Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How long before Irish reunification?

• Registered Users Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Triangle

Runaways wrote: »
    We spend three times more on the hse than ni would cost us annually

With the housing crisis, health crisis and climate crisis all needing investment. I think an ideology like investing in an United Ireland is way down on the vast majority of people's wish list of things to get done.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Runaways

10-15 years
    Triangle wrote: »
    With the housing crisis, health crisis and climate crisis all needing investment. I think an ideology like investing in an United Ireland is way down on the vast majority of people's wish list of things to get done.

We’re all aware of that and still a UI is overwhelming ffor yes in polls.
    It doesn’t hhave to be either or
    We can do all this at the same time
    We already do

• Registered Users Posts: 11,626 ✭✭✭✭downcow

Post UI unionists will be grand and granted special ethic status protected in the constitution.

Up to them now to engage with the conversation and make their needs known or they’ll be left behind

This is all only going one way
    Therell be a United Ireland
    Folks would want to get used to it

It is a pity for your aspirations that every poll is head of the other direction

10-15 years
    We need not post that video of
    DUP members shouting and roaring outside stormmont that Ulster would never forgive those who signed the GFA

On the very day it was signed

The woman in question is still in the DUP

10-15 years
    downcow wrote: »
    It is a pity for your aspirations that every poll is head of the other direction

Your use of English never fails to amaze

CAre to link to your polls?

The final one here is from the uk

The Brits don t want Northern Ireland no matter what way you look at it

This will all melt away like every argument raised by Republicans this thread.
    The latest 10 page rant about Northern Ireland not being a state has faded away as soon as the question was asked:
    please explain why Scotland is a country and Northern Ireland is not?

Sometimes I just talked to my computer and it does the typing. Hence some silly mistakes

• Registered Users Posts: 3,260 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Obviously but also obvious to all what your post was attempting to do

What I'm despirately trying to do is to shoot down Francies assertion that violence paid off, and that Adams and Co were rewarded in the elections pre the 1998 agreement.

And so it was John Hume (SDLP) who made the agreement on behalf of the Nationalist side, and not Gerry Adams.

I remember this well.

SF may have overtaken the SDLP in the 2001 NI elections, but only after the PIRA had agreed to desist from their campaign of violence.

John Hume & Seamus Mallon led the SDLP as the largest Nationalist party in NI during the Troubles.

10-15 years
    Sometimes I just talked to my computer and it does the typing. Hence some silly mistakes

Same
    Havve a broken screen right now it’s such a pain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Redgirl82

We spend three times more on the hse than ni would cost us annually

So the plan is take money from the HSE, drive up death rate to pay for Northern Ireland?

Not really a great plan

• Registered Users Posts: 11,300 ✭✭✭✭jm08

20-30 years
    A picture with Bill Clinton.

Adams brought in from the cold, post agreement.

It wouldn't have happened without Adams and McGuinness, just like it didn't really happen until the DUP gave in (about 10 years later).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Redgirl82

Neither does the Rep of Ireland

Here you go - and I have given you an Irish News link on it so as you would not claim it was spin.
    Also interestingly, the same poll shows that only 36% of people in Northern Ireland support an Irish language act - something else you have been claiming that I am some sort of extreme minority for opposing it.

https://www.irishnews.com/news/northernirelandnews/2020/02/19/news/less-than-a-third-of-people-said-they-would-back-irish-unity-in-a-border-poll-1846078/

10-15 years
    What I'm despirately trying to do is to shoot down Francies assertion that violence paid off, and that Adams and Co were rewarded in the elections pre the 1998 agreement.

And so it was John Hume (SDLP) who made the agreement on behalf of the Nationalist side, and not Gerry Adams.

I remember this well.

SF may have overtaken the SDLP in the 2001 NI elections, but only after the PIRA had agreed to desist from their campaign of violence.

John Hume & Seamus Mallon led the SDLP as the largest Nationalist party in NI during the Troubles.

You need to read about the Canary Wharf bomb
    It caused £1.5 billion in damage
    It forced the Brits to change tack and negotiate a peace
    So yes violence did work
    Hit them in the pocket hard meant they finnnally had to talk.
    Telling that economic damage meant more to Britain than human
    Lives lost

Lllooking over there now and they haven’t changed at all on that front

• Registered Users Posts: 69,184 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

The latest 10 page rant about Northern Ireland not being a state has faded away as soon as the question was asked:
    Definition of a Country
    The basic definition of a country is a distinct political entity and a sovereign state. The International Organization for Standardization is the body that is tasked with determining the number of internationally-accepted countries in the world. There are about 206 sovereign countries in the world, 193 of which are members of the United Nations. Northern Ireland is not among these internationally-accepted countries and is instead considered as a province of the United Kingdom.
    https://www.worldatlas.com/articles/is-northern-ireland-a-country.html

So yes violence did work

Lives lost

With language like that I presume you are an IRA supporter...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭landofthetree

So yes violence did work
    Lives lost

All the offered was a watered down version of Sunningdale plus loyalist/republican prisoners being let out. Nothing that wasn't on the table in the early 70s.

Now 22 years later NI is still British.

Also by your logic the IRA valued a UI over life. Also pedos like Liam Adams ahead of victims.

The reality is the likes of McGuiness surrendered to save his own ass. He was a dead man walking.

10-15 years
    Redgirl82 wrote: »
    So the plan is take money from the HSE, drive up death rate to pay for Northern Ireland?

Not really a great plan

Who said that

You either have comprehension problems or are willfullly misrepresenting what is said

Over several topics too
    Funny thing that

10-15 years
    Redgirl82 wrote: »
    Neither does the Rep of Ireland

The two other polls attached prove you wrong

I never asserted that to begin with.
    Jesus the delusion on this is bizarre.
    The GFA ( the British- Irish agreement) was between the UK and Ireland and was signed by the Taoiseach and the British Pm...nobody else.

