Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

girlfriend and I attacked by teenage girls on Luas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

El_Bee wrote: »
    I wasn't even joking before though, aren't burglaries endemic now in large parts of the country? As bad as Dublin is once your outside the pale it's essentially Mad Max territory.

I know this is a few years old
    https://www.newstalk.com/news/figures-show-wexford-as-county-with-most-burglaries-by-head-of-population-627632
    According to the figures published in today's Irish Independent, there are 256 burglaries per 100,000 people in Wexford - with Dublin, Kildare, Louth, Wicklow and Laois having the next highest rates.

Wexford has more than eight times the amount of burglaries than Monaghan, which is the lowest ranking county.

The figures suggest that counties in the Dublin commuter belt and ones connected to high quality road networks are the worst hit by robberies, with gangs using motorways for speedy getaways.

Donegal, Leitrim and Monaghan have the lowest recorded burglary rates - all with less than 50 burglaries per 100,000 people.

Cork also ranks quite low, with just 87 burglaries per 100,000.

That compares with 249 per 100,000 for Dublin, and 241 in Kildare.

So the most remote counties have the lowest burglary rates and that Dublin and counties near by with a motorway link to Dubln are the worst.
    Makes sense.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

I often go to Dublin for meetings and I use the train from Galway to Heuston. Getting the Luas from Heuston to the city centre is always an experience. Full of scumbags, druggies, beggars etc. I have seen a few minor incidents but nothing too serious (yet). I do find it ironic when passing the CCJ and the Four Courts that Dublin city centre is turning into a lawless kip.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

I was talking about my little part of the world, Ennis is 45 min away from me, obviously there's knackers and scumbags in Clare but what I meant is where I am is remote enough that we dont get the sort of trouble others get in close proximity to larger urban areas, I wasn't trying to be facetious

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

I was talking about my little part of the world, Ennis is 45 min away from me, obviously there's knackers and scumbags in Clare but what I meant is where I am is remote enough that we dont get the sort of trouble others get in close proximity to larger urban areas, I wasn't trying to be facetious

I know, and I envy your peace and quiet, I'd just be worried about living outside Dublin, because at least we have some semblance of a working police force here, and it's not like you can defend your property even, or your burglars will sue you.

But that's only the case if you go to one of the counties connected to Dublin becuase gangs from Dublin use the motorways to flee burglaries.
    If you go to the counties that are actually remote the burglary rates are only a small fraction compared to Dublin. Also the gardi can't un-burglarise your house and rarely catch anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

tuxy wrote: »
    But that's only the case if you go to one of the counties connected to Dublin becuase gangs from Dublin use the motorways to flee burglaries.
    If you go to the counties that are actually remote the burglary rates are only a small fraction compared to Dublin. Also the gardi can't un-burglarise your house and rarely catch anyone.
    Travelling gangs don't just come from Dublin.

pablo128 wrote: »
    Travelling gangs don't just come from Dublin.

Very true but they do tend to come from higher population areas and Dublin is the highest population area in Ireland. All you have to do is check the statics which back this up.

• Registered Users Posts: 779 ✭✭✭Fifty grades of shay.

recedite wrote: »
    Rural living is great (if you can stay out of your neighbour's septic tank)

And why would you be in your neighbours septic tank, pretty stupid comment.
    Very sorry to read of your trouble op, but this type of behaviour is rife countrywide, not just on the luas.
    Our own county town here is a cesspit, that's Longford BTW, I avoid if possible for any social events, I tend to only use for business and shopping purposes.

And why would you be in your neighbours septic tank, pretty stupid comment.

You don't get the reference? This has been a very long trial and is still ongoing

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/farmer-killed-love-rival-and-hid-body-in-slurry-tank-to-restart-affair-court-hears-37744020.html

• Registered Users Posts: 779 ✭✭✭Fifty grades of shay.

Ah right, that did escape me.
    But the canal in Dublin has probably turned up more of them too.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,271 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Social housing is a bit of a sidetrack.

There are parents with standards in social housing, working or not. There are parents in mortgaged housing who also let their progeny run riot. It's not about how much money anyone has, it's about standards in how they live their lives, bring their children up, monitor their children and take responsibility for the actions of their children (and bring them up to take responsibility too).

Ah right, that did escape me.
    But the canal in Dublin has probably turned up more of them too.

I'd say it was a tounge in cheek comment by recedite. And the canals have nothing on the Wicklow mountains.

