Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

girlfriend and I attacked by teenage girls on Luas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

mkdon wrote: »
    what is it with the scum around city centre.

riding the luas to city centre group of teenagers (mainly girls) tried stealing girlfriends phone

when they were unsuccessful they tried to attack herself and me and laughed and hurled racist abuse.

shocked tourists came to side but this is outrageous

where is the security this was 7pm in city centre crowded luas

beware of the teenage general scum around city centre

this makes my blood boil

move them out to timbuktu or out of Ireland- ashamed to be Irish with people like that being the future

The next time you encounter such scum in this fashion, hit them, and I mean hit them hard, square in the face, no matter if they are male or female, make sure you leave their teeth sticking out through the back of their skull.

It's the best solution for everyone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 746 ✭✭✭GinAndBitter

recedite wrote: »
    Sounds like the security team may have deviated from the official work protocol at the end of the story. Entirely understandable though.
    You can see why they travel in teams, never alone. Never staying in one place for long.

They are paid the same as regular security guards 11.35ph. It's a thankless job I don't know how they do it for that money.

Pkiernan wrote: »
    Offer triple dole in return for sterilisation.

What? Cut off their supply chain?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Strumms wrote: »
    Perhaps, but if we were to use that as a barometer or excuse for what is acceptable behavior then there would be literally war. Accross the road from me right now a neighbor is being visited by a relative who drives a new Mercedes. Because I do not have the resources to purchase one of my own...do I vandalize that car, do I attack the gentleman on his exit, or do I feel happy for his success, hope he is enjoying life and employ my mind as to how I might further my career and prospects to enable me to own a nice car like that ?

It stands to reason that people who are well turned out will be most targeted by vermin because they are most likely to have expensive devices on them and other valuables. It happened to me and I'm not at all well off.

They're not gona go after some scruffily dressed individual now are they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,492 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Kivaro wrote: »
    *This announcement is brought to you by the law abiding, tax paying, contributing members of Irish society, but who have no representation in government.
    Apart from the TDs, Senators and Councillors that they keep electing, you mean?

Pronto63 wrote: »
    My suggestion:

Minor offence (anti-social behaviour, shop lifting etc)
    First offence:
    1. Access to free legal aid - means tested
    2. Probation act.
    3. Visit to prison
    4. Session with counsellor - if you're not careful your life will go down the sh11ter.
    5. Access to support, education etc.

Second Offence:
    1. No legal aid if within 5 years of previous offence.
    2. Don't care how sorry you are or how dysfunctional your home life is - you had a chance - see above!
    3. 6 months in a SSS (Short Sharp Shock) establishment - you would have visited this after first offence.
    4. SSS is tent city somewhere in the west. No central heating, basic food, work and education available.

Third Offence:
    1. Are you kidding, the gloves are off now!
    Intriguing - do these approaches work anywhere else? I recall Thatcher trying the SSS approach in the 80s. It failed miserably then.

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    Surely plain clothes gardai or security people should be assigned to the luas for a few months?
    Luas has full time security personnel all year round.

those things arent free. theyre paid for and maintained with money from tax payers
    So just like the social housing mentioned above then? BTW, everyone in the country pays tax - every time they go into a shop or an off-licence, they pay tax.

The below is all stereotypes and is probably the worst and most controversial thing I'll post all year. It's based entirely on my experience with some people from the segment of society we're talking about.

Schools: They underperform and don't care. They disrupt others' learning.
    Hospitals: They use A&E too much. They often cause trouble for nurses.
    Parks: They drink in them and mess around on scramblers.
    Beaches: The same.
    Roads: They drive badly and risk lives. Scramblers / Speeding / No insurance etc.
    Pavements: They use them to ask people for fags and change, or just harass them or beat them up.

I value those things, partly because I contribute to their upkeep and existence. Regular people recognise public services' importance for the greater good. People who attack OP, or the people who attacked me, use them for their own shlts and giggles.

Public services aren't free, basically. To life-time dole-scroungers, they are. And they shlt on them. They literally get on a Luas, don't pay, and go harass people in public spaces. These are the people this post is talking about. Not people who are genuinely on welfare.

