etc etc etc.

I think we should recognise that there may come a time in some years or decades when we will know the full scale of sexual abuse against boys and rape will no longer be considered some kind of patriarchal power abuse, but rather a shared horrible experience inflicted on both the sexes.

I say this because - and maybe this is odd, and not the general experience - but I personally know as many males as females who have been sexually assaulted when I include school stuff, dating madness, child sex abuse, random assault and rape. They just don't talk about it or report it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Yes some men do rape some women.

And vice versa.

Some women abuse their male spouses too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Autecher

How dare you womansplain to me you misandrist! :p

Autecher wrote: »
    How dare you womansplain to me you misandrist!

You are only offended because I'm a woman!! Incel!

:p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 282 ✭✭Anthonylfc

Hey Anthony.....good win last night.....a/s/l? ;)

AH is in the Social & Fun section so what could be more social and fun than Boardsies bumping uglies?

a/s/l ha ha remember them days on yahoo chat ha ha

msn aswell

Anthonylfc wrote: »
    a/s/l ha ha remember them days on yahoo chat ha ha

msn aswell

*googles a/s/l :p Some things just pass me by completely. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,157 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

It's this "men don't ask me out" vs "Irish women are rude" dynamic playing out, I know the apps are changing things but we've historically not been so comfortable with the notion of "Dating". People met their partners either whilst comatosed drunk down the pub or a friend-that-became-more-slowly typa thing. And the "hey baby" Italian-style attitude towards flirting doesn't really exist in Ireland, we slag each other off by way of expressing interest!

Yes this always baffled me. A bit of playful slagging can be fun, but its not exactly a transparent way of expressing an interest in someone. It's like there's some sort of ambiguous Celtic mystique to the whole dating process here. And if you try and use the more direct approach that you see being practiced in other countries, you'd likely evoke a response of sheer terror.

Well, eventually they get drunk enough to admit how they feel and then it's all grand. I love the Irish sense of humour and really miss it when I'm abroad. It's just so much easier to talk to randomers in Dublin than say, London.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,157 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Well, eventually they get drunk enough to admit how they feel and then it's all grand. I love the Irish sense of humour and really miss it when I'm abroad. It's just so much easier to talk to randomers in Dublin than say, London.

Yeah I was never much of a drinker myself so I suppose that might have something to do with it. I agree about the Irish sense of humour though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,768 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Yeah I was never much of a drinker myself so I suppose that might have something to do with it. I agree about the Irish sense of humour though.

Not a drinker so for me to approach took a bit time while i worked up the courage. Nerve wracking.ðŸ˜

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 282 ✭✭Anthonylfc

people emphasis too much on the lady or guy saying no

my mentality is , if i went to an off-license and asked for a particular beer and the manager said " sorry we don't have it " or " no " that's it , its a word

people to hung up on rejection , if its a no , you move swifty on

a woman is hardly gonna kick lumps out of you if you paying her a compliment

i don't need a drink to chat , id often ramble over to a full table of women to chat

not saying id always pull , but simple conversation usually does it , not bs chat up lines

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭ginandtonicsky

Anthonylfc wrote: »
    people emphasis too much on the lady or guy saying no

my mentality is , if i went to an off-license and asked for a particular beer and the manager said " sorry we don't have it " or " no " that's it , its a word

people to hung up on rejection , if its a no , you move swifty on

Very true. Rejection sucks so badly. It's horrific if you're not used to it, and especially bad if it's done in a harsh way. I think a lot of men can meet a wagon or two in their youth that meets their awkward drunken attempts with "FCUK OFF YOU LOSER" and decide "right, never doing that again" and change their mindset to all women are X or Irish women are beyotches or whatever.

I can't say I blame them, I can describe in very accurate detail the handful of times I've been romantically rejected too, and I'm terrible at being forward with men as a result, my usual strategy is to blank and ignore the ones I like almost as a rule :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭izzyflusky

I've been out of the dating scene way too long, before tinder and all that. I feel for people nowadays when I hear my friends talking about how it works and all the games involved!

