Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

I'm not going to beat about the bush any longer, I'm just going to come out and say it - there were two Mayo players and they were dressed immodestly outside the basilica last Sunday.

Wearing Rossie jerseys 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭Squatman

Ask someone connected to GAA at home. You won't get anyone to say publicly on here.

will you send me a PM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭HBC08

Could someone pm me too please.
    I'm in Mayo and haven't heard this and neither have my friends I've asked.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Ok, Curiosity has got the better of me , can someone please pm me . Thanks in advance .

• Registered Users Posts: 338 ✭✭dodo mommy

I would appreciate a pm as well please, I have spoken to a few yesterday and nobody seems to have have the facts.

Ask someone at home about the lad from last year. The dogs on the street know who he is and the story but the name has never been mentioned on here.
    what did the lad from last year do that was so bad ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,345 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

mayo.mick wrote: »
    EOaIG83XkAIUHdx?format=jpg&name=small

For €125, I'd expect to be named on the bench for a league game in February.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,256 ✭✭✭✭km79

PARlance wrote: »
    For €125, I'd expect to be named on the bench for a league game in February.

Me too
    Horan wouldn’t pick me though ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,481 ✭✭✭MfMan

blinding wrote: »
    Ok, Curiosity has got the better of me , can someone please pm me . Thanks in advance .

If it's what I heard it was, I've heard a lot of similar rumours concerning (very) high profile (young) players from other counties also. Way society seems to be going. Maybe very recent developments up east will concentrate young and not-so-young minds going forward.

MfMan wrote: »
    If it's what I heard it was, I've heard a lot of similar rumours concerning (very) high profile (young) players from other counties also. Way society seems to be going. Maybe very recent developments up east will concentrate young and not-so-young minds going forward.

You'd just think after what happened to the lad last year that others would have seen the line that Horan took and wouldn't be so silly in the decisions they take.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Mod: No discussing personal rumours here.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

seligehgit wrote: »
    Under 20s are out on Saturday at 14.00 against Donegal in Mac Hale Park.

A place in Leo Murphy Cup final at stake.

Sincerest apologies that match appears to be on in Bekan!

• Registered Users Posts: 684 ✭✭✭eastmayo

Sincerest apologies that match appears to be on in Bekan!

Ended in a draw but good enough for mayo as we trow to final next weekend v Louth.

eastmayo wrote: »
    Ended in a draw but good enough for mayo as we trow to final next weekend v Louth.

Thanks a million

Only caught it on Facebook at the last moment re the change of venue

Was all ready to head up to Mac Hale Park

David Coldrick is the man in the middle for our opening league match.

Mayo News Podcast

Good interview with Rochy.

It sounds like the advanced mark will be a nightmare to officiate.

Rob on the money re our issues with holding a lead.

No harm to see the FBD team having another run out.

It's going to be a massive ask to get anything in Ballybofey.

https://themayonews.podomatic.com/enclosure/2020-01-21T12_13_58-08_00.mp3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,354 ✭✭✭naughto

naughto wrote: »

Great stuff Naughto!

Really liking the look of that team.

1. David Clarke - Ballina Stepenites
    2. Oisin Mullin - Kilmaine
    3. Brendan Harrison - Aghamore
    4. Colm Boyle - Davitts
    5. Padraig O'Hora - Ballina Stephenites
    6. Stephen Coen - Hollymount/Carramore
    7. Patrick Durcan - Castlebar Mitchels(C)
    8. Tom Parsons - Charlestown
    9. Jordan Flynn - Crossmolina Deel Rovers
    10. Bryan Walsh - Ballintubber
    11. Diarmuid O'Connor - Ballintubber
    12. Fergal Boland - Aghamore
    13. Ryan O'Donoghue - Belmullet
    14. Brian Reape - Bohola Moy Davitts
    15. James Carr - Ardagh

Great to see young Mullin,O Hora,Flynn,Walsh,Carr and O Donoghue togging out.

Great stuff Naughto!

Really liking the look of that team.