I thought we were talking about how services should be funded. Somebody suggested that 'free housing' isn't appreciated, so presumably the same principle should apply to schools and parks and hospitals - everything should be paid for at the point of entry, right?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭backspin.

There are too many of these feral rats about. Useless parents living of our generous welfare state shooting out children and then barely raising them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,578 ✭✭✭khaldrogo

It must be weird going through life knowing you're scum and having no respect for yourself.

They learned it from their parents who learned it from their parents etc...

Probably get a ban for this but hey ho.......

Junkies/Alcos need to be sterilized. If they have a persistent addiction and no education or hope of having a career then they should not be allowed have children.

All girls should be on birth control funded by the government. The one that goes under the skin so they can't 'forget'. This should only be removed once they show they are financially capable of having children.

People long term unemployed should be made to take regular substance tests and their payment should be affected if they are abusing substances. They should also be made to to public service of some sort or re education if they don't want to do the public service.

The scum of this country are having too many kids and those kids are running wild.

I thought we were talking about how services should be funded. Somebody suggested that 'free housing' isn't appreciated, so presumably the same principle should apply to schools and parks and hospitals - everything should be paid for at the point of entry, right?

There are varying degrees to how much someone feels they've contributed to something. No, you can't apply principles across the board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,325 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

khaldrogo wrote: »
    Probably get a ban for this but hey ho.......

Junkies/Alcos need to be sterilized. If they have a persistent addiction and no education or hope of having a career then they should not be allowed have children.

All girls should be on birth control funded by the government. The one that goes under the skin so they can't 'forget'. This should only be removed once they show they are financially capable of having children.

People long term unemployed should be made to take regular substance tests and their payment should be affected if they are abusing substances. They should also be made to to public service of some sort or re education if they don't want to do the public service.

The scum of this country are having too many kids and those kids are running wild.

Or we could educate people, try to get rid of poverty or at the least mitigate its effects.

Seriously, many countries have decreased birthrates simply by education.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

mkdon wrote: »
    hurled racist abuse.

move them out to timbuktu or out of Ireland

I think you need to tone down your own racism before complaining about it of others, as well as sorting your own Irish social problems rather than offensively thinking of passing them on to another country. Why do you think Mali should deal with them ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Pronto63

Grayson wrote: »
    Or we could educate people, try to get rid of poverty or at the least mitigate its effects.

We need to stop paying layabouts to have kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Blaizes

spurious wrote: »
    Parenting again. No doubt they thought they were at the library studying. Fear not, this lot will be breeding another load shortly.

Desperate it is. Is there anything that can be done? So fed up of hearing these kinds of stories. Very disillusioning for parents trying to bring their kids up properly when there are so many unsavoury elements about.I constantly worry about my own kids ( young as yet) and what they may have to deal with if they go to college in Dublin or in fact could be any part of Ireland. Something has to change.

Grayson wrote:

The sad reality is these sort of people know exactly what they are doing. These sort of people, while poorly educated and some of them with learning disabilities due to their parents habits, could teach a class on how to squeeze every drop out of the social welfare system.

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

Blaizes wrote: »
    Desperate it is. Is there anything that can be done? So fed up of hearing these kinds of stories. Very disillusioning for parents trying to bring their kids up properly when there are so many unsavoury elements about.I constantly worry about my own kids ( young as yet) and what they may have to deal with if they go to college in Dublin or in fact could be any part of Ireland. Something has to change.

There's no facilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Ye it would certainly get better if you left them with no social support...

Tbh it is getting a bit tiresome with folks like yourself using any bit of news snippet they come across to come out with some silly rant about hard left or loony left or whatever. Surely you dont even believe that sh1te half the time yourself.

Yawn.

No strings attached multi generational free dole and housing leads to this.
    Very simple.

