Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2019 World Snooker Championship (Mod Note Post One)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,957 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Trump thinks he is playing an exhibition now. Waltzing around the table.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Higgins hasn't played that badly, frightening stuff Trump.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭waynescales1

The WC final and Trump’s playing like it’s an exhibition. Seems to be relishing the occasion rather than feeling any pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

The Nal wrote: »
    What a lovely fella Terry is

Loved the way he said Snooker it was more like Snuker :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,569 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

3 frames for Trump left now to win the big one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,357 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Terry Griffiths is retiring from punditry. I hope he has a great life of coaching from home. He will be missed from all of the venues shown on the BBC.

He wasn’t a pundit. He's semi-retiring from coaching. He's not travelling anymore. If the players want coaching anymore, they've to come to him. So he won't be at the Crucible anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

A pleasure to watch Trump playing like this

15-7. Another century for Trump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭DelBoy Trotter

I’ve a feeling there won’t be any snooker this evening :(

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Even getting to an evening session would be an acheivement in itself from here.

I’ve a feeling there won’t be any snooker this evening :(

If there is, it'll likely be a frame or 2. The evening patrons will feel hard done by.

• Registered Users Posts: 239 ✭✭kerry37

Trump thinks he is playing an exhibition now. Waltzing around the table.

Hes putting on an exhibition tbf. Mesmerising stuff

• Registered Users Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

My God, Taylor is unbearable. Breathing into the mic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,111 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Higgins hasn't played that badly, frightening stuff Trump.

Higgins has a 91% pot success. And he's getting annihilated.

That’s John's first pot after well over 300 unanswered points from Trump. I thought we might get to see a new record, which is Anthony Hamilton, somewhere around the 450 point mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,755 ✭✭✭This is it

The Nal wrote: »
    Higgins has a 91% pot success. And he's getting annihilated.

I'd say it's the safety battle that's costing him dearly. Trump is potting everything so any safety from Higgins that isn't perfect is pounced on by Trump

That drifted. Wasn't a bad shot from Trump. It was in, until right at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,148 ✭✭✭Passenger

Higgins making a comeback?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,957 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Loved the way he said Snooker it was more like Snuker :-)

I remember I was in Wales before figured out, and it is to do with the way they spell snooker in Welsh.

B-jRUGtIIAAnKxA.jpg

When I saw a sign 'snwcer' first think I thought of was 'Terry Griffiths'

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Passenger wrote: »
    Higgins making a comeback?

Hes 7 frames behind and losing in this frame also. Doesn't seem like a comeback.

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    My God, Taylor is unbearable. Breathing into the mic

https://youtube.com/watch?v=HwTLfZGbYzU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,965 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Parrott & Hendry: Higgins has to win these last two frames to have a chance.

Higgins wins one of the frames - P&H: John's still in with a shout here, if he can just take the first couple of frames this evening, he'll give Judd something to think about. etc. ad nauseum...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,778 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Higgins still cueing beautifully..

That break was more impressive than some of those centuries, if he gets the next one there's still a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Shouting for Trump, but hoping Higgins can make it 15-10 to make it a little more interesting later

The lads on eurosport said the same before the start of the session. If he can keep Judd to 15 he will have an outside chance.

After those 2 pots from Judd tho, it doesn't look good. Phenomenal

Is Trump going for a maximum break here at this moment?

Yup

Ah Jaysus. The red f*cked up in the middle pocket. Hard luck Trump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,519 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Ah that would’ve been a legendary maximum, still played some unbelievable shots to take it that far though.

Should be all wrapped up by 8:30 this evening, if not sooner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

100th century of the tournament.

Whoever said the quality is down this year is out of their mind.

I know it'll probably be finished early but this is a fantastic match.

Isn't that annoying and unlucky, I wonder was Trump thinking, well my last red to the middle like that, drifted and missed. He aimed high and it didn't drift left this time. Terrific break and probably match over.

I know it'll probably be finished early but this is a fantastic match.

Agreed

The quality is insane

Fantastic snooker. Higgins not even doing anything wrong. Trump just found another level. 100 tournament centuries, 11 match centuries, 7 for Trump. This is mental.

Literally the only thing we are missing is the 147. We've had everything else.

To have that session end with 2 potential 147's in play is just wonderful.

I cannot wait for tonight's session. It is going to be a cracker.

I hope the two remaining players enjoy the life out of it until it is finished.

Was lucky enough to catch the first three sessions of the final as my first proper competitive snooker live after twenty plus years of watching. And they were sensational.

Having withdrawal symptoms already and can't wait for the next tournament I can get to.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭waynescales1

100th century of the tournament.

Whoever said the quality is down this year is out of their mind.

Maybe they’ll widen the pockets even more next year and go for 200 centuries.

There's always one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

There's always one.

Its a fair point. Some of the stuff that's gone in off the near jaw the past 2 weeks has been comical. There was a time when a red down the black cushion used to provide a bit of tension...

Hilarious.

The cushions have been playing hell this year, so it balances out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭RebelButtMunch

The cushions have been playing hell this year, so it balances out.

Physically it's impossible for the ball to come off the cushion faster if you know what I mean. So what makes the difference? Is it the cloth or the spin of the ball or something else?

Not sure exactly, but I've seen a few breaks ruined by a mad bounce off the cushion, I've heard commentaters mention the cloth, numerous players have been giving out about it, it hasn't affected this game so far.

• Registered Users Posts: 485 ✭✭eric hoone

Ronnie was saying Trump could be to snooker what tiger was to golf, changing the way the game is played with his cue power...

I’d be surprised if this makes the mid session interval. I wanted Higgins to win this, but can’t begrudge Trump the win with the fantastic snooker he’s played over the last 2 days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭cocoman

Was lucky enough to catch the first three sessions of the final as my first proper competitive snooker live after twenty plus years of watching. And they were sensational.

Having withdrawal symptoms already and can't wait for the next tournament I can get to.

Was it hard to get tickets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,755 ✭✭✭This is it

In already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,965 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

looks like I'll be able to watch the football without having to flick back to this...