Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How long before Irish reunification?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,674 ✭✭✭Feisar

Ulster Says No. It will never happen
    Is there anything wrong with NI being NI?

As a Mexican that has lived and worked there the people have their own culture and identity. Like no point in asking for a rasher sambo on the Falls Road!

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭janfebmar

_blaaz wrote: »
    I still fail to see moral difference between killing someone if your in an army/police or if your in a paramilitary??

Killing people is immoral irregardless

Either your againest violence/gunmen or your not imo

(kinda sickened i missed being the 1916 post :pac: .....kudos odhinn)

Do you still have no sympathy for poor Jerry McCabe and other Gardai / army shot by illegal paramilitaries? If the security forces of a democratically elected government / state cannot defend themselves or the state, then surely it would only be a short step then to an illegal army or paramilitaries taking over?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭_blaaz

10-15 years
    janfebmar wrote: »
    Do you still have no sympathy for poor Jerry McCabe and other Gardai / army shot by illegal paramilitaries? If the security forces of a democratically elected government / state cannot defend themselves or the state, then surely it would only be a short step then to an illegal army or paramilitaries taking over?

Like i said...no sympathy for.gunmen tbh,we've had enough that here

Why your struggling to accept a differing opioion to yours is beyond me......you cant critise paramilitaries for violence while supporting army.and armed police imo (and vice versa)

(Congrats on the 1922 post btw,to.mark irish independance)

Like i said...no sympathy for.gunmen tbh,we've had enough that here

But do you think - seemingly you do - that a detective Garda, highly respected in the community, and part of whose job it was to protect financial institutions from large scale armed robbery by armed gangs, was a "gunman"? You are putting armed detectives / armed Gardai on the same moral platform as those people who murdered him?

10-15 years
    You are putting armed detectives / armed Gardai on the same moral platform as those people who murdered him?

Only on same moral platform...if theyve killed someone?

Killing is immoral imo,guns are designed to kill,people who carry guns have immoral intent/ability to kill,which itself is immoral

Now that being said abortion is also killing and immoral,and i barely voted for that,

So my views on morality are skewed,could be subject to inquiry

• Registered Users Posts: 993 ✭✭✭Time

30-40 years
    Only on same moral platform...if theyve killed someone?

Killing is immoral imo,guns are designed to kill,people who carry guns have immoral intent/ability to kill,which itself is immoral

Now that being said abortion is also killing and immoral,and i barely voted for that,

So my views on morality are skewed,could be subject to inquiry

Would you consider your self a bit of an anarchist? It seems like your kind of against the idea of the states right to violence which kind of underpins the enforceability of laws etc.. on society

10-15 years
    Time wrote: »
    Would you consider your self a bit of an anarchist? It seems like your kind of against the idea of the states right to violence which kind of underpins the enforceability of laws etc.. on society

Tbh im not too into political theory/buying into idelogys

Like id be broadly nationlist/republican but can see inherent flaws in it....

be broadly leftish in outlook but can see how people get on board with trump/alt-right too

Be very understanding of how/why many people got on board with brexit etc,but dispise farage and johnson and what they stand for.....

same as with europe broadly agree with lot of what its aims is......but can see the glaring faults.and issues facing it going forward,some of which to.me are near insurmontable

As for being anarchist/fasist....i can see how people find either attractive.....but i believe a government/police force operate by consent and shouldnt force laws/rules onto society....IE...this green wave (while.i support it)...if it isnt done properly will backfire and be met with rightful contempt

but in reality...i just like.a good discussion based on factual info,not misrepresentation of info.....

Lads critising paramilitaries while ignoring/excusing security forces doing similar/in many cases even helping other paramilitaries do similar need calling out imo

(Sorry for long rambling post)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,211 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Feisar wrote: »

As a Mexican that has lived and worked there the people have their own culture and identity. Like no point in asking for a rasher sambo on the Falls Road!
    Smart ass. Just because you lived for a while the north you think it ok to call those in the republic Mexicans, ****ing sap !!

• Registered Users Posts: 38,582 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

_blaaz wrote:
    I taught they should been sent down for murder tbh and released under the gfa
    But they had guns so you shouldn't feel sorry for them and they shouldn't be released under any agreement based on your opinion of people who carry guns.

10-15 years
    eagle eye wrote: »
    But they had guns so you shouldn't feel sorry for them

I dont feel sympathy for em??
    and they shouldn't be released under any agreement based on your opinion of people who carry guns.

And nowhere have i said anything approaching this :confused: ...get some sleep your imagination is running away with you :pac:

_blaaz wrote:
    And nowhere have i said anything approaching this ...get some sleep your imagination is running away with you

You said they should be released under the GFA.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,208 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Why are you people suddenly trying to re-negotiate the GFA. Didn't you know all this at the time...releases and majorities etc?
    People were released from both sides, that was the deal.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,971 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

They wish to change the 'majority' required to 85% or higher...add an option no political voice has asked for, for starters.
    And most partitionists here don't care what the majority vote for if it 'costs' them, nor do they care that people are still dying.