When you start paying tax you'll take more interest in seeing how it's squandered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

So just like the social housing mentioned above then? BTW, everyone in the country pays tax - every time they go into a shop or an off-licence, they pay tax.
    when the money you spend in a shop was collected from other people's earnings before it reaches your pocket, then you dont pay tax.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Omackeral wrote: »
    The LUAS Red Line is a fantastic place for scumbags. They never ever pay, the thought wouldn't even cross their scummy little minds. Free on. Into town.

I get the Luas every so often and there are inspectors, flanked by security officers on the tram checking tickets. How do they avoid them?
    It’s all going to end in tears.

The taxpayer will just have to suck up tax increases. The standard for welfare was set during the last recession. It's untouchable now.

Been trying to do that for years and it's failed. Time to trying something new. The same communities and families are falling into this cycle and they have no desire to break it. Their sense of entitlement is growing, if anything. The best way to decrease the birth rates in Ireland, is by putting a stop to this nonsense of rewarding people for having loads of children.

Pkiernan wrote: »
    Yawn.

No strings attached multi generational free dole and housing leads to this.
    Very simple.

When you start paying tax you'll take more interest in seeing how it's squandered.

But the dole and houses have been around a long time ( not saying that these aren’t factors) but recently like in the last few years things seem to be getting much much worse, more crime and anti social behavior.Bad stories in the news everyday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

I'm all for these people having their free money and houses taken away however I do not think most of us could deal with the backlash in increased crime.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

I’m not even gonna bother.

Will have the free house brigade on telling me it’s all Leo Varadkars fault something something....

Feisar wrote: »
    I'm all for these people having their free money and houses taken away however I do not think most of us could deal with the backlash in increased crime.
    i dont think it should be taken away and the welfare state is probably better than the alternative but to think that the consequences of the welfare state are going to be exclusively 100% positive is just naieve. There are inevitably going to be downsides. And one of those is that people who do not work for their living have less respect for the fruits of other peoples labour.

Maybe we should look at countries with low crime rates and low rates of anti social behavior and copy what works for them.Ireland is turning Into a not very nice and not very safe place to live, compared to what it used to be anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,611 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Maybe we should look at countries with low crime rates and low rates of anti social behavior

Qatar!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Berserker wrote: »
    I get the Luas every so often and there are inspectors, flanked by security officers on the tram checking tickets. How do they avoid them?

1- They can look ahead and see them on the platform and hop off as the the staff get on.
    2- They see them on the tram and just jump off and wait a couple of minutes for the next one.
    3- They don't give a fcuk. They're brazen and will ignore the ticket inspectors or give fake names or just abuse them. The security men have no power of arrest and scrotes know this all too well..

The LUAS basically runs on the honour system and many of its users simply are lacking in that quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,787 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

You should have knocked one of the cùnts out.

Why does this get a yellow card?

Genuine question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,671 ✭✭✭jay0109

Omackeral wrote: »
    1- They can look ahead and see them on the platform and hop off as the the staff get on.
    2- They see them on the tram and just jump off and wait a couple of minutes for the next one.
    3- They don't give a fcuk. They're brazen and will ignore the ticket inspectors or give fake names or just abuse them. The security men have no power of arrest and scrotes know this all too well..

The LUAS basically runs on the honour system and many of its users simply are lacking in that quality.

They're like Meerkats at every stop. Straining their necks on the lookout for high vis jackets. First sign of them hopping on and they hop off.

The Luas has become a major contributor to crime and menace levels in the city centre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

You should have knocked one of the cùnts out.
    You say what everyone have on there minds and then the boards police arrive :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Charlie19 wrote: »
    Why does this get a yellow card?

Genuine question.

Advocating crime.
    Genuine answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

A few decent prisons would solve that problem.
    Ireland is turning Into a not very nice and not very safe place to live, compared to what it used to be anyway.

Ireland is a very safe place. Plenty of stats to back that up.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

Advocating crime. Genuine answer.

Self defence is not a crime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Advocating crime.
    Genuine answer.

Pure shyte.

when the money you spend in a shop was collected from other people's earnings before it reaches your pocket, then you dont pay tax.

