Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Nurse saves Dublin bus driver's life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭Infini

Luckily enough tho this will give her a bit of fame rather than anything negative, fair play to the girl for saving the guys life noone deserves to die like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Hello nurse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

Wonder how long before the Luas drivers go out on strike for similar treatment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,946 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

BENDYBINN wrote: »
    Too much make-up
    Would still bang

I must be getting old. I'd have to want to bang them without the make-up these days as well

• Registered Users Posts: 437 ✭✭The Rook

Jesus Christ lads, she saved a life, which is pretty much the peak of what you can do as a human being and the only things we can say are "Hello Nurse" , "Sexy Legend" "Would bang" , Wouldn't bang" ?

As a guy I can honestly say that it's a grim insight into the male psyche these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,519 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Maybe contact people through social media, but just scraping their pictures is a bit much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,012 ✭✭✭uch

I Like Cake

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

The Rook wrote: »
    Jesus Christ lads, she saved a life, which is pretty much the peak of what you can do as a human being and the only things we can say are "Hello Nurse" , "Sexy Legend" "Would bang" , Wouldn't bang" ?

As a guy I can honestly say that it's a grim insight into the male psyche these days.

Hear hear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

I don't know what a tracker mortgage is...

And yet people complain that there's no fun in AH these days...

Don't overthink it so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Well you're not getting invited to the party now.

A real hero. Well Done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,657 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Jesus Christ lads, she saved a life, which is pretty much the peak of what you can do as a human being

Not taking anything away from her but is it really the peak of what you can do as a human?

If she killed a scumbag, that might be more of a peak.

Also, and I don't mean to brag, but I was on Blackboard Jungle, which is pretty peaky.

But fair play to her all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I like girls....

Careful now.

Reign it in there buddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Careful now.

Reign it in there buddy

They all have lovely bottoms.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,967 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

And people were saying they didn't deserve more pay.

eagle eye wrote: »

Actually I think most people were supportive of their recent strike action from what I heard on the radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

Don't take this the wrong way however what's the big deal? Her and her colleagues are saving lives every day.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,325 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

To be fair... the hello nurse catchphrase was popularised by the Animaniacs.

tenor.gif

In the animaniacs the nurse is actually a genius with an IQ of 192. She also hates that people value her more for her looks than her intelligence.

So in this case, a self aware "hello Nurse" is actually apt since the woman is being valued for her looks more than her ability to save lives.

Although, again, to be fair... It probably wasn't self aware :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,534 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

If this incident impacts your view on that pay dispute, then you don't have a very solid basis to your opinions. Completely irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Well done to her. Im sure the man whose life she saved, and his family and friends are very relieved that she was on the bus, and not some idiots taking pics and vids of him dying.

MOD NOTE:

Please do not resort to personal insults to debate a point. Thanks.

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭tretorn

Cant she live the poor devil to recover. She says she wants to visit him but maybe he just wants his family, do you think she wants a photo of herself beside his hospital bed.

She had her five minutes of fame with Ryan the bore today and thats enough already.

its not about her, its about the poor man who almost died and the cyclist who managed to jump out of the way of the bus.

Im bored of this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 408 ✭✭SoundsRight

tretorn wrote: »
    Cant she live the poor devil to recover. She says she wants to visit him but maybe he just wants his family, do you think she wants a photo of herself beside his hospital bed.

She had her five minutes of fame with Ryan the bore today and thats enough already.

its not about her, its about the poor man who almost died and the cyclist who managed to jump out of the way of the bus.

Im bored of this.

You have a problem with her because she's fairly attractive? Focus on the other characters in this drama and ignore the glamourous heroine? I guess she should have just Rosa Park'd herself at the back of the bus.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,796 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

MOD

Thread reopened

Just deleted a load of distasteful and unnecessary comments, no more comments about her appearance please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Feisar wrote: »
    Don't take this the wrong way however what's the big deal? Her and her colleagues are saving lives every day.

I suppose the big deal is that she got on a bus, presumably to go to work (where her and her colleagues save lives every day), and ended up saving the driver's life. That's quite a big deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,589 ✭✭✭baldbear

Liam28 wrote: »
    A Mater nurse today saved a Dublin bus driver who has having a cardiac arrest, by giving him CPR.
    https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/hero-nurse-who-saved-bus-drivers-life-id-love-to-visit-him-i-want-to-have-that-memory-of-him-37880609.html

Wonder how the Indo, Mirror, and other sites got pictures of the nurse; they must have trawled her social media sites. I would not refuse CPR from her;)

Obviously Liam, as you would be unonscious you wountn't be in position to refuse CPR.

If they dont get paid more will they stand by and let people die in front of them instead of using the skills of their job?

Having basic human compassion and instincts is hardly a metric for being deserving of more money.

Liam28 wrote: »
    I would not refuse CPR from her;)

Nor would I. She could resuscitate me any day - especially a day when I was experiencing a catastrophic cardiac incident and required immediate medical intervention.

Phwoar, the medical qualifications on that.

