Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Is the Dublin accent dying?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

I’m not upset (not even a full Dub) just replying in the same form. I edit all the time.

Anyway what was in the local newspaper today? Did some one die? Did someone else come 4th in a spelling competition? Don’t overload the brain.

All regional papers are the same. I presume you've had the Northside People shoved in through your letterbox. Doubt the Pulitzer Committee are avid readers. The headline last night was about some Howya discovering a 30 year old letter in a bottle that washed up on a beach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

All regional papers are the same. I presume you've had the Northside People shoved in through your letterbox. Doubt the Pulitzer Committee are avid readers. The headline last night was about some Howya discovering a 30 year old letter in a bottle that washed up on a beach.

Yeh, but I don’t buy it. When a local newspaper comes out in ballyfeckin they are lined up around the block to buy it. The broadsheets, not so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Dunno OP...

Lemme just grab the boose to buy some boones while I think about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,039 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

The Dublin accent is as strong as it ever was.

Sure enough it’s not heard too much in the southside suburbs but head into town and off out the northside and you’ll hear its dulcet tones as you go.

In fact, it’s so strong you’ll ever hear country folk from Meath, Kildare, and Wicklow speaking with it.

And why wouldn’t they? It’s a lovely accent, best in the land.

Who among us doesn’t enjoy ending a session by belting out the real national anthem “Ring a ring a rosey, as the light declines...”

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,409 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I met a lad working for Irish Rail before. He said the top brass in the group were considering putting a 'wet carriage' on the Friday trains out of Dublin. It would be a carriage set aside exclusively for 'True Blue' Dubs. The sort who think they are fierce funny and witty, and have the need to shout everything out to prove it. Anyways this carriage would have its own toilet so they can go in there and snort cocaine in peace without annoying other customers. And they can can drink as much Orchards Thief and sing as much Crazy World as they want.

Seemed like a great idea.

You did ! What conversation that must have been.

I wonder how it would've worked , do you buy special tickets ? Or board at different locations ?Do the trains come back empty?

It's sounds fantastic , is it going to happen or is it just a figment of your imagination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

There are about 95 types of Dublin accent. Many are horrific, some are lovely. But I don't hear any of them dying out. The milennials seem to definitely be becoming more homogeneous though. That American accent half the 20 year olds in the country seem to have developed does my head in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Dublin accents in rude health where I live.

I've actually noticed that rural accents seems to be less common or pronounced among kids. I think it's a pity myself.
    I think our variety of accents on such a small island is an impressive thing and it'll be sad to see it go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

And they can can drink as much Orchards Thief and sing as much Crazy World as they want.

Seemed like a great idea.

Am I the only Dub who can't abide Aslan?

"Band of the people" me hooooole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,068 ✭✭✭✭neris

Hope so. The worst part of living in Dublin is having to hear that accent. Sounds like someone is after interfering with them from behind.

Its called the parish priest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

Am I the only Dub who can't abide Aslan?

"Band of the people" me hooooole.
    Aslan are a band that are only popular because people feel sorry for the band members and their problems with addiction. If it wasn't for the sob story aspect nobody would pay them any attention.

Hope so. The worst part of living in Dublin is having to hear that accent. Sounds like someone is after interfering with them from behind.

Drogheda is far worse. Flaaaaaaaaaaaaat as a pancake.

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    Aslan are a band that are only popular because people feel sorry for the band members and their problems with addiction. If it wasn't for the sob story aspect nobody would pay them any attention.

F*cking Christy is on the Late Late every second week talking about his health (with his ridiculous bugs bunny teeth).

He's been "dying" for about 20 years now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

The stereotypical strong Dublin working class accent is fcuking painful and thankfully I am not subjected to it on a regular basis.

But to be fair every strong regional accent is a raping of the ear.

F*cking Christy is on the Late Late every second week talking about his health (with his ridiculous bugs bunny teeth).

He's been "dying" for about 20 years now.