That's factually incorrect

jay0109 wrote: »
    They're like Meerkats at every stop. Straining their necks on the lookout for high vis jackets. First sign of them hopping on and they hop off.
    Luas ticket inspectors travel incognito - no hi-vis - occasionally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,787 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Advocating crime.
    Genuine answer.

Is that a boards.ie answer?

Or life in general.

That's factually incorrect
    when i gift you a tenner and you spend that tenner on a packet of biscuits with 23% vat, not only did you get a free packet of biscuits but YOU paid no tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

when i gift you a tenner and you spend that tenner on a packet of biscuits with 23% vat, not only did you get a free packet of biscuits but YOU paid no tax.

Just to point out that if you had been given 10 euro, that 10 euro becomes yours so in that circumstance you would have paid tax.

poisonated wrote: »
    Just to point out that if you had been given 10 euro, that 10 euro becomes yours so in that circumstance you would have paid tax.
    do you recognise the concept if "earning"? if you won the tenner on a scratch card then fair enough. but if that tenner was extracted from another citizen on penalty of imprisonment, thats a different kettle of fish.

Berserker wrote: »
    A few decent prisons would solve that problem.

Ireland is a very safe place. Plenty of stats to back that up.

Maybe so but when you can’t travel on the red line without being tormented by yobs it’s not a good sign. Very off putting for tourists too I would imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

If I could pick a new career tomorrow and have magically be given the requisite qualifications and experience, I would love to work on developing sex education in Ireland.

I went a bogstandard, rural, multi-denominational community school in the late ‘90s. Kinda Catholic ethos but we also had Protestants, Muslims, Jehovah’s Witnesses and I’m sure some atheists families. That might have made a difference because our staff were mostly laypeople and our sex education, doled out in first year of school, was not bad at all. Could have been improved upon but was quite comprehensive. It stood to me very well and gave me clarity on what I wanted from my life and how much getting pregnant would fück that up.

I assumed this was the curriculum and that every school did the same. Nope. My husband was in an all-boys Catholic School at the same time. No sex ed. None. I was shocked. How many other schools around the country just didn’t bother?

Education matters. I voted Yes to the removal of the Eighth Amendment. The main reason I would love to work in development of sex education is that while I’m happy that women can finally have abortions in Ireland, I would love to work on there being less and less abortions. For most women who have one, it’s not a happy event.

But I also would be interested in it because I can say for sure that receiving decent sex education in school was influential for me. I held off having sex until I went to college because I couldn’t get contraception in my small home town without being spotted. And I was not going to mess up my future by getting pregnant. I felt informed by the sex education I received.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Been travelling on the Luas since it opened on both lines. Never had any problems.

I got the red line for a few years every weekday (and now get it about once a week) and I never was personally seriously hassled myself and nor would I would be afraid to take it, but if you're using that as a yardstick to glibly extraplolate that it doesn't have significant anti-social issues, you're way off the beam.

That is also factually incorrect.

you are factually incorrect x infinity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,366 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

This would be considered tame for the red line OP. Heard of far worse.

Unfortunately the country has no police force or justice system so you take your chances.

So have the Gardai and the courts gone away away ?

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    So have the Gardai and the courts gone away away ?

no but a criminal justice system which has people on 50+ convictions walking the streets is fairly pointless as a means to protect the public

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

We fund an adequate education system. We have a huge social welfare budget.

Ireland’s is also falling. People are not getting pregnant because of ignorance about contraception.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,212 ✭✭✭shamrock55

The police force in this country is pathetic, all they're interested in is tax and insurance and giving breathalysers first thing in the morning to catch some poor misfortune who might have had a few scoops the night before

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

El_Bee wrote: »
    There's no facilities.

In the city centre of Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,366 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

no but a criminal justice system which has people on 50+ convictions walking the streets is fairly pointless as a means to protect the public

Fair enough on that point. But Kermit made it sound like the Guards and Courts in this country had stopped. they have not stopped and still operate in this country.

• Registered Users Posts: 409 ✭✭holliehobbie

Luas ticket inspectors travel incognito - no hi-vis - occasionally

In civvies you mean! It's great they usually catch a few fare evaders this way!