Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Video of a fool in Limerick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭Comhrá

That's no excuse.

Agreed, it isn't, but I wouldn't be getting too outraged when someone with what looks like a low IQ behaves like this. Sometimes you have to take stupidity into account. Empty vessels make the most noise, so the saying goes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

Effects wrote: »
    Great proof. I'll file that away with the Momo Challenge so.

Well the video was posted here a few posts up, stop being a smart arse and go watch it if 2 articles, a Garda appeal about the video and the video itself aren't "proof" enough for you :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,049 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Great proof. I'll file that away with the Momo Challenge so.

I saw it yesterday on the itslimerick.ie Facebook page but not surprisingly it has been taken down. I ffor 1 who got 2 mins in before turning it on is glad it was not uploaded here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Stab*City

Comhra wrote: »
    Agreed, it isn't, but I wouldn't be getting too outraged when someone with what looks like a low IQ behaves like this. Sometimes you have to take stupidity into account. Empty vessels make the most noise, so the saying goes.

The reason i started this thread is because i meet this level of racism weekly in Limerick. Also alot of casual racism. And yes some of it is down to stupidity but some of it is also down to the way people here were brought up. Im a white male with black relatives. You wouldn't believe the amount of people who speak with racist tones about Africans, Pakistani, Inidan and just about any person who is not white to me not knowing that i have black relatives. I get it at work, in sport, in town the list goes on.. So just so you people dismissing this know its not just some dope up in Parnell st. And the more you people normalise this behaviour the longer it will go on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Who's normalising it? It was some dope up in Parnell St, but dope is a bit generous. It's not normal and I do hope he is called out on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Comhra wrote:
    If a third level student or similarly educated person made that video, then there would be good grounds for outrage and offence.

The creator of this video may very well be the type of individual you describe but adopting a fake accent to attempt a Rubberbandits type of spoof. This is not to say that particular duo have ever expressed such racist opinions in a similarly crass fashion. Quite the contrary but there are many who believe they actually hail from and reside in Moyross!!

Mc Love wrote: »
    Who's normalising it? It was some dope up in Parnell St, but dope is a bit generous. It's not normal and I do hope he is called out on it.

'Ah sher its grand just some dope'

• Registered Users Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭JamesBond2010

I have some foreign friends & they are nearly worse than some of the irish u mention cant be always blaming the irish.some of the other nationalities are just as bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Well the video was posted here a few posts up, stop being a smart arse and go watch it if 2 articles, a Garda appeal about the video and the video itself aren't "proof" enough for you :rolleyes:

So someone else provided the proof that was asked for, after your post. :rolleyes:
    Articles don't really mean much. :rolleyes:
    The Momo challenge was widely reported by the papers and the Gardaî but that didn't mean it was true. :rolleyes:
    Wise up sheeple. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭mitresize5

See the problem is 10 years ago these clowns would be sitting on a bar stool in some **** hole spouting that crap and no one would be any the wiser or listening to them

Now every clown has a mobile phone and access to the internet and thinks they have a platform or that their opinion matters.

The continual out pourings of the professionally outraged is nearly as bad mind you.

I have some foreign friends & they are nearly worse than some of the irish u mention cant be always blaming the irish.some of the other nationalities are just as bad.
    `
    Thanks for helping me make my point.. Yes i agree there is a lot of racism here and it comes from all corners.

So someone else provided the proof that was asked for, after your post. :rolleyes:
    Articles don't really mean much. :rolleyes:
    The Momo challenge was widely reported by the papers and the Gardaî but that didn't mean it was true. :rolleyes:
    Wise up sheeple. :rolleyes:

Are you trying to say the video isn't real? What are you getting at. Yes we know that proof of the video was not supplied. This was due to the nature of the language in the video. It was purposely left out as to not cause offence. Anyone with any kind of internet knowledge would very quickly and easily be about to find it. We are very sorry you couldn't.

mitresize5 wrote: »
    See the problem is 10 years ago these clowns would be sitting on a bar stool in some **** hole spouting that crap and no one would be any the wiser or listening to them

Now every clown has a mobile phone and access to the internet and thinks they have a platform or that their opinion matters.

The continual out pourings of the professionally outraged is nearly as bad mind you.

I'm not professionally outraged. I just don't like people calling my family NI**ERS. What's also fairly annoying is the continual outpouring of
    the keyboard warriors who think they are right about everything and that their opinion matters.

Stab*City wrote: »
    `
    Thanks for helping me make my point.. Yes i agree there is a lot of racism here and it comes from all corners.

Then u have the crowd who you cant say anything to Or if u have a disagreement with them or they dont agree with what your are saying they call you a racist. They use the race card then Too many people using that card, you dont know who is genuine then & who isnt.

