Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

General Premier League Thread 2018-19 Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,289 ✭✭✭✭rob316

jpboard1 wrote: »
    How about the bottlers wasting an 8 point lead with 6 games to go. Now that’s a collapse! :)

They have short memories. Telling Liverpool fans they blew it in January when really anything can happen at the half way point.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Garzorico

A lot of talk like the league was decided tonight - far from it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭jpboard1

rob316 wrote: »
    They have short memories. Telling Liverpool fans they blew it in January when really anything can happen at the half way point.

United’s collapse that year is second only to the Newcastle debacle.

The whole point of a title race is every game counts. Liverpool were in the enviable position of knowing they didn't have to play a game against their main title rivals for the rest of the season and with a lead of 4 points, even negating the need of goal difference.

If you want more proof over how the competitiveness of the league was being questioned even in November time, months before the big head to head at the Eithad, read this Guardian piece:

Premier League the most competitive in the world? You must be joking

That assessment has been vindicated as the season has progressed.

Again would you have predicted at that point city would go on and take 54/57?

Look you want to go with the narrative that Liverpool "bottled it" work away. It's bollox, the points total doesn't lie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Garzorico wrote: »
    A lot of talk like the league was decided tonight - far from it.

Far from it? It couldn't much be closer than being decided given the fixture.

The only way it could be closer is if they played 1 of the 3 sh1ter teams Hell you could create an XI from Brighton Hudds Cardiff Fulham and still it would be as close to over as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,805 ✭✭✭mightyreds

Fully thought that was an Evertonion taking the p1ss until he went with the " we won it 5 times"

It is someone taking the piss, the man city guy who didn't know how games in hand worked, the guy who thought an away goal was actually 2 goals, more and more of these popping up it's just set ups for views

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,508 ✭✭✭✭noodler

The whole point of a title race is every game counts. Liverpool were in the enviable position of knowing they didn't have to play a game against their main title rivals for the rest of the season and with a lead of 4 points, even negating the need of goal difference.

If you want more proof over how the competitiveness of the league was being questioned even in November time, months before the big head to head at the Eithad, read this Guardian piece:

Falling over yourself to maintain a certain narrative has now led to new lows of ridiculousness in your posts.

Liverpool handed City the title by not getting 100 points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,119 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

nonsense , citys stats are off the charts no one should be able to live with them full stop , 32 wins out of 38 games last season and 100 points , no team had ever done that before

city are likely to hit 98 points this year , and win next week and again equal the record of 32 wins in a season no team has ever done this before

so what you are saying if the team that dose not win more then 33 games next season they are bottlers .....christ what a post :rolleyes: .....

Far from it? It couldn't much be closer than being decided given the fixture.

The only way it could be closer is if they played 1 of the 3 sh1ter teams Hell you could create an XI from Brighton Hudds Cardiff Fulham and still it would be as close to over as possible.

Is it over?

nonsense , citys stats are off the charts no one should be able to live with them full stop , 32 wins out of 38 games last season and 100 points , no team had ever done that before

city are likely to hit 98 points this year , and win next week and again equal the record of 32 wins in a season no team has ever done this before

so what you are saying if the team that dose not win more then 33 games next season they are bottlers .....christ what a post :rolleyes: .....

Why are you even entertaining such bull? :)

I think the only team that can possible bottle the league now is City. Unless City are losing 3-0 at HT and Pool lose/draw well then we can call them bottlers.

Going back to January to call them bottlers is ridiculous and I said it back then to.

Is it over?

Is what over? The league? Obviously not but there's a big difference than saying 'far from over', as if the expectancy is on Brighton to get a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

City have been a relentless machine for sure. Don't think anyone would quibble about that. The point is it was in Liverpool's hands.
    "Liverpool began 2019 with a seven-point lead at the top - no team has ever failed to win the title after heading into the new year so far ahead."

Not sure why there is such a focus on what City were doing. After the Etihad game they were 4 points behind and wouldn't meet Liverpool again. It was all about Liverpool doing their job from that point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

It’s unfair to call either of these teams bottlers whatever happens on Sunday.

I’ve never seen two teams so relentlessly win their games in this manner, neither team has blinked and each team responded pretty much everytime. Liverpool doing it while getting to another cL semi final is impressive when you consider the energy each game must take.

I think people underestimate how draining any game is from April onwards in a title run in. Playing Brighton for the title will be like playing Barcelona if it’s still 0-0 with 20 mins to go!!!

City have been a relentless machine for sure. Don't think anyone would quibble about that. The point is it was in Liverpool's hands.

