Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sterling to Euro

• 15-03-2019 9:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭

Ive 200 sterling there so the question is does anybody know what ill get back in Euros if I exchanged it or lodged it into my aib bank account??

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Ive 200 sterling there so the question is does anybody know what ill get back in Euros if I exchanged it or lodged it into my aib bank account??

This is their buy rates for EFT

https://aib.ie/our-products/current-accounts/foreign-exchange/foreign-exchange-rates-buy

Cash will be a little worse and may have a commission added on too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

G_R wrote: »
    This is their buy rates for EFT

https://aib.ie/our-products/current-accounts/foreign-exchange/foreign-exchange-rates-buy

Cash will be a little worse and may have a commission added on too

So 173 euro for 200 sterling. Thats scandalous.

Thanks for the quick reply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭JTMan

If at all possible, better waiting and spending it the next time you are in the UK, rather than paying high FX charges.

JTMan wrote: »
    If at all possible, better waiting and spending it the next time you are in the UK, rather than paying high FX charges.

Thanks. I think my local Boylesports will give me 200 euro for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭mikeymouse

£200 should get about 230 euro,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭hairyslug

You'll get about 230 before commission

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,808 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

£200 will give you €233.70 this very minute with revolut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,782 ✭✭✭Allinall

You're reading the AIB table wrong.

Their figure of .866 means that they will give you €1 for every .866 £ Sterling.

On that basis you should get €230 for your £200.

However, as above, commission will probably reduce that by a few Euro.

Also, that table on the AIB website is just for today, so if you leave it until next week the rate could be different. ( Better or worse).

Ah jaysus thats grand. Thanks lads for all the replies.