1. David Clarke - Ballina Stepenites
    2. Oisin Mullin - Kilmaine
    3. Brendan Harrison - Aghamore
    4. Colm Boyle - Davitts
    5. Padraig O'Hora - Ballina Stephenites
    6. Stephen Coen - Hollymount/Carramore
    7. Patrick Durcan - Castlebar Mitchels(C)
    8. Tom Parsons - Charlestown
    9. Jordan Flynn - Crossmolina Deel Rovers
    10. Bryan Walsh - Ballintubber
    11. Diarmuid O'Connor - Ballintubber
    12. Fergal Boland - Aghamore
    13. Ryan O'Donoghue - Belmullet
    14. Brian Reape - Bohola Moy Davitts
    15. James Carr - Ardagh

Great to see young Mullin,O Hora,Flynn,Walsh,Carr and O Donoghue togging out.

It’s a nice mix
    The future doesn’t look so bleak after all
    Bar when clarke retires ;)

Hope Fionn is on the bench . Odd that there is no talk whatsoever about him though

km79 wrote: »

Hope Fionn is on the bench . Odd that there is no talk whatsoever about him though

Will it just be like last year where we all knew but it was never really acknowledged?

They are entitled to a private life but Horan is also entitled to define the qualities and discipline he wants from his squad memories and drop players is he so chooses.

Will it just be like last year where we all knew but it was never really acknowledged?

They are entitled to a private life but Horan is also entitled to define the qualities and discipline he wants from his squad memories and drop players is he so chooses.

I'd imagine so and same is nothing but admirable.

We've no God given right to know about matters relating to a player's private life unless it becomes public knowledge out of necessity.

Different scenario
    He was one of our best players last year for part of the year
    Questions will be asked by National media if not local

Different scenario
    He was one of our best players last year for part of the year
    Questions will be asked by National media if not local

My attitude to that is that a certain high profile Dublin footballer got a pretty easy ride from the media. Once the fire isn't fed then the smoke clears and they can work their way back if that is the route they want to take. The Con-Tel would be the one to push things locally.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

I'm happy with that team. The forward line looks exciting, at least on paper.

Also good to see O'Hora and Mullins in there. Flynn has a lot of promise as well.

Huge credit to Tom Parsons for making it back. It must have taken serious balls and hard graft to make it back starting competitive games for us. Fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Word on the street is that there's an Aussie Rules contract on the table for Oisìn Mullin if he wants it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

I'd imagine so and same is nothing but admirable.

We've no God given right to know about matters relating to a player's private life unless it becomes public knowledge out of necessity.

This is true but in reality they are going to be spoken about and as such its hard for them to keep a private life or the private issues from becoming public.
    This is very disappointing if true and I hope it is just a rumour. Kids look up to these guys and I know from my own gang. I would be seriously pissed with him if I was Horan and everybody needs to understand boundaries. Horan is one man to put manners on this kind of stuff i'd imagine.

• Registered Users Posts: 162 ✭✭mayo londoner

Really happy with that team, delighted Reape is getting another chance, thought he was hard done by last season and is a bit like Alan Freeman in the sense that he’s a pure confidence player and needs a few games in a row. Boland has been going in stops and starts, needs to nail down a jersey this season but I’m a huge fan of his. Hopefully O’Donoghue can add something to the mix. Hard to see Coen playing after Sigerson, like to see McCormack thrown in with a full back line of:

Harrison-McCormack-O’Hora
    Durcan-Boyle-Mullin

Durcan and Mullin have pace to burn and will bomb on and cause problems on the overlap no doubt. Be great to get at least another two steady defence options out of O’Hora/Mullin and McCormack. Reports in Mayo News that Carr had picked up a knock so potentially a chance for Boylan. would be a massive boost for the year if the lads could grind out a result with this starting 15, can’t wait!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,734 ✭✭✭muddle84

I heard today that Ruane is having surgery on his shoulder and will miss all the league. Is there any truth to that? Really hope its not true, he would be a massive loss for the league!

• Registered Users Posts: 697 ✭✭✭glack

muddle84 wrote: »
    I heard today that Ruane is having surgery on his shoulder and will miss all the league. Is there any truth to that? Really hope its not true, he would be a massive loss for the league!

Huge loss if true but is it not better to sort out the shoulder properly now rather than risk it for championship?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

Why in the name of Christ was Ruane not getting the shoulder sorted over the winter instead of attending those trials in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Making my 'debut' :cool: in Ballybofey this weekend, any advice for parking? Will be heading to Letterkenny for the night straight afterwrads

Can't even vaguely remember where I parked last time out.

The road into Ballybofey.:D

I'm sure if you threw a post up on the Donegal thread Charlie14 and other posters would help you out.

I did same before Christmas when the fixtures came out.

• Registered Users Posts: 816 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

Does anyone know what capacity the stand has? Trying to figure out how early you'd need to be there to get a seat.