I would probably stay single in today's world, don't think I could cope haha.

In saying that, I think it's flattering when a guy approaches me. I don't think there is any need to be rude or unpleasant about it.

izzyflusky wrote: »
    I've been out of the dating scene way too long, before tinder and all that. I feel for people nowadays when I hear my friends talking about how it works and all the games involved!

I would probably stay single in today's world, don't think I could cope haha.

In saying that, I think it's flattering when a guy approaches me. I don't think there is any need to be rude or unpleasant about it.

I'd say it is a nightmare today going on dates, there seems to be so many "rules" that have to be followed and god help ya if ya step outside them. :)

I never found rejection too bad, i mean you are approaching a stranger you don't know and if she is not interested grand you just move on. The problem is there is a certain cohort of people (men and women) who are nothing but W**kers and go out of the way to humiliate the person.

Even more frustrating ladies is that mate who is designated herself the mother hen or better known as the "cock Blocker". There is nothing worse than you are chatting to lady, getting on well, flirting backwards and forwards and before you can anything can happen a snog or number, the cock blocker makes their entrance and totally ignores you and forcibly drags her mate away or you are chatting to the lady and she excuses herself for a minute to powder her nose (not the white powder) and next the cock blocker is over to tell you to F**k Off and leave her friend alone.

Very true. Rejection sucks so badly. It's horrific if you're not used to it, and especially bad if it's done in a harsh way. I think a lot of men can meet a wagon or two in their youth that meets their awkward drunken attempts with "FCUK OFF YOU LOSER" and decide "right, never doing that again" and change their mindset to all women are X or Irish women are beyotches or whatever.

I can't say I blame them, I can describe in very accurate detail the handful of times I've been romantically rejected too, and I'm terrible at being forward with men as a result, my usual strategy is to blank and ignore the ones I like almost as a rule :o

But in fairness, this is so mild compared to the dangers present for women who do online dating (or any kind of dating). I've had a guy who seemed totally normal during a 3-hour drinks date grab my arm and try to pull me into an alley and eat the face off me. I'm always on guard and worried for my safety and it's crazy how many men seem to take that personally if I reject an advance because I feel wary or whatever.

I'm not just saying that because I haven't been there, either. I've asked men out (or approached) them and been rejected. So what, really?

Floppybits wrote: »
    I'd say it is a nightmare today going on dates, there seems to be so many "rules" that have to be followed and god help ya if ya step outside them. :)

I never found rejection too bad, i mean you are approaching a stranger you don't know and if she is not interested grand you just move on. The problem is there is a certain cohort of people (men and women) who are nothing but W**kers and go out of the way to humiliate the person.

Even more frustrating ladies is that mate who is designated herself the mother hen or better known as the "cock Blocker". There is nothing worse than you are chatting to lady, getting on well, flirting backwards and forwards and before you can anything can happen a snog or number, the cock blocker makes their entrance and totally ignores you and forcibly drags her mate away or you are chatting to the lady and she excuses herself for a minute to powder her nose (not the white powder) and next the cock blocker is over to tell you to F**k Off and leave her friend alone.

Nothing worse than this. Always some jealous wagon who doesn't want to see her friends getting more attention than her. I had a 'friend' in college who used to sabotage any potential flirting by telling them I wasn't interested or I had a boyfriend. If someone approached me, she'd say something really b1tchy like 'oh, he's just approaching you because you're an easy target' or something like that. Absolute wagon she was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

I'm going to use this comment as a thin pretext to relate something that happened to me that I remembered this morning - a girl grabbed my ass! I was in a nightclub with a friend on his birthday chatting (shouting) about god knows what, and I saw this girl approaching out of the corner of my eye. She was smiling and swaying her hips as she approached, and gave my ass a little squeeze as she passed. My reaction could probably be best compared to bishop Brennan's when he got kicked up the arse. I just kinda froze for a few seconds and tried to process if that really happened. By the time I reacted she had disappeared back into the crowd. Without advocating grabbing strangers asses in nightclubs, that poor girl must have been wondering what she had to do to get a reaction.....

