Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ex pope blames 1960s revolution for sex abuse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

The Catholic Churches obsession with sex is what led to Clerical Sex Abuse. Simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭UrbanFret

buried wrote: »
    Well if Joe wants to use that sort of demented logic...

What helped cause the revolution in the 60's?

The baby boom aftermath of World War 2.

Who was in the German army during WW2 setting tank traps and protecting Nazi aircraft factories?

Joseph Ratzinger.

So, its actually your fault Joe.

Of course he was in the German army. Hardly expect him to be fighting on the allies side. There was a draft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Look F don't be getting p!ssy at me. Was Joe in the German army during World War 2? Yes or no?

Just because you don't like the answer to the question F, that doesn't enable you to change the facts.

Joe was in the German army during World War 2.

The German army was in the control of the Nazis.

Joe set up tank traps and defended BMW factories that manufactured German aircraft artillery.

Those are facts. Those facts are all I said. Just because these facts upset you for some reason, don't get p!ssy with me.

Like you said, Joe may have changed his mind afterwards when the war was over, had a change of heart, many German soldiers and officers did.
    But that don't change the fact he was in the German army, That's all I said.

And if you were in Germany at the time, you would be too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

The invention of the pill is a vague conceptual cultural trend? Don't think so ...

Read the article :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,712 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

What's the relationship between the sexual revolution and the catholic hierarchy deciding to cover up abuse?

Priests being paedophile isn't the big issue for me. Any person in any position could be a criminal in disguise. The problem.us when the catholic hierarchy fonds out about a paedophile priest and decides to protect them instead of turn them in to the police so they face justice and protect children from further abuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Look F don't be getting p!ssy at me. Was Joe in the German army during World War 2? Yes or no?

Just because you don't like the answer to the question F, that doesn't enable you to change the facts.

Joe set up tank traps and defended BMW factories that manufactured German aircraft artillery.

Those are facts. Those facts are all I said. Just because these facts upset you for some reason, don't get p!ssy with me.

Like you said, Joe may have changed his mind afterwards when the war was over, had a change of heart, many German soldiers and officers did.
    But that don't change the fact he was in the German army, That's all I said.

As I said to another poster, he was assimilated into the Nazi Youth like all German kids at the time.

As a child he would have literally no choice in the matter whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,920 ✭✭✭buried

Nixonbot wrote: »
    And if you were in Germany at the time, you would be too.

I'm well aware of that. But I'm not the one using Joe's, as I said in my first post Demented Logic, in blaming a historic cultural event in isolation to pin the blame on his churches rampant cover up and sweeping under the carpet of abusive animals within its organisation.

I'm not blaming Joe for World War 2 am I? That would be stupid, just like trying to blame the 1960's on what Joe's organisation willfully allowed to happen for decades is also stupid.

I'm not the one being serious about it. Joe is.

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,084 ✭✭✭✭neris

yep coz no priests were kiddy fiddling in december 1959

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Like others have already said, Ratzinger is not talking to Europe, where the Catholic chuch is in terminal decline; he's talking to the developing world - he's doing a bit of scaremongering about how adopting the ways of liberal westernized societies will destroy their traditional values and only the loving embrace of the Catholic Church can preserve things the way they used to be.

It's 100% marketing, we're just not the target demographic any more.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

amcalester wrote: »
    As an ex-pope shouldn’t he be, you know, dead?

Thought it was a job for life.

You're sorta right. The only expopes are dead popes. There's 2 popes at present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The ex Pope Emperor has spoken.

b9fa3a54-a289-4e1f-a428-ebc616aeb60e.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Before you ask me any questions maybe you should answer the one I asked you: do you say that Ratzinger was any more of a Nazi than, say Dickie Dawkins? (or Christy Hitchens?)

And so were people who plotted to assassinate Hitler.

I have no problem with the answer to the question. Now lets see who has attempted to change the facts:

Those are facts. Those facts are all I said.

Wrong. Did you not say the following? Yes or no.
    Who was in the German army during WW2 setting tank traps and protecting Nazi aircraft factories?

Joseph Ratzinger.

So, its actually your fault Joe.

Just because these facts upset you for some reason, don't get p!ssy with me.

You underestimate how long I've been in the world if you think I am upset by a childish attempt to stick the Nazi smear on Ratzinger by association without having to take responsibility for it. However, I will admit to being pissed off by self-indulgent contributions to subjects such as this one on boards.ie by people barely out of short pants, contributions that have more to do with entertainment than showing concern for victims.All who are not blind know what various RC figures, senior and otherwise have been guilty of. (In my youth I was witness to some of it.) But silly unsubstantiated kneejerk insinuations simply undermine the case for the prosecution.

