Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Irish Alan Partridge sings IRA ballad live on BBC

13»

Effects wrote: »
    I doubt that. Kilkenny isn't really a city, just a large town.

Well im aware of the size of Kilkenny thank you, given i live half an hour away from it. The geographic size of Kilkenny was irrelevant to my point

He has a link with the Hebron Road (near Nowlan Park) in Kilkenny but i cant remember whether it was father or grandfather

https://kilkennynow.ie/kilkenny-heist-movie-chosen-for-prestigious-film-festival/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,468 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Well im aware of the size of Kilkenny thank you, given i live half an hour away from it. The geographic size of Kilkenny was irrelevant to my point

He has a link with the Hebron Road (near Nowlan Park) in Kilkenny but i cant remember whether it was father or grandfather

https://kilkennynow.ie/kilkenny-heist-movie-chosen-for-prestigious-film-festival/

I'm fairly sure he was giving you a Partridge type answer...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Sunday Bloody Sunday… really encapsulates the frustration of a Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭bullpost

Part of a large Manchester Irish media pack - Caroline Aherne, Terry Christian etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,530 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Thought it was pretty average myself

His new series has been below par compared to his best stuff.

It's still better than RTE "comedy".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Anything is better than RTE Comedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,357 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Passing blood is funnier than Irish 'comedy'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,630 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

Don't get the appeal, he has been playing the same character for years just the situation changes, cringe alone is not funny it needs a really good context.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,070 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

mariaalice wrote: »
    Don't get the appeal, he has been playing the same character for years just the situation changes, cringe alone is not funny it needs a really good context.

He has played plenty of characters. Partridge is just one of them.

Seve OB wrote: »
    He has played plenty of characters. Partridge is just one of them.

Yes, but its nearly always based on similar attributes slightly knowing cynicism while attempting to appear artless, combined with crass and cringe and attempting to be edgy. It the equivalent of a toddler shouting fat bum at women in the supermarket knowing it will get them attention.

My favorites will always be https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alas_Smith_and_Jones.

It's ancient at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

dd973 wrote: »
    Funny how many people are astonished about his accuracy with the accent or his knowledge of Anglo-Irish dynamics, his parents are as Irish as our's are, there's an weird notion that if someone of Irish parentage is born in England or grows up there then all knowledge of and connection with Ireland is severed, voided and extinguished at birth.

I've several English born cousins with impeccable Irish genealogy, but it pains me to the point of cringe when any of 'em attempt an Irish accent.

Think Darby O'Gill and the little people meets Tom Cruise in Far & Away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,912 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Sorry if this has been posted somewhere here already but i'm in absolute tears laughing :D Why'd they keep it on air?:D

https://twitter.com/gibbogibby1/status/1107765353889910784

oh jaysus:pac:

Because it satirical a pisstake on the paddies.

The Beeb have still banned other songs that were not satirical.

Birmingham 6/Streets of Sorrow - the Pogues.

Give Ireland back to Irish - Paul McCartney

http://www.bbc.co.uk/arts/0/23503040

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

janfebmar wrote: »
    We cannot really complain about how history is taught in other countries when you look at how many of us were indoctrinated in school here to hate England, and to blame them for everything. Even in the 60's and 70's and 80's when there was huge emigration to Britain, and many Irish got jobs over there.
    From my schooldays I can still see the posters of the brave 1916 patriots on the wall, and recall the anti-English rhetoric, but we were not told of the 210,000 Irishmen who volunteered to serve in British uniforms in WW1, or 120,000 Irishmen volunteered in WW2. History can be taught quite one sided. We were told the IRA were grand lads but no mention of the murder of thirteen Protestants in West Cork in April 1922 or other such acts.

Wow, never knew that. Cheers.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Hoboo

Because it satirical a pisstake on the paddies.

The Beeb have still banned other songs that were not satirical.

Birmingham 6/Streets of Sorrow - the Pogues.

Paddies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,510 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

Funny how many people are astonished about his accuracy with the accent or his knowledge of Anglo-Irish dynamics, his parents are as Irish as our's are, there's an weird notion that if someone of Irish parentage is born in England or grows up there then all knowledge of and connection with Ireland is severed, voided and extinguished at birth.

The guy is also a professional impressionist, his stuff in The Trip with Rob Brydon is superb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

The guy is also a professional impressionist, his stuff in The Trip with Rob Brydon is superb.

This.

The second series where they went to Italy was some of the best television I've ever watched.

lawred2 wrote: »
    I'm fairly sure he was giving you a Partridge type answer...

Lol. :D Thats literally just dawned on me. Woopsie :o

Lead singer of Wings.....only the band the Beatles could have become!

I agree that he is a superb mimic.