His massive ego is keeping him alive. It's another thing about Dublin junkies - you'd think they'd have heard by now that heroin is a bit 'moreish' and eventually leads to you dying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,450 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

This is a perfect illustration of the Dublin condition: someone comes in speaking generally then a person from Dublin takes it personally and makes it all about themselves. :rolleyes:

Far from taking it personally I was just having a laugh.
    But there we have a perfect illustration of the attitude of people outside of Dublin projecting negativity onto anything said or done by anyone in Dublin. The sense of moral superiority people have outside of Dublin in their perception of Dubliners as a collection of stereotypes is too pathetic to see as anything other than hilarious.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

His massive ego is keeping him alive. It's another thing about Dublin junkies - you'd think they'd have heard by now that heroin is a bit 'moreish' and eventually leads to you dying.

He is a classic example of the stereotypical 'Dub' that winds up the rest of the country. Head up his ass and would marry himself if it was legal.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

Drogheda is far worse. Flaaaaaaaaaaaaat as a pancake.

The Nobber accent is even worse.

°°°°°

Honestly they revel in it. I don't think they're genetically inferior but I do believe the average Dublin person just prefers reading celebrity gossip or "veddy sad" human interest stories over anything more intellectually stimulating such as, say, a broadsheet newspaper or novels for adults.

It's a culture that promotes "feelings" over rationalism, with the few bright sparks among them resorting to diversionary tactics such as comparing valid criticisms of Dublin to racial abuse. :rolleyes: To each their own but it wouldn't be for me.

I had a chuckle at this. The most important part of this statement is "I believe", I'm guessing you enjoy dreaming up nonsense that you then appropriate as fact.
    The reality is you would LIKE to believe these things as they reinforce your strange prejudice.

Glazers Out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭Ariadne

Omackeral wrote: »
    Usually it's idiots.

I was trying to be polite :p

• Registered Users Posts: 102 ✭✭John DoeReMi

I

There is an element of anti-intellectualism among the populace of Dublin that I think the rather more stoic citizenry of "de country" are fortunate for not sharing

I live in Dublin and have never spent more than a holiday in the bog. I'd be surprised if our country cousins valued intellectual conversation more than Dubliners. The Irish in general seem to revel in ignorance, thinking it makes them "authentic" and "down to earth".

How often do you hear someone brag about how "down to earth" they are and that they have no "airs and graces". To me that always translates as "I am a thick f*cking peasant and proud of it. Don't be usin' any big words with me ye fuc*in' snob ye"

• Registered Users Posts: 43 centralchill

nullzero wrote: »
    Far from taking it personally I was just having a laugh.
    But there we have a perfect illustration of the attitude of people outside of Dublin projecting negativity onto anything said or done by anyone in Dublin. The sense of moral superiority people have outside of Dublin in their perception of Dubliners as a collection of stereotypes is too pathetic to see as anything other than hilarious.

In fairness both of ye are generalising here.

Life in Dublin is very different to life outside of Dublin , both sides have different opinions, both have positives/negatives etc.

Being from somewhere only defines a certain percentage of someone, there are other factors such as personal tastes and interests that go deeper then where you are from.

In Ireland as we are very tribal by nature, where we are from has this magnified importance "hey how are you, and where are you from?"

It's borderline obsessive, the contradiction is that once we leave Ireland whether it is on holidays or to live for good, we all unite as Irish people and look out for each other/socialise etc.

°°°°°

In fairness both of ye are generalising here.

Life in Dublin is very different to life outside of Dublin , both sides have different opinions, both have positives/negatives etc.

Being from somewhere only defines a certain percentage of someone, there are other factors such as personal tastes and interests that go deeper then where you are from.

In Ireland as we are very tribal by nature, where we are from has this magnified importance "hey how are you, and where are you from?"

It's borderline obsessive, the contradiction is that once we leave Ireland whether it is on holidays or to live for good, we all unite as Irish people and look out for each other/socialise etc.