John Hume did NOT make any agreement on behalf of nationalists.
    John Hume signed up to the Multi Party Agreement on behalf of the party he led, the SDLP, as did Gerry Adams for SF and Trimble for The UUP.
    I remember this well.
    You don't 'remember' any such thing because it never happened. Like you did on the 'support for SF' you have deluded yourself.

Completely and profoundly wrong.

Like downcow, when faced with the actual backed up facts, you decide 'not to engage'.

10-15 years
    With language like that I presume you are an IRA supporter...

You’re gas

And wrong. Yet again
    Wouldn’t support them then or now

BBut by all means try evvade and ignore what I said and make accusations

You llot are so predictable

Same lame insults same inability to actually debate or even construct a point

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

10-15 years
    After a few years in a United Ireland Unionists and everyone else will be saying what the hell was all the fuss about ! !

John Hume did NOT make any agreement on behalf of nationalists.
    John Hume signed up to the Multi Party Agreement on behalf of the party he led, the SDLP, as did Gerry Adams for SF and Trimble for The UUP.

And who's hands did Bono hold aloft?

Answer that one Francie, if you can.

And who's hands did Bono hold aloft?

Answer that one Francie, if you can.

Bono?

WTF has Bono got to do with it? :)

Bono gets on another populist bandwagon...so fecking what?

YOU stated (wrongly again) that Hume 'made the agreement on behalf of nationalists'.

Will you withdraw this as I have shown the truth of the matter - Hume signed the Multi Party Agreement (CLUE is in the title of the agreement) on behalf of the party he represented The SDLP.

*Nobody is negating the work and leap Hume made to recognise who needed to be at the table to achieve anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,300 ✭✭✭✭jm08

20-30 years

This should explain it to you.

In short, Northern Ireland has never been a country, while Scotland (and Ireland) have been (Kingdom of Scotland, Kingdom of Ireland, Principality of Wales) were united in various unions with the Kingdom of England).

Furthermore, the International Organisation for Standardization, under the UK lists Scotland as a Country and Northern Ireland a Province. Scotland has a Parliament while Northern Ireland has an Assembly. Scotland's Parliament seems to have more powers than either the NI or Welsh Assemblies.

10-15 years
    jm08 wrote: »
    This should explain it to you.

In short, Northern Ireland has never been a country, while Scotland (and Ireland) have been (Kingdom of Scotland, Kingdom of Ireland, Principality of Wales) were united in various unions with the Kingdom of England).

Furthermore, the International Organisation for Standardization, under the UK lists Scotland as a Country and Northern Ireland a Province. Scotland has a Parliament while Northern Ireland has an Assembly. Scotland's Parliament seems to have more powers than either the NI or Welsh Assemblies.

Would love if downcow et al would actually read and respond to the this

Alas they disappear when presented with facts

Bono?

WTF has Bono got to do with it? :)

Bono gets on another populist bandwagon...so fecking what?

YOU stated (wrongly again) that Hume 'made the agreement on behalf of nationalists'.
    in the title of the agreement) on behalf of the party he represented The SDLP.

John Hume was the leader of Northern Ireland Nationalism, while Adams was a unsavoury character who demanded to be included in the talks, otherwise he may not request that his mates disarm. Adams will never be half that man that Hume was...

PS: The SDLP was the biggest Nationalist NI party at the time of the Belfast/Good Friday Agreement.

John Hume was the leader of Northern Ireland Nationalism, while Adams was a unsavoury character who demanded to be included in the talks, otherwise he may not request that his mates disarm. Adams will never be half that man that Hume was...

PS: The SDLP was the biggest Nationalist NI party at the time of the Belfast/Good Friday Agreement.

So you have zilch to back up that Hume signed up on 'behalf of Nationalists'.

Hume signed up on behalf of The SDLP.

Now you double down on deluded notions that Adams 'demanded to be included'?

Hume's achievement for which he deserves much praise, (even if his own party resisted him and forced him to do a solo run on it) was to persuade SF to come to the table. But now you want to take that away from him. Bizarre.

I was checking a fact there and came across this, which shows exactly what they SDLP in the person of Seamus Mallon was 'concerned' about in the talks.
    Suprisingly it wasn't a fear that the talks would break down or that peace wouldn't be achieved it was:
    “[Deputy leader Seamus] Mallon made clear SDLP awareness of Sinn Féin’s strategy of gobbling them up politically.”

Mallon was bitter about that until the end. the 'party' came before peace and stability, even in the cauldron of the negotiations. (He shoulda brought Bono in to save them. :))

There's no debate to be had.

At the time of the GFA 1998, the SDLP was the largest NI Nationalist party. SF (who supported violence) did not emerge as the largest Nationalist/ Republican party until 2001, after the killing had stopped.....

FACT.

Just accept it Francie.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

So you have zilch to back up that Hume signed up on 'behalf of Nationalists'.

Hume signed up on behalf of The SDLP.

Now you double down on deluded notions that Adams 'demanded to be included'?

Hume's achievement for which he deserves much praise, (even if his own party resisted him and forced him to do a solo run on it) was to persuade SF to come to the table. But now you want to take that away from him. Bizarre.

I was checking a fact there and came across this, which shows exactly what they SDLP in the person of Seamus Mallon was 'concerned' about in the talks.
    Suprisingly it wasn't a fear that the talks would break down or that peace wouldn't be achieved it was:

Mallon was bitter about that until the end. the 'party' came before peace and stability, even in the cauldron of the negotiations. (He shoulda brought Bono in to save them. :))

Seamus Mallon had more Republicanism in his little finger than Adams had in his whole body. Adams has no concept of the true meaning of Republicanism