Susannah Fielding is his co host on 'This time'. Shes got quite a nice chest....but its full of wires :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Lead singer of Wings.....only the band the Beatles could have become!
    People also forget he was co-writer of the Fab Four's opus The Best of the Beatles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Dr Strange

mariaalice wrote: »
    I agree that he is a superb mimic.

I don’t like mimes. They annoy me.

This is arguably my favourite Partidge sketch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

I've been inspired to visit Norwich numerous times thanks to Alan. Wonderful spot.

What do you think about the pedestrianisation of Norwich city centre?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Dan

Dan

Dan

Dan

Dan

Dan

Dan

Dan

Dan

Dan

Dan

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 77,653 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

I'm going to see if I can send a link of this thread to Mr Partridge.....

What do you think about the pedestrianisation of Norwich city centre?

Poor ol Mike gave the wrong answer and paid the price at Alan's hotel room going away party.

sligojoek wrote: »
    Poor ol Mike gave the wrong answer and paid the price at Alan's hotel room going away party.

After he flinging a monkey into the sea for stealing his cigarettes :D

He didn't go straight into the sea. He hit a rock first.

sligojoek wrote: »
    He didn't go straight into the sea. He hit a rock first.

:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭fiveleavesleft

This is arguably my favourite Partidge sketch

Mine too!

"Twat! that was liquid football!"

& the epic

"and another!"

The time he interviewed Brick Top from Snatch on 'Knowing me, Knowing you' :D

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dd973

Yamanoto wrote: »
    I've several English born cousins with impeccable Irish genealogy, but it pains me to the point of cringe when any of 'em attempt an Irish accent.

Think Darby O'Gill and the little people meets Tom Cruise in Far & Away.

For some reason it's virtually impossible to morph an English accent into an Irish one or vice versa, don't know why, it's only talking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,912 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

For some reason it's virtually impossible to morph an English accent into an Irish one or vice versa, don't know why, it's only talking.

The main reason is they never learnt Irish at school so the majority do not 'get' Hiberno-English, and the borrowed words and language structure from Irish etc

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

If Sky Sports were any craic, they'd play that audio over a Declan Rice montage on his England debut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,564 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

If Sky Sports were any craic, they'd play that audio over a Declan Rice montage on his England debut one and only match.

Fyp :pac:

Scrap the cap!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,667 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

there is an epic red nose special too where he interviewed the milky bar kid....

That was class. Bound to be on youtube. Heading out now . I haven't time to look for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Lady Spangles

murpho999 wrote: »

Sure Churchill and Cromwell are seen as heroes in the UK but have very poor reputations here.

You'd be surprised, actually. Cromwell is, at best, highly contentious among the English. There's a big campaign going on to get his statue removed from outside parliament. Nor is Churchill beyond criticism. Just recently, the nation was reminded of his actions in Tonypandy and more and more people are talking about the Bengal Famine. He's acknowledged as a great war leader, but a truly mediocre peace time leader. More are waking up to what a fairly awful human being he also was.

Contrary to common belief, English people don't all think with a hive-mind. They're not a homogeneous mass incapable of independent thought.

To stay on topic, that Alan Patridge sketch was fantastic. I loved it! My guess is most Brits (the English specifically) probably aren't familiar with either of the songs. But they'd get the gist of it and it'll be taken for what it is: a comedy sketch.

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Savage93

That was actually a genuine Alan Partridge lookalike.
    Martin Brennan is a well known farmer from Drumcliffe in Sligo he is a well known character in the area.
    Steve Coogan heard about him and invited him on the show

OH FFS:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The audio books are brilliant. 'I Partridge' and 'Nomad'.

They've built an entire history and life. It's probably the most developed comedic character of all time.

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dd973

You'd be surprised, actually. Cromwell is, at best, highly contentious among the English. There's a big campaign going on to get his statue removed from outside parliament. Nor is Churchill beyond criticism. Just recently, the nation was reminded of his actions in Tonypandy and more and more people are talking about the Bengal Famine. He's acknowledged as a great war leader, but a truly mediocre peace time leader. More are waking up to what a fairly awful human being he also was.

Contrary to common belief, English people don't all think with a hive-mind. They're not a homogeneous mass incapable of independent thought.

To stay on topic, that Alan Patridge sketch was fantastic. I loved it! My guess is most Brits (the English specifically) probably aren't familiar with either of the songs. But they'd get the gist of it and it'll be taken for what it is: a comedy sketch.

Some welcome nuance and reality, loads of liberal and left leaning English people with no Irish connections are well disposed towards us, mostly though it's bemused indifference and lumping us in with Scots and the Welsh as 'fellow Brits'.

I remember being asked if I was a Fenian by an English mate-of-a-mate, responded that whilst being in favour of reunification I distanced myself from that sort of thing, his response 'Well I am! Britain should get the f... out of Ireland!'