RedDevil55 wrote: »
    Does anyone know what capacity the stand has? Trying to figure out how early you'd need to be there to get a seat.

Not sure but I was there a good hour and half before the last game and got a seat with relative ease.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

RedDevil55 wrote: »

We'e not great for turning up early. I think the stand is about 5k but that's could be wrong.

You should be fine for getting in 30/45 mins before with it getting tighter then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

LetterKenny is the far side. Ballybofey is kinda two towns in one. Head up past the pitch and park up where you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

If your're heading for Letterkenny after, park up the far side of Ballybofey, over the bridge in Stranorler.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,214 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Mayo Mick is spot on. Drive through Ballybofey and go over the bridge crossing the river and you are in Starnorlar. Park up anywhere and walk back over the bridge and the pitch is on your right. You can turn down there to the terraces or come on up Ballybofey and you will see an alleyway that will take you to the stand side.
    Mind yourself in Letterkenny. I haven`t socialised there for a good few years, but it could be lively back in the day on a Saturday night.

Dispute with the Foundation has been sorted. Joint statement released.

http://twitter.com/newportmayo1951/status/1220828464523239424

Jesus he is some dose
    Was he not behind the team for the FBD so :D

Now I wonder will he unblock those of us who dared to not agree with everything he did or said on twitter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

After the p.e rumours that have dogged this squad for a while, you'd be thinking mayo gaa would be wanting to get ahead of this one, which serious as it is, is probably minor in the scheme of open secrets

Bench for tonight

Rob Hennelly
    James Stretton
    David Kenny
    Michael Plunkett
    Aidan O Shea
    Tommy Conroy
    Conor Loftus
    James Durcan
    Kevin Mc Loughlin
    James Mc Cormack
    Keith Higgins

Bench for tonight

Rob Hennelly
    James Stretton
    David Kenny
    Michael Plunkett
    Aidan O Shea
    Tommy Conroy
    Conor Loftus
    James Durcan
    Kevin Mc Loughlin
    James Mc Cormack
    Keith Higgins

Is this confirmed or based on Ah Ref tweet where he speculated this might be the bench?
    Would be amazed if AOS is togged!
    No Fionn so.............
    Is Eoin O Donoghue still person non gratis or injured?

Is this confirmed or based on Ah Ref tweet where he speculated this might be the bench?
    Would be amazed if AOS is togged!
    No Fionn so.............
    Is Eoin O Donoghue still person non gratis or injured?

Sorry it's based on ah ref's tweet.

Presumed it was confirmed.

Indeed I'm sure Aidan is fatigued post his travels to Vietnam.

I didn't hear Eoin O Donoghue was injured.

He togged out in UCG's Sigerson Cup loss.

He'd a damn fine game by all accounts.

I only saw the latter stages of same post the our FBD loss.

I sincerely hope you're incorrect in your assumption but he really hasn't got anything near enough game time thus far.

IMO he should be starting at corner back day in day day out.

Sorry it's based on ah ref's tweet.

Presumed it was confirmed.

Indeed I'm sure Aidan is fatigued post his travels to Vietnam.

I didn't hear Eoin O Donoghue was injured.

He togged out in UCG's Sigerson Cup loss.

He'd a damn fine game by all accounts.

I only saw the latter stages of same post the our FBD loss.

I sincerely hope you're incorrect in your assumption but he really hasn't got anything near enough game time thus far.

IMO he should be starting at corner back day in day day out.
    I agree but he hasn’t been
    Horan DEFO took a bizarre set on him

Don’t think that bench is confirmed

Bench for tonight

Rob Hennelly
    James Stretton
    David Kenny
    Michael Plunkett
    Aidan O Shea
    Tommy Conroy
    Conor Loftus
    James Durcan
    Kevin Mc Loughlin
    James Mc Cormack
    Keith Higgins

This was correct
    Astonished AOS is there
    Looks like Fionn is gone. Huge blow imo
    And where is Eoin O D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭blockfighter

Very poor organisation at the pitch. Half an hour before throw in and nobody at turnstiles to scan season tickets. Scanners not working properly when they did show up. Stand closed despite not being full. Garda picking and choosing who he lets into the stand when there aren't many near him at the gate. Plenty of angry fans from both sides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,857 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Another cracker of a goal for James Carr!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

That should've been a free in to Mayo. Player pulled back while on the ground.