Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Sh*te your co-workers say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Jaysus, what a wreck-the-head :eek:

I'd be curious to know what kind of employer would look at that profile and think "this is the guy we're after".

The video should be a major red flag. Sounds like someone who would end up being really difficult to put up with.

Thats the thing, I mean the guy was good at what he did and was allright to go for a coffee with (*occasionally*), but he was too much, he'd always be giving presentations and was just too motivated, like he grew up with Steve Ballmer or in an American corporate head office..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

mfceiling wrote: »
    I had to come off LinkedIn for that reason. People fishing for likes. It was like a new facebook. Not for me.

Its pretty much facebook for recruitment agencies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

I can handle a lot of the sh!te on LinkedIn, but when someone starts humble bragging about doing some charity work through their office for Habitat for Humanity or whatever, I literally want to punch them in the face. Usually involves a photo them wearing a t-shirt supporting said charity along with some big shot in the company

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Scoundrel

The most annoying thing at the moment has to be enduring the latest goss in the canteen about the various talentless spunk stains on love island

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Dawido

I hate when people in the office talking to me like I am a router i.e.
    - Do you have bandwidth?
    - Can you ping him/her

Fuk sake

• Registered Users Posts: 2,544 ✭✭✭Seanachai

Probably the kind of lad who takes the guitar out, totally uninvited, at house parties and regales everyone with f*ckin Wonderwall.

Or the hotel lobby at a wedding :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,448 ✭✭✭evil_seed

I can handle a lot of the sh!te on LinkedIn, but when someone starts humble bragging about doing some charity work through their office for Habitat for Humanity or whatever, I literally want to punch them in the face. Usually involves a photo them wearing a t-shirt supporting said charity along with some big shot in the company

it's standard advertising for the company nowadays. look how great and charitable we are*

*disclaimer: I've worn these tshirts and been on linkedin wearing them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

I have the girl who goes into way too much details when taking calls.

If they're looking to speak to someone and they're not in the office you don't have to give a detailed account of why they're not there and when you think they'll be back ( because you don't know !!) and then the silly little girlie giggle at the end of call doesn't help

She also talks about the most irrelevant and stupid things . when you're dealing with someone she has to interrupt and take over the conversation.
    F**k off and do your own work .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Its not something that is said but....smileys in work emails. No, no, no.

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭Monkey2019

My manager ( a lady in her early 60's) told me she used to have her nipples pierced.

Cue awkward silence and staring at the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭kg703

Its not something that is said but....smileys in work emails. No, no, no.

Guilty!

Love a smiley, it makes my email giving out look so much more pleasant :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Dr Strange

Monkey2019 wrote: »
    My manager ( a lady in her early 60's) told me she used to have her nipples pierced.

Cue awkward silence and staring at the ground.

Was that where here nipples were?

Dr Strange wrote: »
    Was that where here nipples were?

Well she is in her 60's....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

kg703 wrote: »
    Guilty!

Away with you!

Kind Regards,

Deebles :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

"You'd all be dead now if it wasn’t for my David!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,953 ✭✭✭6541

In a meeting today and a chap said if you redesign that Powerpoint slide you will get a cockpit view - I do not work in the aviation industry.

• Site Banned Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Balanadan

kg703 wrote: »
    Guilty!

My secretaries, Mandy and Candy, always brighten up my day with their use of smilies in emails :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

The State of Linkedin on Twitter is a brilliant account, if you're on that platform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭Stephen Gawking

In my job i was shocked to discover just how many supreme court justices, economists, medical experts, football managers, chefs, connoisseurs, movie stars, musicians etc i work with because apparently some people in my job know everything about everything.

My manager is the worst for this. She is an expert on EVERYTHING. Cant have a simple conversation. Mention how my toddler always seems to wake super early when I have a busy day ahead...cue a lecture on child psychology and how kids in tribes have certain senses to continue the human existence....

*soul drains from body

• Registered Users Posts: 904 ✭✭✭pure.conya

B*tches about the economy, government, state of the country......does not vote.

ya cos THE VOTE changes everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

pure.conya wrote:
    ya cos THE VOTE changes everything

It literally does....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

It literally does....

It can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭Nikki Sixx

Balanadan wrote: »
    My secretaries, Mandy and Candy, always brighten up my day with their use of smilies in emails :)

Do you work in a strip club?!;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,833 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

The fûcker that every Monday, asks you how your weekend was, not because they want to know, not because they give a shît but because they want to regale you with THEIR weekend. They will listen to you for about 60 seconds, smiling and nodding furiously before cutting you off and interjecting with everything from the journey home - Q at the chipper - brothers flat tire - sisters flat white (asked for a cappuccino) - the squeaky chairs in the pub - the price of tickets to the circus (they didn’t invite the nephew after all)... hellos can be and are dangerous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Reviews and Books Galore

Yeah, I once had a competitive Maltese guy give me advice about doing my job while I was wait waiting for the toilet while he was mid flow at the urinal. Head tilted back and a rather deep amount t of eye contact.

I was in a strange mixture of awe, and shock.

Man, I'm excited to work outside the house again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭seagull

Living the dream, 1 bloke I work with that's his tag line

Ask him if it's the one where he's shagging a goat while wearing his wife's clothes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

My workmate tells me about her weekend, her mothers weekend and her sisters weekend .

I DONT CARE !. I see enough of you Monday to Friday without having details of your days off.... and I mean details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,826 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Next time someone asks how your weekend was, stop what your doing look them dead in the eye.. Pause for effect... And exclaim "How dare you, You SCOUNDREL!" (bang a mug off the table for dramatic effect as you say it.) then walk away.

