Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Octavia diesel v focus diesel

• 27-02-2019 11:11pm
    Registered Users Posts: 344 ✭✭

Hi I'm looking for some opinions/help. I'm looking to change cars, and have it basically narrowed down to either a 161 1.5 ford focus diesel or a 142 2l skoda Octavia diesel. Roughly the same mileage and there is only 200 euros between them in price. I know probably the smart decision is the younger focus which is also immaculate. But I do like the Octavia it's bigger and really fast. Mpg wise there isn't too much difference, I was surprised when I checked the life time mpg on the Octavia and it was 5.5 l/ 100. Any advice please my head is wrecked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,499 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Either the Focus is too cheap or the Octavia is too expensive.
    Of those I’d have the Octavia, but make sure it isn’t overvalued.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,654 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

2.0 VAG diesel over 1.5 Ford any day.

2.0 a 140 BHP?

• Registered Users Posts: 344 ✭✭fennor72

colm_mcm wrote:
    Either the Focus is too cheap or the Octavia is too expensive. Of those I’d have the Octavia, but make sure it isn’t overvalued.

2.0 a 140 BHP?

161 focus with 67000km is 14750, taking my old car and adding a tow bar 14100. The 142 Octavia has 68000km and is 13900 with the same deal. The Octavia is a 2l tdi elegance 150bhp.
    The main reason for changing is to save a bit of money on fuel and costs, I've a 12 years old petrol focus which has been brilliant but is beginning to give a bit of trouble. I do about 25-30k of mostly motorway miles a year. Does anyone know of reliability issues with either car, my thinking is that the 161 focus would be more reliable, but I love the drive of the skoda. I've had a couple of petrol focus before with no problems but never owned a skoda. Both are giving me 12 months warranty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,764 ✭✭✭my3cents

Maybe an odd question but if you are looking to save a bit of money have you checked what your insurance will be on both of those?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,338 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

14750 sounds expensive for a 161 Focus with that mileage. There are plenty on carzone well below that money.

They are giving you nothing for your 12 year old Focus, just bumping up it's trade-in value with the discount from the newer car to make the deal attractive. You would probably get the same if not better deal walking in with no trade-in. Have you looked at importing one from the UK?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,580 ✭✭✭jmreire

Skoda, Skoda, Skoda...all day long !!! Especially with the 2.0 Ltr Diesel engine.

my3cents wrote:
    Maybe an odd question but if you are looking to save a bit of money have you checked what your insurance will be on both of those?

bazz26 wrote:
    They are giving you nothing for your 12 year old Focus, just bumping up it's trade-in value with the discount from the newer car to make the deal attractive. You would probably get the same if not better deal walking in with no trade-in. Have you looked at importing one from the UK?

Insurance is feck all different for me I suppose it's my age but I got a quote a couple of months ago for an Octavia vrs and it was 430euros with aviva.

I knew my old car was worth nothing, it's got 280k on the clock, of all the dealers I've gone into the most I've gotten off is 1000euros but I know well they are just playing around with the figures to suit themselves.

jmreire wrote:
    Skoda, Skoda, Skoda...all day long !!! Especially with the 2.0 Ltr Diesel engine.

Have you owned one before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Philb76

Octavia without a doubt it's bigger better built more comfortable as for the engines I've drove a focus with that engine and it's awful

fennor72 wrote: »
    Have you owned one before

Total so far: 4 x Octavia's
    Current Fleet:
    Herself 1 x Superb.
    Daughter and Husband 1 x Octavia and 1 x Superb,
    Son, 1 x Octavia.

We are a kind of Skoda Family, you might say.......:D:D:D

jmreire wrote:
    We are a kind of Skoda Family, you might say.......
    I think it's fair to say you are happy enough with Skoda 😊

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,792 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

1.5 TDCI with 120bhp is perfectly fine. 100bhp version is not however.

It's the focus 100bhp version. What are the problems with it? I did find it a bit flat to drive

