Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is the most pain you've ever endured?

1234568»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭trashcan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,301 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Weird to see this thread get a necro-bump.

Still dealing with it, still medicating it with ever more varieties of neuropathic, opioid and analgesic meds.

The last few days have been bad with a combo of meds and icepacks needed to get out of bed.

The pain itself is bad, but having to arrange your life around it, having to manage every movement even to delay a flare up, is as exhausting as the pain itself.

The last year in particular, my better half was battling cancer(That's gone well 😉) has been a perpetual battle to make sure I'm well enough to support her.

Fúck cancer and fúck pain!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,875 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

I've done that. Was running to the offy in Ranelagh and stepped on a curb, but only half way. The next day my ankle was black and blue and swollen about twice the size. That was pain. Also broke two metatarsals in a separate accident. That too was pain. However neither of those are in the same class of pain as I had recently.

I was curling, like Canadian curling. I was early and me and a buddy decided to throw a few rocks (that's what they are called) down the sheet. I threw my 1st one a bit heavy. I threw my 2nd one a bit light so I decided to run after it and try to sweep in front on it to make it go a bit further. Well kids, take it from me, don't run on the ice!

I came crashing down ribs first on to the ice. I knocked the wind out of myself. Once I caught my breath a little I was able to stand up again. I fell a bit sore on my side but didn't think too much of it. Some guy there recommended I take an Ibuprofen, which I did. That day wasn't too bad but the next day and for the next 5 weeks I was in a very gradually reducing amount of extreme pain. Sleep was near impossible at the start. I was alternating between Aleve and Ibuprofen for nearly a month.

TL;DR Bruised ribs is far more painful than foot or ankle pain.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,875 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

Had something similar. I was comparing then to mangoes though. Got an infection from the sea in the south of France. TBH it was more discomfort than pan for me. A dose of antibiotics and all was well with the world again.

Had to get a lumbar epidural injection for chronic lower back pain a few years ago. If an epidural is what woman want to relieve pain during childbirth then I can’t imagine how painful childbirth must be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 richbo

Kidney stone by a country mile for me. I genuinely wanted to die. The second most painful thing I endured was after I woke up after said kidney stones removal. They sent a camera and some sort of grabbing device up through the eye of my you know what and dragged it all the way out from my kidney. This was 20 years ago and I still have stone in jar!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭fish fingers

Woke up with a twisted testicle, had to get operated on straight away. unreal pain

I had a kidney removed and it was grand , but I heard stones are the worst 😂 I had back pain once and asked my father about kidney stones and he asked me was I on the ground crying in pain , I said no , and he said then it’s not kidney stones 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭FlubberJones

Bulging disc on the upper middle back / lower neck, ridiculous pain whenever I moved, breathed, slept... you name it.

Nothing worked and in the end simply taking painkillers, (that basically put me in a stupor) and doing nothing for about two weeks, until it subsided.

It's still there in the background for the last year, but nothing like it was when it happened, the MRI indicated spinal surgery but I declined as this was a last resort and I just didn't want to start down that road.

That was the worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,034 ✭✭✭griffin100

Pales into insignificance compared to some here but physiotherapist dry needling on my hamstring. Was painful enough until he hit the nerve full on with what felt like a sledgehammer. The pain was brief but it felt like I’d been kicked in the balls by a horse, my legs went to jelly, my stomach heaved and I almost lost control of my bowels (that would have served him right). I’ve never felt anything like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭apache

Probably debilitating back pain. I had a spinal fusion about 10 years ago and touch wood have been grand.

Kidney and gall stones are up there I'd say with the worst. Would dread that to happen to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Saw Al Porter trying to be a comedian. You've no idea how painful it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Was in hospital with Quincy a few years ago. Not a lot of craic to be had there

Spent hours in a corridor on a trolly in A&E, Couldn't swallow at all. My mouth kept filling up with saliva and I couldn't even talk to ask a nurse for something to spit it into

I had a kidney stone years before, ended up in hospital for that too but the Quincy was worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,401 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Broke my leg in two places playing hurling along with some other ligament damage. I couldn't breathe from pain. My own fault too.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Andrea B.

Was told that natural childbirth can be the most painful experience.

Saying that, I could never imagine suggesting "let's go again", after a kick in the gonads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭Jackiebt

Caught my finger in a door when I was around 8 years old, nail went black and after a couple of days started to throb. Very painful, but the cure was worse, I was brought to Temple st hospital pinned down by a nurse and my mother whilst the doctor heated a paper clip over a candle until it was red (in front of me) and plunged it into the nail to release the pressure. No numbing ointment or anaesthetic. It was over 40 years ago and I can remember it like it was yesterday. No messing about in the early 80s lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Been in this boat, agony, and I was 36 hrs before going to a hospital. Ended up having to get one removed, then they gave me an epidural to put me under before operating, horrendous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Not sure if I posted in here before but a twisted intestine. No idea how it happened and neither do they but I seriously felt like I was about to die and the pain was a 10 on the pain scale. Was not fun. So ye I ended up in hospital and had a big operation to get it fixed. Was in the hospital a week. Nearly 10 years ago that now I think. Will never forget it.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭mojesius

Childbirth before I got an epidural. I wanted one asap but they were 'holding off' on giving me one as there were some complications. It felt like a crane was attached to the bottom of my spine and was trying to pull it out of my body. The breathing techniques and all that hippy crap goes out the window. I was begging for all the drugs. I've no idea why anyone would want to experience that naturally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

You're right. Never looked it up for the right spelling but I remember the doctor saying, wow, you're really sick as he stuck a really long needle into my throat and drained a gazillion millilitres of puss

Felt way better afterwards but still had 2 more weeks of hospital with high fevers and the amazing ultra realistic hallucinations you get with them.

