Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Limerick Local Elections

• Registered Users Posts: 24,317 ✭✭✭✭phog

Mc Love wrote: »
    Why do you even bother replying to my posts as I only post made up stuff....allegedly

the offer still stands...

• Registered Users Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

phog wrote: »
    the offer still stands...

How do you even know I'm real :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 24,317 ✭✭✭✭phog

How do you even know I'm real :eek:

I often question myself and say "is this guy for real" :pac: :pac: :pac:

Now you know I must be made up

• Registered Users Posts: 8,187 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Sweet Jesus, Limerick is looking like a kip with boarded up shops and derelict retail parks and all thats bothering some are tie wraps and posters!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭kilburn

Sweet Jesus, Limerick is looking like a kip with boarded up shops and derelict retail parks and all thats bothering some are tie wraps and posters!

To be fair we rant about that in other threads ......

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Can anyone here who's on twitter let Brian Leddin poster sitting in grass in Stoney Meadows beside LIT, assume the students ripped it off the lightpost

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »
    Can anyone here who's on twitter let Brian Leddin poster sitting in grass in Stoney Meadows beside LIT, assume the students ripped it off the lightpost

He knows about it ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

He knows about it ;)

Cheers, the sister is giving out about all morning

• Registered Users Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭JamesBond2010

How do you even know I'm real eek.png

Is this the Boards.ie edition of Take me out:p:p:p No likey No lighty:D:D:D:D

Exactly. If they're still up Saturday morning then complain them to the council. Until then no point in worrying about it, because they're still allowed to be there.

Also from experience of previous elections, the odd poster can get missed by accident, so you could maybe tweet the candidate if you see single stray posters instead of getting angry about it and reporting them.

But they should @ least have the decency to reply to you if tell them about the posters.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭mitresize5

Im I right in thinking a long time poster on all things Limerick has been elected to the council

mitresize5 wrote: »
    Im I right in thinking a long time poster on all things Limerick has been elected to the council
    winner.png

• Registered Users Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭mitresize5

God help us all

• Registered Users Posts: 12,916 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Not sure if it's the FF part of him or the ex detective part of him that's breaking out! Either way looks like the electorate dodged a bullet there.

Jfc that rant was just awful. I feel very sorry for his son who is mentioned in the article. He comes across as a nice person and it’s a shame for him to be linked to that rant.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭zimmermania

Water charges not an issue now and support withdrawn from those who led the campaign to abolish them,Solidarity PBP/AAA and to a lesser extent SF who jumped on the bandwagon.

The voters who like to change could not give their support to the established parties on this occasion and voted green in large numbers.If the Greens get into government with an increased number of tds after the next election and are credited with the introduction of carbon taxes,increasing coal,gas,diesel,petrol and electricity costs the party will suffer another reverse as history repeats itself.

The more things change the more they stay as they are.(cant remember who said it but it is apt for this country)

We have to adjust ourselves too. Look at other sources of renewable energy etc. We can't rely on fossil fuels forever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

We have to adjust ourselves too. Look at other sources of renewable energy etc. We can't rely on fossil fuels forever

Don’t mean to burst that bubble but we don’t get enough sun or wind in Ireland to rely on anything other than fossil fuels. Renewable energy is a pipe dream with the climate we have (ironically global warming “might” make it a viable alternative in a couple of years).

What exactly are you supposed to be a "specialist" in, anyway..? :confused:

A specialist a.k.a an expert in a chosen field. Would love to give more info but as you can understand I don’t want to be identified Irl.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,073 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

Don’t mean to burst that bubble but we don’t get enough sun or wind in Ireland to rely on anything other than fossil fuels. Renewable energy is a pipe dream with the climate we have (ironically global warming “might” make it a viable alternative in a couple of years).

Definitely not a specialist on renewable energy anyway, that's for sure. And you don't seem to understand the concept of climate change either.

Climate hysteria you mean? The climate is changing for millions of years, this is nothing different. I take it you are a Greta acolyte?

A specialist a.k.a an expert in a chosen field. Would love to give more info but as you can understand I don’t want to be identified Irl.

A very particular set of skills?
    Skills you have acquired over a very long career?
    Skills that make you a nightmare for people like (Albanians who have an overly elaborate kidnapping routine?).

Bryan Mills? Is that you?

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Brian Lighthouse

Just a note to inform you that all my election posters are down and we even took down old cable-ties that were hanging from previous times. I have three black bags of cable-ties and not all are my own.

