Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Closing of Talk To Eir Forum 29th March 2019

• 21-03-2019 3:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 798 ✭✭✭

Hi All, 

It is with deep regret that we would like to inform our customers of the closure of this forum.

This decision was not taken lightly, but one we had to commit to for the enhancement of our customer service. 

As of the 29th March at 5 PM we will no longer be responding to customer queries posted on this forum. 

It will still be possible to contact eir via social media channels. You can contact us on twitter here and on facebook here

We would like to thank all our customers that contacted us here for all their queries over the years and we look forward to assisting you all on our other social media channels. 

Thanking You
    Eir Boards Team

• Registered Users Posts: 7 Upintheeir

Hi All, 

It is with deep regret that we would like to inform our customers of the closure of this forum.

This decision was not taken lightly, but one we had to commit to for the enhancement of our customer service. 

As of the 29th March at 5 PM we will no longer be responding to customer queries posted on this forum. 

We would like to thank all our customers that contacted us here for all their queries over the years and we look forward to assisting you all on our other social media channels. 

Thanking You
    Eir Boards Team

You're enhancing your customer service by removing a part of it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 886 ✭✭✭Anteayer

I guess we'll have to use a Ouija Board to contact you from now on as 1901 clearly doesn't work 

• Registered Users Posts: 34,911 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

...and the last channel where you could maybe get some kind of a response vanishes. 

I've never seen anything like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

Eir need to include this as part of their product advertisements - sign up now but don’t expect any sort of customer service at all, in any shape or form. An absolute shambles of a company, the sooner ye collapse the better for everyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭hgfj

This is a joke, right? April, 1st is 12 days away.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,747 ✭✭✭✭banie01

So rather than assess why people are being forced to use Boards as a support channel?
    A support channel where all too often Eir's outright incompetence and mistreatment of customers is shown in a fairly transparent light, that rather than focus on one of the few channels that customers actually gain a response from...
    The decision has been taken to close it off!

To what end?
    What possible improvement can this offer?
    Are the agents being redirected to the 1hr plus call queue?

An absolute joke of a decision by a company that has shown repeatedly that customer care is far from a core value!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭vkus6mt3y8zg2q

Absolute joke closing this avenue of customer service. Was only way to get anything resolved with Eir. Shambles of a company.

But thanks to the reps Linzi and Ahren for efficiently dealing with issues I've had in recent past.

• Registered Users Posts: 408 ✭✭DubInTheWest

It's obvious what they are doing. It's a well known fact that eir try to keep all problems/threads via PM so other users can't see the utter shambles. So they have been disgraced on here and they don't want future unsuspecting customers to see all the problems/useless customer service so they shut down the forum.

I think the best thing to do would be for people to still post their issues regardless even after March 29th, so future potential customers can see what they are in for. Otherwise Eir just win and continue to pull the wool over peoples eyes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

banie01 wrote: »
    So rather than assess why people are being forced to use Boards as a support channel?
    A support channel where all too often Eir's outright incompetence and mistreatment of customers is shown in a fairly transparent light, that rather than focus on one of the few channels that customers actually gain a response from...
    The decision has been taken to close it off!

To what end?
    What possible improvement can this offer?
    Are the agents being redirected to the 1hr plus call queue?

An absolute joke of a decision by a company that has shown repeatedly that customer care is far from a core value!

Absolutely, they very visibly hate the people who pay for their products between the non existent call Centre and now closing the only avenue of support that “sometimes” gives an answer. This thread should be stickied to the top of the forum and reposted in every single thread where someone is considering signing up to this joke of a company.

I spent an hour on web chat earlier with a simple query about why a top offer hadn’t activated on my phone - was repeatedly told by the clown on the other end that the details I provided did not match the account, even though the details are the ONLY details that could be on it. So Eir will be dealing with a GDPR breach complaint now thanks to whatever woeful clowns are on the webchat. Outsourcing might be cheap lads but it will **** ye in the long run..

• Registered Users Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

Nearly fell off my seat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

This was the only way that many could contact Eir. Expecting people to wait for 30 - 60 minutes just to get their support call answered is unacceptable.
    Effectively Eir no longer has a usable form of support for many of its customers. Unfortunately I'm still in contract for several months so can't leave right now. I'd advise anyone who considers internet an essential service to abandon ship now if the're out of contract. Don't wait for something to go wrong. 
    I know I am reiterating what has been said already but I lurked these forums and tried to help people who had been abandoned by Eir so it's very frustrating.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,916 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

What did it ever achieve anyway? Nothing 8mo.
    Just a useless company which should be avoided like the plague. They didn’t want perspective customers reading about them being a shower of chances. That’s why its being closed. No other reason imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭iPhone.

Hi All, 

It will still be possible to contact eir via social media channels. You can contact us on twitter here and on facebook here

Thanking You
    Eir Boards Team
    If you PM me your details I'll look into that for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭ballyargus

This was about the only effective avenue of support in my experience.

Of course they're shutting it down!!!

In light of this is there a way of opening an independent thread for people to vent here on Boards about Eir?
    It beggars belief how badly Eir treat their customers. Thankfully I’m off contract and was about to jump ship anyway. Any ideas of who the best alternatives are ?

• Registered Users Posts: 531 ✭✭✭yrreg0850

Folks

A friend of mine spent a frustrating  3 weeks  with no landline or broadband trying to solve a problem with Eir via 1901 and  on this forum.

She did however eventually get a number for the complaints section and, the problem was solved within 24hrs.

For anybody interested  it is 1800200481

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

gone like my ever decreasing coverage

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Enhancement of customer service.

I dont get who companies think theyre trying to fool with a line like that. Im very glad I have nothing to do with them apart from an email I cant access.

Theyre doing this for cosmetic reasons as its making them look bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Eirexit 29th of March, easiest deal in history

2wminp.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 319 ✭✭java

This forum is pretty much the only (mostly) positive customer service that eir has had in a very long time. Thank you eir reps.

It is disappointing eir have decided their customers still don't matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 886 ✭✭✭Anteayer

It's a shame really as this was a forum where people have been able to get good support.

• Registered Users Posts: 60,629 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

I’ll be jumping to Sky just like BT Sport.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,986 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

quite obvious
    they have gone to pot lately
    this was actually somewhere that hadn't been totally run into the ground
    so it was only a matter of time it jumped into the hole

such bullcrap of a statement though.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,177 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Hi All, 

Thanking You
    Eir Boards Team

You posted in the wrong forum.
    Mods, please move to correct one: https://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057753179/1/#post103815745

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

For the enhancement of its customers. What a joke. Customer service is virtually non existent. All you have to look at is the posters on this forum and there problems.  Not really bothered I was changing anyway. 

• Registered Users Posts: 10,997 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Such a shame, got more help in a few messages here than hours on the phone/live chat. Many thanks to all the staff.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users Posts: 927 ✭✭✭BuboBubo

Feigning surprise here... :)

I won't even bother typing a rant. Just counting down the days to the end of my eir fibre contract.

Adios.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 ImSkully

Left Eir 2 years ago for Sky Ireland, best choice I ever made. These clowns have the worst customer service going and they're shooting themselves in the foot yet again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

LOL at those still using EIR. Name/Ownership may have changed by the time you read this.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭minikin

Sorry to hear Eir are leaving here, seemed to be an effective support tool.
    It felt like the company was approachable, would be great if you could change your minds!