Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2019 All Ireland Senior Football Championship *Mod note: Post #1*

• Registered Users Posts: 7,652 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

We are event junkies ! No demand for Leinster games or super 8s but everyone wants to be at the big occasion !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭Powerhouse

Where else would Dublin get to play? :rolleyes:

They don't have a decent stadium of their own

Which raises the obvious question as to why you wondered how many games Dublin had played in Croke Park during a given period? Now you appear to acknowledge that they are not in fact home games at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭D9Male

Jesus Christ. Can everybody give it a rest on the whole Dublin - Croke Park thing and the Dublin funding advantage thing? We're three days out from one of the most exciting games of the year.

Will Moran start?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

D9Male wrote: »
    Jesus Christ. Can everybody give it a rest on the whole Dublin - Croke Park thing and the Dublin funding advantage thing? We're three days out from one of the most exciting games of the year.

Will Moran start?

Don't think he will, great impact player to be able to bring on. Coen was poor the last day but he has the physicality to worry the Dublin full back line if he gets good supply.

Interesting to see the match ups that Mayo employ. Durcan on McCaffrey? Will Keegan be on Kilkenny? Who gets the job of trying to nullify O'Callaghan?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,066 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

I'm in no way suggesting having unlimited access.

I'm saying that how they handled the BaF situation pointed to the rest of process being a bit of a sham.

More tickets back on sale now this morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,651 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

BPKS wrote: »
    Today's ticket farce just goes to show how far the GAA top brass are away from the common GAA person. Always and forever semi final tickets were distributed through the clubs. What has changed so much that they can't do that now?

Related point to this.

All the whining from the 'pundits' about the Sky deal, which really has very little impact in preventing people seeing games - if they really want to see games, as opposed to being shocked at having to get up off their living room chairs.

But its rare you'll see same lads asking why fans in Dublin or Mayo are standing in a Supervalu for 4 hours and come out of it with no ticket.

Reason being - that said pundits are not affected by this in any way.

The GAA has a system whereby tickets are allocated to clubs first - which on the face of it looks fair.

I didn't ask for tickets through the club this time - my fault, I didn't get down there quick enough.

Nonetheless - I have absolutely no doubt that there will be a lot of demand for tickets through the clubs from people who have not been to a game all year.

Whereas people who have bought tickets for all the games online, now cant get one.

Some people may consider this fair - but there is definitely a bit of an inside/ outsider thing going on.

At the end of the day though, I don't want to make it sound like that big of a deal - because it is just a ticket for a match.

And at that - and no disrespect - but the Kerry Tyrone is much more likely to be a good close game.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,758 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    Related point to this.

All the whining from the 'pundits' about the Sky deal, which really has very little impact in preventing people seeing games - if they really want to see games, as opposed to being shocked at having to get up off their living room chairs.

But its rare you'll see same lads asking why fans in Dublin or Mayo are standing in a Supervalu for 4 hours and come out of it with no ticket.

Reason being - that said pundits are not affected by this in any way.

The GAA has a system whereby tickets are allocated to clubs first - which on the face of it looks fair.

I didn't ask for tickets through the club this time - my fault, I didn't get down there quick enough.

Nonetheless - I have absolutely no doubt that there will be a lot of demand for tickets through the clubs from people who have not been to a game all year.

Whereas people who have bought tickets for all the games online, now cant get one.

Some people may consider this fair - but there is definitely a bit of an inside/ outsider thing going on.

At the end of the day though, I don't want to make it sound like that big of a deal - because it is just a ticket for a match.

And at that - and no disrespect - but the Kerry Tyrone is much more likely to be a good close game.

Yeah the gas thing was they were going on about people in Nursing homes who could not see the Donegal v Mayo match. (Most in Nursing homes are not the most lucid types anyway - there is always plenty of wireless' around as well)

I remember Michael Duigan giving out saying his father cannot watch a hurling match on SKY because he does not go to the Pub!

This is the kind of guff that is spouted.

I used to have a Parnell Park pass. Then I became a member of GAA club so it would be handier to get tickets no queuing at dorset street, takes the hassle out of it.

There are season tickets people can buy as well.
    As far as I know - Dublin and Mayo are the only two in the country with waiting lists in fairness.

But those who are not members of GAA clubs have no passes (parnell/Season ticket) they normally find a way. If they are persistent enough - if they cannot get tickets online.
    They know someone, who knows a clubman in Leitrim with a ticket etc etc .

Real GAA people know the craic at this stage, and the options available.

No point in complaining about it the week of a game.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,787 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Sorted. Upper Cusack, can relax now for the next few days.😆😆😆

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Sorted. Upper Cusack, can relax now for the next few days.������

Now you only have to decide which Jersey to wear 74 retro, 83 retro, 95 retro, that auld 2006 jersey in the bottom drawer, casual polo, or your newest geansaí.

There will be sleepless nights yet making that decision.
    You have to try and remember what the result was against Mayo the last time you wore that jersey....
    All vitally important stuff I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,234 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

A major factor in this ticket fiasco is the 6 day gap between games that includes a bank holiday.