You have a significantly higher chance of being a victim of crime in any high population density area in every country around the world and Dublin is no different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,404 ✭✭✭1874

Got attacked in Eyre Square by a bunch of teenage girls slapping me around the head. A big group of big lads waiting next to a tree for me to react so they could beat the crap out of me.

It must be weird going through life knowing you're scum and having no respect for yourself.

For lighter people, blokes or women, shove them away if they put their hands on you, but avoid confrontation if at all possible and stay out of range a punch to the head where possible or be ready to block it.

For bigger lads, where you cant get away, go for a weak point, while they're thinking about looking tough threatening to aim punches at your face or sizing you up, while balancing yourself (off them if need be to prevent a punch) , leg up slightly and foot straight at the ankle/shin/knee with force, Im confident you can break something or cause injury and serious pain, enough to prevent them persisting, see how many people are willing to wade in after that, self defence. Easier said than done in the heat of the moment when you're not expecting it, and better to avoid if at all possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭Demonique

The problem for the more polite sections of society is the scumbag tends to breed like rabbits <snip>

*cough*margaretcash*coughcough*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,492 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

When I read these types of threads which pop up regularly on boards it makes me happy to be living in the hills of Clare with the few cows and no knackers, junkies or scumbags. There's a load of dubs living around here and all have the same story of not wanting their kids growing up in Dublin and not have their kids mixing with the dregs of society, and reading the threads on boards lately its easy to see why quite country living is appealing to them

Last time I was talking to tourist folks in the Burren, they were telling me how often visitor cars were getting broken into while visiting the Burren.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Been travelling on the Luas since it opened on both lines. Never had any problems.

Me too (red Line)

Not so much after say 7pm.

Have heard one drunk aul bastard verbally abuse a South Asian guy for about 5 seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭Oxter

Giveaway wrote: »
    Brilliant. The kids will be robbing you on their way into seeing their specialist psychologist(they are not bad, they are "sick").

They dont attend psychologists, who cant prescribe methadone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Oasis1974

People who think living in the middle of nowhere are safer are completely wrong. Garda who moved from Dublin to the sticks for redeployment said he never saw the like of people in the sticks. Animals in the field and outside as well it was worse than inner city Dublin. Only safe place now is the Islands and there pretty much uninhabited form my knowledge.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

Oasis1974 wrote: »
    People who think living in the middle of nowhere are safer are completely wrong. Garda who moved from Dublin to the sticks for redeployment said he never saw the like of people in the sticks. Animals in the field and outside as well it was worse than inner city Dublin. Only safe place now is the Islands and there pretty much uninhabited form my knowledge.

What the f**k are you on about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,532 ✭✭✭crossman47

All new social housing to be built on the blaskets

So you're sure it was people from social housing? Simplistic prejudice is not evidence.

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

Ultimately, anything given for free has no value, most people on social housing don't value the homes they have, they don't value the things they own because it was bought with money they didn't earn etc. So if they value nothing of their own they won't value what others have, and this extends beyond physical things, they don't value people's peace and quiet, their safety, their feelings. Just a very broad generalization but coming an area with a lot of social housing tenants it's what I've observed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,922 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Oh we have them too but they are totally focused on motorists.

It's a sad state of affairs when the Tourist Board are likely to be more influential than the Gardai. People should publicise crime & when it starts hurting the tourist figures, action might be taken.

All new social housing to be built on the blaskets

and tow the blaskets further out to the middle of the atlantic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,492 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Ultimately, anything given for free has no value,
    So presumably we should shut down all the free schools, hospitals, parks, beaches, roads, pavements etc?

The below is all stereotypes and is probably the worst and most controversial thing I'll post all year. It's based entirely on my experience with some people from the segment of society we're talking about.

Schools: They underperform and don't care. They disrupt others' learning.
    Hospitals: They use A&E too much. They often cause trouble for nurses.
    Parks: They drink in them and mess around on scramblers.
    Beaches: The same.
    Roads: They drive badly and risk lives. Scramblers / Speeding / No insurance etc.
    Pavements: They use them to ask people for fags and change, or just harass them or beat them up.

I value those things, partly because I contribute to their upkeep and existence. Regular people recognise public services' importance for the greater good. People who attack OP, or the people who attacked me, use them for their own shlts and giggles.

Public services aren't free, basically. To life-time dole-scroungers, they are. And they shlt on them. They literally get on a Luas, don't pay, and go harass people in public spaces. These are the people this post is talking about. Not people who are genuinely on welfare.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

You should have knocked one of the cùnts out.