Either she was on a dare from her mates or has some arse squeezing fetish. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

That was actually what upset me most about this guy I was dating thinking it was a funny story. Because he's a GOOD GUY. And I got really depressed thinking "If the good guys don't understand that this is sexual assault, what hope is there with the bast@rds out there?"

Is he really a good guy? I don't think so.

Nothing worse than this. Always some jealous wagon who doesn't want to see her friends getting more attention than her. I had a 'friend' in college who used to sabotage any potential flirting by telling them I wasn't interested or I had a boyfriend. If someone approached me, she'd say something really b1tchy like 'oh, he's just approaching you because you're an easy target' or something like that. Absolute wagon she was.

There are guys like this too. Had one "friend" who always kicked off some drama when it looked like one of the guys was having success chatting up some girl. I hadn't noticed it until it happened to me, was chatting to a lovely girl and he comes up saying some guy tried to punch him or some rubbish that never happened. Then I started paying attention and he was forever doing it.

But in fairness, this is so mild compared to the dangers present for women who do online dating (or any kind of dating). I've had a guy who seemed totally normal during a 3-hour drinks date grab my arm and try to pull me into an alley and eat the face off me. I'm always on guard and worried for my safety and it's crazy how many men seem to take that personally if I reject an advance because I feel wary or whatever.

I'm not just saying that because I haven't been there, either. I've asked men out (or approached) them and been rejected. So what, really?

They are two very different things. Rejecting a guy politely asking you out in the bitchiest and cruellest way possible is very different than telling a guy trying to shove his tongue down your throat or worse to **** off. A guy I knew (not me - thankfully I had more sense) once bought a girl a rose and asked her out in the college canteen. She totally made a joke of him in front of the whole canteen. Some bitch .... still hear the laughing and jeering. Needless to say it put him off women for a while ...

professore wrote: »
    They are two very different things. Rejecting a guy asking you out in the bitchiest and cruellest way possible is very different than telling a guy trying to shove his tongue down your throat or worse to **** off.

No, I know. What I mean is, even the meanest and cruellest rejection still doesn't come close to fearing for your safety, so I don't buy it as an excuse from men who don't approach women because of it or treat them badly. I've literally been assaulted on a date and I still go on them. "A woman was mean to me once so I don't approach women anymore" sounds a bit of a p1ss poor excuse in all honesty.

Thing is, you don't have to do the asking. There's a big difference. Look, I agree with you, but if you get shot down a couple of times in a row, then it would understandably put most guys off. In fact some guys end up going out with and marrying the first woman who makes a move on them because of this ... with fairly predictable results, either totally submissive to the woman or she leaves him for another man.

But I have done the asking, as I said. And I've been rejected. It doesn't even come close to genuinely worrying about your safety every time you meet someone for a date. It's just part of life, really, isn't it? They are just words, as horrible as they can be. I was walking down the street minding my own business last week and some horrible drunk eejit outside a pub shouted that I was the ugliest f**king woman I have ever seen, on a crowded pavement full of people who turned to look. There are idiots everywhere. Avoiding an entire gender because a couple of people were mean to you is a cop out, IMO. You just can't be that fragile.

But I have done the asking, as I said. And I've been rejected. It doesn't even come close to genuinely worrying about your safety every time you meet someone for a date. It's just part of life, really, isn't it? They are just words, as horrible as they can be.

I think we are talking at cross purposes here. I will try to imagine being a woman. Here goes ...