Guaranteed they won't ask you again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

My manager is the worst for this. She is an expert on EVERYTHING. Cant have a simple conversation. Mention how my toddler always seems to wake super early when I have a busy day ahead...cue a lecture on child psychology and how kids in tribes have certain senses to continue the human existence....

*soul drains from body

There was a lad in my old team, bit of a know it all and a strange fella. Found out from someone at his previous company they called him "Two Shítes". If you came back from the loo saying you'd had a decent one, he'd jump saying he'd had two this morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Scoundrel

Panthro wrote: »
    Next time someone asks how your weekend was, stop what your doing look them dead in the eye.. Pause for effect... And exclaim "How dare you, You SCOUNDREL!" (bang a mug off the table for dramatic effect as you say it.) then walk away.

Guaranteed they won't ask you again.

How was your weekend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,826 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Scoundrel wrote: »
    How was your weekend?

Bahahahahaaaa!!!!

Well played sir/mam, well played!
    I doff my imaginary hat to you.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,544 ✭✭✭Seanachai

Strumms wrote: »
    The fûcker that every Monday, asks you how your weekend was, not because they want to know, not because they give a shît but because they want to regale you with THEIR weekend. They will listen to you for about 60 seconds, smiling and nodding furiously before cutting you off and interjecting with everything from the journey home - Q at the chipper - brothers flat tire - sisters flat white (asked for a cappuccino) - the squeaky chairs in the pub - the price of tickets to the circus (they didn’t invite the nephew after all)... hellos can be and are dangerous.

Next time it happens ask them if they want a hug and then give them a solid embrace and just whisper in their ear, 'You're lonely aren't you!', then start singing a Native American lullaby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

"We will take this offline"
    Typically said during a meeting which includes people not relevant to the particular conversation, and usually said by somebody who would rather speak in private to get his or her way.

"From my understanding"
    I thought it meant X and now you are telling me it means Y, I think you are wrong,:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,833 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Seanachai wrote: »
    Next time it happens ask them if they want a hug and then give them a solid embrace and just whisper in their ear, 'You're lonely aren't you!', then start singing a Native American lullaby.

Start singing say hello, wave goodbye... mine in work....

“Then the wheel came off the fûckin buggy and with my bad back I’m told by the missus to carry little Oisin and fèck all wrong with her bar the gout and ingrown toenails i was fit for the scrapheap sure after”

AGAIN, all I said was ‘hello’, I dropped the ‘how was your weekend’ for the above reason months ago.

its 9/11 so its a day of hearing the stories of where everyine was when it happened that get rehashed every year :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

its 9/11 so its a day of hearing the stories of where everyine was when it happened that get rehashed every year :D

No it's 11/9, stupid yanks.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 557 ✭✭✭IrishAlice

Person who sits across from me rings a family member every day and starts the call with "helloooo, hi, how are you?"

Every. Single.Time

I know exactly what my manager is going to say at the exact times every day.
    She is late every morning "oh im cutting it fine this morning"
    Tea Break : "oh is that the time already, the day is getting away from me"
    Lunch time: "oh my god i nearly forgot to go on my lunch"
    Gets near home time "i know i was late today but id really like to get out of here early".

This is every day...EVERY goddamn day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Solution is the latest noun that is now being used as a verb where I work

Got a meeting invite and asked the organiser a few questions to try and prepare for it. But they were dismissed as apparently 'we will not be solutioning in this meeting.' But don't worry, I 'can perform my own impact analysis' on the discussion afterwards

• Registered Users Posts: 381 ✭✭manatoo

I know exactly what my manager is going to say at the exact times every day.
    She is late every morning "oh im cutting it fine this morning"
    Tea Break : "oh is that the time already, the day is getting away from me"
    Lunch time: "oh my god i nearly forgot to go on my lunch"
    Gets near home time "i know i was late today but id really like to get out of here early".

This is every day...EVERY goddamn day.

What a pain in the face. Does she actually get anything done in between the above comments?

manatoo wrote: »
    What a pain in the face. Does she actually get anything done in between the above comments?

No i think it's just her way of sounding like she is super busy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

No i think it's just her way of sounding like she is super busy

How late is late?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Textra_vision

"Happy Friday" - feck off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭optogirl

High pitched warbling along to the music in her headphones, interrupted on the hour by phone calls which we can't avoid hearing. 'What? How is she? What did she eat? Is she cranky? Put her on. HELLO e****. HELLO? ARE YOU BEING GOOD? BE GOOD FOR NANA'

Jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Laughs LOUDLY at her own jokes. Endlessly. Nobody else is laughing.

Tried to get me to look at her infected earlobe yesterday. I told her I had no interest.

Interrupts me to show me photos of her dog/garden/granny.

Asks incessantly about what she could be doing (I'm not her boss, I'm busy doing my own stuff).

I am so happy she's only maternity cover for a much more productive and pleasant coworker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Gerianam

Those false cheery gob****es who can't wait to start the new project, new week, new day...and broadcast it on social media and to anyone who will listen...

• Registered Users Posts: 557 ✭✭✭IrishAlice

optogirl wrote: »
    High pitched warbling along to the music in her headphones, interrupted on the hour by phone calls which we can't avoid hearing. 'What? How is she? What did she eat? Is she cranky? Put her on. HELLO e****. HELLO? ARE YOU BEING GOOD? BE GOOD FOR NANA'

Jaysus

I don't know why but I read this in a howya Dublin accent :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,197 ✭✭✭NeinNeinNein

If the adult children of the women in my workplace knew how much of their personal business is discussed in work by their mothers, they would not tell their mothers anything in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

manatoo wrote: »

Pain in the face is another annoying one. Bloody Jess Kelly on Newstalks favourite. I hate it.