Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Limerick Local Elections

• Registered Users Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭stefanovich

kilburn wrote: »
    He also makes amazing crisps worth my vote alone............

What I am saying is that he seems to be selfless and genuine. So if forced to vote FG he'd be my choice.

• Registered Users Posts: 17 Openside11

What I am saying is that he seems to be selfless and genuine. So if forced to vote FG he'd be my choice.

He's not a bad fella does a lot of volunteering in the area with meals on wheels and the community center.

• Registered Users Posts: 17 Openside11

chicorytip wrote: »
    It would be an executive position so it would seem to me that the role of the current city manager would become redundant. It would also call into question the need to have an elected council at all whose members receive a salary from the public purse as is the case currently.

Don't think so i mean the city/county manager will just be the head of the county civil service now he'll still have to deal with HR and all that jazz. The role wont become redundant.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Well the Labour party is anti free speech. Social democrats have no opinions on anything it seems.

RTE and the Irish media are anti free speech for any views which don't meet strict PC thresholds, the social Democrats and Labour baschically are RTE politics, lots of talk about equality, feminism, multiculturalism but from a nice address

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

Is there any predictions for the council make up? There are 6 areas in City(3) And County (3)

Present state of play
    Fianna Fail 13
    Fine Gael 12
    Sinn Fein 6
    Labour 3
    Anti Austerity 3
    Independent 3

Limerick City North sees John Gilligan retire . Will that see a different independent?
    Sinn Fein held a seat in Adare and have no one standing there so that could well be a fine gael gain.

• Registered Users Posts: 768 ✭✭✭damowill

I will repeat what i said earlier,we will all post in favour of candidates we know and want to do well,there will be little objectivity to be found here.

i dont know or havent met any of the candidates personally. i have only lived in the north side of the city for the past 2 years. So i can only go on what candidates say, be it on social media, on their flyers or at the door when they call looking for a vote or what they have done in the past, be it on the Council or in other groups/organistations they have contributed.

And because of that, imo Brian Leddin (Greens) is the best candidate. His priorities and goals are achievable, he wants to make a difference to Limerick. He just doesnt want to fill pot holes or get a pat on the back for doing something for someone in the community. He sees the City & county's potential and wants to improve Limerick as a whole, its infrastructure, its planning policies and make Limerick a real liveable city, no matter what background or social status. He himself has the experience and know how to be able to deliver for Limerick, along with other like minded candidates.

One candidate on the north side mentions raising the Corporate tax rate to 25% on her flyer. Does she know she doesnt have this power. Others talk about our health system. Again this isnt in the remit of a Councillor.

We need forward progressive thinking councillors that can work well, make and implement positive decisions for Limerick.

damowill wrote: »
    i dont know or havent met any of the candidates personally. i have only lived in the north side of the city for the past 2 years. So i can only go on what candidates say, be it on social media, on their flyers or at the door when they call looking for a vote or what they have done in the past, be it on the Council or in other groups/organistations they have contributed.

And because of that, imo Brian Leddin (Greens) is the best candidate. His priorities and goals are achievable, he wants to make a difference to Limerick. He just doesnt want to fill pot holes or get a pat on the back for doing something for someone in the community. He sees the City & county's potential and wants to improve Limerick as a whole, its infrastructure, its planning policies and make Limerick a real liveable city, no matter what background or social status. He himself has the experience and know how to be able to deliver for Limerick, along with other like minded candidates.

One candidate on the north side mentions raising the Corporate tax rate to 25% on her flyer. Does she know she doesnt have this power. Others talk about our health system. Again this isnt in the remit of a Councillor.

We need forward progressive thinking councillors that can work well, make and implement positive decisions for Limerick.

He also wants to legislate against transphobia whatever that is.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,771 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Councillors can't legislate anything can they?

Anyway, a search of Leddin's site for the record reveals no mention of transphobia:
    Your search - site:www.brianleddin.ie transphobia - did not match any documents.

Suggestions:

Make sure that all words are spelled correctly.
    Try different keywords.
    Try more general keywords.
    Try fewer keywords.

site:www.brianleddin.ie transphobia

(No mention of the words legislate or legislation either so far as I can see FWIW)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

He also won't have any power on the FG/FF controlled council, so he might as well be campaigning on tax and health.

keane2097 wrote: »
    Councillors can't legislate anything can they?

Anyway, a search of Leddin's site for the record reveals no mention of transphobia:

(No mention of the words legislate or legislation either so far as I can see FWIW)

As a member of the green party he agrees with their policies I would imagine.

giphy.gif

By the way the Green Party website also appears to have no reference to a wish to 'legislate against transphobia' either, if that notion happens to scare you in an election about bicycle lanes and local business development for whatever reason :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 768 ✭✭✭damowill

He also won't have any power on the FG/FF controlled council, so he might as well be campaigning on tax and health.

i'd like to believe every councillor can have an influence, especially if there are other Councillors that are like minded no matter what party they are in. This is a council not the Dail, so each of them have to work together. If ideas and motions put forward, are in the interests of Limerick & its people then they will be listened to i'd hope.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,132 ✭✭✭chicorytip

i'd like to believe every councillor can have an influence, especially if there are other Councillors that are like minded no matter what party they are in. This is a council not the Dail, so each of them have to work together. If ideas and motions put forward, are in the interests of Limerick & its people then they will be listened to i'd hope.
    By their nature local councillors tend to be preoccupied by matters pertaining to their own electoral districts or backyards. It's how they garner the majority of their votes. Many are incapable of viewing the bigger picture regarding what might be of benefit to the county as a whole. It is this kind of blinkered vision and narrow mindedness that could seriously undermine the authority and decision making of any directly elected mayor, if we ever see one.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭kilburn

Never believe anything a politician tells you on the doorstep.