People are still dying because they are being killed, that is on those doing the killing, as it always was.

Why are you people suddenly trying to re-negotiate the GFA. Didn't you know all this at the time...releases and majorities etc? People were released from both sides, that was the deal.
    The guy said he didn't feel sorry for Gerry McCabe because he was carrying a gun. I asked him if he felt sorry for the murderers and he came back saying they should get released under the GFA. That's hypocritical of him.
    And as for the GFA deal, those guys had no need to kill Gerry McCabe, it appeared to many that it was actually a hit and not just something that happened during a robbery. They should all still be in jail doing life.

The guy said he didn't feel sorry for Gerry McCabe because he was carrying a gun. I asked him if he felt sorry for the murderers and he came back saying they should get released under the GFA. That's hypocritical of him.
    And as for the GFA deal, those guys had no need to kill Gerry McCabe, it appeared to many that it was actually a hit and not just something that happened during a robbery. They should all still be in jail doing life.

The time to object was at the vote for the GFA.

If you didn't read it/understand it, perhaps you should have.

Victims families on both sides had to swallow very very hard so that we all could live in some kind of peace.

This is ridiculous. It's understandable that people were released for stuff that happened which involved both sides of the conflict. This whole incident was criminality no matter what way you look at it. It was a robbery and then a Garda was shot. This had nothing to do with the conflict.

I didn't negotiate the deal, but I voted for it.
    I haven't once regretted that and I haven't once cherrypicked a released prisoner from any side to complain about either. Because I knew what I was agreeing to and what it would entail.

I didn't negotiate the deal, but I voted for it. I haven't once regretted that and I haven't once cherrypicked a released prisoner from any side to complain about either. Because I knew what I was agreeing to and what it would entail.
    That's not the reason and you well know it but don't want to admit it here.
    It's clear you are, or at least were, an IRA sympathiser at the very least.

10-15 years

Yes??
    As 100s more were

10-15 years
    You do know there were literally 100s of murderers released undwr the gfa,right??

Why in your opioion is a gaurds life,worth more than anyone else killed in troubles....yous accuse me of hyprocrisy while holding this belief??

The pira were stealing, not for the first and last time, from you and me, because who had to foot the bill for the massive bank and post office robberies at the end of the day, and pay for the extra security to protect them?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,623 ✭✭✭Fionn1952

15-20 years
    Feisar wrote: »

To be fair, theres not a person on the falls who would use the phrase rather sambo, but nor is there anyone who wouldn't understand it if you asked for it.

People from Donegal, Cork, Mayo and Dublin all have different cultures and identities and all. So what?

10-15 years
    The pira were stealing, not for the first and last time, from you and me, because who had to foot the bill for the massive bank and post office robberies at the end of the day, and pay for the extra security to protect them?

The fact there was nothing stolen/no effort to steal anything is ultimately what undermines your post imo

It politically suited everyone involved SF,the government etc etc to claim it as a robbery,but it was no such thing imo

The fact there was nothing stolen/no effort to steal anything is ultimately what undermines your post imo

You are aware the pIRA carried out dozens of bank robberies in this state during the troubles? And the pIRA gang were not carrying loaded AK47 machine guns for the fun of it?

10-15 years
    You are aware the pIRA carried out dozens of bank robberies in this state during the troubles? And the pIRA gang were not carrying loaded AK47 machine guns for the fun of it?

I am.aware of this??

Surely to call it a robbery would require something to be stolen/effort made to rob...

Call a spade a spade...it was a pure and utter hit

I am.aware of this??

Surely to call it a robbery would require something to be stolen/effort made to rob...

Call a spade a spade...it was a pure and utter hit

An attempted robbery. You think the murder of a Garda was a "hit" and you have no sympathy for the Garda involved. Says it all.

10-15 years
    An attempted robbery

It wasnt an attempted robbery?

Do you not think there should been some effort to.actually rob the van to be called an attempted robbery??

Quite why you wish to absolve the pira of intentionly killing a gaurd is beyond me and smacks of just being entrenched and going againest obvious facts

It wasnt an attempted robbery?

Do you not think there should been some effort to.actually rob the van to be called an attempted robbery??

Quite why you wish to absolve the pira of intentionly murdering a gaurd is beyond me

So the armed pIRA gang , who shot the Garda you have no sympathy for, were doing what exactly or on what sort of a mission when they shot the poor garda?

It does not really matter if it was an attempted robbery or whatever, the pira gang shot the detective Garda and you have no sympathy for the Garda and think he should have been shot because he was an armed Guard

10-15 years
    So the armed pIRA gang , who shot the Garda you have no sympathy for, were doing what exactly or on what sort of a mission when they shot the poor garda?

They went out to kill him(well i believe it was his collegue who.was targeted)....with an upcoming ceasefire was a settling of old scores

.btw i have no.sympathy for those who killed him.either (its fair retarded this needs saying)......i believe the circumstances and motivations for killing need examining and it would take fair level of delusion to think this wasnt a targeted killing