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭Liam28

Yes, it is a big deal to save someone's life on O'Connell Bridge in Dublin city centre, as opposed to in a hospital ward or theatre, where this is an everyday occurrence. She also brought the bus to a stop, as she obviously recognised the signs of a cardiac attack, so potentially saved more lives. So well done Aoife.
    My point in the OP was just this. But also noted that the news sites took advantage of her looks, and trawled her social media sites to include 3 or 4 photos of her with the news report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

The OP makes an interesting point.
    That Indo article includes 3 photos of her from her social media accounts.

Do we honestly think if it were some balding 46 yr old IT worker who saved the man's life we'd see at least 3 pics of his up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

You are an absolute killjoy.
    Looking for some way to twist a compliment.
    Your twitter white knight score must be orbiting the sun after such a brave stance.

We all know she is a hero....that kinda a given.
    No harm commenting on her looks or anything else...

whiskeyman wrote: »
    The OP makes an interesting point.
    That Indo article includes 3 photos of her from her social media accounts.

Do we honestly think if it were some balding 46 yr old IT worker who saved the man's life we'd see at least 3 pics of his up?

Maybe not.
    But who wants a pic of balding IT worker...??

Attractive people are nice to look at....what so hard to understand with that....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭tretorn

If she was a fifty year old nurse with grey hair there would be no picture, there wouldnt even be a story and Tubs wouldnt be talking to her.
    She will hitch up with a consultant in a few years.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 408 ✭✭SoundsRight

If she was a fifty year old nurse with grey hair there would be no picture, there wouldnt even be a story and Tubs wouldnt be talking to her.

Newsflash: people like looking at pretty girls. Fair play to her.

• Registered Users Posts: 437 ✭✭The Rook

You are an absolute killjoy.
    Looking for some way to twist a compliment.
    Your twitter white knight score must be orbiting the sun after such a brave stance.

We all know she is a hero....that kinda a given.
    No harm commenting on her looks or anything else...

Now you’re trying to rationalise a toxic attitude with that age-old “it’s no harm”, “it’s a bit of fun” and “it’s a compliment” thing. They’re very poor comments and attitudes fullstop.

Nothing toxic about commenting on a forum that she is easy on the eye.
    You've lost perspective on reality with your "toxic" sh1te.

Save it for twitter or your article in "right-on weekly"

I would quite happily let her take a series of heavy compressions on my chest.

You've lost perspective on reality with your "toxic" sh1te.

Save it for twitter or your article in "right-on weekly"

Do us a favour and stop being so adversarial. If you have a point to make, and it looks like you do, do it without disrespecting your fellow posters.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 210 ✭✭Ted Johnson

Someone get this guy a qiillete razor!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

This pisses me off.

Let's me honest here, she did a great thing.

However she didn't win the WWE Heavyweight Championship which is in reality, the peak of what a human can do.

I don't know if that should be assumed, but the fact that she's young shouldn't be dismissed.

Too often, these days, we hear nonsensical garbage about millennials being insulated and incapable of assuming responsibility or positions of leadership. To my mind, the crux of this story is its contradiction of that narrative.

But it certainly has brought out its fair share of creepy comments. Making me wonder which generation is the least mature, here?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭DavidLyons_

For fcuk sake!!

What the girl did was absolutely heroic. Fantastic - she saved another human life. No question she should be lauded for it.

She is also an utter fox and there’s nothing wrong with noticing that.

Deary me, some women (and men) actually like receiving compliments.

Indeed.. It's actually a bit worrying that the right-on virtue-signalling / offence-finding everywhere stuff on Twitter and so on is so actively seeping into Irish life.

She did a great service and fair play to her for that, but you can be sure that if it was a handsome male doctor there'd be no outrage over some harmless comments about his looks - and rightly so I might add.

People really need to stop trying to point-score and getting wound up over every triviality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,409 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Jesus Christ lads, she saved a life, which is pretty much the peak of what you can do as a human being

Not taking anything away from her but is it really the peak of what you can do as a human?

If she killed a scumbag, that might be more of a peak.

Also, and I don't mean to brag, but I was on Blackboard Jungle, which is pretty peaky.

But fair play to her all the same.
    Did you take an Honours question? Did you get it right?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭DavidLyons_

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Indeed.. It's actually a bit worrying that the right-on virtue-signalling / offence-finding everywhere stuff on Twitter and so on is so actively seeping into Irish life.

She did a great service and fair play to her for that, but you can be sure that if it was a handsome male doctor there'd be no outrage over some harmless comments about his looks - and rightly so I might add.

People really need to stop trying to point-score and getting wound up over every triviality.
    100% correct. She’s a hero. A beautiful looking hero.

The joyless rush to slate the posters who noticed would make you despair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭TCM

Keyzer wrote:
    I don't know what a tracker mortgage is...

That's a bit outdated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭TCM

They all have lovely bottoms.....

Outrageous comment!

The joyless rush to slate the posters who noticed would make you despair.

I think the point is that based on her actions there are plenty of other adjectives that you could focus on, rather than boiling it down to ones focused on her appearance, which doesn't really have anything to do with her heroic deed.

Fair play to her. She had the skills to help and did. That's all any of us can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,295 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

She did great but driver saves nurse would make for a better headline on the lines of dog bites man is not news but man biting dog is.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)