Saying that people from a certain place are inheritently stupid is beyond generalising.
    If this person was saying these things and applying them to a group of minorities or people of a certain religious belief these statements would be appropriated as massively irresponsible. I'm not attempting to conflate being from Dublin with anything else, but the type of statements being made by this person are just highlighting their own ignorance.

Glazers Out!

Saying that people from a certain place are inheritently stupid is beyond generalising.
    If this person was saying these things and applying them to a group of minorities or people of a certain religious belief these statements would be appropriated as massively irresponsible. I'm not attempting to conflate being from Dublin with anything else, but the type of statements being made by this person are just highlighting their own ignorance.

Yeah but this person is not "saying these things and applying them to a group of minorities or people of a certain religious belief " so what does that have to do with anything really to be fair? If he/she was you could bring that in to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

Use to love walking through Henry Street and you'd hear the women from the markets...

'Lighters? Five for a pound' :)

Yeah but this person is not "saying these things and applying them to a group of minorities or people of a certain religious belief " so what does that have to do with anything really to be fair? If he/she was you could bring that in to it.
    Playing the victim. Feelings first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,158 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Lorelli! wrote: »
    Use to love walking through Henry Street and you'd hear the women from the markets...

Get yer Cheeky Charlie .

°°°°°

Playing the victim. Feelings first.

Not playing the victim at all, just pointing out how preposterous your ideas are.
    You seem to view the world through a lens of oversimplification, everyone in Dublin is an idiot, they all fit into the mould of lazy stereotypes.
    I'm a victim of nothing, other than having to read your narcissistic nonsense.

Glazers Out!

°°°°°

I'm pointing out that making generalisations based upon ridiculous prejudice is always wrong. It's pretty clear that I was saying that.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Its pronounced "loiters" ;)

Geeeet yer loiters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Not enough syllables in that, it was "pow-ind" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,158 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Its pronounced "loiters" ;)

Geeeet yer loiters

Saw a man carrying a toddler on Henry st . Toddler had a cone in his hand and the ice cream dropped off down the mans back

" Ah Da lookah
    " Ah Jaysus lickah "

I'm pointing out that making generalisations based upon ridiculous prejudice is always wrong. It's pretty clear that I was saying that.

I don't disagree with your statement above, that's an obvious statement.

I disagree with what you said before - "IF THIS person was saying these things and applying them to a group of minorities or people of a certain religious belief these statements would be appropriated as massively irresponsible" - that's obvious.

But he/she is not.

Thats my point simple as. I get what your trying to say but you are bringing race/religion into something for no reason.

°°°°°

I don't disagree with your statement above, that's an obvious statement.

I disagree with what you said before - "IF THIS person was saying these things and applying them to a group of minorities or people of a certain religious belief these statements would be appropriated as massively irresponsible" - that's obvious.

But he/she is not.

Thats my point simple as. I get what your trying to say but you are bringing race/religion into something for no reason.

I'm clearly not trying to bring race or religion into the debate here, I'm simply demonstrating how if you replaced the word Dublin with "black" or "Muslim" or even "traveller" the statement would be unacceptable.

Making sweeping generalisations is a sure fire way to make yourself appear like a cretin, this Woke Hogan character is clearly making really stupid statements that are only acceptable because he's offending (or to be more accurate, hoping to offend) a group of people that society at large has not been conditioned to defend.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Is the lad with the suitcase of "jewellery" still trading?

His sales patter was mildly entertaining.

I'm clearly not trying to bring race or religion into the debate here, I'm simply demonstrating how if you replaced the word Dublin with "black" or "Muslim" or even "traveller" the statement would be unacceptable.

Making sweeping generalisations is a sure fire way to make yourself appear like a cretin, this Woke Hogan character is clearly making really stupid statements that are only acceptable because he's offending (or to be more accurate, hoping to offend) a group of people that society at large has not been conditioned to defend.

Yeah but that argument is flawed. You can't base your argument off "if you replace this word with this word it would be unacceptable."

That's ridiculous talk, sher you could say that about anything ?

