Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Gibraltar vs Ireland, Euro 2020 qualifier, RTE2 & Sky Sports Football, 5pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭crushproof

Jaysus, this could be embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,913 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

PropJoe10 wrote: »
    Wish Robbie Keane would pull on the boots at half time. We need him!

Yeah, no one slagging him off these days.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Hendrick makes it 1-0!

Nice finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,304 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

There it is!!!

Crisis averted

• As I said, some chill required

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,854 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

I’m watching through closed fingers when McLean comes near it. Goal

• Registered Users Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

Well done McGoldrick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Bring on the Euros!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,612 ✭✭✭eigrod

Great goal. Well done McGoldrick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭alta stare

There ye go ye miserable gits.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭Bret Hart

Get in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,043 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Jefi Hendrix .......yeeessssss!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

A smile.

A smile of relief from Mick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

ScummyMan wrote: »
    Will never understand what Jeff Hendrick brings to the team

Now you do.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,634 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Great touch by McClean ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,295 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Nice goal, hopefully we can build upon that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,841 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Good goal. Very nice finish by Jeff and the feed by McGoldrick was pin point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

The rock really did affect them in the first half. Good to have it on their backs now.

Blow it up ref :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Duffy needs to just start playing the simple pass. Does he try all these balls for Brighton?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

Hitchens wrote: »
    Here I am from Paddy's land,
    The land of eggs and bacon.
    If you think I'll wear a poppy,
    By Jaysus you're mistaken.

So McClean is the scapegoat for this. Always need a scapegoat

Great strength and vision from McGoldrick, cool finish from Hendrick.

Panic over, we should stay on top now and keep pressing. 1 more in it at least.

No injuries, take that home to Aviva Tuesday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,913 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Jayus, Hamilton threw in a good dig there - 'When did we last see an Irish manager smile like that?'

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

TheCitizen wrote: »
    So McClean is the scapegoat for this. Always need a scapegoat

Or people can just say who they think is playing well and who they think is playing badly. It's a crazy thought I know, so I'll give you a few minutes to digest it.

Jayus, Hamilton threw in a good dig there - 'When did we last see an Irish manager smile like that?'

not since the days of the gaffer :D

People will say it’s all about the result. It’s Gibraltar and it’s a bloody worry. Expecting Georgia to control the game against us, even in the aviva, same as last time ...

Duff wrote: »
    Bring on the Euros!

I thought Delaney was leaving?

• Why is he taking Doherty off so soon out of interest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

A substitution before the 88th minute in a competitive match is strange and new.

Doherty off is a strange one, surely resting him for Tues?

Doherty subbed for Brady is a surprise.

Ok, Coleman kicked the defender there. On comes Brady, a bit more pace and guile hopefully.

Doherty off is a strange one, surely resting him for Tues?

Yeah i reckon so.

Hourihane and his set pieces are a lovely addition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Christy Browne

Few fellas in this thread too used to playing FIFA and sitting on their arse watching Sky Sports.

There’s a mental wind out there, football is played in real life not on the telly. Doesn’t matter how good you are if the wind is swirling around and you can’t predict where the ball is going to go.

Relax.

Why is he taking Doherty off so soon out of interest?

Probably a rest, but he's been fairly poor too.

Few fellas in this thread too used to playing FIFA and sitting on their arse watching Sky Sports.

There’s a mental wind out there, football is played in real life not on the telly. Doesn’t matter how good you are if the wind is swirling around and you can’t predict where the ball is going to go.

Relax.

Who cares about the wind if they don't get a result? Will they get to apply for an extra place at the finals because conditions weren't perfect?

Relax.

Our lads wouldn’t be inexperienced when it comes to playing in similar conditions. We have for the most part been second best in this game and if Gibraltar scored you couldn’t begrudge them they have played most of this game in our half and looked more likely. That is worrying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,634 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

I can't understand how we don't press these guys. They're technically poor, playing on a hard pitch into a strong wind. Press up to fvck on them and hurry them up a bit, don't back off them and allow them to tip tap it and waste time.

Strumms wrote: »
    Our lads wouldn’t be inexperienced when it comes to playing in similar conditions. We have for the most part been second best in this game and if Gibraltar scored you couldn’t begrudge them they have played most of this game in our half and looked more likely. That is worrying.

Ah here, we’ve been poor but that’s downright wrong.

Hail Mary balls into that wind in the first half. Some awful touches. It’s the lack of intelligence and awareness, it has nothing to do with the wind. Fingers crossed we don’t do an ireland now and sit back and protect our one goal lead, against Gibraltar...

Strumms wrote: »

Certainly wouldn't be used to playing windy conditions on an artificial pitch.

This isn't Wednesday night down the astro with the lads

That was a decent chance for Gibraltar. We need a second goal to put this to bed. I think their heads will drop then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Christy Browne

Who cares about the wind if they don't get a result? Will they get to apply for an extra place at the finals because conditions weren't perfect?

Are we not winning 1-0 no? Must have missed Gibraltar going ahead

Id say you would sh!t yourself if you were a Scotland fan considering they got beat 3-0 by the minnows of Kazakhstan. We are 1-0 up in the 63rd minute in an away game against an improved team in a gusting airport car park. Relax there tonto its all fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

We are awful.

Not much management can do we just have poor players who mostly are not top performers at their clubs.

Jim and George sound bored

Are we not winning 1-0 no? Must have missed Gibraltar going ahead

Are you just watching it on Livescore or something?

Ridiculously stupid booking to get

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

It’s mad the way your brain lets you forget just how awful Ireland are to watch. There must be something like a pregnancy hormone that makes you forget what it’s like to suffer through their games, so that you do it time after time.