Don't know why you got a warning, it's what I would have done.

Any preciousness about gender/weaker sex goes out the window when dealing with dangerous scumbags.

Public services aren't free, basically. To life-time dole-scroungers, they are. And they shlt on them. They literally get on a Luas, don't pay, and go harass people in public spaces. These are the people this postthread is talking about.
    the crux of your post, ads

• Registered Users Posts: 419 ✭✭Tacklebox

and tow the blaskets further out to the middle of the atlantic.

The Blaskets are too good for scumbags.

There seriously needs to be a cleanup and PC way of sorting out the amount of delenquents roaming the streets etc

I remember it was a bit rough in cities in the 80's then towards the 90's into say 2005 it really calmed down a bit, started to creep up again and hopefully it's hitting a peak.

During the late 80's it wasn't unknown to get a knife pulled on you in Limerick, or a slashed arm or something, superficial cut but if you're a very timid or sensitive person it could ruin your state of mind.

I got a few slashes but never anything deep enough to inflict any organs, just a swipe across the arm or something.

Being from Shannon hanging around Spaights bus stop after 6 wasn't a good idea for a few 14 year olds. And having long hair and heavy metal backpatches made you a target for the UB40 fan glue sniffers....

Anyhow enough of my dramatics.

This scumbag delenquents culture goes around in circles, it's hitting it's peak again....
    It'll die down....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

those things arent free. theyre paid for and maintained with money from tax payers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Offer triple dole in return for sterilisation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

mkdon wrote: »
    what is it with the scum around city centre.

riding the luas to city centre group of teenagers (mainly girls) tried stealing girlfriends phone

when they were unsuccessful they tried to attack herself and me and laughed and hurled racist abuse.

shocked tourists came to side but this is outrageous

Ladies and gentlemen:
    *Please support Sinn Fein (The Welfare Party) and similar anti-worker parties for incidences like this to continue in perpetuity.

*This announcement is brought to you by the law abiding, tax paying, contributing members of Irish society, but who have no representation in government.

DellyBelly wrote: »
    ...well they won't remain decent for long if a load of council estate types enter the area

What exactly is a council estate type?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

biko wrote: »
    I would expect behaviour like this from jackeens but that it happens in Galway too isn't on.

My god what a stupid comment

• Registered Users Posts: 975 ✭✭✭decky1

You should have knocked one of the cùnts out.

now your talking, that's what's wrong they are let away with it, grab one and make an example of her, maybe this chap should invest in a small can of pepper spray.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

In fairness these incidents are few and far between. Dublin on the whole is a safe happy city,.very cosmopolitan and touristy with a great vibe trending to the extreme... With great reviews from visitors from all across the globe,.it reminds me of London in the 80/90s.. Security and CCTV will develop as these issues in Dublin are ironed out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,657 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Pkiernan wrote: »
    Failed hard left policy of free money for life for welfare parasites is the root cause.

However, I don't understand why you wouldn't defend yourself physically.

Ye it would certainly get better if you left them with no social support...

Tbh it is getting a bit tiresome with folks like yourself using any bit of news snippet they come across to come out with some silly rant about hard left or loony left or whatever. Surely you dont even believe that sh1te half the time yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Dawido

You should consider yourself lucky.

When I was returning from work with my wife, I was attacked in the exact way as you - but I got pretty aggressive and knocked one of the girls out. Gardai was called and the judge ruled that I can leave the country and never come back or go to prison for 1 year....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭sportsfan90

Got attacked in Eyre Square by a bunch of teenage girls slapping me around the head. A big group of big lads waiting next to a tree for me to react so they could beat the crap out of me.

It must be weird going through life knowing you're scum and having no respect for yourself.

No doubt there would be one of them standing back with their phone out recording (in portrait mode obviously) you confronting them to make it look like you were the aggressor.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 746 ✭✭✭GinAndBitter

No doubt there would be one of them standing back with their phone out recording (in portrait mode obviously) you confronting them to make it look like you were the aggressor.

WORLDSTAR!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

recedite wrote: »
    They do their best. They have roving security men that look like a SWAT team.
    The difference between them and a real SWAT team is they are unarmed and they aren't allowed to hurt anyone.
    They can only ask the scumbags to leave the tram. Scumbags will usually then get off, and get onto the next one instead.