Back when I was in the dating scene a LOOOONG time ago .... if I was at risk of being sexually assaulted every time I went on a date, and had been assaulted on one of the first dates I went on, I would be extremely cautious about dating - if I even dated at all. Especially if some guy I thought was "lovely" did it. It still wouldn't make me cruel though. I would still be polite about it, and in fairness most women were in my experience.

Assuming he asks me out, and I like him, I guess I would try to get to know the person first, see what sort of friends he has, how he treats waiting staff etc. meeting him in a public place etc before moving to the "next level"

I don't think I'd be putting on the hooker heels and the barely there clothes and getting ****faced and then going home with some randomer every night - or going after that guy with a known history of abusing his girlfriends. I don't condemn women who do this but from my new perspective as a woman it isn't a very smart thing to do.

Of course this is not going to eliminate the risk but at least it mitigates it somewhat.

I was walking down the street minding my own business last week and some horrible drunk eejit outside a pub shouted that I was the ugliest f**king woman I have ever seen, on a crowded pavement full of people who turned to look.

Ouch ... that's bad ... the thing is you didn't go up to him first, make it obvious you thought he was attractive and THEN he said that to you. This happens a couple of times. And this is the ONLY WAY you have of getting a date. You can't in a lot of circumstances as a guy find out much about a woman beforehand until she says yes to a few dates. So you have to take a chance. And another. And another. And the chance of being sexually assaulted is much lower than the chance of being rejected for these men who are clearly unattractive in some way to most women.

How many do you take before you call it a day? 10? 50? 100? Maybe like being in sales, you just can't sell anything no matter how hard you try and your colleague beside you is closing deals every 5 minutes, even though he is sometimes rude and overcharges the customers, and they still buy off him, and you decide eventually it's not for you.

I think we are talking at cross purposes here. I will try to imagine being a woman. Here goes ...

Back when I was in the dating scene a LOOOONG time ago .... if I was at risk of being sexually assaulted every time I went on a date, and had been assaulted on one of the first dates I went on, I would be extremely cautious about dating - if I even dated at all. Especially if some guy I thought was "lovely" did it. It still wouldn't make me cruel though. I would still be polite about it, and in fairness most women were in my experience.

Assuming he asks me out, and I like him, I guess I would try to get to know the person first, see what sort of friends he has, how he treats waiting staff etc. meeting him in a public place etc before moving to the "next level"

I don't think I'd be putting on the hooker heels and the barely there clothes and getting ****faced and then going home with some randomer every night - or going after that guy with a known history of abusing his girlfriends. I don't condemn women who do this but from my new perspective as a woman it isn't a very smart thing to do.

Of course this is not going to eliminate the risk but at least it mitigates it somewhat.

This is horrendous victim blaming. Hooker heels? Barely there clothes? Where did I even mention that? I can't wear heels and I don't like skirts, so date clothes for me would be jeans and long boots. Which is what I was wearing when I was dragged down an alley. You think I didn't meet him in a public place? Of course I did. I'd already said goodbye and was heading to the bus stop when he suddenly pounced on me on a crowded street.

Ouch ... that's bad ... the thing is you didn't go up to him first, make it obvious you thought he was attractive and THEN he said that to you. This happens a couple of times. And this is the ONLY WAY you have of getting a date. You can't in a lot of circumstances as a guy find out much about a woman beforehand until she says yes to a few dates. So you have to take a chance. And another. And another. And the chance of being sexually assaulted is much lower than the chance of being rejected for these men who are clearly unattractive in some way to most women.

It has happened. One guy was extremely rude when I was just heading over to chat. Wrote it off as him being a d1ck.
    How many do you take before you call it a day? 10? 50? 100? Maybe like being in sales, you just can't sell anything no matter how hard you try and your colleague beside you is closing deals every 5 minutes, even though he is sometimes rude and overcharges the customers, and they still buy off him, and you decide eventually it's not for you.

Do you think it's just men though? I know plenty of women who can't get dates to save their lives. You should see some of the nasty messages they've received on apps. You think it's just women who go on like this because you date women. Men can be every bit as bad.