Yes i accept there are people like that. But this video is way beyond that. These are people walking down the street openly engaged in hate speech towards people of colour i just don't think thats good in the land of a thousand welcomes. If it was a black man screaming these types of things about us Limerick people there would be outrage.

I know i saw it it was on limerick now or limerick something before it was removed. i was just saying they are not all angels.Its all races that are @ it.

I know i saw it it was on limerick now or limerick something before it was removed. i was just saying they are not all angels.Its all colours that are @ it.

Very true.

• Registered Users Posts: 419 ✭✭Tacklebox

Limerick ciddy kiiidd

Back in the 80's and 90's Limerick citty lads used to call us Shannon lads IRA and nordie Bstrds...

It was a rough place, playing pool in the Savoy and some scobes passing political and sectarian abuse.

It's not the city just some of the non educated delinquency which you'll get in every city town and country cross roads in the country.

Limerick has a huge diversity of cultures and from observation everyone gets on with it, there's no tension.

Actually there's one thing about Limerick back then the neds used to give students a right hard time.

Whereas Cork Dublin and Galway were University Cities and you didn't have the scobes hassling students.

Half of the people I knew in UCC were norries anyhow and it was normal to have at least one sibling in College, whether you were from Knocknaheeny, Togher, Ballypheane or Blackpool...

Whereas in Limerick back then it wasn't cool to go to school....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/man-due-in-court-as-part-of-investigation-into-video-showing-racial-abuse-in-limerick-909633.html
    Man due in court as part of investigation into video showing racial abuse in Limerick
    Friday, March 08, 2019 - 10:48 AM
    By David Raleigh

A man is due to appear in court this morning as part of a garda investigation into a video recording that appeared to show two men racially abusing members of the public.

The man, aged in his 40s, was arrested yesterday evening and detained for questioning at Roxboro Road garda station in Limerick city.
    The man, who has an address in the city, is due to appear before Limerick District Court later this morning.

According to a garda source, the investigation is ongoing and investigating officers are anxious to speak to anyone with information about the video, which went viral last Wednesday.

It was taken down from the Facebook page where it is thought to have originally been posted, however, it is still believed to be available on social media.

Gardaí have this morning again urged any victims of racial abuse to make contact with them.

Reiterating an appeal for information, a garda spokesman said: “An Garda Síochána became aware of a video on March 6 which appeared to show two men walking on Parnell St, Co Limerick whilst racially abusing members of the public.

“If any member of the public has been a victim of this, or indeed any type of racial abuse, we would urge them to contact their local Garda Station.

“We would also appeal to anyone who has any information on the men who may have recorded the video, to contact Roxboro Road Garda Station on (061) 214 340,” they added.

Wasn't there a woman in Limerick on a train last year or the year before shouting racist remarks at somebody?

Tacklebox wrote: »
    Limerick ciddy kiiidd

Back in the 80's and 90's Limerick citty lads used to call us Shannon lads IRA and nordie Bstrds...

It was a rough place, playing pool in the Savoy and some scobes passing political and sectarian abuse.

It's not the city just some of the non educated delinquency which you'll get in every city town and country cross roads in the country.

Limerick has a huge diversity of cultures and from observation everyone gets on with it, there's no tension.

Actually there's one thing about Limerick back then the neds used to give students a right hard time.

Whereas Cork Dublin and Galway were University Cities and you didn't have the scobes hassling students.

Half of the people I knew in UCC were norries anyhow and it was normal to have at least one sibling in College, whether you were from Knocknaheeny, Togher, Ballypheane or Blackpool...

Whereas in Limerick back then it wasn't cool to go to school....

While all that may be true i don't accept this as the only reason. As i said before I've heard it without people knowing i was listening for it from very educated people from nice parts of Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Suckit wrote: »
    ...Wasn't there a woman in Limerick on a train last year or the year before shouting racist remarks at somebody?

That was last year. Well, she got on the Dublin train at Colbert, she's probably from Limerick. She was merrily telling a group of Asians to, and I quote, "fuck off back to India"! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 419 ✭✭Tacklebox

jimgoose wrote: »
    That was last year. Well, she got on the Dublin train at Colbert, she's probably from Limerick. She was merrily telling a group of Asians to, and I quote, "fuck off back to India"! :pac:

I just seen it on YouTube, she was visiting a dying friend supposedly and was having a bad day.

Id say she wasn't well on that particular day, probably a bit under the weather and anybody was a target.

Listening to her, she sounded a bit unhinged and not capable of thinking before she spouts off 😂

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 473 ✭✭Pissartist

Comhra wrote: »
    Having listened to the video, it's obvious the person who recorded it isn't on the upper end of the IQ spectrum.