I think it's fair to say you are happy enough with Skoda ��

Yes, very fair. I think !!!!:D:D:D:D

But also over the years, VW Beetles, Passat, Jetta, Audi A6, Austin 1100, BMC Mini,Ford Escort, Ford Orion, Fiat 500, Fiat 850 ( put me off Fiat's for life....:mad:
    and one or two more that I can't remember....Oh, yes... first car I ever owned was .......a Skoda !!! It would have been a model from the late 50's or early 60's, and made in Czechoslovakia. The fuel pump went in it, and there was no replacement,so I bought it for 30 pounds ( Irish ) fitted it with an electric pump from a morris minor, and off she went. Would start first turn of the key on the coldest wettest Irish winter morning's, and was fine while driving it in a straight line, but God help you if you had to make any sudden turns... It had 2 elliptical springs fitted on the rear ( which was a common set up back then) but the front suspension, was also an elliptical leaf spring, but fitted cross-ways on the front axle..so it made for some very "interesting" cornering....:rolleyes:

After listening to all your opinions and from talking to lads at work, I'd have to go with the octivia
    If the 2l deal falls through whats the views on the 1.6 diesel version

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,792 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

fennor72 wrote:
    It's the focus 100bhp version. What are the problems with it? I did find it a bit flat to drive

A bit slow

After listening to all your opinions and from talking to lads at work, I'd have to go with the octivia
    If the 2l deal falls through whats the views on the 1.6 diesel version

They drive OK on the 1.6 engine, and will happily cruise all day at 120 KPH, but when you come to a hill or have to slow down for any reason, it takes awhile to get back up to the 120 KPH cruising speed again. You will need to make more use of the gearbox. The 2.0 Ltr engine is a better more powerfull engine, for a car of that size, IMHO. Having said that...all the Skoda's we have in the family are all powered by the 1.6 Engine....and no complaint's. They do the job, but the 2.0 would be my choice over the 1.6. The 2.0 Ltr engine, just does not have to work as hard to get the same result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭rn

My wife went from a 1.6 diesel golf trendline to a 2.0 Skoda Octavia style. The difference in drive between the two is unbelievable. The Skoda is a better car in every respect.

On driving the 2l Skoda has a 6 speed manual v a 5 speed in the 1.6. The 1.6 is very economical if you do most of your driving around the 100kph speed, but does get thirsty at 120. The 2l doesn't in our experience. Long term consumption 4.8l, about 70% motorway.

• Registered Users Posts: 404 ✭✭ml100

Trendline golf could have been 90 BHP, other 1.6's are either 105, 110 or 115 depending on year

Today 06:49
    My wife went from a 1.6 diesel golf trendline to a 2.0 Skoda Octavia style. The difference in drive between the two is unbelievable. The Skoda is a better car in every respect.

Yeah but wot about the interior plastics

Philb76 wrote: »
    Today 06:49

Yeah but wot about the interior plastics

Plastic interiors in most ( if not all car's now ...was in both a Mercedes and a BMW during the week,,they have plastic too ) cars now, no matter what make you choose, but if the Skoda plastic is not for you, plenty of other make's to choose from. But personally, and overall, (inc the plastic interior ) I would put the Skoda ahead, but that's just me.

Sorry wasn't being serious about the plastics I'm a huge Skoda fan best car I've had having a bit of a jibe at the vw is superior posts on this forum and the quality of plastics comments but leave out important stuff like reliability and value for money

Philb76 wrote: »
    Sorry wasn't being serious about the plastics I'm a huge Skoda fan best car I've had having a bit of a jibe at the vw is superior posts on this forum and the quality of plastics comments but leave out important stuff like reliability and value for money

No problem Philb....there are people out there who DO feel that there is too much plastic in the Skoda's,,,but show me any present day car out there without plastic being used in it....As for VW being seen as "Superior", I have had many VW's in the past, but to let you into a little secret....while they ( Audi, VW, Skoda etc) are all banged differently....they are ALL VAG., just aimed at different markets. I bought a new Superb in 2015, and the salesman was telling me that quite a lot of companies were replacing their Audi A4's ( and in some cases , their A6's ) with the new Superb. The point being that while the Audi's were the better car, they were not €15-20'000 better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭rn

ml100 wrote: »
    Trendline golf could have been 90 BHP, other 1.6's are either 105, 110 or 115 depending on year
    Hers was a 141 110. There is a 90bhp available too. It was a nice golf, but skoda has such a difference especially in terms of drive and boot space. The main point being i highly recommend the 2l skoda octavia to OP.