Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How long before Irish reunification?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,326 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Brexit going ahead will speed up the chances and likelihood of a border poll.

Brexit could easily be the thing that unites Ireland.

Taking on an economic basket case will be the last thing we’ll choose in the event of a hard brexit. You’re so far divorced from reality it’s actually hilarious.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,831 ✭✭✭RobMc59

10-15 years
    Brexit going ahead will speed up the chances and likelihood of a border poll.

Brexit could easily be the thing that unites Ireland.

A no deal brexit would probably create the best conditions for a possible UI but would Ireland want it?A brexit with a deal makes the possibility less clear and the UK remaining probably means there would`nt be a UI imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭_blaaz

10-15 years
    Taking on an economic basket case will be the last thing we’ll choose in the event of a hard brexit. You’re so far divorced from reality it’s actually hilarious.

Meh id vote for it.....dont want to see my friends/relatives from.both sides tied to that sinking ship or trapped behind a border

Have you actually provided data to support your viewpoint....or are you taking it as a given people wont vote for something over taxes....because the surge in vote for green party suggests otherwise,surely?

(Or the near record levels of pro eu sentiment,given we are due to pay more.and more into it??)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,213 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

Any chance you’ll answer the questions directed at you. You’re talking in generalizations and refuse to back up anything you say with anything resembling fact. Your opinion is that, an opinion, it’s not a fact no matter how much you want it to be.

I’m surprised you’ve not been pulled up for trolling yet given the standard of your replies.

The truth is that every sector of society in every age group in every geographical location in the Republic appears to be in favour of a United Ireland. You’ve produced nothing to back up any assertions you’ve made.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,202 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Any chance you’ll answer the questions directed at you.You’re talking in generalizations and refuse to back up anything you say with anything resembling fact.

Not to mention having a remarkable crystal ball which seems to see things totally differently to every poll going. It even converts 37% to a 'massive majority. :rolleyes:

janfebmar wrote: »
    Brexit could make everyone in Ireland a lot worse off too. and cause violence and division.

Which is why the sensible people see the solution as unification. This solving most of our problems, all of the UK's in terms of getting out of the EU, and the EU's problems with securing it's borders.

Absolutely sensible solution for everyone bar a few belligerent Unionists and even fewer partitionists.

I’m surprised you’ve not been pulled up for trolling yet given the standard of your replies.

Why not report me, see how you get on?

Maybe you’d be more comfortable in an echo chamber? There’s probably a safe space for lads like yourself that don’t like a harsh dose of reality when dreaming of a UI.

You keep talking about this 'reality' but offer nothing real to back it up. Not a single political voice is in line with you and a few other regular keyboard partitionists.

10-15 years

Its hardly echo chamber seeking to want people to back up their opioions they keep shouting over everyone else?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

30-40 years
    If a crash-out Brexit happens then a United Ireland could be an effective rescue mission for the north - there'd be a strengthened moral argument to add to the historic one.

I think it becomes an imperative to rescue us to. Especially farming.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,213 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

I’m trying to debate with you but you’re offering nothing back.

Your idea of debate is akin to sticking your fingers in your ears and shouting that you’re not listening.

Post up something real to back that up Francie - you know not spoof, some actual budgeted figures of how a UI will be better off in a Brexit scenario than the current arrangement. Include all the costs and benefits

Go into as much detail as you can manage - good lad.

10-15 years
    Post up something real to back that up Francie - you know not spoof, some actual budgeted figures of how a UI will be better off in a Brexit scenario than the current arrangement. Include all the costs and benefits

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.irishexaminer.com/business/united-irish-economy-could-deliver-boost-of-36bn-388959.html

The most conservative scenario is based over 15 years....

But is tied to perpetual econmoic growth,something im.skeptical of.....im.a fan of nz style growth,which places public first,econmy second

Well, this forum is not the place for the detail you require, but contrary to the 'nothingness' you have supplied to back your points, there is loads of info out there, from which you can form a view.
    Everybody is working on these scenarios, Brexit and a UI. Nobody seems to be working on rejection of a UI bar Unionists though.
    https://www.teagasc.ie/media/website/publications/2018/BSAS_Hanrahan_Brexit_Ireland.pdf

https://www.ifa.ie/brexit/

https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/brexit-and-irish-beef-farms-whats-the-potential-impact/

https://dbei.gov.ie/en/Publications/Publication-files/Ireland-and-the-Impacts-of-Brexit.pdf

https://www.politico.eu/article/ireland-no-deal-brexit-tariff-fears/

_blaaz wrote: »
    https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.irishexaminer.com/business/united-irish-economy-could-deliver-boost-of-36bn-388959.html

The most conservative scenario is based over 15 years....

But is tied to perpetual econmoic growth,something im.skeptical of.....im.a fan of nz style growth,which places public first,econmy second

Arf, the report that was debunked pages ago in this very thread?:D

You know all the figures were made up in that report, yeah?

Even Francie is distancing himself from it after getting his arse handed to him the last time he tried to peddle it on here.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,572 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Ulster Says No. It will never happen
    Absolutely sensible solution for everyone bar a few belligerent Unionists and even fewer partitionists.
    You say a few unionists, how many is a few?