It does not give sufficient time for clubs to get tickets sorted and returned if required

And individuals will rush for tickets with the very short window to buy them.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,552 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Now you only have to decide which Jersey to wear 74 retro, 83 retro ,95 retro, that auld 2006 jersey in the bottom drawer, casual polo, or your newest geansaí.

You have to try and remember what the result was against Mayo the last time you wore that jersey....

Ya the only reason it si selling out is the Dubs love beating the God help us county but more importantly they know Mayo will find a new way to lose the match even if they are in a winning position.

Slava Ukrainii

A major factor in this ticket fiasco is the 6 day gap between games that includes a bank holiday.

It does not give sufficient time for clubs to get tickets sorted and returned if required

And individuals will rush for tickets with the very short window to buy them.

Agreed.
    The auld lad that gets the tickets in the club I am in, was having to put in for the SF tickets real early - before anyone even knew what day the game was on (before the Tryone game).
    Which was a bit mad when you think about it.

Now you only have to decide which Jersey to wear 74 retro, 83 retro, 95 retro, that auld 2006 jersey in the bottom drawer, casual polo, or your newest geansa

I'll wear my 2006
    With the collar up
    My hair dyed blonde and braded.

Ya the only reason it si selling out is the Dubs love beating the God help us county but more importantly they know Mayo will find a new way to lose the match even if they are in a winning position.

That is more of a Mayo Final thing though.
    Mayo strangely find away of winning semi-finals

- 1989, 1996, 1997, 2004, 2006, 2012, 2013, 2016, 2017

In fact Mayo should be called Semi-Final specialists.

I'll wear my 2006
    With the collar up

Lashings of fake tan as well to complete the look....?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,066 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Now you only have to decide which Jersey to wear 74 retro, 83 retro, 95 retro, that auld 2006 jersey in the bottom drawer, casual polo, or your newest geansaí.

95 retro of course. 2002 saved for finals.

Lashings of fake tan as well to complete the look....?

I knew there was at least one more piece to it, thanks for the reminder.

Tats is another characteristic, but all the cool kids seem to have them now.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,638 ✭✭✭flasher0030

Yeah the gas thing was they were going on about people in Nursing homes who could not see the Donegal v Mayo match. (Most in Nursing homes are not the most lucid types anyway - there is always plenty of wireless' around as well)

I remember Michael Duigan giving out saying his father cannot watch a hurling match on SKY because he does not go to the Pub!

This is the kind of guff that is spouted.

I used to have a Parnell Park pass. Then I became a member of GAA club so it would be handier to get tickets no queuing at dorset street, takes the hassle out of it.

There are season tickets people can buy as well.
    As far as I know - Dublin and Mayo are the only two in the country with waiting lists in fairness.

But those who are not members of GAA clubs have no passes (parnell/Season ticket) they normally find a way. If they are persistent enough - if they cannot get tickets online.
    They know someone, who knows a clubman in Leitrim with a ticket etc etc .

Real GAA people know the craic at this stage, and the options available.

No point in complaining about it the week of a game.

Good points about the tickets. The only problem game is the final. But if you are from the participating county, and you really want a ticket, you’ll get it if you persevere hard enough. But it probably just won’t land on your lap if you’re not part of a club or don’t have a season ticket.

But why is it guff what Michael Duignan said about his father. Michael Duignan is about 50. His Dad would probably be about 75 to 80. He may not very mobile. Probably doesn’t drink alcohol from the sounds of it. Many people of that generation have a very negative view of the pub culture in Ireland. He could live some distance from a pub in which case he couldn’t just walk into a bar just around the corner – unlike in Dublin. The GAA sold some of the viewing rights to SKY to make more money, which negatively impacts on many GAA supporters in Ireland. Don’t get me wrong – I couldn’t care less about people who don’t actually go to any games. But if for some reason, I could not go to the Mayo Donegal game last Saturday, it would have angered me that I could not see it on our national broadcaster’s TV station, when up to a few years I could have had. In any case, I got to the match, so didn’t affect me. But I know of several people who couldn’t get tickets. And not everyone can just take off to the pub. I don’t have sky sports. It’s too expensive for what I would get to see.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,651 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Good points about the tickets. The only problem game is the final. But if you are from the participating county, and you really want a ticket, you’ll get it if you persevere hard enough. But it probably just won’t land on your lap if you’re not part of a club or don’t have a season ticket.

But why is it guff what Michael Duignan said about his father. Michael Duignan is about 50. His Dad would probably be about 75 to 80. He may not very mobile. Probably doesn’t drink alcohol from the sounds of it. Many people of that generation have a very negative view of the pub culture in Ireland. He could live some distance from a pub in which case he couldn’t just walk into a bar just around the corner – unlike in Dublin. The GAA sold some of the viewing rights to SKY to make more money, which negatively impacts on many GAA supporters in Ireland. Don’t get me wrong – I couldn’t care less about people who don’t actually go to any games. But if for some reason, I could not go to the Mayo Donegal game last Saturday, it would have angered me that I could not see it on our national broadcaster’s TV station, when up to a few years I could have had. In any case, I got to the match, so didn’t affect me. But I know of several people who couldn’t get tickets. And not everyone can just take off to the pub. I don’t have sky sports. It’s too expensive for what I would get to see.