Job done.
    I saw those guys at work one day: a scobie got on and started abusing a passenger; the security guard at the end called his mates on his radio and within seconds, they surrounded the scobie, grabbed and held him securely and hoofed him off the tram at the next stop. The story didnt end there, though. A friend used to work on the Luas and the scobie came back with six mates and beat up one of the security guards. The security men got their own back later and the original scobie met boot leather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,833 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

spurious wrote: »
    Social housing is a bit of a sidetrack.

I love how it’s termed ‘social housing’. A great number of good, forward thinking socially minded people who are looking to get on.. both in life and with people are accommodated but too many anti social, thieving, lifetime hand out scumbag mongs too, whose only real mark on society will be to appear in the debit column.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Pronto63

My suggestion:

Minor offence (anti-social behaviour, shop lifting etc)
    First offence:
    1. Access to free legal aid - means tested
    2. Probation act.
    3. Visit to prison
    4. Session with counsellor - if you're not careful your life will go down the sh11ter.
    5. Access to support, education etc.

Second Offence:
    1. No legal aid if within 5 years of previous offence.
    2. Don't care how sorry you are or how dysfunctional your home life is - you had a chance - see above!
    3. 6 months in a SSS (Short Sharp Shock) establishment - you would have visited this after first offence.
    4. SSS is tent city somewhere in the west. No central heating, basic food, work and education available.

Third Offence:
    1. Are you kidding, the gloves are off now!

My post on another thread!
    Funny, well not funny really, how anti social behaviour and light sentencing constantly pop on these forums.

Do our elected representatives log on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Yeh every major public transport initiative seems to cater for the scumier areas while the piblic transport to the working outer suburbs is cack. All future trams should be built to areas where the buses are all packed at 7am, not to areas where the buses only get busy after 11am

I’ve never been on any form of public transport in Dublin that is busier at 11am than either rush hour. Or anywhere close. And I’ve lived in “scumier areas”.

The more disadvantaged areas are getting more public transports going their way now because they were somewhat neglected for a long time. I’ve always noted that by far the most frequent bus routes in the city traverse Dublin 4 as well as the DART running through it. The leafier suburbs have been well looked after, public transport-wise, for years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Surely plain clothes gardai or security people should be assigned to the luas for a few months?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,630 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

I bet the OP and their girlfriend looked well dressed/well off and comfortable owning their surrounding on the Luas all the things the girls are not so they target those they hate/envy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,833 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

mariaalice wrote: »
    I bet the OP and their girlfriend looked well dressed/well off and comfortable owning their surrounding on the Luas all the things the girls are not so they target those they hate/envy.

Perhaps, but if we were to use that as a barometer or excuse for what is acceptable behavior then there would be literally war. Accross the road from me right now a neighbor is being visited by a relative who drives a new Mercedes. Because I do not have the resources to purchase one of my own...do I vandalize that car, do I attack the gentleman on his exit, or do I feel happy for his success, hope he is enjoying life and employ my mind as to how I might further my career and prospects to enable me to own a nice car like that ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

decky1 wrote: »
    now your talking, that's what's wrong they are let away with it, grab one and make an example of her, maybe this chap should invest in a small can of pepper spray.:mad:

Unfortunately it's illegal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Unfortunately it's illegal.

So is attacking someone on the Luas.

I have a mantra I follow since my football playing days. 'Dont get mad, get even'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,630 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

Strumms wrote: »
    Perhaps, but if we were to use that as a barometer or excuse for what is acceptable behavior then there would be literally war. Accross the road from me right now a neighbor is being visited by a relative who drives a new Mercedes. Because I do not have the resources to purchase one of my own...do I vandalize that car, do I attack the gentleman on his exit, or do I feel happy for his success, hope he is enjoying life and employ my mind as to how I might further my career and prospects to enable me to own a nice car like that ?

An explanation is not an excuse that often gets forgotten.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭recedite

Stovepipe wrote: »
    I saw those guys at work one day: a scobie got on and started abusing a passenger; the security guard at the end called his mates on his radio and within seconds, they surrounded the scobie, grabbed and held him securely and hoofed him off the tram at the next stop. The story didnt end there, though. A friend used to work on the Luas and the scobie came back with six mates and beat up one of the security guards. The security men got their own back later and the original scobie met boot leather.
    Sounds like the security team may have deviated from the official work protocol at the end of the story. Entirely understandable though.
    You can see why they travel in teams, never alone. Never staying in one place for long.