Like you said, Joe may have changed his mind afterwards when the war was over, had a change of heart, many German soldiers and officers did. But that don't change the fact he was in the German army, That's all I said.

Once again you have attempted to misrepresent. Some Nazis had "conversions" of convenience after the war e.g. Speer. Ratzinger was not one of them, as you are suggesting, because he was never a Nazi. His change of heart was on different issues and came twenty years later. What I said, misrepresented by you, is that Ratzinger was initially a relative liberal, but lost his nerve with the upheaval of the late 60s and because of his experience of totalitarianism turned ultraconservative.

In short you have sought to smear by association and insinuation, and having been called out on it, you have made a pathetic attempt to retreat from the trenches and to construct a new trench a short distance behind.

P.S. I am not Catholic.

P.P.S. "Joe" is not a generally used abbreviation of Joseph in Germany, just as "Stab" is not generally applied to natives of Stab City such as yourself. In both cases only a minority get stuck with those monikers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Poor fůcker never got a shift or a feel of a tit in his life. All that frustration built up over 90 years has lead to him talking complete bollox.

feargale wrote: »
    Before you ask me any questions maybe you should answer the one I asked you: do you say that Ratzinger was any more of a Nazi than, say Dickie Dawkins? (or Christy Hitchens?)

Hold on a minute F why do you think i'm being serious about it?

I'm not using, Like I stated in my first post, DEMENTED LOGIC in blaming anything on anyone.

That's what Joe is doing.

Joe is picking a isolated historical cultural event in order to blame another event.
    Which is stupid, and like I said demented logic.

I just applied the same demented logic that Joe is utilising to facts concerning a historical event which included him.

When I said "it was his fault" I was being sarcastic, you know?
    I'm using the demented logic Joe is using himself. You do know what sarcasm is yes?

You've just conveniently ignored all that or else can see it and gone off on a hostility excursion towards me.

P.P.S. "Joe" is not a generally used abbreviation of Joseph in Germany, just as "Stab" is not generally applied to natives of Stab City such as yourself.

Ahh here, time to calm down man. You're really going off on one altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭purplepanda

mad muffin wrote: »
    Possibly. But I think celibacy would have played a part in it too. I don’t thinks there’s been such a huge problem in the Anglican Church?

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/church-england-child-abuse-victims-helpline-report-priest-a8854946.html

Don't know about the Church of Ireland but the CofE has enough paedophiles of it's own, including local cases to my knowledge, for example where a vicar was part of a wider paedo ring & was sentenced to 8 years, his wife got a suspended sentence for facilitating the crimes. :(

I moved to North London during my primary school years, the local kids certainly knew who the "benders" were as they were known then ,including sports coaches, teachers, scout / youth club workers & clerics. Most of the clerics involved were CofE & Methodists, although some of the catholic priests were very well known as frequent patrons of the "brasses".

Plus there was the dirty old men, wearing raincoats hanging around parks & playing fields, they didn't hang around for too long when a gang of kids started throwing bricks at them. ;) Often a group of mothers would also catch them & give them a beating!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/church-england-child-abuse-victims-helpline-report-priest-a8854946.html

Don't know about the Church of Ireland but the CofE has enough paedophiles of it's own, including local cases to my knowledge, for example where a vicar was part of a wider paedo ring & was sentenced to 8 years, his wife got a suspended sentence for facilitating the crimes. :(

I moved to North London during my primary school years, the local kids certainly knew who the "benders" were as they were known then ,including sports coaches, teachers, scout / youth club workers & clerics. Most of the clerics involved were CofE & Methodists, although some of the catholic priests were very well known as frequent patrons of the "brasses".

Plus there was the dirty old men, wearing raincoats hanging around parks & playing fields, they didn't hang around for too long when a gang of kids started throwing bricks at them. ;) Often a group of mothers would also catch them & give them a beating!:D

It boggles the mind how rampant paedophilia is :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Ahh here, time to calm down man. You're really going off on one altogether.

If you're ok with that hackneyed old boards.ie jibe, then I guess you have no problem about being called Stab. Right?

The problem is that you have joined a discussion of a serious matter, but when you treat your adversaries in such a gratuitously flippant manner you should not expect anybody to take you seriously, nor should they.

I would be more interested in hearing the more mature offerings of both sides here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

No no no he's got it all wrong, it's because of original sin. If only those two feckers in the garden could of listened and not bit the apple, those priests might not have fiddled...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

99% catholic country that was very impoverished. The church had an iron grip on the country and everyone in it. Most of the population thought the church could do no wrong, and we’re deathly afraid of the church.

Possibly in later years Ireland became more enlightened and people were not so afraid to come forth? Who knows what the church did in South America?