This is horrendous victim blaming. Hooker heels? Barely there clothes? Where did I even mention that? I can't wear heels and I don't like skirts, so date clothes for me would be jeans and long boots. Which is what I was wearing when I was dragged down an alley. You think I didn't meet him in a public place? Of course I did. I'd already said goodbye and was heading to the bus stop when he suddenly pounced on me on a crowded street.

I never said you did. I was just trying to work out how I would think if I was a woman dating. That's all. And I said I wasn't blaming women who do that kind of thing, I was just saying I don't think I would do it if I were a woman.
    It has happened. One guy was extremely rude when I was just heading over to chat. Wrote it off as him being a d1ck.

I believe you. Have seen guys being incredible dicks to women. Generally it's guys who are successful with women who are like this. Actually the same goes for the bitchy women.
    Do you think it's just men though? I know plenty of women who can't get dates to save their lives. You should see some of the nasty messages they've received on apps. You think it's just women who go on like this because you date women. Men can be every bit as bad.

I don't think it's just men - the main difference is the men have to proactively do something. The women don't. And there is this whole negging thing apparently where you are deliberately mean to a woman so she will like you more. Seems to work too unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

Congrats, you're probably one of a few women who would approach a man, there's no equality when it comes to the dating game, it's still expected for men to do that, you'll hear every excuse going "that's the man's job" "a man has to feel he's worked for you" it's all bull****, they know damn well it sucks to be the person making the moves and it would remove the power element of being the decider

Have you heard of Bumble?

• Registered Users Posts: 232 ✭✭Segotias

There definitely should be more equality in approaching. I'd never take the stance its a mans job. However I'd rarely approach a man. I tend to people watch and see the type men go for and thats not me. I usually think the blokes are out of my league so don't bother. However I do tell my friends to go over to the blokes they like...they should do it more

• Registered Users Posts: 481 ✭✭WarpAsylum

Have you heard of Bumble?
    Yeah, because after a mutual match it takes serious guts to send

"hi"

WarpAsylum wrote: »
    Yeah, because after a mutual match it takes serious guts to send

"hi"

Just saying, there's an app out there that flips the dynamic.

And while "hi" is a pretty lame first message, it beats "DTF?" which is a real opening message I got on Tinder one time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,488 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Sweeping generalisation or some truth in the fact that if a man wants a woman he'll chase her or let her know and if he doesn't he's just not interested?

This evening's conversation with some friends with the above nearly accepted as 100% accurate.

So what you think?

I know all men are different but in general what do you think.

not true

And while "hi" is a pretty lame first message, it beats "DTF?" which is a real opening message I got on Tinder one time.

I've never been on Tinder as I met my now wife just before Tinder became a thing

But does that mean "Down to f**k?"

(*Googles DTF )

lawred2 wrote: »
    I've never been on Tinder as I met my now wife just before Tinder became a thing

But does that mean "Down to f**k?"

Yup. I had to google it and find the answer on urbandictionary at the time.

Zorya wrote: »
    (*Googles DTF )

Hope you're not at work!

Yup. I had to google it and find the answer on urbandictionary at the time.

probably works some times

Hope you're not at work!

Just in mah kitchen. The stove is shocked! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

Segotias wrote: »
    There definitely should be more equality in approaching. I'd never take the stance its a mans job. However I'd rarely approach a man. I tend to people watch and see the type men go for and thats not me. I usually think the blokes are out of my league so don't bother. However I do tell my friends to go over to the blokes they like...they should do it more

There's a place that's terrifying to women.... A world were they might actually have to do a bit of groundwork and come under the same intense scrutiny by the opposite sex, a more level playing field...

Yeah, women are complete strangers to the idea of intense scrutiny by the opposite sex.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

The great thing about sweeping generalisations about half the population is that they are always accurate.