All that said, my worst experience seems to pale to insignificance compared to some of the other stories in this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Pablo Escobar

Completely rupturing my ACL to the extent that the doctor that did the surgery couldn’t find it. That first few mins after the injury, if I had a knife I probably would have tried to saw through my leg.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Had my appendix burst as they were been taken out, over 30 years ago. Pain was brutal. Not much else I can remember. I was knocked down when I was 3, have no recollection of that though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,423 ✭✭✭✭josip

Stomach ulcer. I asked God to take me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭lenan

I've had a few ones that have been mentioned here Quinsy (refilled the next day), ruptured appendix, ruptured ACL, fractured collar bone and shoulder blade, 10 pound baby etc. But nothing compared to Underarm Nodes removal, passed out twice with the pain my then toddler and looper of a 6 year running around house when my husband got home. I was out with the pain, will never forget it.

Had my breast bone cut in 2 with a saw followed by heart surgery.

The pain afterwards was unreal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

I had that done to my big toe nail around 1998 in Limerick, a bit primitive alright but it works.

I think it was 2004 in a drawn final ( hence no drinkin) the same thing happened again. The pain gets worse as fluid builds behind the nail.

I didn't fancy the hospital at midnight so with a candle and a needle I went DIY. The trick is to melt a hole in nail and stop. 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭vinniem

Spiral fracture of femur, hell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭XLR 8

Cleaning the car eons ago when one of the kids slammed the door shut on my thumb. Of course I couldn't open the door as the child lock was on and the keys were in the garage. After screaming like Ned Flanders the wife eventually came running and I was free. The pain was savage but what was worse was it wasn't broken and the doctor prescribed pain killers and anti inflammatory pills that just didn't work. If I remember it didn't really start to ease pain wise for about a year. Had to leave that hand outside the shower as even rain made it throb like fůķ..

Quincy was a doctor on TV in the 70s!

Quinsy is a sore dose, immediate relief when they drain the puss...

A red hot needle will go thru a nail like a hot knife through butter. People don't expect that. Instant relief for throbbing fingers. At the hospital they do the same thing using a small implement with a red hot metal filament at the top. Same idea.

Did you ever have an x-ray? You could well have had a small fracture which is why it lasted so long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 bob b

The eye stories earlier on in the thread reminded me of one that didn't hurt at the time but makes me feel sick thinking about it. I had recurrent corneal erosion - essentially a cut on the eyeball that 'heals' to the eyelid then any movement rips the cut open. That was not nice pain - the light hurt, moving my good eye hurt, I was scared to go to sleep as waking up each morning would hurt. So the treatment was a bandage contact lens. Never had contacts in my eye but trying to put I massive bit of plastic into my eye that didn't want to open got the eye doctor annoyed and sweary. He was so angry with me not being able to keep my eye open, he forgot to schedule the appointment the next week to take it out. After three weeks I was crying green goo and went to the eye hospital. They took the contact lens out with a pair of tweezers. I felt them touching my eyeball with the metal, nearly fainted but they took the contact lens out and it made a noise and tonnes of green stringy goo followed it. The doctor doing the procedure when as white as I imagined I was.

As a secondary student I did work experience in an A&E department. One construction worker came in with a nail in his eye. 16 year old me made friends with the floor and the person I was shadowing had to call for another nurse to treat me.

On holiday in N Wales a few years ago and I ended up in hospital for an X-ray. Sat in the waiting room when a surfer walked in with the most horribly dislocated shoulder. Everyone in the waiting room went ooohhhh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,225 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

3 hours of eye irrigation. Guantanamo Bay level stuff.

I had dental problems a few years back. What I thought was a dry socket turned out to be a developing abscess which occurred due to a filling hitting a nerve....or something. Anyways I was on a crazy amount of painkillers and I might as well have been taking smarties for all the good they did. I've attached pics of what I was taking. First lot was replaced by second lot.

About a year ago I had another awful dental experience. It was a routine clean with a bit of anaesthetic. I screamed when she insterted the needle, never have I had such intense pain from something like that. So I was fecked then for the duration. Left before all teeth were cleaned. Never again will I go near that hygienist.

Period pain when I was about 19. I was doubled over in the bed with it. Now and then I suffer a bit with it but the teeth pain trumps all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Dramatik

Tore cartilage in my knee, which was painful enough as it was. I went to the doctor, he asked me to straighten my leg, I told him I couldn't as it was too painful.

Kind of got the impression that he thought I was being a bit of a pansy. He then decided that he would take it upon himself to straighten it out for me, I still remember his confused face looking at me as I writhed around in pain.

Turns out that I wasn't being a pansy and that the torn cartilage was caught inbetween my knee joint and he had essentially put my cartilage in a door frame and shut the door on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭fish fingers

Yeah, my normal doctor wasnt there, cue much older replacement doctor telling me and my dad that i should just go home and rest. As soon as i came out of there my auld lad was like never mind that lad we are going to a and e. This was all preceded by my auld lad telling me in the morning youll be grand, I got a whack when I was playing hurling yesrs ago and i was ok after a while. I found out after my operation that if I left it much longer I would have had to get it amputated. Man , you were 36 hrs waiting, thats torture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,018 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Yikes.

That reminds me that's where I endured Ireland 1 - Denmark 5 but at least spared a Something About Mary moment.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,974 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Galway Utd 3-2 Bohemian FC, October 2010