I think it's an over reaction to a pathetic piece of mischief. A bit like being outraged at something the Village Idiot said or did.

If a third level student or similarly educated person made that video, then there would be good grounds for outrage and offence.

wow how elitist of you.
    Have a look at the number of views the clip has gotten,
    i'm not defending it, but alot of people think it's funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭Fusitive

What do you want people to do here OP?

You come bursting through the doors here with a piece and give it tabloid headline for dramatic effect calling the city racist. Do you want people to condemn for the sake of it to make you happy but just leave out the fact that you are labelling the whole city as racist?

The guy is an idiot and he's getting dealt with by the cops. What else do you want people to do and why? Will we go out and wag the finger at everyone in the city and pull a masterful Derren Brown type mind control trick to change their vocal beliefs? Would that work.

We all can't take responsibility for the beliefs of others and their actions. Is it normalising something to not take responsibility of some idiot we never met before? Does the whole city have to take responsibility for his actions and generate a sensationlist headline like the one you created?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,337 ✭✭✭✭phog

Fusitive wrote: »

You come bursting through the doors here with a piece and give it tabloid headline for dramatic effect calling the city racist. Do you want people to condemn for the sake of it to make you happy but just leave out the fact that you are labelling the whole city as racist?

The guy is an idiot and he's getting dealt with by the cops. What else do you want people to do and why? Will we go out and wag the finger at everyone in the city and pull a masterful Derren Brown type mind control trick to change their vocal beliefs? Would that work.

We all can't take responsibility for the beliefs of others and their actions. Is it normalising something to not take responsibility of some idiot we never met before? Does the whole city have to take responsibility for his actions and generate a sensationlist headline like the one you created?

Great first post - well done.

Fusitive wrote: »

I wanted to raise awareness of a certain video doing the rounds online. What do any of these threads hope to achieve?

Tabloid headline? Don't think so. If it said Rugby Limerick and the thread was about Munster would that be ok? The thread is about Racism in Limerick thats why its called Racist limerick. Of course the whole city isn't racist and the fact that your trying to make the title something its not is a stretch. Anyway ill change the thread title.

No its normalising something to say things like:

"Just Limerick things I suppose"
    "Some clown trying to amuse his pals"
    "Relatively harmless arsehole makes nuisance of self in Limerick Cit-AAAH. NATO informed. Film at 11"
    "I'm laughing at you, starting a thread about some gowl in Limerick roaring at foreigners."

Am i asking you to take personally to take responsibility for anything? No. So its all about the headline is it? Is that why you joined up you are the one who burst through the doors ive been here a while. Ill change it and away you go again...

MODS CAN WE CHANGE THE TITLE TO SOMETHING LIKE RACISM IN LIMERICK ALTHOUGH I CANT BELIEVE THE THREAD TITLE CAUSES MORE OUTRAGE THAN THE VIDEO ITSELF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I wanted to raise awareness of a certain video doing the rounds online. What do any of these threads hope to achieve?

Tabloid headline? Don't think so. If it said Rugby Limerick and the thread was about Munster would that be ok? The thread is about Racism in Limerick thats why its called Racist limerick...

If the thread was about racism in Limerick then one would reasonably expect the thread title to be "Racism in Limerick". If, on the other hand, the purpose of the thread was to express the view that Limerick is an inherently racist place, which it isn't, then a thread title like "Racist Limerick" would suit admirably. And I still think this bollocks in the video is getting more air-time than he merits.

jimgoose wrote: »
    If the thread was about racism in Limerick then one would reasonably expect the thread title to be "Racism in Limerick". If, on the other hand, the purpose of the thread was to express the view that Limerick is an inherently racist place, which it isn't, then a thread title like "Racist Limerick" would suit admirably. And I still think this bollocks in the video is getting more air-time than he merits.

:rolleyes::o

Please change the thread title Mods as I cant. Yes the video probably is but the thinking behind it isn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 768 ✭✭✭damowill

The reason i started this thread is because i meet this level of racism weekly in Limerick. Also alot of casual racism. And yes some of it is down to stupidity but some of it is also down to the way people here were brought up. Im a white male with black relatives. You wouldn't believe the amount of people who speak with racist tones about Africans, Pakistani, Inidan and just about any person who is not white to me not knowing that i have black relatives. I get it at work, in sport, in town the list goes on.. So just so you people dismissing this know its not just some dope up in Parnell st. And the more you people normalise this behaviour the longer it will go on.

You are the one that is normalising and dismissing this behaviour with people you socialise with, by allowing so called friends or colleagues to get away with speaking this way....

but hey... instead you have started a thread... good man