Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ulster Team Talk Thread IV... Go On My Henderson...

• Registered Users Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭bilston

I thought that post might trigger a few Paul!

FWIW I've heard in the past that a retired Ulster, Ireland and Lion wasn't a big fan of Schmidt's ways with players.

But...as others have said, many successful coaches in many sports have been like that. Nice guys come second apparently.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,898 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

I dunno if there's any bombshells in there.

But maybe this interview with Touhy, which does mention Joe, is actually primarily about... Touhy?

but but but...
    Very frank and quite vulnerable description from Dan Tuohy about trying to fit in under Joe.

Like, you brought it up and the only thing you mentioned was the Joe topic.

• Administrators Posts: 53,755 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I don't mean his opinion doesn't matter, I mean that it doesn't matter if Joe is a nice guy or not. All that matters is his results which he delivered in spades (RWCs aside). Some players will always react badly to a coach or his style.

I don't think the point was to determine if Joe Schmidt was a nice guy or not.

Tuohy likely interviewed about himself, asked about his time playing for Ireland, this segment has been picked out for special mention because he said things that were interesting and not your typical boring clichés.

That's all there is to it.

I am sure Joe Schmidt is wise enough to know that there are likely players of his who never really liked him.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭launish116

Had the aggression & physicality. Wonder will this be another that advances elsewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Paul Smeenus

but but but...

Like, you brought it up and the only thing you mentioned was the Joe topic.

And what was my substantive point about the Joe topic?

How open and unguarded Tuohy was on it.

And lo and behold, two posts later we have Macho Man weighing in from the 1950s, complaining that Tuohy sounds "sensitive". That attitude is the real issue here, and why Touhy saying he "needs an arm put around" him is worth remarking on.

But but but... there's an implicit criticism of Joe! That's the focus!

Stop trying to police any mention of Joe, FFF.

bilston wrote: »

FWIW I've heard in the past that a retired Ulster, Ireland and Lion wasn't a big fan of Schmidt's ways with players.

But...as others have said, many successful coaches in many sports have been like that. Nice guys come second apparently.

Wish I'd had your foresight. Wouldn't have bothered posting it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭theVersatile

Well deserved.

One foot in the door is a good start for Ulster guys going forward!

launish116 wrote: »
    Well deserved.

One foot in the door is a good start for Ulster guys going forward!

Delighted for him, and agreed, he absolutely earned it.

Pleasantly surprised, as I thought Farrell really prioritised big lads.

NB no Joes were harmed in the making of this post.

IRELAND U20 - FRIDAY 2000 HOURS

15. Jamie Osborne (Naas CBS/Naas RFC/Leinster)
    14. Ben Moxham (Larne High School/Ballymena RFC/Ulster)
    13. Shane Jennings (Garbally College/Buccaneers RFC/Connacht)
    12. Cathal Forde (Colaiste Iognaid/Corinthians RFC/Connacht)
    11. Chris Cosgrave (St Michael’s College/UCD RFC/Leinster)
    10. Tim Corkery (St Kieran’s College, Kilkenny/UCD RFC/Leinster)
    9. Nathan Doak (Wallace High School/Banbridge RFC/Ulster)

1. Jack Boyle (St Michael’s College/UCD RFC/Leinster)
    2. Ronan Loughnane (Cistercian College Roscrea/UCD RFC/Leinster)
    3. Mark Donnelly (CBC Cork/Garryowen RFC/Munster)
    4. Alex Soroka (Belvedere College/Clontarf RFC/Leinster)
    5. Harry Sheridan (Sullivan Upper School/Dublin University FC/Ulster)
    6. Donnacha Byrne (Summerhill College/Sligo RFC/Connacht)
    7. Oisin McCormack (Garbally College/Buccaneers RFC/Connacht)
    8. Alex Kendellen (PBC Cork/UCC RFC/Munster)(Captain).

Replacements:

16. Eoin de Buitléar (Scoil Chuimsitheach Chiáran/An Ghaeltacht/Corinthians RFC/Connacht)
    17. George Saunderson (Sullivan Upper School/Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)
    18. Sam Illo (Wesley College/Old Wesley RFC/Leinster)
    19. Mark Morrissey (Blackrock College/UCD RFC/Leinster)
    20. Reuben Crothers (Wallace High School/Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)
    21. Conor McKee (Sullivan Upper School/Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)
    22. Ben Carson (Wallace High School/Banbridge RFC/Ulster)
    23. Jude Postlethwaite (RBAI/Banbridge RFC/Ulster)

24. Fearghail O’Donoghue (Cashel Community School/Cashel RFC/Munster)
    25. Daniel Okeke (Ard Scoil Ris/Shannon RFC/Munster)
    26. Conor Rankin (Campbell College Belfast/Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster).

Looking forward to seeing Postlethwaite & Saunderson, never seen them before so hopefully they'll get on. Still would really like to see Sheridan at blindside.