I woulndt call it guff - but compared to the ordeal a lot of people went through yesterday with tickets - I wouldnt exactly call it a hardship.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

I'll wear my 2006
    With the collar up

You'll be sure to get the ride in the Auld Triangle afterwards.

Pot luck on what gender it might be ;)

Well if he is not very mobile and the local people know Old Mr Duignan loves GAA - mad to see a match. They could give him a lift to a neighbours house that has SKY? 'Sit down there Mr Duignan and I will get you a cup of tae' etc.

It does not have to be the Pub if the the individual is anti going to the pub.
    My Dad in his 70's would be the same - I taught him how to look up streams on the Internet - he refuses to get SKY SPORTS.

There is always an alternative.

Also I think the match that Duignan was on about would not have been shown in the past only for SKY. But that is a different story.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,638 ✭✭✭flasher0030

Well if he is not very mobile and the local people know Old Mr Duignan loves GAA they could give him a lift into a neighbours house that has SKY?

It does not have to be the Pub if the the individual is anti going to the pub.
    My Dad in his 70's would be the same - I taught him how to look up streams on the Internet - he refuses to get SKY SPORTS.

There is always an alternative.

Also I think the match that Duignan was on about would not have been shown in the past only for SKY. But that is a different story.

You don't get the point. We shouldn't have to put in place some kind of car pooling system to watch GAA match. The Association sold our when the dollar signs were put in front of them. To a foreign broadcaster, which costs a hell of a lot more to subscribe for than the cost to watch our national station.

Streaming ??? I don't know about old man Duignan's IT skills. But I know if I offer to teach my Dad about streaming, I'd get a grunt, and a kick up the ar$e.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

You'd almost forget Kerry and Tyrone were playing this weekend.

Slattsy wrote: »
    You'd almost forget Kerry and Tyrone were playing this weekend.

:D is that the minor game on beforehand?

I would say both sides are loving how they are avoiding the limelight.
    Even after the game is over on Saturday there will be be reams of analysis about it, and talk about it.
    There will be barely time for the media to re-group and focus on Kerry v Tyrone on Sunday.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

If it was a team by any other name playing Dublin this weekend, everyone would be fearful for them.

In reality they have fallen over the line against teams whom Dublin would beat in their sleep in addition any division one team they have come up against in the championship they have been beaten.

However, having said that they have this never say die attitude which is admirable, they might not be the best bunch of footballers but they have great heart and mental strength, which is more than can be said of alot of teams and that is what has kept them competitive with Dublin over the years.

But in reality if Dublin play to their level and Mayo theirs, Dublin will win by 6/7+

• Registered Users Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I'll wear my 2006 With the collar up My hair dyed blonde and braded.

Bring your boots too

• Registered Users Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭C__MC

Midfield battle is crucial this weekend.
    Will be interesting to see if mc cauley starts.
    Cant see the o sheas lasting with Fenton and possibly mc carthy over 75 mins
    Rob hennelly kickouts will be interesting to say the least

Mayo may love playing Dublin but their record is utterly dire since 2012. This is definitely worth something for Dublin. Under gavin, mayo out played Dublin for 50 mins in 15 replay but dublin still won, the drawn 16 game Dublin looked rudderless but should have won but for Connolly. In 2017, mayo outplayed Dublin in first half but Dublin still won. Recent league meetings have been 1 sided.

Moran will definitely start. He ran mc Mahon and fitzminions ragged in 2017, for all of us looking at Dublin, this year teams have got plenty of chances on them. Their backs very loose.

But I still expect Dublin to win, with their bench by 4-7 points

• Registered Users Posts: 7,787 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Plenty of tickets available in Duffy's SV Ballaghaderreen already printed off if Mayo fans or Dubs nearby are still looking for them.

Heard David Brady on NT this morning was looking for 4. Andy might nip down and pick some up for him.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,110 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

You don't get the point. We shouldn't have to put in place some kind of car pooling system to watch GAA match. The Association sold our when the dollar signs were put in front of them. To a foreign broadcaster, which costs a hell of a lot more to subscribe for than the cost to watch our national station.

Streaming ??? I don't know about old man Duignan's IT skills. But I know if I offer to teach my Dad about streaming, I'd get a grunt, and a kick up the ar$e.

Totally agree, but I have always felt that the Sky deal was only to keep RTE honest. In the past having no competition they could treat the GAA on a take it or leave it basis, (and did), when it came to paying to cover games.

If it was I can see the GAA`s point, but it is unfortunate that because of it we get situations like the Donegal v Mayo game last Saturday.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭Paulzx

charlie14 wrote: »
    Totally agree, but I have always felt that the Sky deal was only to keep RTE honest. In the past having no competition they could treat the GAA on a take it or leave it basis, (and did), when it came to paying to cover games.

...but weren't TV3 showing matches at that stage? From memory they were the ones who lost out to Sky...............so RTE already had competition