That's all im saying. So you are bringing religion and ethnicity in to this for no reason in my opinion.

I apologise, I didn't stop to think about the struggles the Dublin minority face daily. If there are are any pro-Dublin charities or awareness campaigns I should be aware of, please let me know so I can educate myself. :rolleyes:

Wake up, good man. I don't like the accent, so what. You don't have to take or mean everything so personally.

I apologise, I didn't stop to think about the struggles the Dublin minority face daily. If there are are any pro-Dublin charities or awareness campaigns I should be aware of, please let me know so I can educate myself. :rolleyes:

Wake up, good man. I don't like the accent, so what. You don't have to take or mean everything so personally.

Might have to have a Telethon to raise funds for them, Woke. Hosted by Joe Duffy, with Aslan, Damien ‘Damo’ Dempsey, and Shane Lynch from Boyzone being the headline acts.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 746 ✭✭✭GinAndBitter

Smell of cow shìte off this thread.

"The new report reveals that even an urban metropolis like Dublin is home to 780 farms, 7,000 cows and 19,000 sheep, with more than 8,000 jobs in the food and drink processing sector.

And surprisingly, the capital also has the biggest farms in the country, with an average size of 47.6 hectares or 118 acres, which is twice the size of the typical farm in Counties Mayo and Monaghan". - Irish Farmers' Association (IFA) report on 'The Value of Agriculture at County Level 2014"

Yeah your probably right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,476 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

"The new report reveals that even an urban metropolis like Dublin is home to 780 farms, 7,000 cows and 19,000 sheep, with more than 8,000 jobs in the food and drink processing sector.

And surprisingly, the capital also has the biggest farms in the country, with an average size of 47.6 hectares or 118 acres, which is twice the size of the typical farm in Counties Mayo and Monaghan". - Irish Farmers' Association (IFA) report on 'The Value of Agriculture at County Level 2014"

Yeah your probably right lol.

So were actually better at being culchies than culchies themselves?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

...Wake up, good man. I don't like the accent, so what. You don't have to take or mean everything so personally.

'Kin boorst yiz, cunceyiz.

Ush1 wrote: »
    So were actually better at being culchies than culchies themselves?:pac:

That's one way of looking at it I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Funny you mention that, Im on erasmus abroad now and born and bred in Dublin and yesterday a yank asked me if I was american too, so maybe youre right

Scarleh

Might have to have a Telethon to raise funds for them, Woke. Hosted by Joe Duffy, with Aslan, Damien ‘Damo’ Dempsey, and Shane Lynch from Boyzone being the headline acts.
    You should be careful, this is the kind of stuff that can get you categorised as a racist or religious bigot.

°°°°°

Yeah but that argument is flawed. You can't base your argument off "if you replace this word with this word it would be unacceptable."

That's ridiculous talk, sher you could say that about anything ?

That's all im saying. So you are bringing religion and ethnicity in to this for no reason in my opinion.

Well your opinion is wrong.
    People tend to use comparisons in debate, it's not some maverick move to do so.

Glazers Out!

°°°°°

You should be careful, this is the kind of stuff that can get you categorised as a racist or religious bigot.

Or somebody who struggles to read and understand things.

Glazers Out!

wakka12 wrote: »
    Funny you mention that, Im on erasmus abroad now and born and bred in Dublin and yesterday a yank asked me if I was american too, so maybe youre right

Scarleh

People from South Carolina and Texas often wonder why I have a Jamaican accent despite being a white fella. I'm from East Limerick, I sound more-or-less exactly like Pat Shortt. :pac::pac::pac:

Well your opinion is wrong.
    People tend to use comparisons in debate, it's not some maverick move to do so.

hahaha fair enough, and your opinion is right is it?

If thats what you call "comparisons in debate" ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

The proper Dublin accent is pretty much dead, its either dortspeak now or the schweeer junkie accent

Bambi wrote: »
    The proper Dublin accent is pretty much dead, its either dortspeak now or the schweeer junkie accent

What is "schweeer"?