• Registered Users Posts: 882 ✭✭✭Lsdrugbyfan

IRELAND U20 - FRIDAY 2000 HOURS

15. Jamie Osborne (Naas CBS/Naas RFC/Leinster)
    14. Ben Moxham (Larne High School/Ballymena RFC/Ulster)
    13. Shane Jennings (Garbally College/Buccaneers RFC/Connacht)
    12. Cathal Forde (Colaiste Iognaid/Corinthians RFC/Connacht)
    11. Chris Cosgrave (St Michael’s College/UCD RFC/Leinster)
    10. Tim Corkery (St Kieran’s College, Kilkenny/UCD RFC/Leinster)
    9. Nathan Doak (Wallace High School/Banbridge RFC/Ulster)

1. Jack Boyle (St Michael’s College/UCD RFC/Leinster)
    2. Ronan Loughnane (Cistercian College Roscrea/UCD RFC/Leinster)
    3. Mark Donnelly (CBC Cork/Garryowen RFC/Munster)
    4. Alex Soroka (Belvedere College/Clontarf RFC/Leinster)
    5. Harry Sheridan (Sullivan Upper School/Dublin University FC/Ulster)
    6. Donnacha Byrne (Summerhill College/Sligo RFC/Connacht)
    7. Oisin McCormack (Garbally College/Buccaneers RFC/Connacht)
    8. Alex Kendellen (PBC Cork/UCC RFC/Munster)(Captain).

Replacements:

16. Eoin de Buitléar (Scoil Chuimsitheach Chiáran/An Ghaeltacht/Corinthians RFC/Connacht)
    17. George Saunderson (Sullivan Upper School/Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)
    18. Sam Illo (Wesley College/Old Wesley RFC/Leinster)
    19. Mark Morrissey (Blackrock College/UCD RFC/Leinster)
    20. Reuben Crothers (Wallace High School/Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)
    21. Conor McKee (Sullivan Upper School/Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)
    22. Ben Carson (Wallace High School/Banbridge RFC/Ulster)
    23. Jude Postlethwaite (RBAI/Banbridge RFC/Ulster)

24. Fearghail O’Donoghue (Cashel Community School/Cashel RFC/Munster)
    25. Daniel Okeke (Ard Scoil Ris/Shannon RFC/Munster)
    26. Conor Rankin (Campbell College Belfast/Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster).

Looking forward to seeing Postlethwaite & Saunderson, never seen them before so hopefully they'll get on. Still would really like to see Sheridan at blindside.

Sheridan wont be moving from lock, due to injuries.

Sadly true!

Leone Nakawara has now signed for Toulon.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,762 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Yeah, MOC was well liked by most senior players by all accounts. The nice guy who got nowhere. If we want exacting standards from our pro teams then the head guy needs exacting standards himself. I'm sure there's room for better interpersonal skills like Lancaster for example, but it's no surprise a lot of successful coaches have been tough characters.

Leone Nakawara has now signed for Toulon.

Weird. You have to wonder what went on there

Really odd ain’t it

• Registered Users Posts: 11,345 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Could be as simple as suddenly he’s not worth much wages wise so is a cheap signing or they are willing to take a risk Ulster weren’t.

Yeah, he'll be a luxury for them - we would have built our pack around him. Seems likely that there's questions over whether he'd have been robust enough for our needs.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭Utah_Saint

Mentioned on uafc - Mike Rhodes to leave Saracens. 33 years old 6ft 5" 18 stone flanker....

We need someone very soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,237 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Utah_Saint wrote: »
    Mentioned on uafc - Mike Rhodes to leave Saracens. 33 years old 6ft 5" 18 stone flanker....

We need someone very soon.

Total and complete thug. He's a good player but I'd hate to see him at a province.

He's in the Callum Clarke bracket, for me.

Buer wrote: »
    Total and complete thug. He's a good player but I'd hate to see him at a province.

He's in the Callum Clarke bracket, for me.

thats kinda why i would like him....play on the edge (not over it)

Turns 34 start of the season.

Might be a stop gap, but not sure he’ll fit our game plan.

Signing Rhodes would smack of desperation. I'd rather we didn't. I don't know what it would achieve other than mildly filling a gap and pushing a problem 12 months down the line.

Either make a significant top class back row signing (not very likely in late June) or spend next season developing David McCann, Marcus Rea and Reuben Crothers and assess where they are at in November and December and recruit accordingly for the 2022/23 season.

• Registered Users Posts: 882 ✭✭✭Lsdrugbyfan

Utah_Saint wrote: »
    thats kinda why i would like him....play on the edge (not over it)

he plays well beyond the edge.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,506 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

If he transfers to another league, does his ban travel with him?

I fully expect us to sign someone for them to get injured in the first week. It is the Ulster way.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,823 ✭✭✭ionadnapokot

Munster really are the premier province when it comes to that

have to agree....Munster are really stepping it up trying to out Ulster, Ulster...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,823 ✭✭✭ionadnapokot

Step up for the Munster men. Step up for the Munster men. And on and......

• Registered Users Posts: 8,523 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

There are lots of unsigned players floating about. Not sure if there's any gems out there, but with the Nakawara deal falling off the money is there. I think that McCann can do the job. Alongside Timoney and Reidy, he can prosper. It's worth noting that Nordi is also highly rated at 8. I think Ulster just need another back row, a superstar would be grand, but unlikely. Crothers is probably a couple of years away. He is fairly small and would need to develop physically.