City councillors will be out numbered by the county councillors who are still anti Limerick City.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

kilburn wrote: »
    Never believe anything a politician tells you on the doorstep.

City councillors will be out numbered by the county councillors who are still anti Limerick City.

The first part I'd say about any politician in any election.

On the second, the metropolitan area has 21 councilors and the three county areas have 19 between them, so it's within the power of city voters to elect 21 city based councilors in the metropolitan area.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,903 ✭✭✭zulutango

the metropolitan area has 21 councilors and the three county areas have 19 between them, so it's within the power of city voters to elect 21 city based councilors in the metropolitan area.

Just on this point, the metropolitan area has the majority of councillors (21 versus 19), but in reality a large part of the metropolitan area is rural and elects councillors who are representing rural issues. We effectively have more rural councillors than city councillors at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

He also wants to legislate against transphobia whatever that is.

Thought/Speech policing effectively. He won’t be getting my vote jumping on that burning bandwagon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭TheDiceMan2020

Why on earth does Brian Leddin have the following on his website under policies?
    Climate change is real, there is work to be done and we are the ones to do it. We have everything to gain from leading the change. Dublin is home to a vibrant technology sector which can help to create jobs in a really efficient green economy. We need the right political will to make it happen.

A car based transport system is not going to work in our vibrant city. We want a different system so that Dubliners can safely rely on public transport, cycling and walking for their day-to-day business.

Looking after the planet starts with looking after our own place. We want to create greenways along the Liffey, Sandymont Strand, the Grand Canal and the Dodder to allow us to have a better connection with nature and with each other.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭kilburn

Oh dear small error Greens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭Johnny_BravoIII

Thought/Speech policing effectively. He won’t be getting my vote jumping on that burning bandwagon.

I like a bit of Jordan Peterson myself but let's be clear there is a big difference between arguing against forced speech and arguing for the rights of minorities. Just because Mr Peterson spoke out against forced speech with regard to the trans community doesn't mean he isn't for the rights of minorities of trans people to be recognised. It’s not good enough to hear “trans something” and start flapping about with JP rhetoric.

As much as I like JP my comment has nothing to do with him. Telling people they MUST believe a male is a female, they MUST NOT call out or question hard coded biological facts “cos feelings”, or forcing them to call those people specific pronouns is absolutely wrong. It will never be acceptable to the majority of people. “Transphobia” terminology is a push to deter that questioning or commentary by painting those who reject the ideology as bigots.

At the risk of repeating myself. There is a difference between the "forced speech" legislation in Canada and the "recognition" legislation in Ireland. You are wrestling with the strawman here. Have a read of this will ya. http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2015/act/25/enacted/en/html

Are you saying Trans doesn't exist?
    The state must first recognise the trans community so that it can begin to implement supports.
    This is what is happening. I think the vast majority of people would support this type of progressive legislation.

You are repeating anti-SJW, JP type of stuff out of context.

At the risk of repeating myself. There is a difference between the "forced speech" legislation in Canada and the "recognition" legislation in Ireland. You are wrestling with the strawman here. Have a read of this will ya. http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2015/act/25/enacted/en/html

Do you understand what I'm saying? Are you saying Trans doesn't exist?
    The state must first recognise the trans community so that it can begin to implement supports.
    This is what is happening. I think the vast majority of people would support this type of progressive legislation.

You are repeating anti-SJW, JP type of stuff out of context.

I’m not saying Trans doesn’t exist but I’m not a blind fanboy of them either - I personally don’t think it should have been declassified as a mental illness and I certainly don’t buy in to the whole “you can be whatever you feel like” bull****. Spoiler alert: You can’t. Or perhaps you can, but don’t you ****ing dare tell me to deceive myself about biology or call you special names because I won’t.

Why are you bringing up Jordan Peterson?

You wouldn’t mind but there isn’t a single “wrongthink” word that Jordan Peterson has spoken- even in relations to trans he has been factual and the truth hurts for some people.

I'm very wary about legislating anything to do with trans people. It's the thin edge of the wedge towards the kind of lunacy we currently see in the US and Canada.

I’m not saying Trans doesn’t exist but I’m not a blind fanboy of them either - I personally don’t think it should have been declassified as a mental illness and I certainly don’t buy in to the whole “you can be whatever you feel like” bull****. Spoiler alert: You can’t. Or perhaps you can, but don’t you ****ing dare tell me to deceive myself about biology or call you special names because I won’t.

Would you say the same about homosexuality?

You wouldn’t mind but there isn’t a single “wrongthink” word that Jordan Peterson has spoken- even in relations to trans he has been factual and the truth hurts for some people.

I recognise the language the Specialist is using cos I happen to agree with a lot of what JP says. But the Canada situation is not what is happening here. There are trans people in Ireland. As a community they have their own challenges. As a society we need to figure out how we can support them.

I'm very wary about legislating anything to do with trans people. It's the thin edge of the wedge towards the kind of lunacy we currently see in the US and Canada.

Fair enough, be wary of all legislation.
    The fact is there are trans people living in Ireland and we need to figure out what we can do to support them.

The alternative is ignore a section of society which wouldn't be cool. For example, the suicide rates amongst trans people is way higher than other sections of society. How are we meant to tackle this problem if we don't even recognise that trans exists!!

Folks, if ye are against rights for minorities then lets hope whoever you are voting for doesn't get in.