Not sure why there is such a focus on what City were doing. After the Etihad game they were 4 points behind and wouldn't meet Liverpool again. It was all about Liverpool doing their job from that point.

For nearly 20 more league games yeah ... Practically flawless league records almost neverbefore attained needed and expected then yeah?

94 points. It's just incredible. Fair play to city.

Dropping points isn't bottling it ffs. No club is expected win every single game they play.

It's expected that clubs will drop points here and there. City changed that last year, literally drop the bare minimum. Before last year it was unheard of to have this points total.

Big difference between bottling and just not winning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Umaro

Can't believe we bottled the league by failing to get 100 points. How will we live this down...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

Does he call them bottlers?

It's implied in his post. It's literally the main point he's getting at

Yeah Liverpool threw it away by not winning every game after that.

Stop it your embarrassing yourself

noodler wrote: »
    For nearly 20 more league games yeah ... Practically flawless league records almost neverbefore attained needed and expected then yeah?

94 points. It's just incredible. Fair play to city.

Records in a league that the stats showed was as uncompetitive as has ever been seen against the top 5. And two of those top 5 sides went on to have a collapse of their own, with one dealing with several key absences.

City and Liverpool imo are great sides. The rest of the league are not on the same level. The records should not be seen as a surprise.
    Dropping points isn't bottling it ffs. No club is expected win every single game they play.

It's expected that clubs will drop points here and there. City changed that last year, literally drop the bare minimum. Before last year it was unheard of to have this points total.

Big difference between bottling and just not winning.

Never said they were bottlers. Don't misrepresent me. I said it was in their hands, which it was.

It his point but his pussy footing around saying it outright as he knows how ridiculous it sounds.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

If anyone's genuinely held belief is that Liverpool bottled the league and threw it away, then their opinion is worthless in my view.

5starpool wrote: »
    If anyone's genuinely held belief is that Liverpool bottled the league and threw it away, then their opinion is worthless in my view.

Mick is the only one thanking his posts. Says it all really 😂

I don't know. I think there's a few being a bit too sensitive to any suggestion that Liverpool had a good lead in the race at one stage. A race between two sides that don't drop many points.

You can talk about it and not be calling them bottlers like. Saying they were second best over the second half of the season is fair.

Is it over?

Most Liverpool fans seemed to have given up on it which is disappointing for them:o

They have handed City the title more or less it will all feed back to the club and the players they have no hope when the fans have given up.

Its been Liverpools year this year (lecister like in many ways) they have had all the luck with late goals, dodgy penalties, 1 goal margin wins and are also out performing their xg numbers by a decent bIt.

This will all even out next season, especially as the club as a whole seems to be defeated before they actually are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,296 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

I've seen the United team I support fail to get the necessary points to win the title on numerous occasions. Upton Park '95 springs to mind. Doesn't mean they were bottlers. It happens in sport sometimes. Wish my team had the character of those sides now.

Can understand some fans being emotional tonight but I think if they reflect on what's been said coldly and without emotion they'll realise it really was in their team's hands.

Not over yet of course. Maybe City will have their Upton Park moment at the weekend.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Liverpool were in the lead at some point and didn't win the league (most likely). Great point.

They were around 86% likely to win the league at one stage, so you can't discount peoples views on that as worthless.

Also I heard/read somewhere there ppg are higher when they have not been in 1st compared to when in 1st.

So its hardly surprising the narrative has taken hold

I've seen the United team I support fail to get the necessary points to win the title on numerous occasions. Upton Park '95 springs to mind. Doesn't mean they were bottlers. It happens in sport sometimes. Wish my team had the character of those sides now.

Can understand some fans being emotional tonight but iI think of they reflect on what's been said coldly and without emotion they'll realise it really was in their team's hands.

Not over yet of course. Maybe City will have their Upton Park moment at the weekend.

In their hands in January with half a season to play. Ok mate
    Maybe when you log off and reflect on the nonsense you've been posting you'll realise exactly what it is, nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,858 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

They've been sailing close to the wind the last couple of games. Can't keep winning 1-0 indefinitely. And Brighton on their day are more than capable of keeping things tight Burnley-stylee...

Ah I think tonight was the night to be honest. City don't drop points to sides like Brighton.

Thought Leicester gave it a good go. Rodgers has them playing some nice stuff to be fair. They'll be very interesting next season although Vardy is getting older.

They were around 86% likely to win the league at one stage, so you can't discount peoples views on that as worthless.