Plenty of stories here similar to Ireland.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

I actually forgot that ex pope existed. What an idiotic thing to say but I guess it's par for the course. Himself and JP2 continued the child sexual abuse cover-up that had been going on for several decades. How people darken the doors of Roman churches is beyond me. At this point it must take incredible self delusion and/or very very weird rationalisation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

those priests might not have fiddled...

....if those damn kids weren't so sexy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,217 ✭✭✭Odhinn

No no no he's got it all wrong, it's because of original sin. If only those two feckers in the garden could of listened and not bit the apple, those priests might not have fiddled...

One priest (out of say one hundred) fiddled. The other 99 either said nothing or actively defended and sheltered them, frequently at the expense of the victims.

And perhaps I shouldn't use the past tense there either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

I think it’s weird people send their kids to this cult. and plenty of them too.

Brought up as a NI Protestant. Outside isolated incidents I have never really heard of widespread child abuse like the cathlolic church.

I’m an atheist now. Thank god.......

.... Who knows what the church did in South America?

Well, if a significant number of its Irish priests were brazen enough to abuse children in the Irish society from which they themselves came, and in which their own families lived and had reputations to uphold, let us not for a second think of the horrors the same type of predators in the priesthood inflicted on nameless, faceless considerably less powerful people far, far away in Africa, Latin America or Asia.

Many of us are still trying to process the extent of the evil these people inflicted on this island to even start thinking about how they "helped" vulnerable people in the Third World.

timthumbni wrote: »
    I think it’s weird people send their kids to this cult. and plenty of them too.

Brought up as a NI Protestant. Outside isolated incidents I have never really heard of widespread child abuse like the cathlolic church.

You have your British royalist/imperialist cult; the Papists have their Papist cult. At least many of the latter are acknowledging the horrors their cult inflicted. The former are getting worse in these Brexit days.

Not the same at all chum. I don’t send my weans to the royal family every weekend. Catch a grip...

If you send them to a British state school, you do indeed given that that state is explicitly royalist (and Anglican). Likewise with all your reverence for "Royal" institutions, street names and memorials across your society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,424 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

If you send them to a British state school, you do indeed given that that state is explicitly royalist (and Anglican). Likewise with all your reverence for "Royal" institutions, street names and memorials across your society.

Wee bit of a stretch there, F.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

If you're ok with that hackneyed old boards.ie jibe, then I guess you have no problem about being called Stab. Right?

What are you on about? "Stab" Whats that supposed to mean? Where are you getting that from?
    You are making stuff up in your own head that isn't actually there F.
    The problem is that you have joined a discussion of a serious matter, but when you treat your adversaries in such a gratuitously flippant manner you should not expect anybody to take you seriously, nor should they.

Good. It wasn't made to be taken seriously. It was a joke. But you are the one losing your rag over it. Getting all hostile and calling me "stab"??
    Don't have any "adversaries". Trying to create or looking for them is a waste of time and isn't very mature. You clearly see me as one but that's your problem.
    I would be more interested in hearing the more mature offerings of both sides here.

Well have at it then, But you don't get to dictate what anybody else can or will say on it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 408 ✭✭SoundsRight

Love the tin foil hat theories about the Catholic Church. I always get a bit suspicious of those who about the loudest against them.

That’s just being silly now. I’ve said before in Norn Iron anyway we have catholic schools and state schools. There is no such thing as a Protestant school in NI though Protestants tend to go to the state schools.

The fact remains that the Catholic Church has a major say in many schools. The fact that the institution has been been proven to be not only have committed countless acts of sexual and other violent abuse against children and others supposedly in its care, but also covered up that abuse.

I still think it’s weird that so many send their young and as adults attend themselves. The famous chant you will never beat the Irish obviously doesn’t apply to the Catholic Church.

I’ve always found it strange as in other ways the Irish people are known for being rebellious and stubborn. But when it comes to the church they are like wee mice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Well, if a significant number of its Irish priests were brazen enough to abuse children in the Irish society from which they themselves came, and in which their own families lived and had reputations to uphold, let us not for a second think of the horrors the same type of predators in the priesthood inflicted on nameless, faceless considerably less powerful people far, far away in Africa, Latin America or Asia.

Many of us are still trying to process the extent of the evil these people inflicted on this island to even start thinking about how they "helped" vulnerable people in the Third World.

The church has often been one of the biggest opponents of dictatorships in Latin America though. They did help people in some respects.

They also facilitated the escape of Nazis to South America. So they did help those people I suppose...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 408 ✭✭SoundsRight

They also facilitated the escape of Nazis to South America. So they did help those people I suppose...

Yeah, because the British and Americans had no absolutely no interest in recruiting Nazis after the war, did they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Bad for business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Yeah, because the British and Americans had no absolutely no interest in recruiting Nazis after the war, did they?

Fair play , first bit of whataboutery I've seen here.