Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pancakes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

'pancake flour' hahah oh ireland

Literally flour with a pinch of salt and baking powder id say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

i usually prefer them as a savoury dish...

...with a mayonnaise sweetcorn & tuna mix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

fryup wrote: »
    i usually prefer them as a savoury dish...

...with a mayonnaise sweetcorn & tuna mix

Holy mother of jaysus:eek:

Not on my watch pal, get out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,862 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

I'll be having mine with Cumberland sausage.
    Then the next with smoked bacon and maple syrup.

Then for dessert with strawberries and ice cream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Baking powder! ? Thems Merican pancakes! Not on Shrove Tuesday. NO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

I'll be having mine with Cumberland sausage.
    Then the next with smoked bacon and maple syrup.

Then for dessert with strawberries and ice cream.
    Three course meal. I applaud you.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Bacon Pancakes are awesome.

I can’t wait till home time to eat some.

Trust my 83 yr old mother to swan off to a hospital appointment today of all days. She makes the best pancakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I like salty pancakes done in oil and with lots of butter.

Ush1 wrote: »
    I like salty pancakes done in oil and with lots of butter.

Wtf?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

That's exactly what it is - a 500g bag of self-raising flour plus a pinch of salt.
    On special now for only 1.50!!!

(For anyone who doesn't buy flour very often, 2kg of self-raising flour is 99c in tesco)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I’m one pancake away from a coronary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Wtf?

Wife reacted the same. Whatever way my ma used to make them they were more savoury than sweet and I prefer them like that now.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

F*ck it, I'm having more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Frank O. Pinion

Only from IHOP:

ihop.jpg

We need more pics. I’m not drooling in anticipation yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I have 2 of those "just add milk and shake before pouring" bottles at home that i'll be starting into later

(note to self: Need to get lemon and sugar on way home tonight)

Sardonicat wrote: »
    Three course meal. I applaud you.

And a pint of Guinness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

Help needed! (And I feel it's more AH help than the Food Forum)

So I made batter around 12:00.

250 gram flour
    600 ml milk
    2 eggs
    Pinch Salt

Mixed it up nice and smooth and put it in the fridge for later. Went down to look there and it has separated, a top foam and a liquid under layer. Now I mixed them back together but is this normal? I used an Odlum's recipe however I don't remember them being like this at home.

Am I still OK?

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,214 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

53152871_2232044770173014_8435082410885906432_n.jpg?_nc_cat=1&efg=eyJpIjoidCJ9&_nc_ht=scontent.fdub2-2.fna&oh=4299b55ad3cd3d05b0f3d8693fb83f92&oe=5CE12AA3

Photos, Feisar!

Sure slap it on the pan and if you don’t post back in the hour I’ll call 999.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

Photos, Feisar!

Sure slap it on the pan and if you don’t post back in the hour I’ll call 999.

Reincorporated it already, seems OK. I did try to take a pic of the viscosity but they didn't come out right.

First they came for the socialists...

Feisar wrote: »
    Help needed! (And I feel it's more AH help than the Food Forum)

So I made batter around 12:00.

250 gram flour
    600 ml milk
    2 eggs
    Pinch Salt

Mixed it up nice and smooth and put it in the fridge for later. Went down to look there and it has separated, a top foam and a liquid under layer. Now I mixed them back together but is this normal? I used an Odlum's recipe however I don't remember them being like this at home.

Am I still OK?

Yeah, that'll happen if the batter stands around for a while. That's basically the same recipe I've always used except mines from a 1950's Mrs Beeton, and it's always grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Add a little vinegar to your milk a little before prepping everything else, gives it that buttermilk texture. Separate the egg whites from the yokes and whisk them until they get bubbly (almost meringue stage), this helps with the fluffiness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

I can take them or leave them, but I had a few earlier in honour of the feast day of Saint Pancake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

Thick and fluffy with blueberries. Drizzled with maple syrup, fresh cream on the side.

474698.jpeg

I can take them or leave them, but I had a few earlier in honour of the feast day of Saint Pancake.

In France Saint Pancake is known as Sainte Crépes Suzette.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,512 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Had 8 in my parents at lunch

And another 5 there with the wife.

God I love pancakes, but I'm glad its only one day a year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

Simple recipe.

250g plain flour
    2 eggs
    600ml milk

Whisk all together, about half a ladle per pancake onto a hot pan with a few sprays of frylight/oil.

Love them thin with nutella!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Tonight thick fluffy buttermilk pancakes with maple syrup, butter and rashers.
    But I love them all equally.

Just home.

It’s batter making time :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

B0jangles wrote: »
    In France Saint Pancake is known as Sainte Crépes Suzette.

In parts of Ireland, today is known as Pancakeseseses Day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭alta stare

Had some with honeycomb icecream. Didnt think it would go together but yep it sure does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭mvl

oh, the constant love of pancakes in my family (more crepes than pancakes). few types we'd have more often:
    - sweet:
    there is the basic version with apricot jam (served either hot or cold - as I am mad enough to love cold pancakes !!) and the alaskan version, filled with icecream/berries, topped with cream and choc sauce.
    - savory:
    crepes filled with mushrooms/dill then deep fried, served with tomatoes sauce, or mexican polenta pancakes with tomatoes/avocado filling.

thin with golden syrup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

I think pancakes are awful. Too sweet and sickly.

Wouldn't eat one if you paid me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭ohfa6muwtsvkc1

Rikand wrote: »
    Had 8 in my parents at lunch

And another 5 there with the wife.

God I love pancakes, but I'm glad its only one day a year

If they were decent, you'd be having them year round.

The dog’s one
    E879695-B-E11-B-4-B77-8-BD0-70-F594-D6-B9-D0.jpg

My one
    34867431-0-B79-46-B4-89-E1-FCBA9-CF0-E635.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

God this Mardi Gras pancake stuff is mad. You can make pancakes any time you want, but I get the tradition!

Everyone is different, has different recipes, and rituals. I just hope you all enjoyed them and in the flipping over, none landed on the ceiling our your head or the countertop. I am a veteran of that! But it can be amusing.

For what it's worth I like thin pancakes. Lemon and sugar only. The way I was brought up.

murpho999 wrote: »
    I think pancakes are awful. Too sweet and sickly.

Wouldn't eat one if you paid me.

You're wrong, now get out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

You're wrong, now get out.

No I'm right I wouldn't one ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭nlrkjos

No dinner tonight, just pancakes ! half a dozen thick ones smothered in honey. had pancakes in the US a while back "blue corn " lovely...anyone know if this can be got here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭Big Words

No pancakes for me, I don’t want to be obese.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

If there was a pancake eating contest I’d definitely win the fcuker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Rosie Rant

I didn't burn or undercook the pancakes!! :D:D

Nothing beats, light fluffy ones with lemon, sugar and butter or ones with so much Nutella on them it oozes down your hand as you eat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Stacksofwacks

eating mine now with nutella, yum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

Big Words wrote: »
    No pancakes for me, I don’t want to be obese.

I had loads. It’s early days yet but so far... no obesity here.

It’s 23.08-how bleeding much longer do you intend eating pancakes? :P

• Site Banned Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭sk8erboii

eating mine now with nutella, yum

its nearly midnight lad