Well, this forum is not the place for the detail you require, but contrary to the 'nothingness' you have supplied to back your points, there is loads of info out there, from which you can form a view.
    Everybody is working on these scenarios, Brexit and a UI. Nobody seems to be working on rejection of a UI bar Unionists though.
    https://www.teagasc.ie/media/website/publications/2018/BSAS_Hanrahan_Brexit_Ireland.pdf

https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/brexit-and-irish-beef-farms-whats-the-potential-impact/

https://dbei.gov.ie/en/Publications/Publication-files/Ireland-and-the-Impacts-of-Brexit.pdf

I didn't ask you to post up reports saying that Brexit will be bad for us - any idiot knows thats the case.

I asked you to post up something to back up what you actually said -

Don't be trying to move the goalposts or wriggle out if it by posting up irrelevant links

Funny how this forum is not the place for detail when you're the one being called on to provide it :rolleyes:

eagle eye wrote: »
    You say a few unionists, how many is a few?

The vast majority of Unionists will accept a UI (reluctantly of course).
    The are democrats ultimately, as far as I can see. Their political representatives have said this as well.

10-15 years
    Arf, the report that was debunked pages ago in this very thread?:D

You know all the figures were made up in that

Where debunked??

Tbf any future looking into report is going to made up/projected figures,surely??(seems a spurious reason to dismiss something yous looked for?)

As i said,i remain skeptical of perpetual growth/econmic growth for sake of it.....but it deos seem to me ar least,ive provided (or attempted to) some evidence as opposed to shouting over everyone,thinking opioion is fact and screaming shinnerbot at people who dare question it?

• Registered Users Posts: 38,572 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Ulster Says No. It will never happen
    The vast majority of Unionists will accept a UI (reluctantly of course). The are democrats ultimately, as far as I can see. Their political representatives have said this as well.
    Have you proof of this? Links to support your statement there?

I didn't ask you to post up reports saying that Brexit will be bad for us - any idiot knows thats the case.

I asked you to post up something to back up what you actually said -

Don't be trying to move the goalposts or wriggle out if it by posting up irrelevant links

Farming will be massively harmed by Brexit and because the island will have to different jurisdictions. Read the reports.

That is what I said. There will also be impacts on business in general too. A whole island economy in the EU will insulate us from a lot of the negative effects. Have you not been listening to the discussion for the last three years?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭janfebmar

So you would have no hard figures on how the country could afford the many billions it takes to keep N I going, even with public sector wages there being less than here as they are now.
    I opened up one of your links at random and all it said was the UK was our biggest customers / market for agricultural product, being 40% of our exports. Seems like if Brexit goes ahead our farmers may not sell as much in to the UK as they do currently, so I think we could have other things to worry about, especially if and when interest rates rise on our huge national debt.

_blaaz wrote: »
    Where debunked??

Tbf any future looking into report is going to made up/projected figures,surely??(seems a spurious reason to dismiss something yous looked for?)

As i said,i remain skeptical of perpetual growth/econmic growth for sake of it.....but it deos seem to me ar least,ive provided (or attempted to) some evidence as opposed to shouting over everyone,thinking opioion is fact and screaming shinnerbot at people who dare question it?

Current arrangement suits me fine - I don't need to convince anyone of anything because I'm not proposing to change anything.

If you think some makey-uppy report constitutes any kind of 'evidence' of the economic benefits or a UI, you're deluded.

Rest assured, smarter people than you or me will crunch the numbers if the time ever comes, the fact that they haven't yet is an illustration of how remote a possibility of it ever actually happening is.

Farming will be massively harmed by Brexit and because the island will have to different jurisdictions. Read the reports.

That is what I said. There will also be impacts on business in general too. A whole island economy in the EU will insulate us from a lot of the negative effects. Have you not been listening to the discussion for the last three years?

It's apparent you have nothing to back up your statements - once again you've been caught out spoofing.

10-15 years
    Current arrangement suits me fine - I don't need to convince anyone of anything because I'm not proposing to change anything.

Tbf its obvious to anyone reading thread,you dont have anything to support your viewpoint
    If you think some makey-uppy report constitutes any kind of 'evidence' of the economic benefits or a UI, you're deluded.
    as ive said any report into future econmic performances,will surely use projected figures??....quite why this is earth shatterinf to you...is something you have to come.to terms with
    Rest assured, smarter people than you or me will crunch the numbers if the time ever comes, the fact that they haven't yet is an illustration of how remote a possibility of it ever actually happening is.

Id be suprised if the dept of finace hasnt already tbh

eagle eye wrote: »
    Have you proof of this? Links to support your statement there?

Poll in 2014 shows that 75% of the people of NI would accept a vote for unity.

https://www.ark.ac.uk/nilt/2014/Political_Attitudes/FUTURE1.html

It's apparent you have nothing to back up your statements - once again you've been caught out spoofing.

:confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭janfebmar

Poll in 2014 shows that 75% of the people of NI would accept a vote for unity.

https://www.ark.ac.uk/nilt/2014/Political_Attitudes/FUTURE1.html

That means up to a whopping 25 % of the people would not. You better pray a vote for a United Ireland will not happen.

10-15 years
    janfebmar wrote: »
    That means up to a whopping 25 % of the people would not. You better pray a vote for a United Ireland will not happen.

Nothing quite undermines democracy like saying 25% should run roost over 75% of population with threat of violence