Also I heard/read somewhere there ppg are higher when they have not been in 1st compared to when in 1st.

So its hardly surprising the narrative has taken hold

nonsense , hit 32 wins last year , and 100 points no team in the premier league is equipped to beat that and for as long as they are this strong they won't be beaten in my opinion , city have conceded 3 goals since that defeat to newcastle on the 29th of january no team has ever done that not even united at their very best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,287 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Most Liverpool fans seemed to have given up on it which is disappointing for them:o

They have handed City the title more or less it will all feed back to the club and the players they have no hope when the fans have given up.

Its been Liverpools year this year (lecister like in many ways) they have had all the luck with late goals, dodgy penalties, 1 goal margin wins and are also out performing their xg numbers by a decent bIt.

This will all even out next season, especially as the club as a whole seems to be defeated before they actually are

Both Liverpool and Man City have had their fair share of dodgy decisions next season will be interesting with VAR coming into play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,387 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

Umaro wrote: »
    Can't believe we bottled the league by failing to get 100 points. How will we live this down...

While bottling is a stretch if the miracle doesn't happen its a certainty this will be taken very very badly not by all but from a number of the fan base will embarrass themselves and turn into memes and whatnot.

nonsense , hit 32 wins last year , and 100 points no team in the premier league is equipped to beat that and for as long as they are this strong they won't be beaten in my opinion , city have conceded 3 goals since that defeat to newcastle on the 29th of january no team has ever done that not even united at their very best

which bit is nonsense that they were rated around 86% chance to win the league at one stage.

Or they have less points per game when in first compared to any other position

which bit is nonsense that they were rated around 86% chance to win the league at one stage.

the notion that city are there for the taking in the first place ,

Both Liverpool and Man City have had their fair share of dodgy decisions next season will be interesting with VAR coming into play

Thats a fair point alright and you need the decisions to have a great year its just something you shouldn't expect to continue as its mainly down to randomness (or the ineptitude of referees)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,287 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Liverpool to match what Man City done since jan they would be sitting on 102 points just goes to show how bad some post are here trying to imply that Liverpool threw it away when it just a fact that Man City have had an amazing 2nd half of the season

the notion that city are there for the taking in the first place ,

Well I didnt say that so not sure why you replied to me

Nonsense.

What "percentage" were they to win the league in early December? Or early November? Or feck it, why not go the whole hog and check back this "percentage" in August?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Saying they were second best over the second half of the season is fair.

I heard there is going to be a trophy for that.

noodler wrote: »
    Nonsense.

What "percentage" were they to win the league in early December? Or early November? Or feck it, why not go the whole hog and check back this "percentage" in August?

its not nonsense just maths and stats why have people such a problem with it.

If you want to argue against it fine but the fact is, thats what they were rated at to win the league at one stage this year

Well I didnt say that so not sure why you replied to me

you reckoned liverpool have bottled the title race or support a narrative because they had an 86%at one stage in the season :confused:

the fact is city had the stronger panel of players over the course of the season which everyone knew at the start of the season anyway , and a team that finished 4th last season would be doing well just to stay with them

them stats don't reflect the story of the season

you reckoned liverpool have bottled the title race or support a narrative because they had an 86%at one stage in the season :confused:

the fact is city had the stronger panel of players over the course of the season which everyone knew at the start of the season anyway , and a team that finished 4th last season would be doing well just to stay with them

them stats don't reflect the story of the season

Did i say they bottled it tonight? no I didn't

You are seeing stuff in my posts that isn;'t there

I just pointed out a few things and said its hardly surprising the narrative has been built up

it goes back to Klopps record in finals as well as his reign under Liverpool, fans point to progress without any (as of yet) silverware

There is no shame in any of this ye might have the yer best premier league season ever and win nothing, what ye have achieved is very likely unrepeatable, but there is a chance city drop back a little next year also.

So who knows goin g forward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,212 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Tbf what city have done since losing 2 games in December is quite staggering, we shouldn't even have had a title race the way they've been picking up points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Kompany could attempt that technique 100 times tomorrow and not one would go in

Just a hilariously cruel way to probably ruin Liverpool’s best chance at a league title in 30 years

I almost feel bad

If Liverpool fail to win the league, it is perfectly legitimate for fans of other clubs to use phrases like "blown it" and "bottled it".

Because they are simply other ways of saying "fail".

Liverpool fans don't get to prescribe changes to the English language and how it is used just because it bothers them.

• Registered Users Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Joe Don Dante

and none of those conceded were from open play