A poster putter-upper's observation:
    We'd arrive at a pole and see cable-ties that looked clean and fresh. In the beginning we often wondered who had a poster there that it is down so soon. Then when hopping up the ladder you could see this beautiful shiny cable-tie on the outside (presumably kept spick and span from the wind and rain) but full of green-mould and lichen on the inside.
    So although the cable-tie might look new from the ground, there is a good chance that it is well over five years old. We came across many teams removing posters and each and every one of them removed the ties and that's across all parties, independents etc.
    I can't say that someone hasn't littered or has littered, but from what I witnessed, all were compliant.

Oh, and, I've counted mine and I'm missing six. I know two ended up on a bonfire, I know that two were set on fire. That leaves two that I can't find anywhere. If any of you see me looking up at you from a ditch or somewhere like that, please give me a shout. Thanks.

PS. Thanks to anyone that voted for me or gave me a preference.
    Also if you would like to ask any questions, fire away.
    I won't be responding to abuse, but I don't mind a ball-hop.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,132 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Don’t mean to burst that bubble but we don’t get enough sun or wind in Ireland to rely on anything other than fossil fuels. Renewable energy is a pipe dream with the climate we have (ironically global warming “might†make it a viable alternative in a couple of years).

We get an awful lot more of both wind and sunshine than you seem to think and both, if harvested correctly, could provide more than enough power to meet demand at significantly less cost than oil, gas and coal.

PS. Thanks to anyone that voted for me or gave me a preference. Also if you would like to ask any questions, fire away. I won't be responding to abuse, but I don't mind a ball-hop.

Well done on the election even though our views are miles apart !

Funniest and rudest comment on the doorstep ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

Just a note to inform you that all my election posters are down and we even took down old cable-ties that were hanging from previous times. I have three black bags of cable-ties and not all are my own.

A poster putter-upper's observation:
    We'd arrive at a pole and see cable-ties that looked clean and fresh. In the beginning we often wondered who had a poster there that it is down so soon. Then when hopping up the ladder you could see this beautiful shiny cable-tie on the outside (presumably kept spick and span from the wind and rain) but full of green-mould and lichen on the inside.
    So although the cable-tie might look new from the ground, there is a good chance that it is well over five years old. We came across many teams removing posters and each and every one of them removed the ties and that's across all parties, independents etc.
    I can't say that someone hasn't littered or has littered, but from what I witnessed, all were compliant.

Oh, and, I've counted mine and I'm missing six. I know two ended up on a bonfire, I know that two were set on fire. That leaves two that I can't find anywhere. If any of you see me looking up at you from a ditch or somewhere like that, please give me a shout. Thanks.

PS. Thanks to anyone that voted for me or gave me a preference.
    Also if you would like to ask any questions, fire away.
    I won't be responding to abuse, but I don't mind a ball-hop.
    On the subject of bonfires, what to do about all the burning of rubbish that goes on, including plastic rubbish? It's worse than fly tipping, but is pretty much ignored and accepted, while people get up in arms about littering.

When certain households keep burning rubbish, is this something to talk to the guards about, or the council or both?

Also, who are you?

kilburn wrote: »
    Well done on the election even though our views are miles apart !

There is a possibility you might be mixing me up with another Brian. I didn't get elected. But thank you ;-)

kilburn wrote: »
    Funniest and rudest comment on the doorstep ?

I find people are genuinely polite.

I didn't encounter any rudeness, apart from one of our team knocking on a door at five past eight on the night of the Champions League semi final - The sitting room window opened and a friend of mine shouted "Lighthouse, Liverpool, you're getting our vote now feck off!"
    It was only then we realised the time and headed off to the pub to watch the game ourselves.
    Funniest and rudest rolled into one, I suppose.

On the subject of bonfires, what to do about all the burning of rubbish that goes on, including plastic rubbish? It's worse than fly tipping, but is pretty much ignored and accepted, while people get up in arms about littering.

Bonfire night in Limerick is traditionally April 30 (May Eve). Some people do see it as a sneaky way of getting rid of rubbish or old furniture and that is not correct. It is also not correct to engage in battle with the fire service. However, I can't see that tradition being dropped so readily in some areas.

When certain households keep burning rubbish, is this something to talk to the guards about, or the council or both?

Talk to the council: https://www.limerick.ie/council/services/environment/environmental-control

Also, who are you?

Brian O'Connor, City North.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,187 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Are you a hitman?

Brian O'Connor, City North.

In that case our views are not miles apart and disappointed you didn't get elected very few candidates understand the issues re anti social behaviour.

You got my vote and looking forward sampling your delicious market goods soon !