Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Extinction Rebellion Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Emissions could significantly drop in the morning if people changed their lifestyles ... they won't it's easier to virtue signal and DEMAND the govt. do something (ie tax the **** outta us)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

The government ensuring a just transition is one of XR Ireland's three central demands.
    Translation = Tax the poor to make some wealthy people feel better about themselves .

I am sure after consideration that , Wealthy People will say ‘ We’ll get this “ ;);)

• Registered Users Posts: 786 ✭✭✭vladmydad

The government ensuring a just transition is one of XR Ireland's three central demands.

And of course you support nuclear power which is CO2 free ?

Emissions could significantly drop in the morning if people changed their lifestyles ... they won't it's easier to virtue signal and DEMAND the govt. do something (ie tax the **** outta us)
    Put away the Private Jets today .

• Registered Users Posts: 286 ✭✭abcabc123123

vladmydad wrote: »
    And of course you support nuclear power which is CO2 free ?
    XR doesn't have positions on individual policies. That isn't the purpose of XR; it's not a political party. The purpose of it, which I think it has done well so far, is to act as an alarm bell and draw attention to the seriousness of the problem.

I personally don't know enough about nuclear to have a position on it.
    blinding wrote: »
    Translation = Tax the poor to make some wealthy people feel better about themselves .

I am sure after consideration that , Wealthy People will say ‘ We’ll get this “ ;);)
    Untrue

• Registered Users Posts: 15,647 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Tax the carbon emitters exponentially

Aviation industry
    Car industry
    Heavy polluting industry

It’s not about taxing the poor, just the worst offenders emission wise

• Registered Users Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭Micky 32

All ye f**** want is petrol and diesel at10 euros a litre. Shut down Dublin airport and restrict peoples freedoms, make poor people poorer because food and services will sky rocket because of the cost of deliveries due to trucks doing 8mpg, then the struggle to heat their homes. Then we have that person in power threathening to raise carbon taxes every year he is in power..

Sure it will be grand for you because i suspect you have a huge salary or a huge bank account or both...

This is what proper protesting looks like by brave people wanting more freedoms, not a bunch of leftists using climate change to push socialism https://mobile.twitter.com/cnni/status/1181156116014796800

I don’t think extinction rebellion know whether they are coming or going !

They are attacking Public Transport = The best Green way to travel .

They are putting the backs up of ordinary people by causing them problems while keeping away from the 1% that have beniffited most from the policies they are complaining about .

Aviation industry
    Car industry
    Heavy polluting industry

They’ll pass the cost on to us. Only the rich will be able to travel.

And no I don’t want to shut down the airport

I do want it to reduce and curtail operations over the coming years

Green tax on all carriers
    Green levy on all individual tickets

Reduction of flights by 20percent over the next 3 years.

I’m all for aviation once it is carbon neutral btw

Aviation industry
    Car industry
    Heavy polluting industry

100% agree, tax the lads buying SUV's, problem is they won't they will make far more money if they just tax EVERYBODY.

And of course the frustrating thing is the money will just be abused by the corrupt govt, it won't change anything.

Who made you king

• Registered Users Posts: 4,545 ✭✭✭Topgear on Dave

Your not going to win any elections by driving the price of flights through the roof.

Sorry now but there is a serious climate emergency declared. Co2 and other greenhouse gases are through the roof.

For travel instead of emission fueled avaiation I would propose solar powered shipping and trains

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Aviation industry
    Car industry
    Heavy polluting industry

ordinary people drive cars, ordinary people fly on planes, ordinary people work in factories. make no mistake, the rich will insulate themselves from your carbon taxes at the expense of ordinary people.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,267 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Hopefully this leads to more carbon taxes and massive reduction in our standards of living and spending power. Only way we can fix this mess. Unfortunately nothing will change till it’s too late though.

ordinary people drive cars, ordinary people fly on planes, ordinary people work in factories. make no mistake, the rich will insulate themselves from your carbon taxes at the expense of ordinary people.

The rich will still be rich just not quite as rich as they’ll pay fair share too hopefully.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,435 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

The rich will still be rich just not quite as rich as they’ll pay fair share too hopefully.

I’m betting you’re a government artist or something like that aren’t you?

Would extension rebellion accept that it would be okay to take direct action against them if you do not agree with them ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 271 ✭✭lleti

Do they want to save the planet or do they want to save humans?

It's really conflicting what they want. If you want to save the planet the easiest thing to do is reduce population.

If you want to improve peoples lives then taxing them more and more doesn't do it.

Blazer wrote: »
    I’m betting you’re a government artist or something like that aren’t you?

A what now?

lleti wrote: »
    Do they want to save the planet or do they want to save humans?

It's really conflicting what they want. If you want to save the planet the easiest thing to do is reduce population.

If you want to improve peoples lives then taxing them more and more doesn't do it.

Depends how you measure improvement of lives. More taxes will hopefully lead to decreased spending and less consumption.

• Registered Users Posts: 286 ✭✭abcabc123123

Agree. The talk of carbon tax is a deliberate red herring. When XR activists chant about system change, they're not talking about ****ing carbon taxes.

• Registered Users Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Captain Snow

100% agree, tax the lads buying SUV's, problem is they won't they will make far more money if they just tax EVERYBODY.

And of course the frustrating thing is the money will just be abused by the corrupt govt, it won't change anything.

Why SUV,s? There emissions are lower then any Electric car on the road. Both production and through the life time of the vehicle. A properly maintain vehicle poses no threat to the environment.

Where as:

To produce your plastic Electric cars you need more oil and gas to come out of the ground.

You need more lithium mines to produce your batteries. All of which are 100 times more polluting.

It’s not about a class conflict it’s about emissions. The target is emissions. The green tax can be used to research and deploy effective solutions.

Why is overpopulation never mentioned ?
    That's the elephant in the room - fix overpopulation and climate change will take care of itself.

It is a long term solution of course.

Hopefully this leads to more carbon taxes and massive reduction in our standards of living and spending power. Only way we can fix this mess. Unfortunately nothing will change till it’s too late though.

Please tell me your joking, "more taxes and a massive reduction in our standard of living":confused:

Hopefully not.
    Taxing people in Ireland will have no effect on climate change.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I heard that they're prepared to get arrested.

Says a lot about these people that they have nothing to lose so are willing to get arrested. No jobs to lose.

Hopefully the Gardee adopt a common sense approach and give them a liberal dose of the timber rather than making arrests.