Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Near Misses Volume 2 (So close you can feel it)

1878889909193»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭Ferris

Forget his apologies, report him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

That's mad.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,552 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Report them, it'll make them think twice next time.
    They only apologised because you confronted them, thats not enough for them to think twice next time.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,688 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

if he'd apologised straight off the bat, it'd have been one thing. the fact that he'd claimed he'd done nothing wrong proves he needs to learn a tougher lesson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭Gaz

Unfortunately my light is reflecting off his reg plate and despite my best efforts (frame by frame), I cannot get a clear shot of his number.

Looks like 142-WW-1308 but thats a Citreon Picasso when I do a reg check.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭CoffeeImpala

That looks like a 6 at the end rather than an 8.

Checking that reg gives a black Mercedes c class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭Gaz

Yes! Thanks … it was a Black Merc alright. Off to the Guards I go.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,337 ✭✭✭standardg60

I felt that one myself just watching it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭tnegun

Cyclist down at the Dunboyne/Leixlip road junction in Maynooth this afternoon. I hope all is ok they closed the road for a period and were waiting for an ambulance. It's a mess of a junction, and one I regularly get grief for not being in the cycle lane. I don't use it due to the bus stop being located in the middle of it, the loss of priority when rejoining the road, and the rejoin itself being unsafe. Even when you rejoin, you're liable to have traffic cut you up or turn across your path. A minor enough incident for me this week at the same junction it's worse travelling in the opposite direction. Anyway it prompted me to pull all the crap passes/driving from this week to send to our local reps to highlight the poor driving around Maynooth in general. Ex1, Ex2, Ex3, Ex4, Ex5 this is everyday now and tyically I pass them sitting in traffic in Maynooth a few minutes later making it even more pointless!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Finally got time to deal with this and I'm just back from Leixlip garda station to get it down on paper. However, the garda who came out to me started by telling me how it happened over the border in the Naas district and they'd be dealing with it, etc. etc. etc.
    He pretty much told me that he had no more interest in it than the man on the moon - a feckin waste of my time. 🤬

Quoting your question from the "Meanwhile on the roads thread" but see my comment above!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,031 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Bloody cyclist!!!!

Feckin just coming home while ago a secondary school kid came flying out in front of me. He was booting it off a cyclist/pedestrian walkway and bridge. I was only dawdling cos there's loads of kids and buggies coming home from school at that time. He slammed into my front wheel and then bopped me in the head. Gave me a right shock. Only realised after when he'd gone and mumbled sorry that my front wheel was buckled by him.

Grrr. The icing on what was already a sh1t day :(

That on the beater?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,031 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Yeah. Swopped a mavic on to it this morning that has quadrupled the value of the bike 😁

So, up to a ton with the Mavic on…🤔

Checking sofa.

Usual crap on the way home this evening, several have been close but this is the first time some one hit the island passing me. Am in two minds about these when I caught up to the bus he saw nothing wrong with this pass and this one was a combination of speed and distance pretty much par for the course on this stretch I can't wait for the Greenway works to complete as the stretch between Maynooth and Leixlip is the worst for me on a 22km commute.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,688 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i was passed by a dublin bus on south parallel road today (i.e. along the runway at dublin airport). the fact that he'd pulled out quite far was marred a bit by the fact that he pulled in early, meaning the arse of the bus came within less than a metre of me.

Drivers being unable to judge the combination of your speed, their speed, and the length of their vehicle is one of the contributors to these passes. I tried to explain to the Kavanagh's driver that the rear had come too close, but he was having none of it, saying he'd been driving for years and the fact I was standing there talking to him was proof that there was nothing wrong with the pass.

ah, the old 'it doesn't matter if i throw a punch at you if i miss' excuse.